April 26, 2024, 08:18:03 PM

Author Topic: Flyin Kite  (Read 20555 times)

Flyin Kite
« on: November 11, 2006, 12:05:11 PM »
check dis fella
http://www.kitelife.com/videos/demo/bethell_promo.htm
i car get my chikichong to do nuttin so ;D ;D ;D ;D
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Re: Flyin Kite
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2006, 12:10:57 PM »
is a madbull dat you need

« Reply #2 on: November 11, 2006, 01:52:06 PM »
i remember goin down in de savanah by jerningham ave an watchin dem fellas wid day ZWILL and crush bottle on de tread  havin kite fight.   not me my kite was too much fun, and using de typewrite ribbon, fus dat was ah mess  ;D ;D  yung fellas ent kno bout dat atall atall
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #3 on: November 11, 2006, 02:46:22 PM »
i remember goin down in de savanah by jerningham ave an watchin dem fellas wid day ZWILL and crush bottle on de tread  havin kite fight.   not me my kite was too much fun, and using de typewrite ribbon, fus dat was ah mess  ;D ;D  yung fellas ent kno bout dat atall atall

all over yuh face red and black...Oh gorm boy....memories oui. ;D

« Reply #4 on: November 11, 2006, 02:50:33 PM »
what was de crush bottle on de thread called
Cant find it in Cote Ci Cote La.

« Reply #5 on: November 11, 2006, 03:44:15 PM »

typewriter ribbon with razor blade ... does were dey days of my youth ... good times

was de name when de kite string buss and yuh lose yuh kite?????

« Reply #6 on: November 11, 2006, 04:50:39 PM »

typewriter ribbon with razor blade ... does were dey days of my youth ... good times

was de name when de kite string buss and yuh lose yuh kite?????

ah think is "aiyo"..not sure how they smell it

« Reply #7 on: November 11, 2006, 06:37:21 PM »
dais de damn ting self...
but nobody knows what they did call de crush glass on de thread ???
I ent that ole ;D ;D ;D ;D

« Reply #8 on: November 11, 2006, 06:43:38 PM »
dais de damn ting self...
but nobody knows what they did call de crush glass on de thread ???
I ent that ole ;D ;D ;D ;D

dat was before my time ... yuh mus be ole, ole, ent?

« Reply #9 on: November 11, 2006, 06:45:36 PM »
aye, nuts man, look "Somebody Called" ya over day ;D ;D ;D ;D

« Reply #10 on: November 11, 2006, 07:05:49 PM »

Fighter kites originated in India and I gues that the tradition probalby came to T&T when the indentured workers came (i doh know dis for a fact so doh call me names)

But I found this on a kite web site

Then a paste made of glue and finely powdered glass is thinly spread on the thread in a special way to make the 'Dor'.

]http://www.haryana-online.com/kite_flying.htm

« Reply #11 on: November 11, 2006, 07:09:50 PM »

Fighter kites originated in India and I gues that the tradition probalby came to T&T when the indentured workers came (i doh know dis for a fact so doh call me names)

But I found this on a kite web site

Then a paste made of glue and finely powdered glass is thinly spread on the thread in a special way to make the 'Dor'.

]http://www.haryana-online.com/kite_flying.htm

Buh a-a, ah mite be mistaken .. maybe fighter kites originated in Trinidad and spread to India and China ... after all T&T is de centre of all cutural origins  :devil:

« Reply #12 on: November 11, 2006, 07:25:15 PM »
This is de best one, you can download a copy of KiteLines  WINTER-SPRING 1983 (Vol. 4 No. 3)
magazine here that has an article about kite flying in Trinidad
pages 40 to 45
I tried to copy an paste but no luck
VERY GOOD ARTICLE. Pictures an plans for all kinds of kites. Even a "flyin Chataigne leaf kite"
 pages 40 to 45
http://www.kitelife.com/kitelines/welcome.htm

look local articles  http://www.trinidad-tobago.net/Article.aspx?PageId=16   
http://www.caribbeanfreeradio.com/blog/?p=412
« Last Edit: November 11, 2006, 08:40:51 PM by RedHowler »

« Reply #13 on: November 11, 2006, 07:58:51 PM »
so nice to see the OLD heads reminising.About back in de day.
i aiyo nuff kite meh self....
it had a kite flying competiton in meh primary shcool..ah fella bring a corbeaux kite..dat ite was de shit.
real man line up to get ah lil "duck" in de kite.
i make a chikie- chung ah time..man dat mash up nuff man kite..lol
razaor blade ond e kite tail....
lord dem was de days

Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #14 on: November 11, 2006, 08:25:57 PM »
steupssssssssssssssss
nuffin could touch dey middle copybook page with ya mudda good sewing thread and she bobbie and dey kite tail is ya budda jockey shorts elastic waist.  And tur get ya kite bigger ya use ah drawin book page instead
runnin down dey hill barefoot and bawlin cause dey stones hittin up ya big toe

DEM WAS DEY DAYS..

« Reply #15 on: November 11, 2006, 09:16:23 PM »
so nice to see the OLD heads reminising.About back in de day.
i aiyo nuff kite meh self....
it had a kite flying competiton in meh primary shcool..ah fella bring a corbeaux kite..dat ite was de shit.
real man line up to get ah lil "duck" in de kite.
i make a chikie- chung ah time..man dat mash up nuff man kite..lol
razaor blade ond e kite tail....
lord dem was de days

OLD heads??????  wat de arse????

OLD is a state a mind .. and mine eh ole yet .. steupsss

« Reply #16 on: November 11, 2006, 09:21:15 PM »
steupssssssssssssssss
nuffin could touch dey middle copybook page with ya mudda good sewing thread and she bobbie and dey kite tail is ya budda jockey shorts elastic waist.  And tur get ya kite bigger ya use ah drawin book page instead

DEM WAS DEY DAYS..

an after yuh use up yuh medda thread, yuh take the wooden bobbin, cut 'V's in the rim, cut a peice a candle, find some rubber band, thread the rubber ban through the wax, through de bobbin, use a matchstick and isnert it in one end of the rubber band, insert a bigger stick in the other end of the rubber band (de end with wax), wind it up and presto ... yuh have the Trinidad version of a motorized tractor ....

DEM were de dayz.

Any bidy have a picture a one a dem tractors?

Redhowler??? yuh is de man to find dis stuff.

« Reply #17 on: November 11, 2006, 09:27:21 PM »
dis is a real trip down memory lane yes!!!!

But allyuh also remember the connotation for  'flying kite?"   :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #18 on: November 11, 2006, 09:28:52 PM »
This is de best one, you can download a copy of KiteLines  WINTER-SPRING 1983 (Vol. 4 No. 3)
pages 40 to 45
VERY GOOD ARTICLE. Pictures an plans for all kinds of kites. Even a "flyin Chataigne leaf kite"
 pages 40 to 45

how in de arse yuh is find all dis shite ... yuh is amazing ....

ah watch de plans for de mad bull ... jus de way I rememeber.  I help make one once with newspaper and bamboo down in Moriga.  On de beach flying de ting... i was so skinny, it almost pull me all de way to Venezuela.

« Reply #19 on: November 11, 2006, 09:30:43 PM »
I think de bottle was name mange(man jay)  and de razor blades was zwill

« Reply #20 on: November 11, 2006, 10:02:06 PM »
taught this was ah thread bout pelting rounds making it this far

« Reply #21 on: November 11, 2006, 10:18:12 PM »
steupssssssssssssssss

DEM WAS DEY DAYS..

an after yuh use up yuh medda thread, yuh take the wooden bobbin, cut 'V's in the rim, cut a peice a candle, find some rubber band, thread the rubber ban through the wax, through de bobbin, use a matchstick and isnert it in one end of the rubber band, insert a bigger stick in the other end of the rubber band (de end with wax), wind it up and presto ... yuh have the Trinidad version of a motorized tractor ....

DEM were de dayz.

Any bidy have a picture a one a dem tractors?

Redhowler??? yuh is de man to find dis stuff.

gosh now datz dey damn ting self
wha bout dey big fat battery with 2  small cord, 2 nails poun in ah piece ah wood tur make dey small bulb light up
and when it happen ya tink ya just make ah million dollars

« Reply #22 on: November 11, 2006, 11:16:06 PM »
dis is a real trip down memory lane yes!!!!
But allyuh also remember the connotation for  'flying kite?"   :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
ya had to come wid dat eh
is you an Morvant tinkin de same way ;D ;D ;D ;D

pages 40 to 45

how in de arse yuh is find all dis shite ... yuh is amazing ....

ah watch de plans for de mad bull ... jus de way I rememeber.  I help make one once with newspaper and bamboo down in Moriga.  On de beach flying de ting... i was so skinny, it almost pull me all de way to Venezuela.

ASK AND YOU SHALL RECEIVE  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

http://www.funsci.com/fun3_en/toys/toys.htm
« Last Edit: November 11, 2006, 11:23:51 PM by RedHowler »

« Reply #23 on: November 12, 2006, 08:41:38 AM »
but wha dey jail is dis....RedHowler is there anything ya cyah find ???

alrigh ah always wanna know wha kinda toilet bush does sid down on
and what pope shower does look like

« Reply #24 on: November 12, 2006, 08:44:07 AM »

alrigh ah always wanna know wha kinda toilet bush does sid down on
and what pope shower does look like

my thoughts exactly .... ???

how he does fine dese tings is the 8th wodner of de world ..

he should try out for Jeopardy

an did tinh about "kite flying" ... i was too young to know about any connotations ..

« Reply #25 on: November 12, 2006, 08:57:46 AM »
ahrite den leh see who used to do dis
« Last Edit: November 12, 2006, 09:01:04 AM by RedHowler »

« Reply #26 on: November 12, 2006, 09:04:56 AM »
alrigh ah always wanna know wha kinda toilet bush does sid down on<-- click here
and what pope shower does look like<-- click here

you can do the rest ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

« Last Edit: March 20, 2007, 02:25:55 PM by WestCoast »

« Reply #27 on: November 12, 2006, 09:10:31 AM »
from dinki and common to mad bull and singing angel.. I was ah borse... af few years back I made one for my daughters (mad bull) talk bout people come up asking whey I buy it..  my younger brother was ah real kite man though..he even knew how to make box and angel kites. The hardest part of the whole kite thing was tying the compass.. it took some skill.

Ah few years back my cousin who lives between brazil and here brought back ah kite from brazil.. fellas who've seen those brazillian kites in action will know what I mean.. ah skilled man could make that friggin kite dance... the absolute bess moves I eva see on a kite.. ah think it had some sort of sliding compass.

ah think ah was about 10 when I find some lady magazines ... dais when I took flying kite the the next level.. even nasa wanted meh to fly for dem oui... ah get tennis elbow at an early age.

« Reply #28 on: November 12, 2006, 09:25:25 AM »
Lawd this kite thing really have meh in ah flashback scene.  When my boys were younger, I too took some straws, ah could not find cokeyea (sp) here so with paper and flour we had  kites fuh so. Look nah ah simple thing like that , people want to know how we could  'mass produce' them so?

« Reply #29 on: November 12, 2006, 12:16:16 PM »
what about this one ... ah see meh daughter's friend had one yesterday.

yup! I was ah pro at this as well.