March 28, 2024, 05:29:33 PM

Author Topic: Fenwick: We are not bad boys.  (Read 9901 times)

Fenwick: We are not bad boys.
« on: January 09, 2007, 08:51:09 PM »
...Jabloteh counter sabotage accusations.
By: Lasana Liburd (Express).

CL Financial San Juan Jabloteh coach Terry Fenwick yesterday defended his employers against insinuations of sabotage by the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (T&TFF) and countered with his own claim of persecution.
Last week, the T&TFF threatened to ban any player who failed to accept an invitation to join the national team after Jabloteh refused to send their players to a 41-man training session called by coach Wim Rijsbergen.
The T&TFF followed up its threat with a late call-up for Jabloteh midfielder Kerry Baptiste and left back Nigel Daniel, who both accepted. Baptiste and Daniel trained with the national squad yesterday and are expected to feature in the Digicel Caribbean Cup tournament, which kicks off on Friday at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.
But Fenwick insisted that Jabloteh is interested in the state of Trinidad and Tobago's international side and countered that his club was regularly penalised for its policy of using a "totally Trinidadian" side.
He pointed to last August when the Pro League refused to postpone two Jabloteh fixtures although seven of its players were in Japan with the national team. The club managed one point from a possible six without their star players. Jabloteh ended the 2006 Pro League season three points adrift of champions, Joe Public.
Fenwick said that he only wanted an even playing field for his club and more respect for the Pro League in general.
"We want to assist the national side as much as we have done," said the controversial ex-England international defender. "However, we cannot and will not allow our season to be decimated as we have done last year. We have made a club policy that we will go totally Trinidadian but we may have to change that.
"When there is a friendly match or sponsorship launches or whatever other function, our players are pulled away because they are convenient when the Yorkes and Stern Johns cannot come back.
"As much as we would like to give our players exposure and realise Jabloteh is a stepping stone to bigger and better things, they have an obligation to play football for us because we still need to be competitive in the games we are playing in."
Fenwick claimed Jabloteh made the largest contribution to the Soca Warriors with two Pro League starters, Cyd Gray and Aurtis Whitley, and five former members and fellow World Cup stars, Cornell Glen, Collin Samuel, Kelvin Jack, Brent Sancho and Collin Samuel. Past and present Jabloteh strikers Jason Scotland and Anthony Wolfe were also in the 2006 Germany squad.
Fenwick criticised ex-national coach Leo Beenhakker for failing to appreciate the input of the Pro League and suggested that his boys were seen as inferior replacements when the overseas players were unavailable.
"Every single opportunity they have, they take our players away," said Fenwick, "and they are just discarded when the most serious games come along which are Fifa recognised.
"It is unfair on the players and is badly communicated to them. It knocks their confidence and we are the ones who have to pick up the pieces."
Jabloteh chairman Jerry Hospedales voiced his disapproval over the T&TFF allegedly contacting Baptiste and Daniel directly rather than through their employers. He also wondered whether the decision to select the pair ahead of World Cup stars Gray and Whitley had anything to do with the looming court action by the Warriors against the T&TFF.
Caledonia AIA midfielder Densill Theobald is the only World Cup player in the present training squad although he might be ruled out by an ankle injury.
Fenwick and Hospedales insisted that Jabloteh was a victim and not the antagonist.
"The thing started with a failure (by the CFU) to meet their obligations properly, which was to conclude the CFU club tournament before December 31," said Hospedales.
There is hope for an improvement in future fixtures, however, as the T&TFF recently scheduled a meeting with the aim of harmonising the 2007 football calendar. Hospedales, who claimed to have made similar requests without success in the past, was not surprised.
Hospedales explained that Jabloteh was twice forced to play League and FA Cup matches within 48 hours so as to facilitate the CFU fixtures. In a thinly veiled reference to new Pro League champions, Joe Public, he suggested that he did not expect such problems this year.
"The CFU Champions Cup in 2007 will be the best run ever," said Hospedales. "Who came first in the (2006) Pro League? I bet there will be no conflict between the (CFU) fixtures and the Pro League fixtures this time."
Trinidad and Tobago kick off the 2007 Caribbean Cup at 6 p.m. on Friday. The Warriors face Barbados at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in the first game of a double-header.
Saint or sinner...
Fenwick's fight could empower Pro League.

Terry Fenwick seems an unlikely candidate for a present day Martin Luther. The 16th century monk's revolutionary theological views were thought to have influenced many thinkers of his era while his dramatic challenge to the German Archbishop on Roman Catholic policy was one of the highlights of the Renaissance period.
Luther, who was upset at the church's sale of indulgences and the famous catch-phrase, "as soon as the coin in the coffer rings, the soul from purgatory springs", pinned an invitation on the Wittenberg Castle Church which requested a debate with the Archbishop on the matter. He included 95 theses in his letter that sought to back up his argument with church doctrine.
The only occasion that Fenwick may don a robe without fear of persecution for heresy is on Halloween night.
The 47-year-old CL Financial San Juan Jabloteh coach is an ex-English international defender and World Cup player as well as a former Pro League Coach of the Year. In three full seasons with the Bourg Mulattrasse outfit, Fenwick secured one Pro League title and three Cups, including the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (T&TFF) FA Trophy.
But Fenwick's achievements are tempered by his sometimes volatile disposition.
No English player has a worse disciplinary record at a World Cup tournament-he was booked three times at the 1986 competition-while he may always be remembered in local circles for his assault on Vibe CT 105 W. Connection playmaker Gefferson Goulart at the 2005 Toyota Classic final, which earned Fenwick a four-match suspension and one of multiple red cards.
Fenwick may not have won enough friends in the Trinidad and Tobago football fraternity to fill a small maxi-taxi, but his decision to withhold Jabloteh's players from the national team's training sessions might have far reaching implications to match Luther's bold confrontation.
Jabloteh may not have thought beyond personal ambition when the club snubbed Wim Rijsbergen's Digicel Caribbean Cup preparations.
But a Pro League challenge to the T&TFF seemed inevitable ever since the nation's club owners were prompted to think professionally in a hemisphere where sport administration is often anything but.
Jabloteh's defiance is uncharitable, but not baseless.
Fenwick argued that his club has suffered for its patriotism. No other Pro League team, save the Defence Force, boasts of a squad dominated by Trinidad and Tobago players.
But it did not benefit Jabloteh's 2006 campaign when its players were drafted into the national squad for games outside the FIFA calendar only for the Pro League administrators to refuse to postpone fixtures and force them to field under-strength teams.
Jabloteh could not have been happy either when national coach Wim Rijsbergen publicly criticised the standard of local players and even postponed internationals in which he had to lean heavily on his local contingent. Last year's fixtures against Colombia and Mexico meant a rare chance for several of the team's young talent to win an international cap at home. But Rijsbergen decided that the Pro League players were not good enough.
There is no chance that Rijsbergen will get Caribbean Football Union (CFU) boss Jack Warner, who employed him as head coach in the first place, to scrap the regional tournament and so the Dutchman invited 12 Jabloteh players among his 41-man squad for national training. Caledonia AIA's players were the second most requested by Rijsbergen and they were only asked to contribute four players while Pro League champions, Joe Public, got three invitation letters.
Fenwick's response would be referred to in Europe as a "two-fingered salute". The clean version was "I don't think so, mate".
The size of Rijsbergen's training squad itself should have prompted an enquiry from his paymasters.
If Rijsbergen can summon the likes of Walsall striker Hector Sam for international duty based almost entirely on newspaper reports then why does he need a screening process for players he observe every weekend at close quarters in the Pro League?
Do the likes of Aurtis Whitley, Cyd Gray, Densill Theobald, Anthony Wolfe and Silvio Spann really have to undergo national trials merely because their place of residence says Trinidad and not England?
Rijsbergen's final 21-man squad was also a surprise. It contained seven United States schoolboys among 10 players based in North America-only two of the 12 foreign players called up were deemed of insufficient quality.
His assistant coach, Anton Corneal, might be the best person to explain if the US collegiate system is now also a better source for local talent than the Pro League. In short, the technical staff must have great confidence in its new batch of overseas-based players-not counting the one genuine US-based star, Scott Sealy, or the left-footed Leslie Fitzpatrick, who has 19 caps-if the likes of Caledonia AIA utility player Conrad Smith could not get a pick and Joe Public midfielder Lyndon Andrews was not even deemed good enough to try out.
But the CFU and TTFF are not beyond reproach themselves.
The Caribbean took control of its own football matters 27 years ago and was run, throughout that period, by Warner, one of FIFA's most powerful administrators. Yet, the CFU does not own a webpage and rarely bothered to even hold a prize-giving to recognise its best players, teams and administrators.
Surely Warner is well placed to ensure that the Caribbean Cup, which is the qualifying tournament for the CONCACAF Gold Cup, is properly recognised by FIFA. Trinidad and Tobago's most celebrated player, Dwight Yorke, never appeared at a Caribbean tournament since 1993. Perhaps the region can be afforded a better opportunity to enjoy the careers of its top players in the future if the right care is taken in scheduling such competitions.
Fenwick's reply to the T&TFF could be seen as a wake-up call rather than a call to arms.
But T&TFF general secretary Richard Groden has an unhelpful penchant of using gasoline to douse flames.
When the "Soca Warriors" enquired as to their 2006 World Cup bonuses, Groden threatened a ban from international duty and he furiously hammered away at his "typewriter" again after Jabloteh's act of defiance.
A T&TFF letter to "all clubs" last week suggested that, after hinting at a ban for the country's foreign-based stars, Groden was now set to condemn the local stars as well.
"All players who have been summoned for national training with a view to national selection," read Groden's release, " have an obligation to respond favourably to such a call.
"Any player failing to do so shall be automatically suspended from participating in any and all football played under the aegis of the T&TFF."
Groden would not dream of sending such a letter to Sunderland or Coventry for fear of ridicule.
Pro League clubs grumbled about a lack of respect from the local organising football body while normally docile stakeholders like Vibe CT 105 W. Connection owner David J. Williams, Caledonia AIA technical director Jamaal Shabazz and United Petrotrin coach Brian Williams publicly voiced disapproval at the disregard shown to local players.
Fenwick is the first to turn this dissatisfaction into a tangible protest and there is no doubt that the T&TFF took note.
Any attempt to locate his Lutheran qualities might make the deceased monk spin in his grave. But it could yet prove a new chapter in the Pro League's own Renaissance. the 2006 season.
In the Petrotrin League Cup, they brushed aside Uprising Youths to capture the title and the $4,000 prize money on offer, while the runners-up collected $2,000.
And their ever-improving striker Jason Gross followed up his "Man of the Match" award in the second semifinal with another match winning performance in the final to once again be the recipient of that award.
In the final of the Executive Cup, they came out on the right end of a hard fought duel with Alutrint La Brea All Stars to pocket $5,000.
This time around, their goalkeeper Andy Dean, delivered back-to-back match winning performances to collect "Man of the Match" awards in their semifinal encounter, as well as the grand finale.
Palo Seco missed claiming all three title on offer when they played second fiddle to Club Sando in the Petrotrin-sponsored Super League competition.
Their second place finish however, was worth $8,000 and it ensured that they did not finish out of the top two in all tournaments last season.
Coach Ronald Prince gained the nod for "Coach of the Year" honours, with Dean walking away with the "Best Goalkeeper" award and Anderson Lewis capturing one of five "Players of the Year" awards.
« Last Edit: January 11, 2007, 07:57:12 AM by Flex »

Re: Fenwick: We are not bad boys
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2007, 08:54:14 PM »
Ok it is out in the open i hope we could put this to rest

« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2007, 09:32:18 PM »
the proleague should not be having any fixtures when the National team has a game.
Plain and simple it is easy tyo reorganize, it is not like they inconvieniencing thousands of fans.

That said 2 wrongs do not make a right and Jabloteh should release their players

« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2007, 09:49:59 PM »
YUh see it ent only me who have the conspiracy theory in they head.... :devil:

J
abloteh chairman Jerry Hospedales voiced his disapproval over the T&TFF allegedly contacting Baptiste and Daniel directly rather than through their employers. He also wondered whether the decision to select the pair ahead of World Cup stars Gray and Whitley had anything to do with the looming court action by the Warriors against the T&TFF.

Caledonia AIA midfielder Densill Theobald is the only World Cup player in the present training squad although he might be ruled out by an ankle injury.

Also this setta talk about organization of fixtures....people should have some sense.

The CFU club championship game is two days AFTER the final.

Now if they were serious they would allow their players to play in the Digicel Cup and ONCE we qualify....i.e top the group or come second. Just give the 4-8 players a rest and let the benchwarmers get a sweat.

What will happen is that the Jab players will be sharp and match fit.

The TTFF will get to go Gold CUp

The younger players will gain experience by playing and training alongside the seasoned pros.

The players will get some match fees and caps and feel good.

The public at large will feel good as the team have a good mix chemistry and everybody happy.

Everybody could be happy and this could work, but nobody want to sit down and talk and have sensible discussions. They only want to further they own agenda.

« Reply #4 on: January 09, 2007, 09:52:34 PM »
fenwick is a kakahole

« Reply #5 on: January 09, 2007, 10:19:41 PM »
fenwick is a kakahole

Not at all, de man making very valid points.  TTFF is de ka ka hole...and so is wim and dem.

« Reply #6 on: January 09, 2007, 11:18:26 PM »
fenwick is a kakahole

Not at all, de man making very valid points.  TTFF is de ka ka hole...and so is wim and dem.

I too feel de man was making fair points. As a man say obviously they need to sit down and iron out some wrinkles needing consessions from both sides but Fenwick is not at all off base. He stats outlayed proves it as well.  TTFF seem to be de biggest culprit and worse than that try to palm it off on Jabloteh instead of saying is becasue of de money ting wid de players. We gotta check dat too.

Re: Fenwick: We are not bad boys.
« Reply #7 on: January 10, 2007, 06:14:25 AM »
From what I understand...

The only reason Fenwick didn't say anything about his players (so many leaving) playing against Japan and Austria is because their were foreign scouts interesting in some of his players and they were scoping them out, unfortunately they were not impressed by any.... and this is from a good source....

CONCACAF is poorly run and who is in charge of it, none other than Jack Warner himself, we have to schedule our games so it does not affect our national team. Why did CONCACAF postponed the CONCACAF Champion Cup in the first place ? they could have played the games in December as originally planed and then our national team would not have been affected, but Jack Warner is up to something again, its always something with this dude, nothing for noting and very vindictive as well....

Jack Warner makes it hard for people to like him.... very hard, CONCACAF is the worst and most corrupted federation of all.... not professional at all....

I wish Jabloteh all the best in the CONCACAF Cup, its hard to respect a federation as ours, the TTFF would never have done this to some foreign club... postponed their games and demand their players..... bold face bastards....

W Connection have a big pool to choose from, so they dont normally complain, maybe once or twice with Stuart Charles at Connection, unlike Jabloteh who have a tin bench, I guess this could force Jabloteh to buy a few foreign players next season...
« Last Edit: January 10, 2007, 06:54:58 AM by Flex »

« Reply #8 on: January 10, 2007, 07:51:02 AM »
Good Morning,
                    Fenwick has done and said some crazy things in the past, but on this occasion he makes some valid points. Jack,TTFF,CFU aka father,dictator and holy soucouyant screwed up everything. The tournament should be completed by now. If the tournament had ended, Jablothe and Connection could not make any valid argument. They are the foundation of the profootball. They putting the salaries for the players.

« Reply #9 on: January 10, 2007, 07:51:32 AM »
Good Morning,
                    Fenwick has done and said some crazy things in the past, but on this occasion he makes some valid points. Jack,TTFF,CFU aka father,dictator and holy soucouyant screwed up everything. The tournament should be completed by now. If the tournament had ended, Jablothe and Connection could not make any valid argument. They are the foundation of the profootball. They putting the salaries for the players.

« Reply #10 on: January 10, 2007, 08:21:36 AM »
fenwick is a kakahole

So True you think is fair for the players and the nation to lose out in the battle between Fenwick and the TTFF?
Do you think this is the best course of action that could have been taken by Fenwick? to Deny his players the chance to shine in this tournament, and earn more national team caps?
Is it Wim fault when the tournament is being played?
Infact TT how is Wim at fault in this situation at all? or is he guilty by association?

« Reply #11 on: January 10, 2007, 08:36:45 AM »
From what I understand...

The only reason Fenwick didn't say anything about his players (so many leaving) playing against Japan and Austria is because their were foreign scouts interesting in some of his players and they were scoping them out, unfortunately they were not impressed by any.... and this is from a good source....

hmm well what does tha say about our players

« Reply #12 on: January 10, 2007, 09:13:59 AM »
I still feel this current team can win. It will be hard. You guys want soft team to beat. That will be to their disadvantage. Tough games build character.

« Reply #13 on: January 10, 2007, 10:14:31 AM »
Look for the true root of the problem, CONCACAF & TTFF! Disorganized, unprofessional, in competent, simple and as people done say both organizations wearing the same  pants.

Point ------Jablothe

Offline RGarcia

• Forward To Mid-Field to Defense
  • Who Jah bless, no man curse!
« Reply #14 on: January 10, 2007, 10:20:21 AM »
No doubt i have faith in our current selection to go far and perhaps win the entire thing because TT has always been a driving force fuh football in the Caribbean. But this is the case if the current team...... does not do as well as the TTFF expects and they become an embarassment then you will see the Federaton singing ah different tune and want to negotiate withthe player the "retired" because of financial puposes. just my views .............................. it is all the the TTFF fault and the local players in a catch 22 situation.....
 Jah Bless 
All American

stepray

« Reply #15 on: January 10, 2007, 10:40:27 AM »
I want to agree with Hospedales, expect this year's CFU championship to be the best one ever. Why because Joe Public will be participating, there will be no hitches or glitches. Mark my word. There may even be prize money this year!!!!
Also the hyprocriscy of Jack, are you aware that Mc. Comie prevented their Guyanese players from representing their Country. He told them that they were free to go, but he could not guarantee them a contract next season. So what was he really saying to them.
Check Jamal Shabazz.
Utter  hyprocriscy from Jack Warner.

« Reply #16 on: January 10, 2007, 10:48:51 AM »
I want to agree with Hospedales, expect this year's CFU championship to be the best one ever. Why because Joe Public will be participating, there will be no hitches or glitches. Mark my word. There may even be prize money this year!!!!
Also the hyprocriscy of Jack, are you aware that Mc. Comie prevented their Guyanese players from representing their Country. He told them that they were free to go, but he could not guarantee them a contract next season. So what was he really saying to them.
Check Jamal Shabazz.
Utter  hyprocriscy from Jack Warner.

Joe Public will be participating ?? I taught it was only W Connection and Jabloteh in the CONCACAF Champions Cup ?

I also remember Guyana never having a problem getting players from us, besides, Joe Public only have 2 Guyanese on they team and the season over, why would McCommie ban them and Joe Public just toured Guyana ?

stepray

« Reply #17 on: January 10, 2007, 10:56:03 AM »
Sando yes Joe Public & W Connection will be taking part in the 2007 CFU championships.
What is happening now is the 2006  Championships, W Connection because they were Pro League champs for 2005 & Jabloteh because they were runners up.
Now are u saying that the  2 guyanese were not iimportant to their team.
Why were you so quick to beleive about Stuart & Connection, but as usual Jack Warner can do no wrong. Herein lies the problem with TNT FOOTBALL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 
Check it out but then again everyone fraid Jack & will just keep quiet. & deny as usual.

stepray

« Reply #18 on: January 10, 2007, 10:59:58 AM »
Sando, the guyanese were required during the qualifying rounds, & Joe Public did not want to lose their lead in the league., that is why. But I suppose you will not see anything wrong with that.
I am not talking about now that the season is over. Man have some sense.

« Reply #19 on: January 10, 2007, 11:02:40 AM »
I am not a Jack Warner lover, check all my post and you will see !! I never defended him, but right is right and wrong is wrong, my point is, I cannot recalled Joe Public holding up the Guyanese players and then going on tour in that country, this just does not make sense, its like Luton Town holding up Yorke and Carlos and at the same time touring T&T ? I am sure some compromised were made. I could be worng, so time will tell if Carey Harris and Abassi is still with Joe Public come next season....

See, I spoke about Jack just today....

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=24043.msg260533#msg260533

« Reply #20 on: January 10, 2007, 11:06:27 AM »
Sando, the guyanese were required during the qualifying rounds, & Joe Public did not want to lose their lead in the league., that is why. But I suppose you will not see anything wrong with that.
I am not talking about now that the season is over. Man have some sense.

I remember Guyana got all their players that were based in T&T for all their important games, you should calm down and have some sense yourself, show me an article where Guyana was blanked by JP....
« Last Edit: January 10, 2007, 11:11:54 AM by Sando »

stepray

« Reply #21 on: January 10, 2007, 11:11:23 AM »
Sando you ent worth it. You definitely have your blinders on.

« Reply #22 on: January 10, 2007, 11:14:12 AM »
Sando you ent worth it. You definitely have your blinders on.

Stuart Charles is an ass, since the days he refuse to do an interview with Flex when he became the T&T coach, a few months after, he got fired.... life is a bitch.....

When everyone should work hand in hand....

I still think Stuart Charles is a decent coach though....

stepray

« Reply #23 on: January 10, 2007, 11:17:59 AM »
Well he sure is a  better ass than you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

« Reply #24 on: January 10, 2007, 11:22:38 AM »
Well he sure is a  better ass than you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I doubt that...  :devil:

« Reply #25 on: January 10, 2007, 11:24:47 AM »
Some of you guys do't have faith in the youngsters. Give them a break. This is the ideal tournament for them. Win, lose or draw Baptism of fire.

« Reply #26 on: January 10, 2007, 01:02:14 PM »
...Jabloteh counter sabotage accusations.

. In a thinly veiled reference to new Pro League champions, Joe Public, he suggested that he did not expect such problems this year.
"The CFU Champions Cup in 2007 will be the best run ever," said Hospedales. "Who came first in the (2006) Pro League? I bet there will be no conflict between the (CFU) fixtures and the Pro League fixtures this time."

Trinidad and Tobago kick off the 2007 Caribbean Cup at 6 p.m. on Friday. The Warriors face Barbados at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in the first game of a double-header.
                ;D ;D ;D

« Reply #27 on: January 10, 2007, 01:56:30 PM »
Fenwick and Hospedales dam right, I support them 100%. Lasana does always write with sense. The TTFF to dam un-organised, we have calenders and so on. They use local players like dogs and they are the same ones who have to bail them out in the end.

No world cup players was called (Densill apart) becasue they have the TTFF in court.

Joe Public will not have such a problem in 2007 for real....  :rotfl:
« Last Edit: January 10, 2007, 01:58:28 PM by Flex »

« Reply #28 on: January 10, 2007, 02:24:19 PM »
Stewps... everyone one on dis site hate de TTFF and none of us have to really deal wit dem past de ticket bullshit...

NOW...

imagine that Fenwick has to deal with them on an almost daily basis...