March 29, 2024, 08:32:26 AM

Should teams ranking go up only if they beat a team higher in ranking?

Yes
7 (41.2%)
No
10 (58.8%)

Total Members Voted: 17

Author Topic: FIFA Ranking Thread.  (Read 295408 times)

Offline sting_pana

FIFA Ranking (Aug 2005)
« Reply #30 on: August 17, 2005, 10:07:48 AM »
I dont understand WHY your squad move 5 positions?

- Your squad NO win any matches in the GOLD CUp and Panama is 2nd place?

(http://www.fifa.com/en/mens/statistics/index/0,2548,All-Aug-2005,00.html)

- I THINK papa Warner have some things here!
« Last Edit: December 19, 2005, 09:24:12 AM by Tallman »

Re: FIFA RANKING UPDATE
« Reply #31 on: August 17, 2005, 10:14:06 AM »
Well they already now that since allyuh give america so much pressure in the Gold Cup and we kill you guys then that's worth a good 5 jumps right dey.  We jumpin 5 more next month  ;D

Offline sting_pana

« Reply #32 on: August 17, 2005, 10:21:25 AM »
5 more?

don't make me laugh!

I will see Your faces tomorrow...win in USA? over USA?

Perhaps a tie game vs Guatemala..

..and loss against Costa Rica in San Jose...thats all!

5 more?

oh yes!

« Reply #33 on: August 17, 2005, 10:58:48 AM »
Dis man come back to spread his hater vibez dred..  * MASH .. MASH!! *

Offline BigToe

• Laaaaard, ah cyan take it no more
« Reply #34 on: August 17, 2005, 11:07:24 AM »
StinkPanty:

Why ya do hush ya c***.  You could even bring Juan Valdez into the squad...we go still rest it on ya'll come the return match.

« Reply #35 on: August 17, 2005, 11:11:59 AM »
Sting Pana let me explain a few things to you.

You are a Johnny come Lately and suffering from Not Accustommed.............I know you glad your squad doing well but understand this, your ranking is also affected by the teams around your ranking, who are playing and their relative positions as well.

We did not win but draws and the type of competition, playing away from home etc does count for something.

Also consider the teams that are around us may have fallen off thus enabling us to move higher.

The length of time one is in the Rankings higher up also affects its significance.

Why did Mexico only move up so little bit after beating Brazil and doing well in COnfed Cup. They only moved up a few Places, Why did USA only move a few places after winning a Gold Cup? It is all relative based on the teams near to you in the ranking.

There is no conspiracy, your team is having a good run of form and enjoy it. The rankings are fairly accurate.

« Reply #36 on: August 17, 2005, 11:15:32 AM »
Yea..  What he just said...... PUNK!!!

Offline sting_pana

« Reply #37 on: August 17, 2005, 12:36:51 PM »
TOUCHES, thanks for the explanation, sorry for my mistakes!

And by the way, I've already posted in other countries message boards.

« Reply #38 on: August 17, 2005, 01:24:01 PM »
TOUCHES, thanks for the explanation, sorry for my mistakes!

And by the way, I've already posted in other countries message boards.

So what you want ... a lollipop now or something

steups

TT drops 3 places in Fifa Ranking
« Reply #39 on: September 14, 2005, 07:04:16 AM »
Gents,

We drop 3 places......Guatemala is just below us, Uzbekistan is just below us and Bahrain is higher than us.

Take a look FIFA Rankings

Re: TT drops 3 places in Fifa Ranking
« Reply #40 on: September 14, 2005, 07:07:31 AM »
Stupes.. that sucks ass

« Reply #41 on: September 14, 2005, 07:47:28 AM »
one step forward two steps back. stupes.

« Reply #42 on: September 14, 2005, 08:01:15 AM »
There might be some truth in these rankings, since all the teams that fighting up for that qualification spot are grouped together.

Than again Mex stayed at 5 and USA drop to 7, maybe it was that draw against Guat.

« Reply #43 on: September 14, 2005, 08:10:36 AM »
fifa rankings is a load of rubbish.

usa and mexico in de top 10? mexico is 5 but france is 6? usa is 7 but spain is 8? italy and germany not in de top 10?

iran is 18 but ireland is 21?

pure and utter dotishness.

Offline jr sams

• Every time....all de time....true to form
« Reply #44 on: September 14, 2005, 08:16:31 AM »
I really don't pay much attention to dem rankings...there are so many variables that go into the calaculations. At the end of the day, is really and trully what your team accomplishes.
It probably serves the odds makers in Vegas the most when they setting things up for World Cup odds, who knows.

I just want we to beat Panama, Mexico and if found in the 4th place play-off to beat the Asian team.
well yes

« Reply #45 on: September 14, 2005, 08:58:14 AM »
fifa rankings is a load of rubbish.

usa and mexico in de top 10? mexico is 5 but france is 6? usa is 7 but spain is 8? italy and germany not in de top 10?

iran is 18 but ireland is 21?

pure and utter dotishness.

Nah man, them rankings have merit.
It might not be perfect, but how can you expect to accurately 100% quantify which team is better than which if they all dont play each other.
I find in the last 11 years or how long of the rankings, they are a fairly good inidcation of where teams stand.
Not perfect, but decent.

Didnt mexico beat the mighty number 1 brazilians the odda day in confed cup? Not to mention give the powerful Germans a run for their money in their own backyard in the 3rd place game?
I agree with Mex position around 5-ish.

The usA we all agree is about the same as the Mexicans, perhaos even more consistent.
France is not the same france 3 years ago, is only Zidane come back and halping them recently.
I am sure if France was to play the US in the US now, the game could go either way, most likely to France, but it will be a closer game than many think.

Iran is a big team as well, them qualify for Germany since June. Ireland still fighting up for their spot.
It may not be perfect, but it is a decent indicator, the best we have now (as gut feelings and imagination dont count).

FIFA rankings (Oct 2005)
« Reply #46 on: October 19, 2005, 06:18:19 AM »
http://www.fifa.com/en/mens/statistics/index/0,2548,All-Oct-2005,00.html

Check it out. Bahrain
Ah wonder if Jack fix this too ?  :rotfl: :devil: :beermug: :rotfl: :devil: :beermug: :rotfl: :devil: :beermug:
« Last Edit: December 19, 2005, 09:23:42 AM by Tallman »

Re: New FIFA rankings
« Reply #47 on: October 19, 2005, 06:26:44 AM »
Stop talking shit. How could Jack fix that. ? We won our last 2 games, did Bahrian win there's ?

T&T 53 was 56.
Bahrain 55 was 53.

« Reply #48 on: October 19, 2005, 06:38:22 AM »
How you jumpy so?

Tha man wasn't being serious.

« Reply #49 on: October 19, 2005, 06:42:35 AM »
Sando eating winn today boy !  :challenge:  :devil:

« Reply #50 on: October 19, 2005, 06:50:30 AM »
Sando : Ah know it early in de morning.
Buh man, ah was only be sarcastic.
So chill out an go an get ah good doubles fuh breakfast.

« Reply #51 on: October 19, 2005, 07:03:35 AM »
Men real testy these days .......  :rotfl: :beermug:

Offline bahraini

« Reply #52 on: October 19, 2005, 07:04:01 AM »
 :o

Offline jr sams

• Every time....all de time....true to form
« Reply #53 on: October 19, 2005, 07:27:00 AM »
Men real testy these days .......  :rotfl: :beermug:
yeah dred....man forget to eat he crix and cheese and drink he Milo to start de morning
well yes

« Reply #54 on: October 19, 2005, 08:19:33 AM »
dats a modest ranking, if and when we beat bahrain it will rise once more, we need 2 get under 50 mark and hopefully pass jamaica and de ress 2 b ranked 4th in our region

« Reply #55 on: October 19, 2005, 08:32:23 AM »
I have a lot of faith in what the rankings represent but I a lill suprised we didnt go up more than 3 places.
We beat the then number 5 team, also won away from home, I guess Panama 76 rating didnt mean as much.
I thought we woulda at least break in the top 50.

Also, jamaica got hammered by a australia team ranked 50 something, yet they moved up one and australia fell 4 places.
Interesting.

What was our highest ever ranking? 28 in late 2000 and early 2001?

« Reply #56 on: October 19, 2005, 09:06:04 AM »
de only thing i doh agree with is how us could b ranked higher than germany england italy.it doh make sense.us do not belong in the top 12.

« Reply #57 on: October 19, 2005, 09:07:13 AM »
de only thing i doh agree with is how us could b ranked higher than germany england italy.it doh make sense.us do not belong in the top 12.
i mean united states

« Reply #58 on: October 19, 2005, 09:09:58 AM »
I have a lot of faith in what the rankings represent but I a lill suprised we didnt go up more than 3 places.
We beat the then number 5 team, also won away from home, I guess Panama 76 rating didnt mean as much.
I thought we woulda at least break in the top 50.

Also, jamaica got hammered by a australia team ranked 50 something, yet they moved up one and australia fell 4 places.
Interesting.

What was our highest ever ranking? 28 in late 2000 and early 2001?

No.25 in June 2001

Offline abojassim

« Reply #59 on: October 19, 2005, 09:49:17 AM »
you will see what happen in 12 nov