March 29, 2024, 03:29:39 AM

Author Topic: In recognition of de Chinese in T&T  (Read 4873 times)

In recognition of de Chinese in T&T
« on: October 16, 2006, 11:24:15 PM »
Which T&T athletes of Chinese ethnicity (Chinidadians) represented us at the Olympics, tennis and hockey?

Tallman let dem work fuh it
« Last Edit: October 17, 2006, 01:17:05 AM by Grande man »

Re: In recognition of de Chinese in T&T
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2006, 01:43:51 AM »
Clarify please/

One athlete in all 3 events. Or different Chinese athletes in the individual events?

« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2006, 09:42:41 AM »
one john fong yew represented us at the shooting range.1976.

« Reply #3 on: October 17, 2006, 10:31:32 AM »
Clarify please/

One athlete in all 3 events. Or different Chinese athletes in the individual events?

3 different athletes in individual events

Capo yuh right about the sport but that is not de name I looking for. Hint: He win a Bronze medal for we in shooting at the Commonwealth games.

« Reply #4 on: October 17, 2006, 10:45:17 AM »
Clarify please/

Capo yuh right about the sport but that is not de name I looking for. Hint: He win a Bronze medal for we in shooting at the Commonwealth games.
bertram manhin.50m,pistol

« Reply #5 on: October 17, 2006, 11:35:36 AM »
Clarify please/

bertram manhin.50m,pistol

Yes Capo well done.  :beermug:

any idea about the tennis and hockey?

« Reply #6 on: October 17, 2006, 12:24:20 PM »
So many Chinese have played hockey for TT:

They Young family of TT have represented TT in hockey for two generations. A woman by the name of Siu But (sp).

In Tennis the only Chinese person I can think of is Ria Mark.

« Reply #7 on: October 17, 2006, 12:38:16 PM »

They Young family of TT have represented TT in hockey for two generations. A woman by the name of Siu But (sp).

Correct VB about the Butt family - both mother and daughter represented. :beermug:

Tennis is Petal Lee Loy

« Reply #8 on: October 17, 2006, 12:40:38 PM »

Correct VB about the Butt family - both mother and daughter represented. :beermug:

Tennis is Petal Lee Loy

Richard Quan Chan also represented at hockey
VB is right, Ria Chong Assing aka Ria Mark represented us at tennis.

« Reply #9 on: October 17, 2006, 01:40:46 PM »
boy as yuh bring up bert dat man cud shoot...used to be in house liming with his grandson and on de wall of de living room is a couple phonebooks with targets on de front so he cud practise he shooting...how some pple have paintings he had gun targets

« Reply #10 on: October 17, 2006, 07:25:44 PM »

Tennis is Petal Lee Loy

Grande, jes curious, but when did Stacey/Mary Sui Butt represent us at the olympics?

As far as I know Trinidad hockey(men or women) has never qulaified for the Olympics ever. 

However, Stacey is by far leaps and bounds the best female hockey player in the Caribbean IMO  :beermug:

« Reply #11 on: October 17, 2006, 07:32:16 PM »

Tennis is Petal Lee Loy

Grande, jes curious, but when did Stacey/Mary Sui Butt represent us at the olympics?

As far as I know Trinidad hockey(men or women) has never qulaified for the Olympics ever. 
He jes ask de question in an offkey way. If ah understand correckly, is really 3 questions he ask:
Who represent we in de Olympics?
Who represent we in Hockey at de national level?
Who represent we in Tennis at de national level?

« Reply #12 on: October 17, 2006, 07:40:49 PM »

Tennis is Petal Lee Loy

He jes ask de question in an offkey way. If ah understand correckly, is really 3 questions he ask:
Who represent we in de Olympics?
Who represent we in Hockey at de national level?
Who represent we in Tennis at de national level?
Cool, from the original question phrased I was real confused, cause I never knew of any Trinbago hockey teams that qualified for the Olympics....thanks for the clarification

Tallman: yuh ever tried out for jeopardy dred.....i sure yuh go win some money  ;D

« Reply #13 on: October 17, 2006, 08:17:54 PM »
Thanks Tallman yuh cover meh good :beermug:
« Last Edit: October 17, 2006, 08:20:22 PM by Grande man »

« Reply #14 on: November 09, 2006, 09:37:09 AM »

Richard Quan Chan also represented at hockey
VB is right, Ria Chong Assing aka Ria Mark represented us at tennis.
You counting Richard as a Chinee? He name more Chinee than he is.