April 25, 2024, 12:30:43 AM

Author Topic: HD football pitch almost ready at the Marvin Lee.  (Read 12808 times)

HD football pitch almost ready at the Marvin Lee.
« on: February 25, 2007, 05:24:38 PM »
High defintion football pitch almost ready at the Marvin Lee.

Within two weeks, the new artificial playing surface at the Marvin Lee Stadium, Centre of Excellence is expected to be ready for its first bit of action.
This was the word coming from project manager Gerard “Tex” Teixeira on the weekend as he and other workmen on site continued their duties while also admiring the look of the FIFA two-star artificial football pitch which can be described as high definition.
Teixeira explained that only the laying of the artificial grass on the ends of the field and the installation of the goalposts are needed for the completion.
“We have been having delays with getting in final set of material. The goal posts are still to be installed and of course we also started laying down the artificial grass from the centre so that we can leave room for the goal posts, most of the field is completed and we are hoping to have everything completed within the next couple of weeks,” Teixeira told TTFF Media.
“The weather conditions have been favourable to us because the sand cannot be applied when it’s wet and we hope we get more good weather over the next few days.
“What has happened over the past couple weeks is the grass has been put on, the surface has been sanded and rubberized. The lining of the field has been done  and what we have to do now is complete the ends and put up the goals and then you can play all the football you want,” he added.
Teixeira accompanied a work staff comprising of workers from Domo, a European-based sports and leisure grass company as well as Terra Forma, the locally-based contracting company involved in the project which is an idea put forward by CONCACAF and CFU President Jack Warner who felt it would be a boost to the staging of games in the region.
The newest generation of artificial surfaces like the one at the Marvin Lee venue, combines the advantages of similar playing characteristics as natural turf, including increased player comfort and safety, with low maintenance and extended usage. The FIFA Quality Concept will identify those products of the newest generation specifically suited to football.
 According to Domo’s Arnoud Fiolet: “There is a very limited number of pitches in the world that are FIFA two-star and Trinidad is the first country in the CONCACAF to receive this.”
The Belgium company Domo rated worldwide to be among the top three companies for artificial grass had been hired by FIFA to construct the pitch and have done similar jobs in  Europe. The current one as a massive project as it will be the first of its kind in the Caribbean and parts of CONCACAF at a cost in excess of USD600,000.

Re: HD football pitch almost ready at the Marvin Lee.
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2007, 05:28:38 PM »
lord that feild looking official  :notworthy: wayyyy look at that.

« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2007, 05:39:25 PM »
de only way dah go help we is if we bring back old man ancil elcock tuh give man blade cuz dat mat is ah bitch tuh fall on.

« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2007, 06:07:07 PM »
de only way dah go help we is if we bring back old man ancil elcock tuh give man blade cuz dat mat is ah bitch tuh fall on.

Doh tell nobody utting, Jefferz.  Let dem feel it fuh deyself  "Seeing is believing, but feeling is the naked truth."  :devil:

« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2007, 06:18:57 PM »
it looks sweet

but shouldnt we relay the Hasley Crawford pitch..  i mean if any pitch needs to fix its our main stadium    it doesnt have to be artificial  but we need to organise it

« Reply #5 on: February 25, 2007, 06:35:22 PM »
actually boss all them new stadium pitch need relaying is about time.

« Reply #6 on: February 25, 2007, 07:24:29 PM »
actually boss all them new stadium pitch need relaying is about time.

yeah fuh real and d training pitches

Offline Trinitim

« Reply #7 on: February 25, 2007, 07:42:10 PM »

Yeah Fellas is time I SECOND THIRD AND FORUTH DAT, RELAY ALL THEM FIELD YES. I ain't lying it really looking sweet in truth, when you see field like dat you does want to play football not so ?? When man see sweet field so dey go pelt they frame and is nuff beat and all that jazz but serious, if they can't relay all the pitches at least the premiere one that hosts WCQ games and one that is regularly used by the National team.

Offline rastafari

« Reply #8 on: February 25, 2007, 07:55:14 PM »
All of our pitches need relaying but if that happens, then they also need to be used appropiately and not overused.

They are having to many matches  on the pitches; intercol, super league, zonal football, fetematches etc.

JAH BLESS RASTAFARI

« Reply #9 on: February 25, 2007, 08:11:54 PM »
The problem is that we don't have enough suitable pitches. We needed to do was develop community facilities and school grounds along. Minor league and Secondary school football could be accomodated there.

« Reply #10 on: February 25, 2007, 10:01:37 PM »
De pitch look real nice but is a bitch to fall down on.

« Reply #11 on: February 26, 2007, 12:03:07 AM »
What is the point with this artificial surface ?
Only few teams actually use them , I think Luton had one.
Anybody who has played on an artificila surface would know that its dangerous unless its properly soaked all the time.
Somebody explain why Jack get fifa money to put down this surface.
An doh talk about another 10 percenter.

« Reply #12 on: February 26, 2007, 05:19:21 AM »
What is the point with this artificial surface ?
Only few teams actually use them , I think Luton had one.
Anybody who has played on an artificila surface would know that its dangerous unless its properly soaked all the time.
Somebody explain why Jack get fifa money to put down this surface.
An doh talk about another 10 percenter.
I think most are referring to the old astro-turf surface. The newer generation of artificial pitches are rubberized, and is really not a problem to fall on. The surface also requires less maintenance, which make it ideal for TT.
« Last Edit: February 26, 2007, 05:27:30 AM by doc »

« Reply #13 on: February 26, 2007, 06:07:19 AM »
 Ah hear yuh , but is this surface approved for international games or even competition ?
If not then this stadium would only be used for training purposes.

« Reply #14 on: February 26, 2007, 06:13:37 AM »
High Definition Pitch?
That coming in 720p or 1080i?
It on Machel bus?

« Reply #15 on: February 26, 2007, 06:36:41 AM »
Ah hear yuh , but is this surface approved for international games or even competition ?
The answer is yes. http://www.fifa.com/documents/fifa/FQCturf/fqc_football_turf_folder.pdf

« Reply #16 on: February 26, 2007, 06:57:16 AM »
The answer is yes. http://www.fifa.com/documents/fifa/FQCturf/fqc_football_turf_folder.pdf

Thks, good info , this is probably the best thing to happen to our football since WC 2006 qualification.
All dem ball hoe in de east could now play non stop football. ;D ;D

« Reply #17 on: February 26, 2007, 07:09:26 AM »
We could practice for when we have to play in Saprissa

« Reply #18 on: February 26, 2007, 11:13:04 AM »
I hear nuff PFL players say that the Marvin Lee was never a good surface to play on.  Nuff man come out with shin splints after PFL games on that surface.  Don't know how the Joe Public players use to make out.

JUST A THOUGHT....maybe we could christen the field with a next WN Family Day again.  ;D
This time I go be playing instead of reffin the game  ;)

« Reply #19 on: February 26, 2007, 12:08:15 PM »
I hear nuff PFL players say that the Marvin Lee was never a good surface to play on. Nuff man come out with shin splints after PFL games on that surface.  Don't know how the Joe Public players use to make out.

JUST A THOUGHT....maybe we could christen the field with a next WN Family Day again.  ;D

Yea, but playing on that turf ain't no joke either. When you play on turf and it's hot (always in trinidad) it generates a deadly heat which takes a lot from the players legs....Makes you get tired faster. The ball movement is also different. When the ball bounce and hit them pebbles it could easily beat you (bouncing in a different direction).

The good thing is that at least players would not be playing in  no muddy field or bad surface.. etc.

« Reply #20 on: February 26, 2007, 12:14:27 PM »
It would be interesting to see the first game on this pitch. One thing I know the ball always moves faster on the pitches. Many who like to dribble will have some problem until they get accustom to the different feel.

« Reply #21 on: February 26, 2007, 12:34:00 PM »
I hear nuff PFL players say that the Marvin Lee was never a good surface to play on. Nuff man come out with shin splints after PFL games on that surface.  Don't know how the Joe Public players use to make out.

Yea, but playing on that turf ain't no joke either. When you play on turf and it's hot (always in trinidad) it generates a deadly heat which takes a lot from the players legs....Makes you get tired faster. The ball movement is also different. When the ball bounce and hit them pebbles it could easily beat you (bouncing in a different direction).

The good thing is that at least players would not be playing in  no muddy field or bad surface.. etc.

Once we master d surface we can put them yanks on it, preferably 3:00 in d afternoon and cut they arse in that hot sun, they will be our first guinea pigs. 

« Reply #22 on: February 26, 2007, 12:50:45 PM »

Once we master d surface we can put them yanks on it, preferably 3:00 in d afternoon and cut they arse in that hot sun, they will be our first guinea pigs. 

Little do you know that they have mastered playing on the turf in all sorts of conditions. The have a whole heap of them in North America.

« Reply #23 on: February 26, 2007, 12:58:47 PM »

Little do you know that they have mastered playing on the turf in all sorts of conditions. The have a whole heap of them in North America.

SUCKS !!1  :-[ so much for that plan  :-\

« Reply #24 on: February 26, 2007, 02:35:03 PM »
yea...costa rica have one...time to fix up the other main stadia....NOWWWWWWWWWWW

« Reply #25 on: February 27, 2007, 10:08:22 AM »
Good Morning Fellahs,
                               Don't you think the govt should build a couple of artificial fieds accross the island  to help with the wear and tear of the grass fields?

« Reply #26 on: February 27, 2007, 10:51:51 AM »
Now we could move all them big dub concerts up to Macoya from the national stadium

« Reply #27 on: February 27, 2007, 10:54:15 AM »
That too!!!!

« Reply #28 on: February 27, 2007, 12:36:04 PM »
I wonder how much it costing to rent that field for fete match?

Field must be played on...not to sit back and admire.

All who living Miami they have a nice astro turf field down in Kendal. Somewhere around SW 80th Street and SW 127th Avenue. Once yuh swing orf the turnpike yuh just head west.

Dais truthseeker and Duscam area.

The ting real nice, like normal grass and the dirt was some rubber pebble. Boots holding good good in it. Like another poster said the ball rolling faster on the ground, but when it bounce it deadening fast. Cushiony nah.

If they only put up one of these in the west, with lights and a bar serving cole stag, and yuh could sweat till foe day morning. Pressah!!

« Reply #29 on: February 27, 2007, 12:49:25 PM »
It will come. Later than sooner. But guys back home could make the own small goal astro field. What all yuh think