March 29, 2024, 04:19:05 AM

Author Topic: South Africa World Cup organizers fuel doubts  (Read 2024 times)

South Africa World Cup organizers fuel doubts
« on: November 21, 2006, 11:19:09 AM »
BRING IT TO DE WINDIES!

we done going to host the best cricket world cup ever.

South Africa World Cup organizers fuel doubts   

JOHANNESBURG (Reuters) - Organizers of the 2010 World Cup in South Africa prompted more questions than answers on Tuesday when they failed to show up for a news conference to discuss their readiness to host the soccer tournament.

Irvin Khoza, the chairman of South Africa's local organizing committee, and other key executives had been scheduled to brief the media at 1100 GMT after a board meeting at an upscale hotel in Johannesburg.

An hour later, the executives had failed to appear and journalists walked out.

ADVERTISEMENT

"I am as perplexed as you are. I really apologize," Tumi Makgabo, a spokeswoman for the local organizing committee, told reporters.

Since winning the right to host the tournament, South Africa has struggled to reassure FIFA officials that it can modernize a decrepit public transportation system, build new stadiums and hotels and provide security in a nation with one of the world's highest crime rates.

There have been rumors that the world governing body might move the tournament, the first World Cup to be held in Africa, to Australia if it appeared that South Africa was not making sufficient progress.

Top FIFA officials have repeatedly denied that any plan exists to shift the Cup away from South Africa.

Re: South Africa World Cup organizers fuel doubts
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2006, 05:39:51 AM »
Hhhhmmmm.... :thinking:

« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2006, 07:00:15 PM »
Australia is not a bad back up..although I real looking forward to going SA.

« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2006, 07:08:07 PM »
I would go back to germany fuh de WC in 2010 no problem....even if GOD FORBID...T&T not dey.

« Reply #4 on: November 22, 2006, 10:19:53 PM »
Palos I concur in fact meh partner in christ done say we get the WC bug so we goin with or without the SW. Of course we pray is with