March 28, 2024, 08:37:40 AM

Should Stern John be playing in this world cup campaign

yes
8 (61.5%)
no
5 (38.5%)

Total Members Voted: 12

Author Topic: Stern John Thread  (Read 295659 times)

Re: Stern John Thread
« Reply #1740 on: March 10, 2017, 08:59:08 AM »
Stern, deepest condolences to you and your family. Rest in Peace, Nikela.

« Reply #1741 on: March 10, 2017, 09:10:50 AM »
TTFA, Stern mourn daughter’s passing.
TTFA Media.

The Trinidad and Tobago Football Association, staff members and players of the Men’s National Senior Team extends deepest condolences to former national player and current Assistant Coach Stern John on the passing of his daughter Nikela.

Nikela, age 19, passed away on Thursday evening at her Cunupia home due to medical causes still to be determined.

John was on his way to a National Team practice session at Ato Boldon Stadium when he received a phone call that his daughter was not well. He was excused from the session and rushed to the scene at her home. She was pronounced dead later that evening.

Nikela was born in Trinidad but lived with John during his playing time in Birmingham from a tender age before returning to Trinidad. She was a student of Holy Name Convent.

TTFA President David John-Williams said “My thoughts and prayers are with Stern today . This is indeed a difficult time for him and his family as well as our TTFA family. As President I will like to urge Stern to stay strong. Words are difficult to find at this time to say to him. We ask for God’s blessings upon him at this time and may she rest in peace.”

Head coach Dennis Lawrence, who also played with John on the Senior Team, stated “We want to extend our condolences to Stern and his family and also let him know that we have him in our thoughts and we share in this time of grief with him.

“We know that no amount of words can really help to ease the pain he is bearing but we we pray that the comfort of God helps him and his family through this difficult time.”

“Stern is one of us and we will give him the time and support he needs right now and welcome him back at the appropriate time,” Lawrence said.

The T&T Senior team takes on Barbados from 7pm today at the Ato Boldon Stadium.

RELATED NEWS

Nikela John remembered as a rare gem.
By Joel Bailey (Newsday).

NIKELA JOHN, daughter of former Trinidad and Tobago football striker and current assistant coach Stern John, was remembered yesterday as “a gem in its rarest form”.

The 19-year-old Nikela, who died on March 9 from undisclosed medical reasons, was laid to rest at the D’Abadie Public Cemetery yesterday, following an hour-long funeral at a packed Santa Rosa RC Church, Arima.

According to Denisha Mayers, a friend of Nikela who delivered the eulogy, “Nikela was a gem in its rarest form. Her smile was as radiant as the brightest flower, and she would melt your heart, even when she (did) her mischief.

Her candid laugh would easily captivate and concern. She always wanted her own way, (but was) strong-willed, caring, fun-loving and God-fearing.” Mayers pointed out, “There was a never a dull moment with Nikela. She was a master in the kitchen like her mom (Nicole Baldwin).

Her intelligence, wit and sense of humour caused friendships aplenty. She made us all less stressful.” Referring to Nikela’s relationship with her father, Mayers said, “Her conversations (with Stern) usually starts ‘Father’ and would be followed up with demands, about 99 percent of the time.

Nikela was always the hardest nut to crack.” In attendance were a number of relatives and friends, as well as members of the sporting fraternity, including her distant relative Alec Burns (former TT cricketer) and other regional cricketers Dwayne Bravo and Kevon Cooper.

Past and present national footballers were also at the Church, including current assistant coaches Stuart Charles-Fevrier and Ross Russell; current players Carlos Edwards, Sean De Silva, Carlyle Mitchell and Nathan Lewis, John’s former teammates Clint Marcelle, Ansil Elcock and Marvin Gordon, ex-TT manager Joseph Sam Phillip and close friend Brent Sancho.

Mayers made it clear that the memories of Nikela would last forever.

“God gave you to us for a minute but our fondest memories of you would last a lifetime,” she said. “God would never take anyone away until they have taught us what they need to know. Thank you Jesus for blessing us with Nikela John. Thank you for welcoming her into heaven, where she would now look over us, together with our other guardian angels.

“Today I want us to remember Nikela’s smile, her warmth, her love, her hug, her stale jokes.

Grief and sadness is a small price we all have to pay for that irreplaceable gift we were given 19 years ago. Thank you Jesus for Nikela John and may she forever rest in peace,” Mayers ended.

Nikela leaves to mourn her parents, her stepfather Kevin George and her siblings Tyrik, Janiyah (George), Kelsi, Stern, Xiadan, Ava and Terlisha.

« Last Edit: March 17, 2017, 02:05:45 AM by Flex »

« Reply #1742 on: March 10, 2017, 12:33:52 PM »
This is more sad new...condolences to you and your family Stern and I hope you can stay strong. This is the most difficult thing for any parent to deal with. May she RIP!!!

« Reply #1743 on: March 10, 2017, 01:12:33 PM »
So sorry to hear of this.   The absolute nightmare of any parent.

RIP Nikela.  Condolences to Stern and family. 

« Reply #1744 on: March 10, 2017, 04:42:49 PM »
My sympathies to the John family. that is frigged up. I can't imagine ...

« Reply #1745 on: March 10, 2017, 04:56:37 PM »
Keep your head up Warrior

« Reply #1746 on: March 10, 2017, 05:29:53 PM »
Just heard this sad and shocking news today!  :'(

Condolences to Stern and his family on the passing of his daughter! 

This is hard for Stern!  I pray that God gives him the strength to get thru this!!

« Reply #1747 on: March 10, 2017, 06:34:49 PM »
Oh my! God Bless. Rest in Paradise, Ms. John. Condolences to Stern and Family. So young. Oh my!

« Reply #1748 on: March 10, 2017, 08:18:21 PM »
More sad news......*sigh *  RIP young miss John.....poor Stern.... :'( :'(

« Reply #1749 on: March 10, 2017, 09:15:29 PM »
sad indeed.......never feels good to lose a child  :( :( condolences to the family

Offline raj

« Reply #1750 on: March 11, 2017, 08:45:05 AM »
Condolences to Stern and the John family. Truly sad and difficult time for all. May God shine his light on the family in this difficult time! Blessings!

Offline dtool

« Reply #1751 on: March 11, 2017, 11:07:04 AM »

Condolences to Stern and his family (The Howard University Family)

Dtool

Nikela John remembered as a rare gem
« Reply #1752 on: March 17, 2017, 12:54:27 PM »
Nikela John remembered as a rare gem
By Joel Bailey (T&T Newsday)

NIKELA JOHN, daughter of former Trinidad and Tobago football striker and current assistant coach Stern John, was remembered yesterday as “a gem in its rarest form”.

The 19-year-old Nikela, who died on March 9 from undisclosed medical reasons, was laid to rest at the D’Abadie Public Cemetery yesterday, following an hour-long funeral at a packed Santa Rosa RC Church, Arima.

According to Denisha Mayers, a friend of Nikela who delivered the eulogy, “Nikela was a gem in its rarest form. Her smile was as radiant as the brightest flower, and she would melt your heart, even when she (did) her mischief.

Her candid laugh would easily captivate and concern. She always wanted her own way, (but was) strong-willed, caring, fun-loving and God-fearing.” Mayers pointed out, “There was a never a dull moment with Nikela. She was a master in the kitchen like her mom (Nicole Baldwin). Her intelligence, wit and sense of humour caused friendships aplenty. She made us all less stressful.” Referring to Nikela’s relationship with her father, Mayers said, “Her conversations (with Stern) usually starts ‘Father’ and would be followed up with demands, about 99 percent of the time. Nikela was always the hardest nut to crack.” In attendance were a number of relatives and friends, as well as members of the sporting fraternity, including her distant relative Alec Burns (former TT cricketer) and other regional cricketers Dwayne Bravo and Kevon Cooper. Past and present national footballers were also at the Church, including current assistant coaches Stuart Charles-Fevrier and Ross Russell; current players Carlos Edwards, Sean De Silva, Carlyle Mitchell and Nathan Lewis, John’s former teammates Clint Marcelle, Ansil Elcock and Marvin Gordon, ex-TT manager Joseph Sam Phillip and close friend Brent Sancho.

Mayers made it clear that the memories of Nikela would last forever.

“God gave you to us for a minute but our fondest memories of you would last a lifetime,” she said. “God would never take anyone away until they have taught us what they need to know. Thank you Jesus for blessing us with Nikela John. Thank you for welcoming her into heaven, where she would now look over us, together with our other guardian angels.

“Today I want us to remember Nikela’s smile, her warmth, her love, her hug, her stale jokes.

Grief and sadness is a small price we all have to pay for that irreplaceable gift we were given 19 years ago. Thank you Jesus for Nikela John and may she forever rest in peace,” Mayers ended.

Nikela leaves to mourn her parents, her stepfather Kevin George and her siblings Tyrik, Janiyah (George), Kelsi, Stern, Xiadan, Ava and Terlisha.

« Reply #1753 on: September 24, 2017, 04:46:46 AM »
Central FC player/coach Stern John criticised.

Ex-national striker and current player/coach of three-time TT Pro League champions Central FC, Stern John, came in for heavy criticism yesterday for alleged comments he made towards a number of North East Stars players during Friday’s Pro League encounter at the Ato Boldon Stadium, Couva.

It is alleged harsh words were exchanged between the 40-year-old John, who featured for the entire match, and the Stars players, during the one-sided contest which ended 6-0 in favour of North East Stars. Central FC, who completed a historic three-peat of league titles last season, are currently languishing in the standings and looking unlikely to make it four in a row.

Ironically, John is also an assistant coach with the Trinidad and Tobago team, while national coach Dennis Lawrence looked on in the stands.

According to a Stars player, who requested anonymity, John should permanently hang up his boots instead of trading barbs on the field with this country’s professional footballers.

“I thought it was very distasteful. There is always banter within football. Banter amongst the players is one thing but when you have the position as the assistant coach of the national team, and a head coach (of a club team), it would come across a lot different.

“I was a member of Central FC previously. I don’t know him personally but I think that the remarks were uncalled for, coming from a person of his stature. It was definitely uncalled for, banter or not.”

About the all-time TT record goal-scorer (70 goals from 115 internationals), the player stated, “You are past your career. Your playing days are over.

“Nobody said you (were) not a good player. You were a good player. But now is time for the younger players because it’s their generation, their time to shine to make something of themselves, so they can now move (forward).”

North East Stars coach Derek King, when contacted yesterday, pointed out, “As a coach, I would never disrespect (any) coach in the League or disrespect any player. At the end of the day we (need), as coaches and club owners, to build Trinidad and Tobago football.

“It’s not about us. It’s about building Trinidad and Tobago football to take it to the next level. We’re here to support, we’re the feeder for the national set-up. We should be as one, all the coaches,” ended King, the former TT defender and assistant coach.

Efforts to contact Brent Sancho, owner of North East Stars, proved futile.

RELATED NEWS

‘Central’ in crisis..North East Stars hit.
By Ian Prescott (Express).

CENTRAL FC’S sudden and rapid fall from grace is just a symptom of the greater problem of lack of financial support for the local professional football league. That was the opinion of Central FC managing director Brent Sancho following his club’s latest Pro League defeat, a 0-6 loss to North East Stars on Friday night in Balmain, Couva.

Having won three consecutive Pro League titles (2014–15, 2015–16, 2016–17) and two Caribbean crowns (2015 & 2016) when they had the money to buy the best local footballers, Central FC suffered its worst defeat yet when hammered for half-a-dozen by the current league leaders at the Ato Boldon stadium.

“Every club (is) losing players due to the financial situation. So, is not about Central FC alone. This is a Pro League problem. Jabloteh is (sic) a shadow of themselves, they also lost a lot of players. We are the same way and apparently some of North East players playing for free,” Sancho declared.

The Derek King-coached Stars started with six former “Couva Sharks” players, including former USA-based winger Rundell Winchester who scored a hattrick (21’, 40’ & 85’) after ex-Central FC captain Elton John opened Stars’ account from the penalty spot in the third minute.

Jameel “Shooter” Neptune, acquired from Morvant Caledonia United, and Jalani Felix completed the one-sided rout.

Former T&T international striker Stern John has come out of retirement due to the acute shortage of playing staff at Central FC, deprived of six injured men on Friday night and a host of the better players who have left the team due to non-payment of salaries. Forty-year-old John also assumed the player/coach role after head coach Dale Saunders moved on as well. The former English Premiership striker played a full 90 minutes without impact in a Central FC side having to play with youngsters and just three senior regulars -- in Sean de Silva, Jason Marcano and defender Sean Bateau.

Still owed over $2m in prize-money, former England-based defender Sancho disclosed that at a recent Board meeting, Pro League clubs took a decision to see out the 2017 season, but strong uncertainty lingers over 2018. Clubs will also not play for prize money this season. Sancho explained that clubs budgeted around a promise of continued financial support through Government’s monthly assistance.

“It not only stopped, but it stopped right at the start of the season,” former Sport Minister Sancho declared. “You budget, sign contracts, and then the subvention stops suddenly. It left us all in a crisis.”

The crisis continued for Central on the field when Elton John converted a penalty that he himself had won, taken down by defender Rhondell Gibson when driving into the “Sharks’” penalty area. Neptune struck in Densill Theobald’s pass for 2-0 in the 14th minute and Winchester got two before the half ended, first volleying Kevon Villaroel’s cross past Central keeper Kern Caesar in the 31st minute and then putting a powerful shot past the keeper for 4-0 nine minutes later.

Substitute Felix sent a free-kick to the far corner for 5-0 in the 81st and Winchester headed in Duane Muckett’s cross for 6-0 in the 85th minute.

But for some wasted chances from Stars, the scoreline could well have been worse for Central FC.

Results

Defence Force FC 1 (Hashim Arcia 84’ - penalty ) vs San Juan Jabloteh 0

North East Stars 6 (Elton John 4’ pen., Jameel Neptune 14’, Rundell Winchester 21’, 40’, 85’, Jalani Felix 81’) vs Central FC 0

« Reply #1754 on: September 24, 2017, 01:48:12 PM »
"Efforts to contact Brent Sancho, owner of North East Stars, proved futile."

When that happen. Sanch leggo Central too. Or he was never there. Wha bout FS ?
Who else make the exodus?
« Last Edit: September 24, 2017, 01:50:09 PM by maxg »

« Reply #1755 on: September 24, 2017, 10:59:25 PM »
When Central started, I always said that we will see how long they will last. Central is having the same issue as Jabloteh had when Clico and Duprey empire fell apart. At least Jabloteh stop football for a year(correct me on this), reorganized and came back into the league. That was about 8 yrs ago. They are still a shadow of the past. When JW got busted, Joe Public dropped out of the league. So Dexter and company really have some work to do. I doubt they will get money from govt at this time. Sad, very sad.

« Reply #1756 on: September 26, 2017, 05:58:45 AM »
We have no respect for Stern! Stars slam T&T assistant coach after on-field insults.
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868).

North East Stars head coach Derek King and at least two members of his playing staff have condemned the behaviour of Trinidad and Tobago National Senior Team assistant coach and former World Cup 2006 star Stern John, after several heated verbal exchanges at Couva last night which left players disgusted and fearful of victimisation.

John, who is Trinidad and Tobago’s all-time record scorer with 70 goals from 114 international appearances, was on duty as Central FC coach and, for the second straight match, decided to play himself from the start.

But it was not a happy time for John or Central as Stars humiliated them 6-0 at the Ato Boldon Stadium after leading by four goals at halftime.

By the final whistle, it was King and his squad who were livid, though, as they alleged that John taunted Stars players about their skills—or their supposed lack thereof—and their inability to break into the “Soca Warriors” team for which he serves as assistant to head coach Dennis Lawrence.

At present, left-back Kevon Villaroel is the only Stars player on the national squad although the Arima-based team are four points clear at the top of the Pro League standings and employ the likes of Yohance Marshall, Rundell Winchester, Julius James, Duane Muckette, Kishun Seecharan, Keston George, Kevon Goddard, Jomoul Francois, Kerry Baptiste and Densill Theobald.

The crosstalk, according to two Stars players who spoke on condition of anonymity, started in the second half when James—a former 2001 Under-17 World Youth Cup player, MLS employee and Hermann Trophy candidate with the University of Connecticut (UConn)—flattened John with a tackle that was whistled as a foul.

John’s response, according to a Stars player, was to call James “a shit player.”

“That is why you can’t make the national team!” John allegedly taunted James.

James, who is 33 and has 16 senior international caps for the Warriors, was selected in Lawrence’s first national team to play Barbados but declined the invitation to sign a one-year deal with United States team Sacramento Republic instead. He has not been recalled since.

It was only the beginning of John’s supposed tirade.

“He started to tell players that they were shit and that they were not going to get paid at the end of the month,” said one player. “He told Keston George (a versatile 24-year-old player who was Central FC captain just two months ago) that he was shit and had a shit touch and only made the national team because he made it happen…

“I used to have respect for Stern John but it is hard for me now.”

George was called up to train with the Warriors—while still a Central player—in April before a friendly international away to Grenada although he did not make the final squad. He has not been invited to rejoin the squad since.

Wired868 tried without success to reach John for a comment. King told Wired868 that he phoned Lawrence immediately after the match to complain.

“I called Dennis last night and told him as a national coach that was real poor from Stern,” said King, who was assistant to ex-head coach Stephen Hart and John’s former international teammate. “How can you have a national team technical staff member playing against guys who are aspiring to make the national team and telling them things like that?”

According to one Stars player, John was disrespecting the game and the Pro League by even being on the field—let alone his demeanour.

A former Premier League player with Birmingham and Sunderland, John, who is now 40, hasn’t played top flight football in Trinidad for five years. His inserting himself into the Central starting team meant that versatile attacker Jem Gordon and his own son, Tyrik John, had to settle for spots on the bench.

“You’re fat and you’re unfit and you’re 40-years-old,” one Stars player commented, “so what are you doing on the field?”

“If a camera was there to scout players and they see you on the field looking like that, then you are bringing the whole level of the competition down. You’re disrespecting the game and you have to have more respect for yourself than that.”

The player was not yet finished.

“To make it worse, you’re a national team coach and you should be there scouting players, not trying to fight up with them and talking shit as an unfit, overweight player while your team is getting whipped…

“Come on man, understand your role! I know it is all banter but you must have respect for yourself and others as a national team coach.”

His Stars teammate claimed that John also made withering comments about his opposing coach, King.

“He told players to look at what your payslip is going to be at the end of the month,” said the player, “[because] allyuh Mickey Mouse coach selling allyuh dreams…”

At present, John’s record as a head coach reads thus: one draw and three losses with one goal scored and 12 conceded.

King, at 37, is an Under-20 Caribbean Cup champion coach, a former Pro League Coach of the Year and, if Stars stay on top the League at the end, he will become only the second Pro League coach to win titles at different clubs after Englishman Terry Fenwick.

Fenwick won at San Juan Jabloteh and Central while King is already a former winner with Joe Public.

“Even if you are in a game and you’re mad, those are the kind of things you are spewing?” asked the Stars player. “It goes to show where the mindset of the national team reach if this is the thinking and behaviour of an assistant coach on the national team.

“He is out of retirement now, so is he going to put himself up for selection? […] Now our players are feeling victimised because he is the assistant coach so in some capacity he will have influence with [the national team selection]…

“It really all started from the foul [on him by James]. I don’t know if he thought we would have taken it easy on him and tip-toed around him but we have a job to do. And if he wants to disrespect the game and the League to come out and play when there are younger players looking for the opportunity, then that is on him.”

Wired868 was unable to get a response from national team manager Richard Piper on Stars’ complaints up until the time of publication.

« Reply #1757 on: September 26, 2017, 08:26:25 AM »
Stern will  duss dem fellas off he shoulder, no problem..bringing up the half-slab talk   :-[ :D

« Reply #1758 on: September 26, 2017, 12:45:27 PM »
half slab? I hear he is a full slab now.

Offline Thomo

« Reply #1759 on: September 26, 2017, 01:55:11 PM »
If the allegations are true, Stern made himself look a right a**hole. His objectivity is clearly compromised as assistant coach on the national team but I'm sure noone will do anything about it.

« Reply #1760 on: March 08, 2018, 06:48:50 AM »
As featured on an episode of the British quiz show, The Chase.

« Reply #1761 on: March 08, 2018, 01:22:28 PM »
It's even tough to make a calculated guess if you have no clue  :rotfl:

« Reply #1762 on: March 08, 2018, 04:32:20 PM »
Ah Love it. . .  :rotfl:

« Reply #1763 on: June 29, 2018, 12:57:05 AM »
John, Edwards pursue UEFA B License.
TTFA Media.

Former Trinidad and Tobago internationals Carlos Edwards and Stern John participated in the UEFA B License course last week with the Welsh Football Association.

Also involved as a participant in the eight-day course at Dragon Park alongside the T&T duo was former Chelsea star Michael Essien.

The course was aimed at educating candidates in the Technical, Tactical, Physical and Mental requirements of modern football, so that they may devise, organise, conduct and evaluate coaching sessions in the development of youth and senior players. During the week, there was also focus on unit analysis live from World Cup matches where candidates had to deliver on their topic and design a session around problems and solutions.

“I’m on the next side of the fence now so I’m seeing it from the manager’s eyes. It really is a different point of view. It is about planning your sessions and delivering it over to the players, getting them to understand and execute what you want out of them for a particular match, a first half, a second half and in training,” John told TTFA Media.

Edwards added, “It’s easy as a player to play the game but when you come back and look at it, it is challenging but at the same time you do learn along the way,” Edwards said.

« Reply #1764 on: October 16, 2018, 02:05:28 AM »
Stern John selected as coach for MLS Caribbean Combine this week.
TTFA Media.

Former Columbus Crew standout and current Trinidad and Tobago Senior Men’s Team assistant coach Stern John has been selected to serve as one of the coaches at the 2018 MLS Caribbean Combine in Bridgetown, Barbados from October 22-25, 2018.

MLS will also conduct the dual-location 2018 MLS Caribbean Combine in Kingston, Jamaica (October 15-18) and Bridgetown with John arriving in the latter location following his outing in Thailand with the T&T Senior team on Sunday.

The MLS Caribbean Combine is a result of the partnership between MLS and CONCACAF that serves as a pathway for the best players, under the age of 24, in the Caribbean area to showcase their talent for MLS clubs. Through an expanded format, this scouting opportunity has grown from one event, featuring 22 players from 15 countries, to two events this year featuring 40 players from up to 30 countries, with 20 players taking part both in Kingston and Bridgetown.

The most highly touted prospects will be named MLS Caribbean Combine Most Valuable Players and will earn invitations to the adidas MLS adidas Player Combine in Orlando.

“MLS Caribbean Combine participants will be coached by Trinidad hero and one of the top goal scorers in MLS history, Stern John, as well as legendary Jamaican National Team and MLS stars Andy Williams, Wolde Harris, and Shavar Thomas. The Caribbean area has continually produced breakout MLS stars, including playoff-bound Jamaican-born New York Red Bulls defender Kemar Lawrence who participated in the inaugural Caribbean Combine,” a MLS release stated.

On the selection, John said he was grateful for the opportunity to scout the best of new Caribbean talent.

“Of course for me it’s a honour to be connected to the development of Caribbean football through the alliance with the MLS. The MLS is where it started for me in terms of really excelling in professional football. My days at Columbus Crew are unforgettable and my achievements there are among the best in my career along with my accomplishments in England and of course helping Trinidad and Tobago get to the World Cup in 2006,” John told TTFA Media.

“This is a wonderful opportunity for players in the Caribbean to be handed an opportunity to further their professional careers in a league that is consistently improving and developing as the MLS,” added the current Central FC head coach.

« Reply #1765 on: November 18, 2018, 01:44:11 AM »
Stern pleased with MLS Combine role.

FORMER TRINIDAD and Tobago striker and current men’s team assistant coach Stern John stated his delight in being part of the MLS Caribbean Combine last month.

John, during an interview at the Football For A Cause charity event recently, said, “It was a pleasure being part of it. I have a lot of love for the MLS because the MLS played a pivotal role in my career.

“I’ve done really well there and for them to show their appreciation and (invite) me as a coach and one of the scouts was great.”

The 41-year-old John, who is also the coach of Pro League team Central FC, continued, “It’s a good opportunity for the Caribbean players to showcase their skills. If they continue building it, we should (have) a bit more players in the MLS.”

Another ex-national striker who is giving back to the game is Kenwyne Jones, who is serving as assistant coach to Nigel Grovesnor at QRC in the Secondary Schools Football League (SSFL).

“To be honest, it’s pretty easy,” said the 34-year-old ex-TT captain. “As any player, when you get to the top level in football, and have such a long career, if you are not looking at football and having the viewpoint as a coach while you’re playing, because that makes you a better player, in the coaching arena that’s no different.”

Jones retired from competitive football last year and he admitted, “It’s officially a year now actually but I’m not missing anything. I’m happy with where I’m at.

“I’ve realised that now football is for the young and when you’re going through your career, you don’t think about how hard it is. When you stop and then go back to play, is when you realise how hard the work is. I’m happy with the body of work I’ve had for such a long time. I’m not missing anything.”

« Reply #1766 on: December 31, 2018, 11:10:30 AM »
Stern’s son signed as scholar at Notts County.
TTFA Media.

Sixteen year-old Stern Irvine, the son of Trinidad and Tobago top goalscorer  and senior team assistant coach Stern John is currently on a path to following in the footsteps of his father of being a professional footballer in the United Kingdom.

Earlier this year, Irvine, age 16, was selected as a young scholar in English club Notts County and is currently playing for the club’s Under 16 and Under 18 teams. He plays right back or centre half.

“As a young scholar he has been signed for two years during which time he will aim to break into the Notts County first team or sign a contract with another club as a first team player. He really is a junior scholar at this time,” John told TTFA Media. “It’s something he’s really worked hard towards and sacrificed for. He was at Nottingham Forest before but there were some health matters that forced him to be sidelined for a bit but he came back really well, maybe even stronger than before and now he’s into the Notts County set up which is really good for him at his age.”

The English-b0rn Irvine took about two months to prove himself before he was signed as a scholar or a semi-professional on a two-year deal. He’s hoping to push on and break into the first team.

“I am happy to have been offered a scholarship at Notts County and thankful for the support of the people around me, my dad and the rest of my family. I’m looking forward to the upcoming year and hopefully being able to break into the first team and pursuing a career in professional football,” Irvine told TTFA Media. “I know it requires a lot of hard work and discipline but I’ve gotten a good feel of it and I will continue to develop as a player and a person through football,” he added.

« Reply #1767 on: January 02, 2019, 08:12:53 AM »
How many UK based children Stern has?

« Reply #1768 on: January 02, 2019, 04:16:14 PM »
Ok, let’s how this plays out. If he is good enough, will he want to for Eng. or TT?

Offline Thomo

« Reply #1769 on: January 03, 2019, 01:30:24 AM »
To be fair England is a stretch, he is 16 at Notts County who are bottom of League 2