April 28, 2024, 11:32:26 AM

Author Topic: Point Fortin, Southern Football Champs 1969  (Read 2176 times)

Point Fortin, Southern Football Champs 1969
« on: December 08, 2006, 04:09:32 PM »
Deeks, Coops, Fishs,

allyuh fellas could get off on this.

Ah look forward to the comments... ;D

http://pointfortin.com/Sport/football/football.html

Re: Point Fortin, Southern Football Champs 1969
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2006, 02:06:50 AM »
What de ass ah top team from de old days and not ONE South Man make a comment.

BTW ah say Kenny Joseph in 1994 and he face look basically de same as in that photo.

« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2006, 03:09:34 AM »
Nice one vb.
Pointfortin.com  yeh they deserve dey own website.

Lol, yeh KJ ent change after all these years, right now he stateside working, hopefully he coming home for the holidays and I will hook up with him.

He once said that the best goal he ever saw was one I scored during a minor league game in Freeport. In fact was a lucky goal but I still take the pips from him.  ;D ;D ;D

« Reply #3 on: December 09, 2006, 03:42:06 AM »
Check out the South combıned Team of 1969

http://pointfortin.com/Sport/football/football_memories/base0.html

Cany anybody name all the players?

« Reply #4 on: December 09, 2006, 11:09:34 AM »

        I'm not a Southman and i can't make out some of the players there but i will attempt i might be wrong.
 Back row:? ? Ray Roberts,Ken Murren,?,Lyle Jefery,Alan Cupid.
 Center   :Tony Douglas,?.
 Front row:?,?,Dick Furlonge,Keith Douglas,Aldwyn Furgerson.

I hope this is a start.       

Offline breezers

• he who rise against poor ppl shal perish in d end
« Reply #5 on: December 09, 2006, 01:01:03 PM »

        I'm not a Southman and i can't make out some of the players there but i will attempt i might be wrong.
 Back row:? ? Ray Roberts,Ken Murren,?,Lyle Jefery,Alan Cupid.
 Center   :Tony Douglas,?.
 Front row:?,?,Dick Furlonge,Keith Douglas,Aldwyn Furgerson.

I hope this is a start.       

Well compared tuh dem fellas...ah is ah yuteman...and from representing Civic fuh ah few years and jus being ah Point man..ah use tuh always hear dem men names calling..de only thing is ah coulda jus listen and shake muh head when fellaz was talkin bout how good dem men was bac in de days..Ah hear bout Cave, ah hear bout Quanvie and he from by me too, ah know Dick Furlonge was ah player, cuz he coach meh @ Civic fuh ah while and ah respec him too cuz dyez one ah de few coaches who coulda show yuh what he want on de field instead ah jus telling yuh (dat ole man had touches and pace) and ah hear bout some ah de others...so although ah didn't relly see dem men play in de prime ah dey careers..jus putting de faces and names together good enough fuh me...so thank yuh VB fuh de history lesson :) :)
« Last Edit: December 09, 2006, 07:47:48 PM by breezers »
Soca Warriors, Holland And Barcelona,
BIG BIG TEAMS!!!!

Offline banton

• football in meh veins football in meh blood
    • http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XeWOxnWoXKI
« Reply #6 on: December 09, 2006, 03:56:55 PM »
point fortin is the mecca of t&t football if you look at the list of t&t greatest footballers see the percentage that is point men
football in meh veins football in meh blood

« Reply #7 on: December 10, 2006, 03:41:42 AM »
Ever since ah was a youth I've heard of so many playes metioned in hallowed terms.

Plus there are others who althought I've heard of, ıt's only in passing.

However, as a kid, De Leon, David and others were these amazing legends of yesteryear.

It' a  pleasure and a prvilege for me to view such photos.

The Net is a helluva thing eh?

« Reply #8 on: December 10, 2006, 08:45:06 PM »
Guys,
             It's nice to see those pix. But if Archie and Dilly were on the shell colts team in 57, then they had to be overage when they played in college league

« Reply #9 on: December 11, 2006, 08:11:07 AM »
we run football tings in T&T

Big up Point Fortin forever!!!!!!!!! :beermug: