March 29, 2024, 06:47:24 AM

Author Topic: Clyde Leon Thread  (Read 28844 times)

Clyde Leon Thread
« on: October 23, 2006, 06:26:13 PM »
W Connection’s Clyde Leon to undergo ligament operation.
...out for a month.
By: Vinod Narwani (ttproleague).

W Connection defensive midfielder Clyde Leon will be under the surgeon’s knife to repair a cruciate ligament on October 25th. He suffered the injury while playing a practice game against Grenada recently.
"When it first happened, it was a bit hard," said Leon. "Things, however, are a bit better now than before."
At one stage, Leon was told that the injury may have him on the sidelines for up to six months, since it was feared that he tore the ligament; however, his last visit to the specialist confirmed that he can return to the field of play much sooner than expected after the problem is corrected through surgery.
"What the doctor saw from the MRI scan was that the cruciate ligament did not have a tear. He is going to do orthopedic surgery and is confident everything is going to be fine in four weeks time."
Due to the minor obstacle at this stage, Leon is concentrating on another career also relating to football, which is managing to keep him in high spirits.
"When I am through with my playing days, I plan to take up coaching.
"I will be with the W Connection coaching staff during their sessions, taking up notes as a means of analyzing the game.
"I am privileged to be guided by our technical director Mr. Stuart Charles-Fevrier," said the Savonetta Boys utility player.
Leon said the W Connection players and staff continue to provide words of encouragement during this tough time, hence, he feels even more pumped up to execute whatever duties are humanly possible at this stage.
"They tell me that my healing process should be a slow and steady, emphasizing that I should not rush my recovery. The guys gave me the assurance that they will stand by me 100 percent.
Leon made his senior national debut for Trinidad and Tobago earlier this year against Japan, where they lost 2-0.
Reflecting on the experience, he said it was an enjoyable one.
"It was a good experience for me with the national team for the first time, getting to be among those who played in the World Cup. Being able to have advanced facilities provided me the motivation to go out there and give it my best shot."
« Last Edit: October 24, 2006, 07:03:11 AM by Flex »

North East Stars release Shandell Samuel.
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2006, 06:32:47 PM »
North East Stars release Shandell Samuel.
By: Randy Bando (ttproleague)

Ace North East Stars and Vincentian striker Shandell Samuel was released by the club on Friday after several events of misconduct.
As a result the talented striker was unable to play in his team’s 2-1 loss to United Petrotrin in the quarterfinals of the Toyota Classic last Friday.
Samuel last played for the Sangre Grande based team on Tuesday in League action, coming on as a substitute against United Petrotrin and was later substituted in that game which his team went on to win by a 2-1 margin.
Club owner Daryl Mahabir confirmed Samuel’s departure, he told ‘ttproleague.com’, "Yes, I handed him the letter on Friday and this was long over due. His persistent misconduct over the last couple of months was intolerable".
"It started back in August when he left the club, saying that his mother was ill, he was asked to bring proof in writing since he had missed an entire week. He failed to do so and was fined. He then left for home again in September to play with the St Vincent national team in the Digicel Caribbean Cup without notice after we had asked him to stay for our First Citizens semifinal game."
"He then verbally abused the coach and team management in his last league game after he was substituted, and that was the final straw with the club. Apparently he has no respect for the people in charge and he never came to understand the professionalism of the TT Pro League."
Mahabir admitted Shandell is a young talent saying, "He started off well with six goals in five matches after joining the club at the beginning of the season, but it seems he thought he got bigger than the game from there on and it started to show by his constant disrespect to the clubs rules and regulations."
"Shandell was always complaining of injuries when he had to train but was always fit when it came to matches. I have always tried talking with him personally on his attitude and general conduct and I thought that he would change," ended the North East Stars owner.
The 23 year old Vincentian scored 7 goals for the season in the Pro League with the Sangre Grande based team.
North East Stars technical director Everald ‘Gally’ Cummings had similar sentiments, "The last stick that broke the camel’s back was when he used abusive language and actions towards the bench after I substituted him against Petrotrin in our last League game."
"When I first cane to North East, they had already experienced problems with the player. He would leave the club without permission to go play for his country (St Vincent and the Grenadines) and this is disrespecting to the club rules."
"When foreigners come here I think they should show a higher level of professionalism and respect to the club. His pending matters and recent ones caused the team management to do what they had to do."
« Last Edit: October 24, 2006, 07:04:59 AM by Flex »

Boy i love dat  pro league site

Everyone wants to play for their country...including TnT players abroad...but they all have to follow regulations

Is Clyde Leon the next Anthony Rougier Utility man Extroadinaire?
« Reply #4 on: November 29, 2006, 10:19:46 AM »
The reports and comments I have gotten from different sources say this man is good with the ball at his feet, can play any position, has pace, dribbling skills, can trap well and pass, but on top of that defend well. When I get the japan game i will take a look at mr.leon and see his skills but what do people think back home, is this man as talented as i have heard or is it all grande charge? ??? somebody give me an indept scouting report about this player and whether he is a good aerial player as well...

God is de BOSS...

Re: Is Clyde Leon the next Anthony Rougier Utility man Extroadinaire?
« Reply #5 on: November 29, 2006, 10:30:06 AM »
TI
We have to treat anything you say with a pound of salt.
Your Jammott reputation proceeds itself.

So please say no more, even if this guy is good, your goat mouth will blight him. :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #6 on: November 29, 2006, 11:09:37 AM »
TI
We have to treat anything you say with a pound of salt.
Your Jammott reputation proceeds itself.

So please say no more, even if this guy is good, your goat mouth will blight him. :rotfl: :rotfl:

i thought you was de goat mouth of the site, plus yuh see what meh bredda doin in de pro league :beermug: ;D

« Reply #7 on: November 29, 2006, 11:10:53 AM »
 :rotfl:  :rotfl: buh look ting eh.. even KND ressin talk on you.. even "Goat Mouth" vibes  :rotfl:

you bess register with another name again oui!

« Reply #8 on: November 29, 2006, 11:17:18 AM »
:rotfl: :rotfl: buh look ting eh.. even KND ressin talk on you.. even "Goat Mouth" vibes :rotfl:

you bess register with another name again oui!
TI is TI, i fine bredda ;D dont need to change my name, man only have talk on the net...

Offline shooter

« Reply #9 on: November 29, 2006, 05:51:36 PM »
from my experience playing with him he is one of trinidad's fastest developing players...we both played at Princes Town in 2000 and 2001...He was a big part of us winning the intercol that year. He has matured into a strong dynamic and yet composed player on the ball...Honestly i wll say yes he is going to be a big part in T&T's football..he is currently out with an injury....hope he will recover soon though....i watched him play when i was home for the summer...he reminds me of Reynold Carrington though....bless up to meh breadren Frank as i does call him......

Offline breezers

• he who rise against poor ppl shal perish in d end
« Reply #10 on: November 29, 2006, 06:43:14 PM »
from my experience playing with him he is one of trinidad's fastest developing players...we both played at Princes Town in 2000 and 2001...He was a big part of us winning the intercol that year. He has matured into a strong dynamic and yet composed player on the ball...Honestly i wll say yes he is going to be a big part in T&T's football..he is currently out with an injury....hope he will recover soon though....i watched him play when i was home for the summer...he reminds me of Reynold Carrington though....bless up to meh breadren Frank as i does call him......

Yeah Shooter...ah agree with yuh dey!! Ah hope he have ah speedy recovery doe.

Blessings!!
Soca Warriors, Holland And Barcelona,
BIG BIG TEAMS!!!!

Re: W Connection’s Clyde Leon to undergo ligament operation.
« Reply #11 on: July 09, 2008, 06:42:43 AM »
Glad he get better now.....

« Reply #12 on: July 09, 2008, 06:54:14 AM »
Gally still working with NE Stars.I thought he left last year.

I assume Clint Marcelle is Coaching/

« Reply #13 on: July 09, 2008, 07:03:01 AM »

Kakahole, this post was from 2006, Gally not there no more.

Marcelle is de coach, I hear Rougier leave de club. And Marcelle not on contract with them no more, he just there for now, de manager f00cking up.

« Reply #14 on: July 09, 2008, 08:33:41 AM »

Kakahole, this post was from 2006, Gally not there no more.

Marcelle is de coach, I hear Rougier leave de club. And Marcelle not on contract with them no more, he just there for now, de manager f00cking up.

is not the manager brother is the owner.The manager leave the club too.

« Reply #15 on: July 09, 2008, 08:54:19 AM »
So Darryl Mahabir leave de club ?, who is de new manager now then ?

« Reply #16 on: July 09, 2008, 09:33:38 AM »
Darryl was not the manager this year it was another fella they brought in,Darryl was just the owner.But I suppose as he was putting out the money he was involve in everything  including player decisions,letting go players without talking to the coach and them men could'nt take that plus some other things so they left.
But still yet all the best to NE Stars   

Offline behind-de-bridge

What's Leon's role in de midfield?
« Reply #17 on: September 25, 2008, 02:19:19 PM »
Help mih people. Is Clyde Leon a ball winner, a playmaker, a defensive or attacking midfielder. From the bits I've seen of him ah cyah make out what he does to deserve being in de midfield and to keep being picked.

Re: What's Leon's role in de midfield?
« Reply #18 on: September 25, 2008, 02:26:43 PM »
I wouldnt pick him in front of teleford as a defensive mid

« Reply #19 on: September 25, 2008, 02:48:15 PM »

I would.  Telesford spends too much time on the ground in desperate tackles.  That's an indication of lack of positioning and speed.  Telesford gives the impression that he doin plenty (yes he does fight the game) but in reality, he inefficient.

Leon might not be as rugged, but he's a better tackler, better passer, & shooter of the ball.  He's also quicker and has better positioning in general than Telesford.

To answer the question posed by the thread, I see him as a defensive midfielder.  As I understand it, a defensive midfielder's primary roles are to provide cover for the defence, help to maintain the shape of the team, deny space and put pressure on the opposition when they have the ball, win the ball back, and accurately pass the ball to the more creative players on his team.
« Last Edit: September 25, 2008, 02:57:16 PM by palos »

« Reply #20 on: September 25, 2008, 03:09:41 PM »

Well Maturana aint have nothing on you. Telesford/Fitzpatrick, two wildmen that seem to tickle Ngozi's fancy. At least the fitzpatrick era come and gone lets hope its the same for Telseford. BTW anybody with half a football brain wouldnt even compare Leon and Telesford as def-mids. Clyde leon is a def-mid. Telesford is defender who thinks he is more than that. Sadly for T&T he aint.

« Reply #21 on: September 25, 2008, 03:22:20 PM »
Both Leon and telesford have yet to impress me in one game...yes we can explain the duties of a defensive mid but which one of these midfielders fulfill that duty?..atleast Leon has potential.to be a defensive mid..Telesford in my opinion should playas a defender instead of a midfielder although he is not all that good in that position either..
« Last Edit: September 25, 2008, 03:31:04 PM by Sando prince »

Offline behind-de-bridge

« Reply #22 on: September 25, 2008, 03:37:28 PM »
So hold up selector! If Leon is a def midfielder, we need a playmaker (like a young latas) and a ball winner (like Paul Ince in his Man U days). If we do not have these player types in the middle of the park, crapeau smoke we pipe. For me Yorke cannot do either of those roles effectively now and is also def midfield.

« Reply #23 on: September 25, 2008, 03:52:55 PM »
So hold up selector! If Leon is a def midfielder, we need a playmaker (like a young latas) and a ball winner (like Paul Ince in his Man U days). If we do not have these player types in the middle of the park, crapeau smoke we pipe. For me Yorke cannot do either of those roles effectively now and is also def midfield.

Ball winner - Birchall
Play Maker - Yorke
Def Mid - Leon or Hyland
Wide Midfielder - Edwards
Wide Midfielder - Daniel

Bear in mind that part of a defensive mid's primary duties is to try and win the ball back.  Birchall & Leon / Hyland would be what you call defensive mids.
« Last Edit: September 25, 2008, 03:55:19 PM by palos »

« Reply #24 on: September 25, 2008, 03:59:12 PM »
Palos so what yuh would class Whitley?

« Reply #25 on: September 25, 2008, 04:10:57 PM »

Ball winner - Birchall
Play Maker - Yorke
Def Mid - Leon or Hyland
Wide Midfielder - Edwards
Wide Midfielder - Daniel

Bear in mind that part of a defensive mid's primary duties is to try and win the ball back.  Birchall & Leon / Hyland would be what you call defensive mids.

With a fit whitley and collin samuel in reserve (I have purposely left out the magician simply becz I have him on the sidelines callin the shots) do you all realise that we have a pretty strong midfield. I would dare say one of the strongest in concacaf. If only we had a real TD instead of that joker we could have been leading the group now.

« Reply #26 on: September 25, 2008, 04:35:33 PM »

Injured.

Joke aside.....(sadly Whjtley is injured so it eh no joke) Whitley is versatile enough to assume either the defensive midfielder or play maker role.  In THIS team, assuming all other things equal i.e. no random selection policies a la Maturana, it would mostly depend on Yorke's availability as to what role he would play for me.
« Last Edit: September 25, 2008, 04:39:57 PM by palos »

« Reply #27 on: September 25, 2008, 04:44:08 PM »
With a fit whitley and collin samuel in reserve (I have purposely left out the magician simply becz I have him on the sidelines callin the shots) do you all realise that we have a pretty strong midfield. I would dare say one of the strongest in concacaf. If only we had a real TD instead of that joker we could have been leading the group now.

I think a lot of the blame has to go with Jack Warner as well.  Yes, Mats is a leading contributor, but he can only play who he is told is available.  He dropped Birchall it's true, but both Yorke & Hyland were made unavailable to him for the last 2 matches.  In addition, I don't know if Samuel was available to be selected (i.e. still in TTFF bad books) so not sure if he responsible for that omission either.

I would still prefer Kerry Baptiste to Samuel (even though they don't exactly play the same position) but I understand why Samuel has been recalled.

« Reply #28 on: September 25, 2008, 04:45:37 PM »

Injured.

Joke aside.....(sadly Whjtley is injured so it eh no joke) Whitley is versatile enough to assume either the defensive midfielder or play maker role.  In THIS team, assuming all other things equal i.e. no random selection policies a la Maturana, it would mostly depend on Yorke's availability as to what role he would play for me.

Nah I know he injured jus curious to know how you would class him...and de hyland def mid ting is another debate, cause some people will argue he is more of an attackin mid...I believe as his career develop we will see which one he fits better

« Reply #29 on: September 25, 2008, 06:09:10 PM »

[/quote]

Yes selector ...pull up ! It's comments like these that cause huge disappointments later if left unchallenged. T&T has  one of the strongest midfield in Concacaf ? ..you came up with this all by yourself ? ...after only three games in a group in Concacaf ? ...you considered the other group in your analysis ? ..you have seen the USA, Mexico, Honduras  and Costa Rica ???
...we are so good that a 40 year old could walk een in dat star studded midfield just so ?
These players you speak off have demonstrated this capability against .............??????
I must be missing a lot here ..maybe you coiuld help me on this  ???