April 19, 2024, 09:37:50 AM

Author Topic: T&TFF threaten to go local for 2010.  (Read 12103 times)

T&TFF threaten to go local for 2010.
« on: November 18, 2006, 04:52:14 AM »
Who needs the Warriors? T&TFF threaten to go local for 2010.
By: Lasana Liburd (Express).

Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (T&TFF) general secretary Richard Groden yesterday declared his intention to eradicate the "anxieties" and "distractions" facing his organisation on the road to the 2010 South Africa World Cup, referring to their own players.
In a press release entitled "Update on Soca Warriors conflict", the T&TFF revealed they are considering asking players from the Trinidad and Tobago Pro League, as well as the Under-20 and Under-17 squads, to shoulder the responsibility of the 2010 World Cup campaign.
"We are actively contemplating a swifter than originally envisaged consideration of incorporating the rising brood of players," stated Groden's release, "from our Professional League, under-20 and even under-17 squads to form the nucleus of our team for 2010."
Groden, via a release, explained that the T&TFF were "contemplating" this "consideration" as a result of the players' "vacillation" over 2006 World Cup bonuses.
The row began on October 6 when the World Cup players expressed their dissatisfaction with the T&TFF over bonuses. The Warriors were offered $141,102 to be split 25 ways, which equated to $5,644.08 per player.
Both parties agreed the players were due 50 per cent of World Cup generated revenue, although the T&TFF insisted that expenses be deducted before bonuses were paid out and one-third of the money be kept aside for the 2010 campaign.
The T&TFF claimed to receive $18,255,952 for their Germany campaign. However, Athletes One Legal, a London firm hired by the players, called for an independent audit of the T&TFF's accounts in a legal letter sent to FIFA, as well as the local football body. Groden claimed that the T&TFF's auditors, KPMG, was in the process of reviewing their World Cup Income and Expenditure.
Still, the T&TFF offered an improved figure of $475,201.75 on October 13, which they claimed to have raised by waiving their 2010 investment. This updated figure means that each player would pocket $19,008.07.
However, the T&TFF claimed that Gillingham defender Brent Sancho rebuffed their offer as "not one capable of acceptance".
Groden called Sancho's response "terse" and "illogical" and insisted that his stance was contrary to his teammates, Stern John and Dennis Lawrence, who, according to the release, accepted the T&TFF's position.
The T&TFF also questioned the role of Athletes One Legal, who the Federation referred to as "the purported agent of (Gillingham goalkeeper) Kelvin Jack".
Three years ago, Sancho and Jack were among a group of players banned from representing their country after the national players refused to turn out in an international friendly against Finland.
The Gillingham players, who both represented their country in Germany, were left out of the national squad for Wednesday's 4-1 friendly defeat in Austria.
The remaining Warriors may be next as the T&TFF threatened to promote the under-20 players who struggled in qualifying games against St Kitts and the Dominican Republic this month and the Pro League players dismissed by present national coach Wim Rijsbergen as being far from the desired standard.
Groden accused the players of confusing fans and "jeopardising future sponsorship deals" with their "baseless suspicion". He explained the T&TFF intentionally waited until after the Austria friendly to respond as the local body consider their future and that of their star players.
Groden claimed that yesterday's release was a result of a T&TFF emergency session called after T&TFF special adviser Jack Warner's threat to pull out of local football.
The FIFA vice-president made a similar claim after the 2002 World Cup qualifying campaign but returned in time for the 2006 series. The national players refused comment on the release and explained that their legal representative would respond on Monday. However, one player admitted that they were concerned about their international futures, but it would not stop their legal battle.
"Of course you have fears about your career," said the player, who preferred to remain anonymous, "but right is right and it is one of those things you have to do".
« Last Edit: May 25, 2007, 05:23:44 AM by Flex »

Offline 1-868

• Haters love me
Re: T&TFF threaten to go local for 2010.
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2006, 05:52:33 AM »
I guess that mean I have to stop saving meh money for WC 2010 then??
Phenomenal, lovely atmosphere.

« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2006, 06:36:49 AM »

doh study dese clowns.. when was the last time they follow through on something?

« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2006, 06:47:08 AM »
While this may seem good and yes all the ones who calling for "go local" will feel nice.

We ent going nowhere with a all local squad.

That have a local team in training is a fallacy....PFL clubs doe release players and men have games and cup games right tru.

Plus last but not least........ The Local men not up to int'l standard.

The days of strike squad and a local team is over. You have to be a pro playing with and among the best in the world to be competitive.

The TTFF cutting orf dey nose to spite dey face.

Glenn, Kenwyne, Birchall, Samuel, Scotland and most importantly Carlos are must have players in our next WC drive.

We will be going nowhere fast. I say so.

De under 20 and under 17 team have nobody to make the grade internationally. I say so and worse yet if they stay here playing with PFL.

Alyuh get alyuh candle, pitch oil flambeaux and matches....it was always dusk, but the darkness has finally settled. Dawn is two generations away.

Offline Kingk

• Warriors 4ever
« Reply #4 on: November 18, 2006, 07:16:32 AM »
safe to say goodbye to africa 2010? ???

« Reply #5 on: November 18, 2006, 08:52:13 AM »

Who can't see this blind!!!!!

I will keep my memories of Germany and settle.

Blessings

« Reply #6 on: November 18, 2006, 08:57:06 AM »
Jack Warner want to pull out of local football now because he pocket fat he got all that he wanted now its time to pull out but he will never live our football because that easy money and no one with stand up to him he’s been doing for years so why stop now someone like Lincoln Phillips need to run for TTFF presidency I’m sure these elections are coming up soon let make this our main agenda finding the right candidate to take over as PRESIDENT OF TTFF come out guy all the TALKERS step up.     

« Reply #7 on: November 18, 2006, 09:10:57 AM »
steups!!

« Reply #8 on: November 18, 2006, 09:18:21 AM »
Thank God for Germany as it would be last WC for my lifetime.

« Reply #9 on: November 18, 2006, 09:20:04 AM »
Jack Warner want to pull out of local football now because he pocket fat he got all that he wanted now its time to pull out but he will never live our football because that easy money and no one with stand up to him he’s been doing for years so why stop now someone like Lincoln Phillips need to run for TTFF presidency I’m sure these elections are coming up soon let make this our main agenda finding the right candidate to take over as PRESIDENT OF TTFF come out guy all the TALKERS step up.     

Elections yeah ok

« Reply #10 on: November 18, 2006, 09:27:40 AM »
let them go local ..... do that

Warriors are well paid said TTFF
« Reply #11 on: November 18, 2006, 09:46:19 AM »
TTFF: Warriors were richly paid
By: WALTER ALIBEY (newsday)

FED-UP of the ongoing impasse with the national footballers, the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) has forwarded their financial records for World Cup campaign to auditors KPMG and has vowed to make the results public.

In a release signed by TTFF general secretary Richard Groden. The TTFF also revealed that they are also contemplating incorporating the rising brood of players from the T&T Pro League, the Under-20 and Under-17 teams to form the nucleus of the national football team for the 2010 World Cup in South Africa.

The football federation insisted in their media release that they have kept their end of the bargain with the players concerning sponsorship prior to the World Cup Finals.

Groden stated that sponsorship was divided into two thirds for the Germany Finals and the other third for 2010 South Africa campaign.

And based on the revised calculations, the TTFF made a net profit of TT$905,403.49 of which 50 percent (TT$475,201.75) was equally distributed between players and officials, with the other half accruing to the TTFF.

He said further that a TTFF’s Accounts Department report indicate that approximately $13 million in sponsorship money was raised during the campaign.

The TTFF said it was necessary to clear the air on the issue after months of one-sided information from the players which only sought to cause confusion in the minds of the media and interested football fans. The TTFF also said the information was deliberately timed by the players whose interest the organisation has fought for on a continuous basis.

According to Groden the TTFF was accused of reneging on a contractual agreement before this year’s World Cup Football Tournament in Germany.

The charge came ahead of two international friendly matches against St Vincent and the Grenadines and Panama at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo in September.

Captain and midfielder Dwight Yorke who represented the players at a news conference revealed the players’ intention to retire from international football if money owed to them was not paid.

The TTFF said the accusation was supported by 13 players among them Dennis Lawrence, David Atiba Charles, Avery John, Chris Birchall, Carlos Edwards, Colin Samuels, Stern John, Kenwyne Jones, Jason Scotland, Brent Sancho and Cornell Glen.

The TTFF also accused the players of rejecting their attempts to find an amicable solution to the impasse by refusing to attend at least two meetings.

« Reply #12 on: November 18, 2006, 09:52:49 AM »
let them go local ..... do that

Triniman I know yuh like yuh local players but plain and simply, our foreign-based are the best we have. To give it our best we have to use our best.

Now if you want to contend yourself with PFL games and a smaller chance - yes smaller - of a successful Gold Cup for your dose of T&T football, to each his own.

I want to see we reach SA 2010 and play among the best, and trust meh we not making that with an all PFL-squad.

Re: Warriors are well paid said TTFF
« Reply #13 on: November 18, 2006, 09:58:02 AM »
We have 3 daily news papers endless weeklies 5 local tv stations god alone knows howm much radio stations. Groden etal could send their release to all no body go believe them because if u walk like a duck.... them fellas is Krooks

Offline Israel

« Reply #14 on: November 18, 2006, 10:02:16 AM »
Well As we aint going, I wish Bora and the yardies represent CONCACAF and the Caribbean to the fullest.
If a rasta in a coma, is he still conscious?

« Reply #15 on: November 18, 2006, 11:01:13 AM »
Time to disband the TTFF.....Jack and his minions must go!!!!!!!

« Reply #16 on: November 18, 2006, 11:10:26 AM »
I know all that grande man  but it have people in tnt who want a local squad ...  and that just a treat

but this is not a bad idea though

In a release signed by TTFF general secretary Richard Groden. The TTFF also revealed that they are also contemplating incorporating the rising brood of players from the T&T Pro League, the Under-20 and Under-17 teams to form the nucleus of the national football team for the 2010 World Cup in South Africa.

they may find a diamond in the ruff
« Last Edit: November 18, 2006, 11:14:22 AM by triniman »

Offline black chinee

« Reply #17 on: November 18, 2006, 11:18:12 AM »
Dem Jokey yesss.... steupssssssss

Offline congo

« Reply #18 on: November 18, 2006, 11:39:23 AM »
steupssss....just talk..If we go local we not even reaching final qualifying stage...

« Reply #19 on: November 18, 2006, 11:42:16 AM »
The stupidity of these people never fail to astound me.

« Reply #20 on: November 18, 2006, 11:49:38 AM »
While this may seem good and yes all the ones who calling for "go local" will feel nice.

That have a local team in training is a fallacy....PFL clubs doe release players and men have games and cup games right tru.

The days of strike squad and a local team is over. You have to be a pro playing with and among the best in the world to be competitive.

Glenn, Kenwyne, Birchall, Samuel, Scotland and most importantly Carlos are must have players in our next WC drive.

De under 20 and under 17 team have nobody to make the grade internationally. I say so and worse yet if they stay here playing with PFL.

Alyuh get alyuh candle, pitch oil flambeaux and matches....it was always dusk, but the darkness has finally settled. Dawn is two generations away.

touches me and you is cool, but for a man who is local and plays local and is not foreign like us trinis abroad, why the blue crab syndrome meh bredda? ??? what make you feel that our locals will fail with an int'l coach? what make you feel our locals will not be up to the standard with more int'l experience and training from the dutch coaches we have? what make you feel they can't succeed? If the locals put their minds to anything they will succeed, if they believe and they have a coach who believes in them...

God is de BOSS...

« Reply #21 on: November 18, 2006, 11:49:45 AM »
 One step forward two steps backwards!!!!

Is this the kind of accountability and solutions the TTFF could come up with? Is confrontational and power  brokerage the best way to  reward players who have taken us to the  big stage?

On the other hand, financial terms and planning has not been fully transparent nor fully disclosed throughout the proceedings? Who is the accountant for the TTFF? that is the person that should be revealing the financial transcations.

Do not some foreign professionals have a contractual condition that to keep up their permit, they need to represent or play in a set number of international matches?

What more compensation do the players  want? Did they not receive a payment after the Germany campaign? were there other promises of a financial nature that were not fulfilled? How long will the TTFF be on the hook for paying the players? If a TNT national receives international acclaim, how long will they hold the government ransom for  financial benefits? If The W.I. cricket team win the World CUP, WILL THEY EXPECT EACH GOVERNMENT TO DOLE OUT  A FINANCIAL REWARD?

Is there a   non-partisan mediator who could bring both sides together and mediate this non-sense so that we could move on? I hate to say it  but the negative vibes impacts  the entire campaign. Consider another rival's slogan : "Back to Africa" sounds like Marcus Garvey. And here we are fighting  among ourselves for $$$$$$. It eh like  these men making small change either and it eh like TNT  eh do nothing for them? ah set ah men get where they are through representation. On the other hand, TTFF should not exist as a profit making organization for the  personal welfare of a few. Financial or personal perceived exploitation of players is insidious in this darn age.

I believe we ought to 'clean house' bring on some new directors to move the 20 10 campaign in a fresh direction and get on with the business of running the TTFF in a professional manner. I still am unaware of who  has the power to  dismantle and to  preside over the TTFF. If they are a separate entity who are they accountable to? If there are allegations of corruption, could this be forward to FIFA for an internal investigation?

« Reply #22 on: November 18, 2006, 12:26:27 PM »
I know all that grande man  but it have people in tnt who want a local squad ...  and that just a treat

I am 100% sure they will find a diamond in the rough...but that is not enough. If the PFL is the only place that diamond will shine...it may not reach the brightest it possibly could be. That is the unfortunate reality with the PFL spectrum.

touches me and you is cool, but for a man who is local and plays local and is not foreign like us trinis abroad, why the blue crab syndrome meh bredda? ??? what make you feel that our locals will fail with an int'l coach? what make you feel our locals will not be up to the standard with more int'l experience and training from the dutch coaches we have? what make you feel they can't succeed? If the locals put their minds to anything they will succeed, if they believe and they have a coach who believes in them...

God is de BOSS...

TI, in training, int'l coaches only pick up from where players have left off with their club teams. That is why International coaches insist that in order to make the national team, yuh have to be sweating regular with your club. It is my opinion dat Championship, SPL, even League One and MLS have more rigorous training regimens, better facilities, and are more challenging leagues than the PFL. What a player gets from his club is half the work done for a national team coach.  To get an all-PFL squad up to international standard against Mexico, Costa Rica, USA and especially beyond CONCACAF...well I don't know if that is possible in the near future.
« Last Edit: November 18, 2006, 12:31:34 PM by Grande man »

« Reply #23 on: November 18, 2006, 02:23:37 PM »

God is de BOSS...

ok but it have men who cussing whim already

Offline legal alien

« Reply #24 on: November 18, 2006, 03:10:09 PM »
listen, if it (god forbid)reach to that point, i know we league and players will try their best to step up.
 whats with this trini mentality that nothin local ( in general) is good enough?

Offline fatman

« Reply #25 on: November 18, 2006, 03:25:16 PM »
PEOPLE ARE MISSING THE POINT .THE FACT IS THESE 13 PLAYERS HAVE EARNED THEIR RIGHT TO REPRESENT TRINBAGO .IT IS ALSO A FACT THAT WE FOOTBALL SUPPORTERS DESERVE TO HAVE THE BEST TEAM REPRESENT US .I HAVE SPENT THOUSANDS OVER THE YEARS WATCHING  FOOTBALL GAMES AND I AM A SAKEHOLDER IIN OUR FOOTBALL.WE AS SUPPORTERS SHOULD COME TOGETHER AND PICKET THE OFFICES IF TTFA DEMANDING THAT THEY CHOOSE THE BEST TEAM .AS FAR AS I AM AWARE THERE  IS A FOOTBALL SUPPORTERS ASSOCIATION I BELIEVE SHAKAS FATHER WAS THE HEAD .THE WARRIOR NATION  IF THEY ARE SERIOUS SHOULD CORRESPOND WITH THESE OTHER STAKE HOLDERS, THE FOOTBALL PLAYERS ASSOCIATION AND HAVE A SERIES OF ORGANISED PROTEST .BOYCOTT GAMES IF THESE PEOPLE DO THIS .WE ARE STAKE HOLDERS TRINIDAD FOOTBALL BELONGS TO US .IF WE ARE SERIOUS.I AM PLEEDING TO YOU FLEX TALL MAN BIG MAGICIAN IF WE REALLY LOVE TRINIDAD FOOTBALL WE CAN DO THIS MANCHESTER SUPPORTERS TRIED LET US SUCCEED

« Reply #26 on: November 18, 2006, 07:21:30 PM »

What exactly do you mean by this? Do you mean that you do not think the local/under 17/under 20 can get us there?

« Reply #27 on: November 18, 2006, 07:27:02 PM »

Boy you does talk so much shit eh.  And yuh so love sucking jack warner bamsee ah swear yuh is ah homo.

Now yuh want tuh go local eh/  Like yuh change yuh mind bout what wim say about we locals?

steups.

Why don't you slip into something more comfortable...like a coma.

« Reply #28 on: November 18, 2006, 07:43:57 PM »

Boy you does talk so much shit eh.  And yuh so love sucking jack warner bamsee ah swear yuh is ah homo.

Now yuh want tuh go local eh/  Like yuh change yuh mind bout what wim say about we locals?

steups.

Why don't you slip into something more comfortable...like a coma.

No i dont want us to go local but let them focus on the locals now until the stand off is done .. what whim say that so bad what he say they not up to satndard and he plans to bring them up to standard... quiet

« Reply #29 on: November 18, 2006, 08:30:03 PM »
TI

How is it that saying a local squad not cuttin it is blue crab syndrome?

Relative to Costa Rica, Usa, Mexico, Honduras, Panama, Canada, Jamaica etc or the better Concacaf teams a all local squad will be lucky to win a game.

We have tried this in Copa Caribe and failed miserably. In fact I ent sure we ready for this Digi Cel cup come January.

If you saw the St Vincent and Panama games you maybe could understand the difference between local and foreign based.

Do not compare it by looking at PFL only.

Why is it our PFL teams get whet from MLS sides...........all except Jabloteh in the first leg affair vs the fire.( how much did they conceded in the return?)

TI a PFL XI is not the best we have to offer and even our best XI Still cyar beat the USA.

Ti you is a hopeful optimist....but I cyar side with yuh on this issue.

We go agree to disagree.