April 23, 2024, 12:06:53 AM

Author Topic: U-17 off to Honduras for warm up tour.  (Read 5876 times)

U-17 off to Honduras for warm up tour.
« on: February 08, 2007, 06:03:01 PM »
U-17 off to Honduras for warm up tour.

Trinidad and Tobago’s Under 17 footballers are set to go into an extensive preparation program inclusive of international warm up matches as it gets ready to go into final round CONCACAF qualifying action towards the 2007 FIFA Under 17 World Championship in Korea.
This Sunday, the team of 20 players comprising mostly of members of the outfit which finished third in last year’s CFU Under 16 Championship, heads out to Honduras where it will play three matches including one against that country’s national Under 17 team. This however is not the final squad expected to go into the tournament. Some of the names with past experience making this trip include Daniel Joseph, Leston Paul and prolific goalscorer Stephan Knox, Brenton Balbosa and Robert Primus.
Head coach Anton Corneal will accompany the team which has been in training at home since early December. It was also revealed that the T&T team will play two training matches against Mexico at home in the first week of March before a proposed training camp in the United States. This is all being planned by the TTFF as it continues its preparation phases for national teams.
“I think we have the right games in place before the tournament and the fact that it is being played in Jamaica could also be helpful to us in terms of the conditions. With that said, we are now trying to ensure that we prepare against the right type of opposition to ensure that our chances are just as good as any for qualifying for the World Championship,” Corneal told TTFF Media.
“The Federation is working in different areas because we are talking about our next generation of footballers here. And the coaching personnel has tried to work along with the resources available to ensure that we are not left behind,” Corneal added.
The team will train on Friday at the Ato Boldon Stadium before a full day of protocol and etiquette training at the Dr Joao Havelange Centre of Excellence, Macoya on Saturday prior to its departure to Honduras.
T&T goes into Group B action in the qualifying series from April 28-May 6 in Jamaica, taking on Costa Rica in its first match at the National Stadium on April 28. They then face Jamaica on April 30, United States on May 4 and Canada on  May 6. From this group, three top three of the five nations will advance to the World Championship while two teams will advance from the other group being contested in Honduras including the hosts, Mexico, Haiti and El Salvador.
« Last Edit: February 09, 2007, 12:14:38 PM by Flex »

Re: U17S off to Honduras for warm up tour
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2007, 07:13:03 PM »
Nice..Good going TTFF keep it up.

Did I just say that ??? ???

« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2007, 07:20:57 PM »
I kinda wonderin if the team REALLY been in trainin since December as de report claims.

If they were, I would be most happy, but given the TTFF track record....I kinda skeptical bout dat one.

Things SOUNDIN encouragin doh.  Guess we will wait and see.

« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2007, 07:31:56 PM »
Nice.... but  ? a bit too late. How come nobody saw them in training in Dec. Is there a secret training ground in T&T?

« Reply #4 on: February 08, 2007, 07:35:19 PM »
This is excellent...we finally going into a tournament with good quality friendlies under our belts.

Good job TTFF.

May I suggest two more friendlies...

1 against Haiti...that is to match up the Jamaica game.

2 One against a MLS team who will play the airball game akin to Canada and USA, corners and free kicks.

We playing Mexico and Honduras to get ready for the Costa Rica game.

I ent frighten for this team. They could do it, also I believe they really were in training. A maxi used to pick up a group of them on a saturday morning at around 8 pm near mount hope. They used to be waiting in full TT tracksuit or button up near the bus shed by the Mt Hope hospital.

I have class that time so I does see them.

« Reply #5 on: February 08, 2007, 09:23:19 PM »
If this is really the case I must give credit where credit is due.......nice start TTFF  :applause:
If all these friendlies and training are happening and come to pass, then we have started moving in the right direction, even if we dont perform up to par, at least the TTFF started putting the right type of prepartion plan n place.

They have also started doing this with the Senior team with the two recent friendlies..so good job...keep it up

Re: U-17 off to Honduras for warm up tour.
« Reply #6 on: February 09, 2007, 04:22:02 AM »
Excellent preparations !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, I hope all come to pass though, is the TTFF we dealing with....

Good job so far.....

Leston Paul future number 10  !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
« Last Edit: February 10, 2007, 06:13:37 AM by Flex »

Offline santacruz

• This year is the Dutch year!
« Reply #7 on: February 09, 2007, 04:59:58 PM »
yeah man i used tuh see dem training next to the pool by federation park, cyah remember the name nah.
Fatima old boy graduate in '95 from Form 5, '97 from Form 6, lived in Santa Cruz.

« Reply #8 on: February 09, 2007, 05:18:54 PM »
Well daiz nice to know. The SW.net "media" is the only ones reporting. T&T news media please buck up. Good luck babywarriors.

« Reply #9 on: February 09, 2007, 05:39:18 PM »
It lookin and sounding good leh we see it materialise.

« Reply #10 on: February 09, 2007, 07:26:08 PM »
Big Mag did say in the past that he knows that they have been training.

« Reply #11 on: February 10, 2007, 01:58:16 PM »
congrats ttff for finally doin something with all ya time and money that benefiting the football rather than fighting like azz

this is a good sign...and the lil trip the soca warriors make..
that better than playin Greneda, guyana all the time for warmups...
and finally we goin S. America to play sides(Chile)...finally they using their noggin..

but i curious to know what is the team they Selecte to go on tour??

thanks

« Reply #12 on: February 10, 2007, 01:59:33 PM »
any chance of us seeing these games boy...the qualifiers that is

Offline black chinee

« Reply #13 on: February 11, 2007, 10:16:21 AM »
Nice.... but  ? a bit too late. How come nobody saw them in training in Dec. Is there a secret training ground in T&T?

Yeh man they've been training for a while now.... they we training at UWI 3x per week in dec

« Reply #14 on: February 13, 2007, 08:19:55 PM »
tAKEN FROM THE rbz site  change in time table we playing JA last now

As of Yesterday:

Group B – Kingston, JAMAICA; National Stadium
28.04.2007: COSTA RICA – TRINIDAD & TOBAGO (16:00)
JAMAICA – CANADA (18:00)

30.04.2007: USA – COSTA RICA (16:00)
JAMAICA – TRINIDAD & TOBAGO (18:00)

02.05.2007: COSTA RICA – CANADA (16:00)
TRINIDAD & TOBAGO – USA (18:00)

04.05.2007: USA – CANADA (16:00)
JAMAICA – COSTA RICA (18:00)

06.05.2007: CANADA – TRINIDAD & TOBAGO (16:00)
JAMAICA – USA (18:00)

As of Today:

Seems the schedule changed...

2007 CONCACAF UNDER-17 FINAL ROUND

Group A – Tegucigalpa, HONDURAS; Tiburcio Carias Andino Stadium
04.04.2007: EL SALVADOR – MEXICO (14:00)
HONDURAS – HAITI (16:00)

06.04.2007: MEXICO – HAITI (14:00)
HONDURAS – EL SALVADOR (16:00)

08.04.2007: HAITI – EL SALVADOR (14:00)
HONDURAS – MEXICO (16:00)

Group B – Kingston, JAMAICA; National Stadium
28.04.2007: COSTA RICA – TRINIDAD & TOBAGO (16:00)
JAMAICA – CANADA (18:00)

30.04.2007: CANADA – COSTA RICA (16:00)
TRINIDAD & TOBAGO – USA (18:00)

02.05.2007: USA – CANADA (16:00)
JAMAICA – COSTA RICA (18:00)

04.05.2007: CANADA – TRINIDAD & TOBAGO (16:00)
JAMAICA – USA (18:00)

06.05.2007: USA – COSTA RICA (16:00)
JAMAICA – TRINIDAD & TOBAGO (18:00)

Jamaica Team

Christopher Banner, Marlon Abraham, Akeem Henry, Akeem Brown, Sean Fogah, Peter Beckford, Marvin Booth, Dever Orgill, John-Ross Doyley, Shavar Brown, Damaine Thompson, Samari Brown, Nicholas Ebanks, Andre Steele, Kabari Palmer, Nicoy Christian, Keithy Simp-son, Jason Watson, Noel Mais, Allan Sylvester, McKauly Tulloch, Kenniel Hyde, Romario Campbell, Oniel Wilson, Andre Beckford, Andre Blake, Roybert Clarke, Jeffery Johnson, Mikhail Weatherly, Dennis Taylor, Namar Tummings.
« Last Edit: February 14, 2007, 07:16:29 AM by Flex »