April 26, 2024, 05:02:10 PM

Author Topic: T&T youth striker goes on trial at Arsenal.  (Read 17083 times)

T&T youth striker goes on trial at Arsenal.
« on: March 03, 2007, 08:26:54 AM »
T&T youth striker goes on trial at Arsenal.

National Youth team striker Lester Peltier has joined English Premier League giants Arsenal on trial. The CL Financial San Juan Jabloteh player, who left these shores with teammate Jason Marcano last month for trials at English League One team Milwall FC, is said to have impressed during his stint at that club and was spotted in a training match against Queen’s Park Rangers. According to Jabloteh head coach Terry Fenwick, Peltier also netted a hattrick for the club’s reserve team in a scrimmage with their first team last week.
Fenwick who traveled with the duo over the Carnival week to ensure that they were settled in well at the club, said the 18-year-old Peltier will train in front the Arsenal coaches, most likely with the Reserves at first for another week or so.
“They saw him in the training match and they were impressed. The Arsenal coaches told Milwall they wanted to have a look at him and off he went,” an excited Fenwick told TTFF Media on Friday. “It’s great exposure for the young lad because I think he has an abundance of talent and the experience out there will do him a world of good. We don’t know what the situation with be with both of them, whether they will be signed or not but definitely the football they are experiencing could and should make them better lads.”
Marcano reportedly sustained a groin strain but is still on trial at Milwall.
Meantime, Fenwick added that through his connection, Liam Brady, Arsenal’s youth development director is carded to come out to T&T later this year when the Pro League season gets going to have a look around. Arsenal has one of the world’s best rated youth programs. Brady is in his ninth season in charge of the Arsenal academy and is a former Celtic and Brighton manager. The ex-midfielder played for Sampdoria, Juventus, Arsenal, Ascoli and West Ham and has 72 caps for Republic of Ireland.
Fenwick also relayed that plans are in place for the staging of a mini-tournament in Tobago in a few weeks time involving Jabloteh and teams from Ajax Amsterdam and Milwall comprising of Reserve and youth team players. This series is expected to take place at the Dwight Yorke Stadium prior to the start of the Pro League season and could include a couple other teams yet to be confirmed.
“This will be an ideal opportunity to better our links with these overseas teams because they love the conditions here for preparations and it could be an attraction for our football. We have the facilities so it makes sense using them in this way as well,” Fenwick said. “It’s going to be a good chance to give some exposure to the guys back at home and at the same time there are going to be coaching looking on. Someone’s always watching the game these days and it could be to our benefit when we hold these kind of events,” added the ex-England and Tottenham Hotspur player.
Cardiff the first to make offer for Peltier.

National Under 20 striker Lester Peltier, who made headlines on the week for earning a call for trial at English giants Arsenal, has gone to Cardiff City on trial and played his first closed doors match for the club yesterday.
Terry Fenwick, coach of CL Financial San Jabloteh, the man responsible for sending Peltier and Jason Marcano to Millwal on trials, said Cardiff also had a look at Peltier and decided they wanted him there.
And they seem the most willing to offer Peltier a deal and have also started negotiations on a move.
"They want him and it will be fair play to say that we couldn't hold the lad from going there because Cardiff are the first to already start negotiations with Jabloteh," Fenwick admitted to TTFF Media on Sunday evening.
But Marcano who is suffering from a groin strain is with Peltier at Cardiff only as company as he is unable to train. And Peltier is still carded to go to Arsenal by mid-week.
"Arsenal is a big club and even though there is already a chance of a deal at Cardiff, Jabloteh have decided that the lad will still go to Arsenal because we already said to Liam Brady that they will have the player for a few days." Cardiff are currently eighth on the Championship Division table.
Bluebirds run rule over a trio of trialists.
By: South Wales Echo.

Cardiff City are scouring the world for new talent, writes Terry Phillips.
They have brought in players from Poland plus Trinidad and Tobago on trial. Centre-forward Jakob Cubrala, 17, is training with the Bluebirds for a second week, having linked up with Cardiff from Polish club Swit. Cubrala is a 6ft 3ins forward who is out of contract with his club later this month.
The Bluebirds have also brought in Jason Marcano and teenager Lester Peltier - who has a trial with Arsenal on Thursday - for a few days.
Both are from San Juan Jabloteh FC in Trinidad and Tobago and have also spent time with Millwall.
Former England, Queens Park Rangers and Spurs defender Terry Fenwick has accompanied Marcano and Peltier from T & T, while they are represented by Cardiff-based agent Paul Mohammed.
"They are two of the biggest talents in Trinidad and Tobago," said Fenwick, who works within the T&T Pro League.
"They have both had a fantastic season with Jabloteh and I'm sure that they will soon be knocking on the door of the Trinidad and Tobago national team.
'This is now a wonderful opportunity for these guys to go out and experience professional football outside of Trinidad and Tobago."
Both players have been playing for Jabloteh in the T&T Pro League and Marcano, 23, said: 'It is part of my dream to play in English football and I have been waiting for something like this.It's going to be hard with the change of weather, but these trials could make a big impact on my life,' said Marcano, voted the Most Improved Player in 2006 by Jabloteh.
Peltier, 18, has broken into the Jabloteh first team. He said: 'It's really cold in Britain, but I am ready for that.'
Peltier reaches Arsenal

Trinidad and Tobago striker Lester Peltier arrived At Arsenal on Thursday for his trial.
The 18-year-old, who has already spent time with Millwall and Cardiff since arriving in England, began training with The Gunners' academy . Cardiff liked what they saw from the young San Juan Jabloteh striker during his first trial and have invited him back for a second look next week.
However, should Peltier impress Arsenal the Championship high-flyers might not get a second bite of the cherry to secure his signature.
Work permit issues are unlikely to hold back Peltier as he may qualify for an EU passport through his Dutch grandmother.
Peltier's agent Paul Mohamed told skysports.com: "I spoke to Liam Brady (Arsenal's head of youth development), but it's too early to assess things.
"He trained with the academy on Thursday and that's what he's going to do on Friday.
"He was due to go back to Trinidad on Saturday, but Cardiff want a closer look at him next week and the club have consented to that. Arsenal may have other views.
"He wants to earn a contract in England. That's the plan. He's been at Millwall for two weeks. Then Cardiff expressed an interest.
"I think it's every footballers' dream in Trinidad to follow in the footsteps of Dwight Yorke and Carlos Edwards.
"We're now waiting to hear from Arsenal. I know Cardiff are interested in offering a contract."
Meanwhile, another Cardiff City trialist Jason Marcano, who also plays for CL Financial San Juan Jabloteh, will return home after failing to earn a deal.
"He's going back to Trinidad tomorrow," Mohamed continued. "He's 23, so I think his age has counted against him."
Brady meantime is expected to come out to Trinidad in a few weeks to look at some of the talent available. This was confirmed by Jabloteh head coach Terry Fenwick who added that defender Cyd Gray is scheduled to head out to Gillingham for a few days training ahead of the Pro League season.
« Last Edit: March 10, 2007, 07:50:43 AM by Flex »

Re: T&T YOUTH STRIKER GOES ON TRIAL AT ARSENAL
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2007, 08:39:06 AM »
Impressive bits of news. Well done Peltier.Unless I'm missing something, I have no problem with Fenwick when he utilizes his connections, organizes these trials, pushs these activities, creates opportunities and generates so many spin-offs for T&T.

Re: T&T youth striker goes on trial at Arsenal.
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2007, 08:40:14 AM »
I hope he gets picked up .... by arsneal great job by terry to push our players .....

wey   lionpaw

Ok so upfront it now   jones , roberts , Jason Scotland, john, sealy
 but peltier findley and Matthew Bartholomew, Hernandez  would be challenging fuh a spot in years to come.. up front look nice
« Last Edit: March 03, 2007, 09:16:27 AM by triniman »

« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2007, 08:55:22 AM »
Even if he doesnt ...this is great news and a great oppturnity for him...I feel so proud !  :beermug:
« Last Edit: March 03, 2007, 09:15:27 AM by trinbago »

« Reply #4 on: March 03, 2007, 09:05:09 AM »
good luck corn curls.....and marcarno

Offline whistler91

• Love, Respect, Honor
« Reply #5 on: March 03, 2007, 09:05:50 AM »
great news, wish him the best of luck
“There is no force like success, and that is why the individual makes all effort to surround himself throughout life with the evidence of it; as of the individual, so should it be of the nation.”

Offline Trinitim

« Reply #6 on: March 03, 2007, 09:10:00 AM »

Well Done Lester Peltier. I am pleased about Fenwick using his links and pushing our players. Well done Youth keep your head up and impress.

« Reply #7 on: March 03, 2007, 09:52:51 AM »
Very good opportunity...best of luck to Peltier

« Reply #8 on: March 03, 2007, 10:05:30 AM »
 Terry Fenwick seem like he care about T&T football more than a certain national head coach(WIM)

« Reply #9 on: March 03, 2007, 10:07:20 AM »
Terry Fenwick seem like he care about T&T football more than a certain national head coach(WIM)

Totally agreed.

Is Fenwick who send Daryl Roberts to Rotterdam too.

« Reply #10 on: March 03, 2007, 10:08:31 AM »

Totally agreed.

Is Fenwick who send Daryl Roberts to Rotterdam too.
based on what?
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #11 on: March 03, 2007, 10:14:52 AM »
Lawd. De head coach suppose to be man agent too?! Allyuh jokey yes.

« Reply #12 on: March 03, 2007, 10:30:02 AM »
Fenwick only care about dollars as he's their agent and also a transfer fee involved for Jabloteh. Lester turn his back on our last under 20 team for the all important game vs Jamaica, we end up beating Jamaica in T&T (1-0 return leg) and one of the reason was Fenwick Lester fail to show up because of club commitments and Jabloteh had no games. So allyuh stop comparing Fenwick to Wim, atleast Wim sent Roberts to Holland for free and it can only benefit him as national team coach with more options, Fenwickhave morepull of course, but Fenwick main aim is money. Yes, he did good to get him the trial, but his intention is not T&T first. Still glad for de youth and thankful for Fenwick, because it will help in de end.

Good luck to both, if he signs this would be the second time a T&T player sign for a "top" club coming out of T&T. (Yorke was the first off course). Theo and Peliter striking pardners for Arsenal so look out next season Man-U....  :rotfl:
« Last Edit: March 03, 2007, 10:52:55 AM by Flex »

« Reply #13 on: March 03, 2007, 10:33:07 AM »
Based on what? Based on his job...Based on him not always trying to critisize...Based on him helping players make the next step....Based on him being an ex-English national and coming to T&T to coach a PFL team when he could possibly get another job based on his playing experience.....Based on Fenwick acknowleging that we have problems but we also have talent...

And So what Wim send Darryl Roberts to Rotterdam....Big deal ! Roberts is not the best player we have local or abroad...He is a great player...So wow he really do something to help football..........Wim is a scumbag that only care about taking T&T money...Fenwick most likely making money off those deals but he doing more to help football on a whole.....He not doing like Wim and critisizing everything

Wim's job in getting Roberts to Rotterdam must have been really hard

...Go T&T

« Reply #14 on: March 03, 2007, 10:36:16 AM »
Based on what? Based on his job...Based on him not always trying to critisize...Based on him helping players make the next step....Based on him being an ex-English national and coming to T&T to coach a PFL team when he could possibly get another job based on his playing experience.....Based on Fenwick acknowleging that we have problems but we also have talent...

And So what Wim send Darryl Roberts to Rotterdam....Big deal ! Roberts is not the best player we have local or abroad...He is a great player...So wow he really do something to help football..........Wim is a scumbag that only care about taking T&T money...Fenwick most likely making money off those deals but he doing more to help football on a whole.....He not doing like Wim and critisizing everything

...Go T&T

fenwick not tryign to criticise u kidding me right.
man....do u even knwo what u talkign bout.
terry fenwick right
me eh have nuttin more to say. if u think that..lol. at this stage no way anyone could change yuh mind.
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #15 on: March 03, 2007, 10:38:48 AM »
He not doing like Wim and critisizing everything
Bredda. You best stop talkin now. You either forget or never see de things Fenwick say bout we before de World Cup. It was posted right in dis forum. He make Wim speech sound like love notes. Fenwick belittle us, bad talk us and predict heavy losses in each game. Do ah search.

Yuh doh like Wim. We get it. But doh make up reasons. Just admit dat it based on nothing.

« Reply #16 on: March 03, 2007, 10:44:25 AM »
He not doing like Wim and critisizing everything
Bredda. You best stop talkin now. You either forget or never see de things Fenwick say bout we before de World Cup. It was posted right in dis forum. He make Wim speech sound like love notes. Fenwick belittle us, bad talk us and predict heavy losses in each game. Do ah search.

Yuh doh like Wim. We get it. But doh make up reasons. Just admit dat it based on nothing.
remedy u se eh sya nuttin...lol when u eh knwo what u talkign bout.
u know de chalkie kaiso let de jack*** bray

« Reply #17 on: March 03, 2007, 10:47:38 AM »
meh family on vacation, so ah have lil time to play de ass nah..
this post does not represent the views/belief of this or any poster, it is really ah joke, or a comical puzzle..guess the real answer ah looking for...good luck  :beermug:

"it have some man here go say...Fenwick only seeing bout heself...an tryinin to maash up we football and PFL from developing by exporting we best up and coming players, so we lost dem to foreign, and we local get weaker....so we go lose to them stong mexican team and dem...them youths wasn't on the radar yet, but they was comin to come...an he jus rush we an pull all dem whey from whim, an locallll  *steupppps*....an if dem boy doh make it, some a  dem does come back llil down yuh know, and mash up...dah man really hate we, tryin to mash up we football, and we paying too..an he such a bully, he does ruff up dem boy an dem...he calling it discipline...in this day an age...all it is.is ah white man buffin up black ppl....plenty ppl outside telling shouting , 'discipline, discipline, we doh need no stinkin disciple' - we have ah ton ah talented youths right here in San Chiqito."

« Reply #18 on: March 03, 2007, 10:50:15 AM »
meh family on vacation, so ah have lil time to play de ass nah..
this post does not represent the views/belief of this or any poster, it is really ah joke, or a comical puzzle..guess the real answer ah looking for...good luck  :beermug:

"it have some man here go say...Fenwick only seeing bout heself...an tryinin to maash up we football and PFL from developing by exporting we best up and coming players, so we lost dem to foreign, and we local get weaker....so we go lose to them stong mexican team and dem...them youths wasn't on the radar yet, but they was comin to come...an he jus rush we an pull all dem whey from whim, an locallll  *steupppps*....an if dem boy doh make it, some a  dem does come back llil down yuh know, and mash up...dah man really hate we, tryin to mash up we football, and we paying too..an he such a bully, he does ruff up dem boy an dem...he calling it discipline...in this day an age...all it is.is ah white man buffin up black ppl....plenty ppl outside telling shouting , 'discipline, discipline, we doh need no stinkin disciple' - we have ah ton ah talented youths right here in San Chiqito."
Alvin Corneal

« Reply #19 on: March 03, 2007, 10:54:58 AM »
ps: ah buyin the winner 2 diable and 2 cochon ( dem is 2 microbrews we have here, cyah get it nowhere else)
trinbago is not really a fictious quote, as much as an fictious/faceous answer required  ;)

« Reply #20 on: March 03, 2007, 10:56:09 AM »
I hope he gets picked up .... by arsneal great job by terry to push our players .....

wey   lionpaw

Ok so upfront it now   jones , roberts , Jason Scotland, john, sealy
 but peltier findley and Matthew Bartholomew, Hernandez  would be challenging fuh a spot in years to come.. up front look nice

sorry..but who's hernandez? know everyone else there but that dude...

necer seen bartholomew or findley play though

« Reply #21 on: March 03, 2007, 10:56:53 AM »
ps: ah buyin the winner 2 diable and 2 cochon ( dem is 2 microbrews we have here, cyah get it nowhere else)
trinbago is not really a fictious quote, as much as an fictious answer required  ;)
My guess is the answer end with x and have two n's in it.

« Reply #22 on: March 03, 2007, 11:04:43 AM »
trinbago is not really a fictious quote, as much as an fictious answer required  ;)
My guess is the answer end with x and have two n's in it.

chill man meh nuh lambasin or tryin to mess up nobody....clue 2.above was clue 1..the answer is not somebody..more something
« Last Edit: March 03, 2007, 11:07:02 AM by maxg »

« Reply #23 on: March 03, 2007, 11:23:20 AM »

fenwick cannot get any wuk in england heis considered  terrible manager he got fired fom a non league side after he got let fired from northampton then he return to trinidad ... ...... wim had nothing to do with roberts going to holland by the way.. ...... you critize blindly i come to realize...

tell me where wim neva say  we eh have talent
« Last Edit: March 03, 2007, 11:30:41 AM by triniman »

Offline kevinAckin

« Reply #24 on: March 03, 2007, 11:28:04 AM »
besssssssssss

Offline Israel

« Reply #25 on: March 03, 2007, 11:41:54 AM »
Well said triniman..........I wonder where men gettin they info from........Wim had nothing to do with Roberts going to Holland for real
If a rasta in a coma, is he still conscious?

« Reply #26 on: March 03, 2007, 11:54:48 AM »
shim...ah ending up hijackin this thread mankind like they prefer to in an out sult....ok..ok...
clue 3 : "Discipline. Disciple. we doh need no stinkin disciple"
clue 4: Western

bonus: 2 ah meh neighbour son in law brews. ( the ole man used to make brew quaterly, buh sadly he died(age), so the son-in-law take over the brew - very rare, ah does only get a 2 bottles a year - blonde brew

Offline Papachunks

« Reply #27 on: March 03, 2007, 02:30:49 PM »
Is funny, because i sure when whim made that comment about the pro league, he never would have expected such a vicious and prolonged response. The man didnt have spite in his voice, it was a disappointing run of events in the concacaf and he make a comment.

Which...cannot be fully disapproved, the proleague has done alot of good things, but it just aint premier league status, it cant be, it shouldnt even be striving for that. The pro league needs to find a niche, something like how hollands eresdivie league operates, training youths and working as a funnel for other islands/countries talents to come and play in, so that they could develop the league, and act as a feeder for the larger leagues. Two birds with one stone, and its getting there, whether people want it to, or not.

Whim made a statement on the current status of the league, thas all, nothing more....and de man probably wasnt even hating on it as much as ppl seem to think.

« Reply #28 on: March 03, 2007, 02:56:44 PM »

...Go T&T

fenwick not tryign to criticise u kidding me right.
man....do u even knwo what u talkign bout.
terry fenwick right
me eh have nuttin more to say. if u think that..lol. at this stage no way anyone could change yuh mind.

You can't question them men.

Fenwick is a God and he love TnT football to he heart apparently.

Only place he could manage successfully it seems, plus as an agent he is the only game in town.

Never mind the fact that the same thing they criticizing Wim for is what Fenwick has been doing for years now.

« Reply #29 on: March 03, 2007, 04:16:39 PM »
things looking nice, would be nice to see a trini playin for arsenal and making d starting team :beermug: