March 28, 2024, 03:16:45 PM

Author Topic: Mexico to play on newly open Marvin Lee Stadium.  (Read 13147 times)

Mexico to play on newly open Marvin Lee Stadium.
« on: March 30, 2007, 02:29:22 PM »
Mexico to play on newly open Marvin Lee Stadium.

ARTIFICIAL TURF

CONCACAF giants Mexico are expected to be among the teams taking part in a four- nation tournament for the first time at the newly opened FIFA Two-star artificial turf at the Marvin Lee Stadium, Centre of Excellence in Macoya.
This was announced at the formal opening of the facility on Friday as the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation proudly launched its FIFA Goal Project 2 following months of planning and construction.
CONCACAF President Jack Warner announced that Mexico is among the teams carded for the tournament which will involve hosts T&T and two other nations at a date in May.
FIFA Director of Development Mary Harvey journeyed to Trinidad from the CFU Congress in Curacao on Thursday night specially to open the facility which is the first of its kind in the Western hemisphere.  Also at the opening was TTFF President Oliver Camps and executive members of the TTFF, Caribbean FIFA development officer Harold Taylor and other football officials and guests. Harvey had only high remarks on the “Champions League” standard facility similar to those in Holland, Norway and England.
“Today we inaugurate a project that will result in lasting change in the region. Today we open the first ever FIFA 2-star artificial turf right here at the Marvin Lee Stadium,” Harvey said.
She thanked Warner for his vision and commitment as well as Caribbean FIFA Development officer Harold Taylor and his deputy Daryll Warner and specially Domo – the manufacturers of the state of the art pitch, FIFA consultant and artificial turf specialist Dr Eric Harrison, local-based company Terra Forma, the TTFF and all site workers for making the new surface a reality.
“This product is world class and among the best the industry has to offer and we are so pleased to see its realization here in Trinidad.
“Thanks to Mr Jack Warner whose dogged determination to see this project through, working through the bumps and hurdles tirelessly, has resulted in the beautiful pitch that you see today,” she added.
A natural field can have up to 300 hours of football played on it per year whereas the new artificial surface at the Marvin Lee Stadium can now accommodate 2000 hours of action per year, roughly five-six hours per day.
Warner boasted that the Centre of Excellence is now the premier facility in the Caribbean for development and excellence.
He reminded those at the launch that when the FIFA Goal project for T&T was to be inaugurated back in 2002, like all other associations, Government received a request for the lease of land for the construction of a National training centre in Forest Reserve which would be funded by FIFA. However, to date, the site remains abandoned and as such, the local governing body since went ahead in constructing an indoor Futsal facility at the Centre of Excellence in the first phase of the Goal Project and have now followed that up with the construction of artificial turf, on Warner’s request, which the TTFF intends to use for the development of its national teams and players.
“They didn’t give the land because if they give the land to football, it is believed they give the land to Jack Warner,” said the TTFF Special Advisor.
When the TTFF ran the risk of losing out on the US$400,000 funding from FIFA due to  failure in getting the training centre off the ground, the local body then decided to construct the artificial surface which Warner revealed cost an estimated US$900,000 (TT$6 million) with US$400,000 of that sum coming from FIFA.
In order to accommodate larger audiences for matches, stands have been erected behind the northern goal posts and bleachers will be put up around the playing area which Warner made clear will not for use only by the Joe Public football club as it has used the venue as its home base in the past.
“First of all this is not a Joe Public facility. This is a facility which is in a sense owned and controlled by the TTFF and the Centre of Excellence. It is a football only facility because we don’t want it to be destroyed. You will have no fetes here, no calypso fiesta, no carnival shows here,” Warner added.
« Last Edit: March 31, 2007, 03:52:53 AM by Flex »

Offline Pro-Jayz

• Is ah long time since ah went Gulf City!
Re: Mexico to play on newly open Marvin Lee Stadium
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2007, 02:36:25 PM »
MEXICO TO PLAY ON NEWLY OPENED MARVIN LEE STADIUM ARTIFICIAL TURF MEXICO TO PLAY ON NEWLY OPENED MARVIN LEE STADIUM ARTIFICIAL TURF 

CONCACAF giants Mexico are expected to be among the teams taking part in a four- nation tournament for the first time at the newly opened FIFA Two-star artificial turf at the Marvin Lee Stadium, Centre of Excellence in Macoya

This was announced at the formal opening of the facility on Friday as the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation proudly launched its FIFA Goal Project 2 following months of planning and construction .

CONCACAF President Jack Warner announced that Mexico is among the teams carded for the tournament which will involve hosts T&T and two other nations at a date in May.

FIFA Director of Development Mary Harvey journeyed to Trinidad from the CFU Congress in Curacao on Thursday night specially to open the facility which is the first of its kind in the Western hemisphere.  Also at the opening was TTFF President Oliver Camps and executive members of the TTFF,Caribbean FIFA development officer Harold Taylor and other football officials and guests

Harvey had only high remarks on the “Champions League” standard facility similar to those in Holland, Norway and England

“Today we inaugurate a project that will result in lasting change in the region. Today we open the first ever FIFA 2-star artificial turf right here at the Marvin Lee Stadium,” Harvey said.

She thanked Warner for his vision and commitment as well as Caribbean FIFA Development officer Harold Taylor and his deputy Daryll Warner and specially Domo – the manufacturers of the state of the art pitch, FIFA consultant and artificial turf specialist Dr Eric Harrison, local-based company Terra Forma, the TTFF and all site workers for making the new surface a reality.

“This product is world class and among the best the industry has to offer and we are so pleased to see its realization here in Trinidad.

“Thanks to Mr Jack Warner whose dogged determination to see this project through, working through the bumps and hurdles tirelessly, has resulted in the beautiful pitch that you see today,” she added.

A natural field can have up to 300 hours of football played on it per year whereas the new artificial surface at the Marvin Lee Stadium can now accommodate 2000 hours of action per year, roughly five-six hours per day.

Warner boasted that the Centre of Excellence is now the premier facility in the Caribbean for development and excellence.

He reminded those at the launch that when the FIFA Goal project for T&T was to be inaugurated back in 2002, like all other associations, Government received a request for the lease of land for the construction of a National training centre in Forest Reserve which would be funded by FIFA. However, to date, the site remains abandoned and as such, the local governing body since went ahead in constructing an indoor Futsal facility at the Centre of Excellence in the first phase of the Goal Project and have now followed that up with the construction of artificial turf, on Warner’s request, which the TTFF intends to use for the development of its national teams and players.

“They didn’t give the land because if they give the land to football, it is believed they give the land to Jack Warner,” said the TTFF Special Advisor.

When the TTFF ran the risk of losing out on the US$400,000 funding from FIFA due to  failure in getting the training centre off the ground, the local body then decided to construct the artificial surface which Warner revealed cost an estimated US$900,000 (TT$6 million) with US$400,000 of that sum coming from FIFA.

In order to accommodate larger audiences for matches, stands have been erected behind the northern goal posts and bleachers will be put up around the playing area which Warner made clear will not for use only by the Joe Public football club as it has used the venue as its home base in the past.

“First of all this is not a Joe Public facility. This is a facility which is in a sense owned and controlled by the TTFF and the Centre of Excellence. It is a football only facility because we don’t want it to be destroyed. You will have no fetes here, no calypso fiesta, no carnival shows here,” Warner added. (March 30, 2007.Photo shows Warner and Harvey unveiling the official FIFA Goal Project signage for the new artificial turf with Oliver Camps, TTFF official Neville Ferguson and vice presidents Raymond Tim Kee, Rudy Thomas and official Ewing Davis standing near.)

Next > 

only born in Santa Cruz BUT RAISED IN SAN FERNANDO..so dont get tied up!...I FROM SOUTH!

« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2007, 03:35:38 PM »
i have to buy my tickets  ;)

« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2007, 05:17:42 PM »
*crossing fingers and hoping there is no cancellation and replacement of teams with teams like Fiji Islands, Nicaragua and Andorra*

« Reply #4 on: March 30, 2007, 05:48:42 PM »
Isn't the Center Public training ground?

« Reply #5 on: March 30, 2007, 06:31:20 PM »
Isn't the Center Public training ground?
Yip as far as i know

« Reply #6 on: March 30, 2007, 07:45:10 PM »
who want to bet Mexico pull out at the last minute and get replaced by Barbados.

« Reply #7 on: March 30, 2007, 09:16:36 PM »
Like evrything with Jack and co it long good on paper.

« Reply #8 on: March 30, 2007, 09:34:51 PM »
Why we giving Mexico de chance to play on our new home field ? To get familiar with it ? We have to use dis to our advantage like Costa Rica.

Re: Mexico to play on newly open Marvin Lee Stadium.
« Reply #9 on: March 31, 2007, 04:51:34 AM »
I bet that tournament will not come through. Prove me wrong TTFF..

« Reply #10 on: March 31, 2007, 10:26:15 AM »
so wait nah.....no soloution with the players impasse and we rushing to help open a "FIFA goal project".....hear nah

« Reply #11 on: March 31, 2007, 04:05:47 PM »
So who are the other two teams being invited to the tournament? I'd love to see Jack extend an invite to the young RBZ squad. After all, Jack Warner himslef requested, and was graanted his wish that Jamaica not host Bahrain some time ago...out of "caribbean Unity".  Maybe he can return teh favor now by granting our team an oportunity to get some match practice under their belt by extending an invite to Bora Milutinovitch's Militia.

Wishful thinking maybe. More likely that Barbados and Antigue will be invited instead.

« Reply #12 on: March 31, 2007, 04:20:50 PM »

Wishful thinking maybe. More likely that Barbados and Antigue will be invited instead.

yes hopefully, we need to raise the level of competition as we are getting close to Gold Cup - no time to waste on minnows like Jamaica now

« Reply #13 on: March 31, 2007, 05:17:52 PM »

yes hopefully, we need to raise the level of competition as we are getting close to Gold Cup - no time to waste on minnows like Jamaica now

I dont mind being branded "minnows". But I suppose its the reason you guys are running away from a game with jamaica...its very insulting to world beaters like T&T to lose to minnows Jamaica. Perhaps now would be the best time for you to avenge the 6-1 thrashing you got some time years ago back when T&T were the minnows and Jamaica the "big team". 

Cant tell when the last time I saw you guys in Kingston. 'fraid of the minnows?  ;D

« Reply #14 on: March 31, 2007, 05:28:09 PM »

I dont mind being branded "minnows". But I suppose its the reason you guys are running away from a game with jamaica...its very insulting to world beaters like T&T to lose to minnows Jamaica. Perhaps now would be the best time for you to avenge the 6-1 thrashing you got some time years ago back when T&T were the minnows and Jamaica the "big team". 

Cant tell when the last time I saw you guys in Kingston. 'fraid of the minnows?  ;D

It seems that Ja will just have to wait til the WC qualificaton to get their cutass from T&T ;D

Offline Pro-Jayz

• Is ah long time since ah went Gulf City!
« Reply #15 on: March 31, 2007, 05:31:51 PM »

Reggaefan I seriously believe our best local team will beat that JA team that played Pan recently..The fact remains....If JA is invited to the tournament and then lose to T&T...I can bet most of the JA supporters will say T&T won because they played at home...and even go further to say that Jack scheduled the game in T&T favor...I've been among alot of Jamaican supporters and I know that would be their reaction to losing to T&T....anyway T&T and JA senior teams are bound to play each other soon, so we would just have to wait and see the outcome.
« Last Edit: March 31, 2007, 05:41:14 PM by problemjaydeess »
only born in Santa Cruz BUT RAISED IN SAN FERNANDO..so dont get tied up!...I FROM SOUTH!

« Reply #16 on: March 31, 2007, 05:42:22 PM »

Not to mention that we don't need no injuries this close to the GC.

« Reply #17 on: March 31, 2007, 05:45:29 PM »

Reggaefan I seriously believe our best local team will beat that JA team that played Pan recently....but just a simple question....If JA is invited to the tournament and then lose to T&T...I can bet most of the JA supporters will say T&T won because they played at home...and even go further to say that Jack scheduled the game in T&T favor...I've been among alot of Jamaican supporters and I know that would be their reaction to losing to T&T....anyway T&T and JA senior teams are bound to play each other soon, so we would just have to wait and see the outcome.

With the current Jamaica team, anything could happen when they play, so losing to T&T would not surprise anyone, in much the same way as beating T&T would not be looked upon as any surprise. at this stage, its all about team building, trying out new players, and building for 2010, thats what Bora has been saying since taking the reins. There is a constant mixing and changing of squads, one set of players today, one set tomorrow.

Still, can beat any caribbean team any day.

« Reply #18 on: March 31, 2007, 05:48:58 PM »

Not to mention that we don't need no injuries this close to the GC.

Well, perhaps you should change the name of your soca warriors to the "soca ladies" then. Take a look at the Ghana vs Brazil game played recently...notice the aggressive play of the Ghanians? Referees are put in the middle for a reason.  When next you see Ivory Coast, or Nigeria, or Camroon play, take note of the hard tackling.

Its a contact sport my brother.

« Reply #19 on: April 01, 2007, 08:14:36 AM »
RF....pull yuh ass nah

« Reply #20 on: April 01, 2007, 08:18:42 AM »
RF....pull yuh ass nah

What do u mean?

« Reply #21 on: April 01, 2007, 08:23:33 AM »
is sunday...ah now wake up with ah hangover....ah take a lil "morning ride"...ah eat 2 doubles....de cricket eh start yet.....and is you ah have to see here with ah set ah begging for yuh shit side to get ah sweat.....gone nah

« Reply #22 on: April 01, 2007, 09:14:07 AM »
is sunday...ah now wake up with ah hangover....ah take a lil "morning ride"...ah eat 2 doubles....de cricket eh start yet.....and is you ah have to see here with ah set ah begging for yuh shit side to get ah sweat.....gone nah

Good chase him out of town :devil:

Offline banton

• football in meh veins football in meh blood
    • http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XeWOxnWoXKI
« Reply #23 on: April 01, 2007, 09:19:12 AM »
i would of invite jamaica just to beat them bad ;D
football in meh veins football in meh blood

« Reply #24 on: April 01, 2007, 01:11:42 PM »

Begging? What a joke. We just played Switzerland and Panama the other day...and have another tournament to play some time in teh coming months. What i'm begging for is more a chance to beat your team yet agaian...on your own turf  ;D.

Offline black chinee

« Reply #25 on: April 01, 2007, 01:27:33 PM »
lol.... RF and Big Mag aint easy nuh....hehehehe :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: oui

« Reply #26 on: April 01, 2007, 03:57:22 PM »
Under all the ol' talk....I wonder what was the criteria used for choosing COE ground for the artificial turf ?

100 other grounds to choose from all over the country and it have to be "Warner" ground ?  Look Skinner Park used to stage some of the biggest crowds in the country and nothing being done to fix the ground.  It don't even have a proper stands now.  All the talk about is not Joe Public ground....where they going to train and play home games now ?

I also llike how at the opening (on TV) Warner say how FIFA put up US$400,000 and TTFF had to match at least the same amount...which they did, but deliberatetly refused to say where TTFF (cash strapped) get the money from.  I wonder if that was WC 2006/2010 money or that owed to the players  ::)

« Reply #27 on: April 01, 2007, 04:07:18 PM »
ten dollars says our locals play aruba instead

« Reply #28 on: April 01, 2007, 04:53:14 PM »
me eh looking for no ole talk from nobody (or maybe i am).....anyway de matter about de game being a contact sport, we only have to look right here at we own Cyd-de Blade-Gray to ask him bout dat, yes he is good defender and everything, but personally i feel is he tackle dat prevent we-and de world-from seeing more of Latas in de WC.....oh and by de way ent Ghana end up wid 10 men against Brazil(as ah know dey woulda)...anyway kudos to whomever responible for the new turf.

« Reply #29 on: April 01, 2007, 05:30:39 PM »
so wait nah.....no soloution with the players impasse and we rushing to help open a "FIFA goal project".....hear nah

Well BM, I now log on to suggest that this tournament (if it does come off) goh be a potentially good place to protest (considering your suggestions earlier)....
But ah see people want to run out and buy tickets one time.....hhhmmm....