April 24, 2024, 01:21:59 PM

Author Topic: Update on Soca Warriors conflict.  (Read 12241 times)

Update on Soca Warriors conflict.
« on: November 17, 2006, 04:04:11 PM »
Update on Soca Warriors conflict.

Now that the Federation's International Calendar has been completed with our match against Austria, the Federation has now thought it prudent to make an official statement on the above referenced conflict which statement is now reported hereunder.The Federation, in the light of our benefactor, Jack Warner, officially advising the Ministry of Sport and us that October 31, 2006 is his last payment to our 2010 World Cup programme, which places the financial burden solely on him has now forced the Federation to meet in emergency session to review our plans for 2010.

The Soca Warriors Conflict

1. As you are no doubt aware, members of the Soca Warriors team set out to embarrass the TTFF on the afternoon of October 6, prior to the match against St Vincent and the Grenadines, by staging a news conference, during which the Federation was publicly accused of reneging on contract issues between TTFF and said team members. 

2. This curious but deliberate action by the players came mere hours after a meeting on the same subject with the TTFF General Secretary, at which it was agreed the players and their representatives would return on October 9 to continue discussions and examine accounts relevant to their claims. 

3. The T&TFF were therefore duly surprised and put through some degree of ignominy by that news conference, to which we had no access to present our view and at which leaders of the players' group refused to answer questions, leaving the media (and by extension, the general public) very confused. 

4. We viewed this maneouvre as equally deliberate, leaving the public, with only the position of the aggrieved players as the substantial argument. 

5. The media enthusiastically supported the team, parroting the players' threat that, if the matter remained unresolved, they would retire after the two imminent games vs St. Vincent & the Grenadines and Panama .

6. Essentially, the 13 players involved publicly accused the TTFF of reneging on a contractual obligation made during the 2006 World Cup build-up. Captain Dwight Yorke read a prepared statement, which said (inter-alia): "We, the players of the National Team that participated in the World Cup 2006, would like to announce our consideration to retire from international football immediately after our next two games."

7. Appearing in demonstration of solidarity with the position articulated by Captain Yorke were: Dennis Lawrence, David Atiba Charles, Avery John, Chris Birchall, Carlos Edwards, Colin Samuel, Stern John, Kenwyne Jones, Jason Scotland, Brent Sancho and Cornell Glen.

8. It is useful to note that Yorke's statement was, by his own admission, predicated upon the view that Government has reimbursed the TTFF for all our expenses which, he said: "makes the TTFF's stand even more confusing."

9.  Caught unawares by that astonishing development, the TTFF released a statement seeking to clarify the issue, saying the question of queries arising from the contractual agreement had been discussed earlier that day and a way forward was unambiguously identified. 

10. In advance of the players' news conference, the exercise of reviewing the contract had already been agreed for Monday, October 9. Quite naturally, we were appropriately embarrassed by the turn of events and particularly from players whose interests we have sought and defended on a continuing basis. 

11. The TTFF further advised that if, by noon of the day following, the players did not revise their position and withdraw the expressed threats, we would advise football fans of a matrix of alternatives. 

12.  As events evolved, the game remained intact, although confusion in the minds of football fans probably resulted in reduced revenue at the gates and worse, possible long-term effects including jeopardizing future sponsorship deals, given the degree of (albeit baseless) suspicion inherent in the players' claims.

13. It is useful here to note that a report from our Accounts Department indicated that of approximately $13 million of sponsorship money raised during the campaign, a percentage was consciously diverted to mobilize the 2010 World Cup campaign.

14. In addition, several sponsors contributed to both the Germany campaign as well as South Africa 2010, so that income was treated in the following manner: Two-thirds for the Germany campaign and one-third for kicking off the South Africa campaign. 

15. As you are no doubt equally aware, the players representatives did not turn up for the meeting on October 9 and much later in that day, through a call from Yorke, indicated they would come to meet at noon on the day following.

16. The representatives did not show up at that meeting either, leaving the General Secretariat waiting for nearly four hours, without so much as the courtesy of a telephone call to advise that they would not be coming.

17. Meanwhile, all sorts of spurious accounts of TTFF revenue from sponsorship began appearing in the local media, including an utterly outrageous claim that Adidas had given us US$71 million, a statement that undoubtedly put us in a bad light and on the losing side, if only in terms of public awareness. 

18. In the face of continuing discourtesy to the TTFF, the General Secretary wrote to Dennis Lawrence, Stern John & Brent Sancho on the evening of October 10, complaining that their media exposure of the Friday previous had made us out as the villain but, after repeated requests to resolve the matter around the table, they were yet to show up or communicate a reason for their absence. 

19.  In the interest of finding a resolution, the TTFF again appealed to the players' representatives to meet at our offices at 43 Dundonald St , Port of Spain at 10:00 a.m. on Wednesday October 11th, in the hope of bringing closure to this unsavoury development in our relationship with them.

20. The meeting eventually took place on October 12th, seven days after the players went public with a slew of accusations against the TTFF. At the meeting Stern John and Dennis Lawrence represented the players. 

21.  When initially asked to detail the players' grievance, the TTFF was advised by Mr. Lawrence that the players had agreed that they would maintain their position and adhere to the Contractual Agreement between them and the TTFF. 

22. The TTFF then produced one of the signed contracts and asked Mr. Lawrence and Mr. John to identify the subject clause to which they were referring, since we were unclear as to which aspect was being referenced. 

23. After Mr. Lawrence and Mr. John made several frantic telephone calls to their colleagues overseas, they determined that there was no reference (specific or otherwise) made regarding any compensation for any sponsor-related income generated by the TTFF. 

24. Mr. Lawrence and Mr. John agreed on behalf of the players that this was indeed correct and there was a misinterpretation on their part. 

25. The representatives having come to the realization that there is no clause substantiating the players' claim, the TTFF still advised of its willingness to seek a mutually acceptable compromise on the issue. 

26. The players' representatives were exposed to the Income vs Expenses spreadsheet, dating back to the T&T vs USA match on Feb 9, 2005, including ticket sales; broadcast rights; receipts from sponsorships and even bar sales. 

27. Further, the TTFF volunteered to repatriate the percentage sum appointed to mobilization for South Africa 2010 to the available purse. 

28.  Based on the revised calculations and the TTFF decision to waive investment in South Africa 2010 as previously intended, the result was a net profit of TT$ 950,403.49, of which 50 percent, the sum of TT$ 475,201.75, would be equally distributed between players and officials, with the other half accruing to the TTFF. 

29. It was then agreed by both the Players' representatives and the TTFF that a revised spreadsheet would be submitted to the Players for them to review and advise us of their findings.

30. On Friday October 13th, the players' representatives were contacted and sent an aide memoire and asked to sign a copy of that document as acknowledgement of their acceptance of the revised arrangement.  A copy of the spreadsheet was attached for ease of reference.

31. Up to October 19th, fully six days later, the TTFF had not been contacted by the players' representatives. A letter sent that morning (addressed to Dennis Lawrence, but advised to all the complainants) lamented the lack of response from their side.

32. In our letter of October 19th, the TTFF advised that, in the absence of communication by 4 pm that day, we would assume the proposal was acceptable, explaining that establishing the timeline became necessary, as we are in the process of planning our next scheduled game – against Austria on November 15th. 

33. That same day, we received a terse letter, generated by Brent Sancho but copied to a number of his colleagues, saying the aggrieved players had to consult with "appropriately qualified advisers" and could not respond to "arbitrary deadlines." 

34. Sancho's letter said they were meeting with their advisors on October 20th and we would hear from them early in the week following. The letter also illogically insisted that the TTFF "cannot imply anything from our lack of communication other than the fact that we are considering our position with our advisers." 

35. The letter further said: "We don't consider your communication of the 13th October contained any 'proposal'; certainly not one capable of acceptance." This was after John and Lawrence had agreed on their behalf. 

36. Again, and after due consultation with our legal advisors, the TTFF made another concession by agreeing to wait for a response, but insisted such a reply should be received by 4 pm on October 24, 2006. 

37. It is against this backdrop of protracted vacillation and posturing on an issue the players generated, that we decided not to go public on this matter until after our match against Austria. In the interim, the T&TFF received a legal letter from the purported Agent of Kelvin Jack asking us for certain information and mentioning that the firm is representing the players. Our Legal Counsel responded that he had been retained to represent the T&TFF and asked the firm to state whom they were representing. To date no reply has been received from the firm.

38. In the meantime, the T&TFF has sent to its auditors, KPMG, for audit all the Income and Expenditure for the 2006 World Cup campaign beginning from 2004 until 2006. On completion of the audit, the figures will be made public and shall show the hundreds of thousands of US dollars paid to the players, the banks to which these payments had been transferred including banks in the Isle of Man and the USD bonuses which were given and this has nothing to do with the millions which the players received from the Government of Trinidad & Tobago. It was never our intention to do this but, with a presently discerning public, we are left with no alternative. We are also actively contemplating a swifter than originally envisaged consideration of incorporating the rising brood of players from our Professional League, Under-20 and even Under-17 squads to form the nucleus of our team for 2010. 

39. In preparing for South Africa 2010, it must therefore be our parallel goal to rid ourselves of the anxieties with which we have been faced before each of the past three international friendly games and which, we may suspect will drag on and even see new issues surface, providing a continuum of distractions as we attempt to get on with the serious business of maintaining our integrity in the world of football.

We therefore so advise.  (Nov 17,2006)

Richard Groden,
General Secretary
T&T Football Federation
« Last Edit: November 17, 2006, 06:26:55 PM by Flex »

Re: Update on Soca Warriors conflict
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2006, 04:19:57 PM »
STEEEEEEUUUUUPPPPPPEEEEEEEESSSSSSSSSSSSS[/color]

« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2006, 04:20:03 PM »
Cliffs?

I feeling lazy this friday evening

« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2006, 04:34:36 PM »
Cliffs?

I feeling lazy this friday evening

...ah whole set ah sound and fury signifying nothing.

Basically.

« Reply #4 on: November 17, 2006, 04:37:27 PM »
so what ??? is dis de end of the Soca Warriors as we know it ??? steupppsss...ah mean STEUPPPSSS...TTFF at it again...hope this would be the end of Jack too.

« Reply #5 on: November 17, 2006, 04:37:56 PM »
I would not be too fast to rush to judgement since there appears to be more in the mortar than the pistle. 

It is interesting to hear the TTFF blame the players for the stalemate.  In not rushing to judgement I would like to hear the Players rebuttal, since the TTFF statement is pointing to contractual documents (which I am sure can be produced), calling out players by name and times of agreed meetings (or cancelled meetings because of players not showing up).  

Now if yuh did not know what yuh signing or agreeing to, then whose fault is that?  This situation points to a real need for a players association with proper representation (men with legal understanding of contracts).  Maybe the TTFF outsmart the players which might be the root of the bitterness between players and management.

The big strike on the TTFF is that they have no credibility based on past practices.  The TTFF cah run away from that fact!!!  Diverting funds for let's say the 2010 Campaign without informing affected stakeholders sounds like how the TTFF does do business.  It gets harder to follow the paper trail after a number of divertions.

The Federation, in the light of our benefactor, Jack Warner, officially advising the Ministry of Sport and us that October 31, 2006 is his last payment to our 2010 World Cup programme, which places the financial burden solely on him has now forced the Federation to meet in emergency session to review our plans for 2010.

It is amusing that the TTFF state that the 2010 World Cup programme financial burden is/was solely on Jack Warner.  Need to read between the lines, is this a donation or an investment (looking for a return)???

Blessings
« Last Edit: November 17, 2006, 04:40:38 PM by Lower St. John »

« Reply #6 on: November 17, 2006, 04:43:08 PM »
I would not be too fast to rush to judgement since there appears to be more in the mortar than the pistle. 

It is interesting to hear the TTFF blame the players for the stalemate.  In not rushing to judgement I would like to hear the Players rebuttal, since the TTFF statement is pointing to contractual documents (which I am sure can be produced), calling out players by name and times of agreed meetings (or cancelled meetings because of players not showing up).  

The players have already given their explanation for not showing up for meetings with the TTFF.

They made their deal NOT with the TTFF per se but with Mr. Jack Warner who was acting, as usual, on beahlf of the TTFF, therefore, they did not want to deal any further with the TTFF on this matter because the TTFF would have to go to Jack Warner for direction, advice and instruction anyway.

They preferred to deal with the person who made the deal, not his peons.

« Reply #7 on: November 17, 2006, 04:51:33 PM »

The players have already given their explanation for not showing up for meetings with the TTFF.

They made their deal NOT with the TTFF per se but with Mr. Jack Warner who was acting, as usual, on beahlf of the TTFF, therefore, they did not want to deal any further with the TTFF on this matter because the TTFF would have to go to Jack Warner for direction, advice and instruction anyway.

They preferred to deal with the person who made the deal, not his peons.

Palos I could accept yuh reason.  Again it is a classic case of misdirection when dealing with the TTFF and it Special Adviser (Siamese twins - two heads but in the end one a$$hole).

But was there a different deal discussed with Jack as opposed to the contracts the players appeared to have signed with the TTFF???

Blessings
« Last Edit: November 17, 2006, 05:32:55 PM by Lower St. John »

« Reply #8 on: November 17, 2006, 04:56:08 PM »
I read the first two points and just could not read the rest. What an immature and cheap way to start a delicate public relations report. sickening. pay the damn players you liars

« Reply #9 on: November 17, 2006, 04:57:26 PM »
the TTFF and it Special Adviser (Siamese twins - two heads but in the end one a$$hole).

Notice how dem referrin to Jack as dem BENEFACTOR now.  He done move past Special Advisor status.

« Reply #10 on: November 17, 2006, 05:03:13 PM »
the TTFF and it Special Adviser (Siamese twins - two heads but in the end one a$$hole).

Notice how dem referrin to Jack as dem BENEFACTOR now.  He done move past Special Advisor status.

That is why I ask the question earlier, why is Jack sinking his hard stolen earned money into the TTFF??  Sounds like he was always a BENEFACTOR giving ADVICE to protect his interest!!!

« Reply #11 on: November 17, 2006, 05:03:27 PM »
This thing has to be the least professional $h!t I've ever read - awfully written, vindictive rather than conciliatory, and does not offer any potential solution to the situation. 30+ paragraphs of pure ish.

Its embarrassing. I can't believe a man really signed his name to that letter.

« Reply #12 on: November 17, 2006, 05:28:07 PM »

That is why I ask the question earlier, why is Jack sinking his hard stolen earned money into the TTFF??  Sounds like he was always a BENEFACTOR giving ADVICE to protect his interest!!!

This is purely "Hypothetical" eh...

But

Let's HYPOTHETICALLY say you were to OWN football in T&T......imagine the possibilities.

Nothing can be done without your say so

You control the rights for the national team(s)

Including television rights

Consider that whenever the Mexican National team plays, Mexican TV broadcasts every match.  Which means they have to pay every team that plays Mexico broadcast rights.

So hypothetically speaking, every time the team you OWN plays Mexico, you COULD get paid serious coin each and every time.  Makes you wish you could play Mexico as often as possible in every tournament eh?

Imagine if by some miracle a World Cup tournament come to your country.....if you were positioned correctly and had all the right contacts, you theoretically might be able to get stadia approved and built.  Theoretically, you could be or an investor in de contractin company to build dese stada.  You might even have have concession rights.  But you don't necessarily have to invest a cent into said stadia.  Is pure profit.  You may even be in a position to get TV rights from dat tournament too.  Not to mention other spin off's like merchandising for example.

Every time T&T play a friendly match....you could theoretically call for an appearance fee.  And said fee doesn't have to go to the players or even the Federation....because remember...as mentioned before, you hypothetically OWN football there.

Dream a lil more and hypothesise that the team you OWN somehow qualified for a World Cup Finals.  Imagine that somehow you were able to be a distributor of World Cup tickets.  Hypothetically, you could even own a travel agency or be a "shadow owner"  ;) ;) in a travel agency offering a World Cup package.  Hypothetically, you could even come up with a catchy phrase...something like "ticket or leave it"...even though "ticketing it" might cost the purchaser...oh...leh we say....say about TT$30,000....without de airfare.

That's just scratching the surface.

Ah mean.....hypothetcially, you could organise friendly games against certain opposition, and if there are 1 or 2 local footballers who the local football public LOVE to see play and will come out in their numbers to see, you could hypothetically charge $300 for grounds and $500 for stands for a game against a foreign team's U 21 side.  The crowd comin to see their beloved players.  Yes...they want to see the foreign stars....but even if they advertised and fail to show....it doh matter.

You wouldn't NEED the gate reseipts anyway.  Ah mean....if gate receipts was yuh motivation for owning this football (hypothetically speaking of course), yuh wouldn't be in it.  Gate receipts is jes gravy.  Chump change.  TV Rights, Appearance Fees, etc.....that's where the REAL money would lie....again hypothetically speaking of course.

So hypothetically, FOOTBALL really would just be a means to an end.  Football doh really matter and you may or may not have a true love for the game and the country's best interest at heart, it still wouldn't matter.  Of course, you wouldn't be able to do all these things by yourself so you would have to surround yourself with a bunch of yes men who will do your bidding without question because they have already been bought.  You OWN them just as much as you would OWN football.  Yours to do with what you want, when you want, how you want, and how often you want.

Hypothetically speaking of course.
« Last Edit: November 17, 2006, 05:34:44 PM by palos »

« Reply #13 on: November 17, 2006, 05:36:08 PM »

Dream a lil more and hypothesise that the team you OWN somehow qualified for a World Cup Finals.  Imagine that somehow you were able to be a distributor of World Cup tickets.  Hypothetically, you could even own a travel agency or be a "shadow owner"  ;) ;) in a travel agency offering a World Cup package.  Hypothetically, you could even come up with a catchy phrase...something like "ticket or leave it"...even though "ticketing it" might cost the purchaser...oh...leh we say....say about TT$30,000....without de airfare.

Ah convince is Lisana Liburd posting as Palos this afternoon.  Hypothetically speaking of course.

Blessings
« Last Edit: November 17, 2006, 06:46:08 PM by Lower St. John »

« Reply #14 on: November 17, 2006, 05:55:05 PM »

But

Let's HYPOTHETICALLY say you were to OWN football in T&T......imagine the possibilities.

Consider that whenever the Mexican National team plays, Mexican TV broadcasts every match.  Which means they have to pay every team that plays Mexico broadcast rights.

So hypothetically speaking, every time the team you OWN plays Mexico, you COULD get paid serious coin each and every time.  Makes you wish you could play Mexico as often as possible in every tournament eh?

Imagine if by some miracle a World Cup tournament come to your country.....if you were positioned correctly and had all the right contacts, you theoretically might be able to get stadia approved and built.  Theoretically, you could be or an investor in de contractin company to build dese stada.  You might even have have concession rights.  But you don't necessarily have to invest a cent into said stadia.  Is pure profit.  You may even be in a position to get TV rights from dat tournament too.  Not to mention other spin off's like merchandising for example.

Every time T&T play a friendly match....you could theoretically call for an appearance fee.  And said fee doesn't have to go to the players or even the Federation....because remember...as mentioned before, you hypothetically OWN football there.

Ah mean.....hypothetcially, you could organise friendly games against certain opposition, and if there are 1 or 2 local footballers who the local football public LOVE to see play and will come out in their numbers to see, you could hypothetically charge $300 for grounds and $500 for stands for a game against a foreign team's U 21 side.  The crowd comin to see their beloved players.  Yes...they want to see the foreign stars....but even if they advertised and fail to show....it doh matter.

You wouldn't NEED the gate reseipts anyway.  Ah mean....if gate receipts was yuh motivation for owning this football (hypothetically speaking of course), yuh wouldn't be in it.  Gate receipts is jes gravy.  Chump change.  TV Rights, Appearance Fees, etc.....that's where the REAL money would lie....again hypothetically speaking of course.

So hypothetically, FOOTBALL really would just be a means to an end.  Football doh really matter and you may or may not have a true love for the game and the country's best interest at heart, it still wouldn't matter.  Of course, you wouldn't be able to do all these things by yourself so you would have to surround yourself with a bunch of yes men who will do your bidding without question because they have already been bought.  You OWN them just as much as you would OWN football.  Yours to do with what you want, when you want, how you want, and how often you want.

Hypothetically speaking..."if ah did it, this is how ah would ah do it"  ;D

Re: Update on Soca Warriors conflict.
« Reply #15 on: November 17, 2006, 06:39:54 PM »

But

:applause: :beermug: good post bredda

« Reply #16 on: November 17, 2006, 06:46:09 PM »
I would urge everyone to please read the TTFF's entire response and not only the begining  before responding.

Yes, the TTFF sounds vindictive.....but there must be some truth to what they are saying....while I will always have the players back first, which is naturally easy of course given we are dealling with the TTFF, the FA has rasied some valid points. Some players may have not done their homework properly.

I think the Pro-league needs to have more of those media relations seminars!

« Reply #17 on: November 17, 2006, 06:48:49 PM »
TTFF tek dis

30 years and counting
when we goin an get someone who is there for the Good of TnT Football, When ???
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #18 on: November 17, 2006, 06:59:25 PM »
I would urge everyone to please read the TTFF's entire response and not only the begining  before responding.

Yes, the TTFF sounds vindictive.....but there must be some truth to what they are saying....while I will always have the players back first, which is naturally easy of course given we are dealling with the TTFF, the FA has rasied some valid points. Some players may have not done their homework properly.

What does that tell you about an organisation who even when they may have something valid to say is completely tuned out and people jes doh want to hear?

They have no credibility.  They have no integrity.  They could tell the public 1 + 1 =2 and the public still wouldn't fart on dem.

Is that the fault of the public?  Until the main transgessors are gone and gone for good, nothing they do or say will change the public perception of them.

By his deeds shall a man be judged.  The TTFF & it's alter ego benefactor have done too many misdeeds.  There is no recovery from that.

« Reply #19 on: November 17, 2006, 07:12:40 PM »

What does that tell you about an organisation who even when they may have something valid to say is completely tuned out and people jes doh want to hear?

They have no credibility. They have no integrity. They could tell the public 1 + 1 =2 and the public still wouldn't fart on dem.

Is that the fault of the public? Until the main transgessors are gone and gone for good, nothing they do or say will change the public perception of them.

By his deeds shall a man be judged. The TTFF & it's alter ego benefactor have done too many misdeeds. There is no recovery from that.

your posts on this thread are some of the best ive read in a long time  :beermug:

God is de BOSS....

by his deeds he will be judged, when the ttff men stand in front of God and the lord ask dem what have you done for your people, i would love to hear what they say....

« Reply #20 on: November 17, 2006, 07:28:08 PM »
All Jack and his croonies have to do is follow OJ and write if I screwed the players.

« Reply #21 on: November 17, 2006, 07:33:16 PM »
All Jack and his croonies have to do is follow OJ and write if I screwed the players.

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:  :beermug:

« Reply #22 on: November 17, 2006, 08:26:54 PM »

Some players may have not done their homework properly.

trinbago, The TTFF released all the financial details to the public in one of their press releases a while back. What they have been saying recently has been a complete 180 from those details!! I believe the players have every right to feel upset by this! They did their homework, but the ttff changed up the assignments on them!

« Reply #23 on: November 17, 2006, 10:09:45 PM »
aye who want to start up the TATAF - (Trinidad And Tobago Association of Football) - a rival organisation to the ttff.   get all the players to sign onboard to our association and petition to FIFA that the TTFF is defunct.
Warrior Nation?

« Reply #24 on: November 17, 2006, 10:38:27 PM »
We get Sean Fuentes side ......here's Lasana Liburd

Who needs the Warriors? T&TFF threaten to go local for 2010

Lasana Liburd

Saturday, November 18th 2006

Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (T&TFF) general secretary Richard Groden yesterday declared his intention to eradicate the "anxieties" and "distractions" facing his organisation on the road to the 2010 South Africa World Cup, referring to their own players.

In a press release entitled "Update on Soca Warriors conflict", the T&TFF revealed they are considering asking players from the Trinidad and Tobago Pro League, as well as the Under-20 and Under-17 squads, to shoulder the responsibility of the 2010 World Cup campaign.

"We are actively contemplating a swifter than originally envisaged consideration of incorporating the rising brood of players," stated Groden's release, "from our Professional League, under-20 and even under-17 squads to form the nucleus of our team for 2010."

Groden, via a release, explained that the T&TFF were "contemplating" this "consideration" as a result of the players' "vacillation" over 2006 World Cup bonuses.

The row began on October 6 when the World Cup players expressed their dissatisfaction with the T&TFF over bonuses. The Warriors were offered $141,102 to be split 25 ways, which equated to $5,644.08 per player.

Both parties agreed the players were due 50 per cent of World Cup generated revenue, although the T&TFF insisted that expenses be deducted before bonuses were paid out and one-third of the money be kept aside for the 2010 campaign.

The T&TFF claimed to receive $18,255,952 for their Germany campaign. However, Athletes One Legal, a London firm hired by the players, called for an independent audit of the T&TFF's accounts in a legal letter sent to FIFA, as well as the local football body. Groden claimed that the T&TFF's auditors, KPMG, was in the process of reviewing their World Cup Income and Expenditure.

Still, the T&TFF offered an improved figure of $475,201.75 on October 13, which they claimed to have raised by waiving their 2010 investment. This updated figure means that each player would pocket $19,008.07.

However, the T&TFF claimed that Gillingham defender Brent Sancho rebuffed their offer as "not one capable of acceptance".

Groden called Sancho's response "terse" and "illogical" and insisted that his stance was contrary to his teammates, Stern John and Dennis Lawrence, who, according to the release, accepted the T&TFF's position.

The T&TFF also questioned the role of Athletes One Legal, who the Federation referred to as "the purported agent of (Gillingham goalkeeper) Kelvin Jack".

Three years ago, Sancho and Jack were among a group of players banned from representing their country after the national players refused to turn out in an international friendly against Finland.

The Gillingham players, who both represented their country in Germany, were left out of the national squad for Wednesday's 4-1 friendly defeat in Austria.

The remaining Warriors may be next as the T&TFF threatened to promote the under-20 players who struggled in qualifying games against St Kitts and the Dominican Republic this month and the Pro League players dismissed by present national coach Wim Rijsbergen as being far from the desired standard.

Groden accused the players of confusing fans and "jeopardising future sponsorship deals" with their "baseless suspicion". He explained the T&TFF intentionally waited until after the Austria friendly to respond as the local body consider their future and that of their star players.

Groden claimed that yesterday's release was a result of a T&TFF emergency session called after T&TFF special adviser Jack Warner's threat to pull out of local football.

The FIFA vice-president made a similar claim after the 2002 World Cup qualifying campaign but returned in time for the 2006 series. The national players refused comment on the release and explained that their legal representative would respond on Monday. However, one player admitted that they were concerned about their international futures, but it would not stop their legal battle.

"Of course you have fears about your career," said the player, who preferred to remain anonymous, "but right is right and it is one of those things you have to do".

« Last Edit: November 17, 2006, 10:44:44 PM by royal »

« Reply #25 on: November 17, 2006, 11:21:49 PM »
aye who want to start up the TATAF - (Trinidad And Tobago Association of Football) - a rival organisation to the ttff.   get all the players to sign onboard to our association and petition to FIFA that the TTFF is defunct.
Warrior Nation?

Yeah maybe it's time to start one of these: http://www.gopetition.com/online/7956.html
Since Jack says he is no longer paying in for 2010 let's call the TTFF bankrupt, send them all home and start over

« Reply #26 on: November 18, 2006, 05:23:17 AM »

Ah thought was jus me who pick up on dat.....Jack eh no Special Advisor no more.......

SSSSTTTTEEEEUUPPPSSSS......here we go again......de TTFF like to grand stand and give ultimatums eh??......ah paraphrasing here.....if all yuh eh do wha we say, we going 2010 without all yuh.....SSSSSTTTTEEEEUUUPPPSSS.....again...

Please gimme ah break.....de Under 20 team? ???....dat team cyar beat Caribbean sides dey own age, dey go be ready for 2010??....

To be honest mih eh know if to laugh, cry or jus be damn blasted vex!!..... >:(

Offline 1-868

• Haters love me
« Reply #27 on: November 18, 2006, 07:04:08 AM »
Who de f**k is Richard Groden !!!!!, he ever kick a lime in he life.. only looking to get free ride on the players back, like most of the other  sport administrators.. STEPUSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS
Phenomenal, lovely atmosphere.

« Reply #28 on: November 18, 2006, 09:35:42 AM »
All I have to say to dem under whatever learn from the cricket impasse no scabs. Evil will prevail when good men do nuthin. So Yorke call you partner Lara get he Sports attorney and take the TTFF to the cleaners as the WICB were taken to the cleaners. IFCA ruled that they were entitled to individual contracts and when the WICB tried not to put Bravo on retainer because he had resig with C&W they had to give him one so learn from the impasse no scabs.

Let Jack, Groden, Camps, Vidale, Alvin Corneal, Anton Corneal, Anil, Ato,valentino Singh and 2 of his apologists on this site be the starting 11. 

Warner says he is out; no funding for 2010 W/Cup
« Reply #29 on: November 18, 2006, 09:52:30 AM »

Richard Groden

No more Warner funding for 2010 W/Cup
T&TFF: Players have no grounds for bonus claims
Source: Trinidad Guardian

FIFA vice-president and Concacaf president Austin Jack Warner has ended his financial assistance to the T&T Football Federation’s 2010 World Cup programme.

A media release yesterday by T&TFF’s general secretary, Richard Groden stated that Warner—special advisor to the T&TFF who was also a key financial figure in the Soca Warriors “Journey To Germany” campaign—had informed the Federation and the Ministry of Sport and Youth Affairs of his decision.

The T&TFF’s letter stated:

“The Federation, in the light of our benefactor, Jack Warner, officially advising the Ministry of Sport and us that October 31, 2006, is his last payment to our 2010 World Cup programme, which places the financial burden solely on him, has now forced the Federation to meet in emergency session to review our plans for 2010.

Soca Warriors of the World Cup have no grounds for claims to bonuses, says an official statement regarding the demand by the players for bonuses, which came to a head last month when the players said they would not play for T&T again if the bonuses, agreed to in the run-up to the World Cup qualification, were not paid.

The 13 World Cup members of the T&T team who were selected to play in two international friendlies against St Vincent and The Grenadines and Panama had voiced their feelings on the matter on the eve of the friendlies..

This came after the players accused the TTFF of reneging on contract issues which were signed prior to the World Cup Finals in Germany.

Following a number of meetings which proved unsuccessful in resolving the matter, the players, through their London-based lawyers, issued a statement which said they were leaving the matter in the hands of their lawyers who were expected to seek arbitration under the Fifa statutes.

But in the release yesterday, the TTFF stated:

“It is useful to note that a report from their Accounts Department indicated that of approximately $13 million of sponsorship money raised during the campaign, a percentage was consciously diverted to mobilise the 2010 World Cup campaign.

“In addition, several sponsors contributed to both the Germany campaign, as well as South Africa 2010, so that income was treated in the following manner:

“Two-thirds for the Germany campaign and one-third for kicking off the South Africa campaign.“In the meantime, the T&TFF has sent to its auditors, KPMG, for audit all the Income and Expenditure for the 2006 World Cup campaign beginning from 2004 until 2006.

“On completion of the audit, the figures will be made public and shall show the hundreds of thousands of US dollars paid to the players, the banks to which these payments had been transferred, including banks in the Isle of Man and the US, bonuses which were given and this has nothing to do with the millions which the players received from the Government of T&T.”

« Last Edit: November 18, 2006, 09:56:20 AM by kingman »