April 26, 2024, 02:13:07 AM

Author Topic: U17S hold Joe Public in warm up.  (Read 14612 times)

U17S hold Joe Public in warm up.
« on: April 13, 2007, 02:20:44 PM »
U17S hold Joe Public in warm up.

A first half goal by midfielder Leston Paul earned Trinidad and Tobago’s Under 17 footballers a 1-1 draw with Joe Public in a training affair at the Ato Boldon Stadium on Friday morning.
Paul’s item was a fitting reward for the Anton Corneal coached team as they got a good workout from their opponents which included several young players in their line up. The Under 17s were playing for the final time before Corneal and his technical colleagues before naming the final 20-man squad on the weekend for the final round of CONCACAF qualifiers in Jamaica.
T&T kick off its final round against Costa Rica on April 28 and will also come up against United States, Canada and Jamaica for one of three places up for grabs in the FIFA Under 17 World Championship in Korea this August.
Corneal used Friday’s encounter to view a couple players in different roles, also welcoming back the likes of Stephen Chang and Robert Primus from injuries as Dutch coaches Wim Rijsbergen and Jan Van Deinsen also looked on.
“It was a final session to have a look at them before the final cut is made. We looked at a couple players in one or two different positions and we also had two back from injury,” Corneal told TTFF Media.
“The exercise was a good one and we will use the remaining time to study our opponents and go into or final mode of preparation for the tournament in two weeks time,” he added. Team doctor Mario John mentioned that the entire squad was free of injury problems with only striker Daniel Joseph having a hamstring bother which is close to being fully healed.
The team will have an in-house session at the Dr Joao Havelange Centre of Excellence on Saturday and will return to outdoor physical training the following day. It will then enter a full one week camp next week before departing for Kingston, Jamaica on April 25.

check photos

Click Here.
« Last Edit: April 14, 2007, 03:03:05 AM by Flex »

Re: U17S hold Joe Public in warm up
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2007, 02:25:06 PM »
These warm ups ??? has this under 17 team ever shut out any team in the warm ups ? they always seem to concede a goals

« Last Edit: April 13, 2007, 02:26:46 PM by DWarriorMan »

Re: U17S hold Joe Public in warm up
« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2007, 03:08:52 PM »
Daniel Joseph is a must.

Re: U17S hold Joe Public in warm up.
« Reply #3 on: April 13, 2007, 10:00:47 PM »
just look at those joe public players that under 17 team should have clobbered them but  a 1-1 tie

« Reply #4 on: April 14, 2007, 03:58:30 AM »
Ah see one positive thing from dat, Wim have he critics and dem, but give credit where it is due, ah see him mixing wid de youths, may be he looking fuh any outstanding talent, tuh squeeze in fuh 2010 WCQ. HIGHLY BLESSED.

Go Miami Heat.

Offline Joe Public

« Reply #5 on: April 14, 2007, 04:21:31 AM »
I deny every thing, i've never been held by an under 17 for years.  :o
The big boys are in the butchers.

« Reply #6 on: April 15, 2007, 08:11:13 PM »
I deny every thing, i've never been held by an under 17 for years.  :o

::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #7 on: April 16, 2007, 09:21:05 AM »
Let me make a point about Jack Warner and T&T's U-17 team. Then decide if I'm wrong or right.

Jack Warner's shortsightedness has cost your U-17s a spot in the World Cup. The events of the 2006 U-17 Caribbean Championship lays testament when JW decided to change the format of the Championship before the knockout round began. The format change saw T&T forgo playing Canada and was instead placed in a group with Caribbean neighbours Haiti, Surinam and Barbados and Jamaica with guest teams Mexico, Panama and Canada.
JW's then based his "excuse" on Jamaica being host of the final round.
Now the results:
    Quarterfinals/Cuartos de Finales
Group/Grupo AGroup/Grupo A GP/PJ W/G L/D T/E +/- PTS
Haiti 3 3 0 0 13:1 9
Trinidad & Tobago 3 1 1 1 5:2 4
Surinam 3 1 2 0 4:11 3
Barbados 3 0 2 1 1:9 1

21.8.2006 Haiti - Surinam 7:1 (5:1) Marabella, TRI
21.8.2006 Trinidad & Tobago - Barbados 1:1 (0:1) Marabella, TRI
23.8.2006 Barbados - Haiti 0:5 (0:2) Couva, TRI
23.8.2006 Surinam - Trinidad & Tobago 0:4 (0:1) Couva, TRI
25.8.2006 Surinam - Barbados 3:0 (1:0) Port of Spain, TRI
25.8.2006 Trinidad & Tobago - Haiti 0:1 (0:1) Port of Spain, TRI

Group/Grupo BGroup/Grupo B GP/PJ W/G L/D T/E +/- PTS
Mexico 3 3 0 0 6:3 9
Jamaica 3 1 1 1 5:3 4
Panama 3 0 1 2 4:5 2
Canada 3 0 2 1 3:7 1

21.8.2006 Panama - Mexico 1:2 Bacolet, TRI
21.8.2006 Canada - Jamaica 0:3 (0:1) Bacolet, TRI
23.8.2006 Jamaica - Panama 1:1 (0:1) Bacolet, TRI
23.8.2006 Mexico - Canada 2:1 (1:0) Bacolet, TRI
25.8.2006 Canada - Panama 2:2 (1:2) Bacolet, TRI
25.8.2006 Mexico - Jamaica 2:1 (2:0) Bacolet, TRI

Finals/Finales
Third Place/Tercer Lugar
27.8.2006 Trinidad & Tobago - Jamaica 2:0 (1:0) Port of Spain, TRI

Final
27.8.2006 Mexico - Haiti 3:0 (0:0) Port of Spain, TRI

Now the results show that playing Caribbean teams, Haiti being the exception T&T's U-17s have had all friendly results against them including 2 losses against Mexico's U-17s who were knocked out of the World Cup. Jamaica's U-17's on the other hand having played tougher opponents have improved even holding the same Mexico U-17 team to a 1-1 draw and then defeating them 2-0.
So the question is: which country has benefitted and which is at a disadvantage from JW's shortsightedness?
jjbrown

Offline Toussaint

• ...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.
    • Haiti Spors
« Reply #8 on: April 16, 2007, 09:55:50 AM »
Maybe, it's too early to tell... ;)

Jamaica and TnT will meet in group B where 3 out of 5 teams will book their wc tickets.
...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #9 on: April 16, 2007, 10:52:58 AM »
Maybe, it's too early to tell... ;)

Jamaica and TnT will meet in group B where 3 out of 5 teams will book their wc tickets.
Maybe! So what quality of preparation did Haiti adapt for their U-17s to qualify for their first World Cup?  :beermug: 
jjbrown

« Reply #10 on: April 16, 2007, 11:00:38 AM »
Let me make a point about Jack Warner and T&T's U-17 team. Then decide if I'm wrong or right.

Jack Warner's shortsightedness has cost your U-17s a spot in the World Cup. The events of the 2006 U-17 Caribbean Championship lays testament when JW decided to change the format of the Championship before the knockout round began. The format change saw T&T forgo playing Canada and was instead placed in a group with Caribbean neighbours Haiti, Surinam and Barbados and Jamaica with guest teams Mexico, Panama and Canada.
JW's then based his "excuse" on Jamaica being host of the final round.
Now the results:
    Quarterfinals/Cuartos de Finales
Group/Grupo AGroup/Grupo A GP/PJ W/G L/D T/E +/- PTS
Haiti 3 3 0 0 13:1 9
Trinidad & Tobago 3 1 1 1 5:2 4
Surinam 3 1 2 0 4:11 3
Barbados 3 0 2 1 1:9 1

21.8.2006 Haiti - Surinam 7:1 (5:1) Marabella, TRI
21.8.2006 Trinidad & Tobago - Barbados 1:1 (0:1) Marabella, TRI
23.8.2006 Barbados - Haiti 0:5 (0:2) Couva, TRI
23.8.2006 Surinam - Trinidad & Tobago 0:4 (0:1) Couva, TRI
25.8.2006 Surinam - Barbados 3:0 (1:0) Port of Spain, TRI
25.8.2006 Trinidad & Tobago - Haiti 0:1 (0:1) Port of Spain, TRI

Group/Grupo BGroup/Grupo B GP/PJ W/G L/D T/E +/- PTS
Mexico 3 3 0 0 6:3 9
Jamaica 3 1 1 1 5:3 4
Panama 3 0 1 2 4:5 2
Canada 3 0 2 1 3:7 1

21.8.2006 Panama - Mexico 1:2 Bacolet, TRI
21.8.2006 Canada - Jamaica 0:3 (0:1) Bacolet, TRI
23.8.2006 Jamaica - Panama 1:1 (0:1) Bacolet, TRI
23.8.2006 Mexico - Canada 2:1 (1:0) Bacolet, TRI
25.8.2006 Canada - Panama 2:2 (1:2) Bacolet, TRI
25.8.2006 Mexico - Jamaica 2:1 (2:0) Bacolet, TRI

Finals/Finales
Third Place/Tercer Lugar
27.8.2006 Trinidad & Tobago - Jamaica 2:0 (1:0) Port of Spain, TRI

Final
27.8.2006 Mexico - Haiti 3:0 (0:0) Port of Spain, TRI

Now the results show that playing Caribbean teams, Haiti being the exception T&T's U-17s have had all friendly results against them including 2 losses against Mexico's U-17s who were knocked out of the World Cup. Jamaica's U-17's on the other hand having played tougher opponents have improved even holding the same Mexico U-17 team to a 1-1 draw and then defeating them 2-0.
So the question is: which country has benefitted and which is at a disadvantage from JW's shortsightedness?

hey mexico beat us on two cheap goals from defensive errors in both what your point .In no way were our under 17 outplayed ... question you quick to talk about yah mexico victory but question could  jamaica have held honduras infront of 45000 fan to a draw in a do or die game . Oh yuh so like to bring up the cfu then let me ask yuh think ja plaed ina tougher group with better opposition but lost 2-0 to us how come? i guess you would use the excuse that they were not motivated eh. steups

« Reply #11 on: April 16, 2007, 11:03:30 AM »
Men’s U-17 Team
Tuesday, August 22, 2006
Canada falls 3-0 to Jamaica at the Caribbean Cup

read the report

Canada’s Under-17 Team was defeated 3-0 by Jamaica at the 2006 Youth Caribbean Cup on Monday in the second round robin of the tournament.

The tournament which was originally set as a single round robin followed by quarter-finals, semi-finals and the final has now added a second round robin with two groups of four with Canada in group B with Jamaica, Mexico and Panama.

Jamaica’s rout began in the 26th minute with a defensive breakdown allowing Dever Orgilla chance to break through four defenders before entering the box and ultimately beat the Canadian keeper Jason Blakely on the short side.

Four minutes later, Canada’s Randy Edwini-Bonsu turned his defender at the left corner of the 18 and moved inside to strike the ball but was unlucky as it grazed the side netting.

Although the Canadians played better in the second half and pressed for the equalizer, keeping Jamaica on their heels. They were unable to gain any distance prior to the final whistle.

In the 73rd minute, Jamaica’s John-Ross Doyley took a harmless shot from well outside the box which fools Blakely and trickles between his legs after bouncing off his chest.

The last unanswered goal by Jamaica followed a build up from the left side. A Jamaican midfielder then broke down the side and crossed the ball low across the net. A Canadian player was able to get a foot on the ball but was unable clear. Jamaica’s Kennial Hyde managed to get in front of him and knock it into the net.

“No excuses for tonight’s performance,” said head coach Stephen Hart. “We gifted them with two very preventable goals and paid a heavy price as it forced us to chase the game.”

Canada will now play Mexico on Wednesday.

August 21, 2006 – 2006 Youth Caribbean Cup
Dwight Yorke Stadium
Jamaica 3(1)
Canada 0(0)
Goals: Jamaica- Orgill (26), Doyley (78); Hyde (89)
CANADA: 1-Jason Blakely; 2-Adam Straith; 3-Daniel Tannous; 4-Philippe Davies; 5-Greg Smith; 6-Chris Martinez (13-Colin Parenreau-Michon, 75); 9-Randy Edwini-Bonsu (16-Jarek Whiteman, 80); 10-Alex Semenets; 12-Mohamed Sylla (11-Dalvir Malhi, 83); 15-Marcus Johnstone; 17-Erick Leal
Head coach: Stephen Hart
Subs not used: 7-Cedric Carrie; 8-Devin Gunenc; 14-Kevin Chan-Yu-Tin; 20-Julien Latendresse-Levesque

Tournament changes:

Group A
Trinidad and Tobago
Haiti
Barbados
Suriname

Group B
Canada
Mexico
Jamaica
Panama

Winners of each group will now play in the final on Sunday August 27th, while the two second place teams will play in the consolation played on the same day. Please note that Canada, in the event that we advance will not play on August 27th as this was the day scheduled for departure. The tournament organizers have pushed the finals from the 26th to the 27th, but may change it back to the 26th for the Canadian game should they advance.

Group A is made up of the four teams that advanced to the second round, as the top two will advance to next years CONCACAF qualifiers for the U17 World Championship. Jamaica (although part of the Caribbean) will be hosting one leg of the event, so they will be entered into the qualifiers.

Schedule
Canada vs Jamaica – August 21 @ 5pm
Canada vs Mexico – August 23 @ 5pm
Canada vs Panama – August 25 @ 3pm

Final - August 27

« Reply #12 on: April 16, 2007, 11:04:34 AM »
Thursday, August 03, 2006
Hart Announces Roster for Caribbean Cup

Stephen Hart
Ottawa, Ontario – Canada’s Men’s U-17 Team Head Coach and interim National Team boss, Stephen Hart, has announced his 18-man roster for the upcoming U-16 Caribbean Football Union’s Youth Cup in Trinidad and Tobago. The young Canadians are the defending champions of the 2005 event, having rolled over Guatemala by a score of 4-0 in last year’s final.

This year’s 28-team tournament will take place from August 14-27 with 23 teams from the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) along with invited teams El Salvador, Panama, Guatemala and Mexico joining Canada to round out the field. Hart and his charges will begin preparations with a four day training camp in Ft. Lauderdale, Florida on August 8 before traveling to Trinidad and Tobago on August 12.

The Canadians have been drawn into Group A along with Bermuda, El Salvador and Guyana and will play their first round matches at Dwight York Stadium in Tobago. The first place team in each of the seven groups along with the best second place finisher will advance to the quarterfinals.

In capturing last year’s championship, Canada defeated Dominica (9:0), Grenada (6:0) and St. Lucia (9:0) in the group stage before toping Netherlands Antilles (6:0) in the quarterfinals, Jamaica (4:2) in the semi-finals and Guatemala (4:0) in the final.

'We felt that this Tournament would be the ideal opportunity to give new players experience in CONCACAF and the opportunity to be evaluated,” said Hart. “As a consequence 11 new players will be involved.'

There will be additional incentive for the CFU teams in this year’s event as it will double as the Caribbean Preliminary Qualification to the CONCACAF U-17 Final Round Qualifier taking place in April 2007 in Jamaica and Honduras. The top finishing Caribbean team (excluding Jamaica) will join Canada, Mexico, USA, two teams from Central America and the group hosts in the 2007 CONCACAF U-17 Final Round. Five teams will advance from the final round to represent CONCACAF at the FIFA U-17 World Cup Korea 2007 taking place from August 18-September 8. The young Canadians will be looking to qualify for their first U-17 World Cup since the 1995 championship in Ecuador.

Following the tournament, Hart will join the men’s national team to prepare for the September 4th (Labour Day) international friendly against Jamaica at the Complexe sportif Claude-Robillard in Montreal, QC at 4:00 pm ET. Tickets are priced $15.00 and $25.00 plus applicable taxes and are available through admission.com.

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #13 on: April 16, 2007, 11:50:45 AM »
Like I said: decide if I'm right or wrong. Or maybe you miss my point altogether out of sentimentality.

So T&T did beat Jamaica for 3rd place. Was T&T playing Jamaica for the Championship. NO! Did that defeat eliminate Jamaica from the U-17 qualifiers. NO! But in that time leading up to the final round how many positive results have T&T had compared to Jamaica??? 

jjbrown

« Reply #14 on: April 16, 2007, 12:18:21 PM »
pull yuh ass bwoy

« Reply #15 on: April 16, 2007, 03:13:56 PM »
Like I said: decide if I'm right or wrong. Or maybe you miss my point altogether out of sentimentality.

So T&T did beat Jamaica for 3rd place. Was T&T playing Jamaica for the Championship. NO! Did that defeat eliminate Jamaica from the U-17 qualifiers. NO! But in that time leading up to the final round how many positive results have T&T had compared to Jamaica??? 

so what are you saying the jamaican team did not give it thier all this year so what about 2005 under wendell downsell. In other post you say anything JA play get trinidad they are pumped up etc now the game has no menaning steeps ....  was mexico playing jamaica for the qualifiers no was mexcio playing trinidad for the qualifiers no . so whats your point eh.  i guess you trying to equate mexico vs honduras to ja vs mexico eh ? so by your logic JA is stronger than honduras and haiti cause they beat mexico interseting...... again you stay there and dwell on our result you play trinidad last remember that...... and canada is your first opponent not trinidad....

« Reply #16 on: April 16, 2007, 03:21:58 PM »

u are absolutely wrong and u constantly miss the point. why are you so hard headed? i've explained this to u before but u don't understand how WC qualification works. u do realize that the first round of the tournament was a WC qualification process? Jamaica is the host nation of the final qualifying round, and was therefore automatically qualified. right? The host of a tournament typically does not get involved in qualifying and does not interfere with the qualifying process. right? It's all very simple. Therefore, the change to the tournament was absolutely the right, intelligent thing to do. It simply complied with how the vast majority of FIFA WC qualifying works. The teams that needed to qualify should have to only play each other. It is foolish to allow JA to knock a team out of qualifying for a tournament for which they are the host.  It was first and foremost a qualifying tournament. Jamaica shuld see itself as no less an 'invitee' than Mexico, Canada and Panama. You should be elated that your country got some good warm up games...because anywhere else in the world, you would not have been invited and you would have had to arrange and fund practice games against some of the best teams in the region by yourself. So give it a rest..it was no about greed. It was the fair and samrt thing to do. Imagine if Haiti were hosting a WC qualifying round..yet went and knocked Jamaica out the WC in a previous round..I have a feeling you would consider that unfair and greedy and you would balme JW and T&T..c'mon. Worse yet, T&T cut your ass and Haiti might have too. maybe Jack should have put you in the group and let you get knock out your own tournament you clown  ;D. Steeups..fair is fair..JA benefitted highly from that tourney. T&T, Haiti and the rest benefitted from being in a fair qualification process. Now give it a rest
« Last Edit: April 16, 2007, 03:25:42 PM by Filho »

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #17 on: April 16, 2007, 03:46:29 PM »
Both of you spouting long discussions seem to again miss my point. The exception being Fihlo's last paragraph.

"Steeups..fair is fair..JA benefitted highly from that tourney. T&T, Haiti and the rest benefitted from being in a fair qualification process. Now give it a rest"
 :applause: :applause: to Jack Warner for giving Jamaica better games against better competitive teams.  ;D  :rotfl: :rotfl:
« Last Edit: April 16, 2007, 03:48:56 PM by jamaica2099 »
jjbrown

« Reply #18 on: April 16, 2007, 04:02:55 PM »
Both of you spouting long discussions seem to again miss my point. The exception being Fihlo's last paragraph.

"Steeups..fair is fair..JA benefitted highly from that tourney. T&T, Haiti and the rest benefitted from being in a fair qualification process. Now give it a rest"
 :applause: :applause: to Jack Warner for giving Jamaica better games against better competitive teams.  ;D  :rotfl: :rotfl:

You have no point...but I'm glad u recognize that cuttass you got from T&T as a cuttass from one of the better competitive teams. let today mark the day that JA2099 admitted T&T Under 17s are better and more competitve than JA's. well done son  :beermug:
« Last Edit: April 16, 2007, 04:09:49 PM by Filho »

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #19 on: April 16, 2007, 04:24:26 PM »

You have no point...but I'm glad u recognize that cuttass you got from T&T as a cuttass from one of the better competitive teams. let today mark the day that JA2099 admitted T&T Under 17s are better and more competitve than JA's. well done son  :beermug:
Sorry to burst your bubble, but the more competitive teams were Mexico, Panama and Canada which Jack placed in Jamaica's group because he assumed Jamaica would not win any of the matches.
 :rotfl: His plan backfired since T&T did not win the Youth Cup either.  :rotfl:
jjbrown

« Reply #20 on: April 16, 2007, 05:29:56 PM »

Sorry to burst your bubble, but the more competitive teams were Mexico, Panama and Canada which Jack placed in Jamaica's group because he assumed Jamaica would not win any of the matches.
 :rotfl: His plan backfired since T&T did not win the Youth Cup either:rotfl:

you still think jack fix the groups guy you need some help badly ......

« Reply #21 on: April 16, 2007, 06:39:29 PM »

:rotfl: His plan backfired since T&T did not win the Youth Cup either.  :rotfl:

You really believe that is why Jamaica was placed in that group?  Do me a favor..answer a few simple questions....trust me..it will help you see the light

1) Wasn't the primary aim of the tournament for the caribbean teams (excl. Jamaica) to qualify for the WC qualifying round in Jamaica?
2) Wasn't JA, as host, automatically qualified for that phase of WC qualifying?
3) Isn't it normal procedure for the host NOT to be involved in qualifying?
4) How would you feel if JA were not final round hosts, but instead it was Haiti (or any other caribbean country). The hosts then knocked JA out of WC qualifying in the CFU tourney. Would you not see the flaw in that settup?
5) If Canada was one of the more competitive teams, but T&T weren't...why did you whip Canada 3-0, yet T&T beat you quite easily? ;D ;D

Excluding 5), you know where am going with this. You need to stop thinking of it as a CFU championship...that was the stupid CFU trying to save money and kill two birds with one stone...when they realized they had contaminated a WC qualifying process by allowing the already-qualified hosts the opportunity to knock out qualifying teams. They needed FIFA intervention (provided by JW) and common sense prevailed...

Anyhow..try and eat some more fruit and vegetables. You seem to have some kind of vitamin or mineral deficieny that hurting your ability to think sensibly

Offline Toussaint

• Haiti Spors
« Reply #22 on: April 16, 2007, 06:55:56 PM »
4) How would you feel if JA were not final round hosts, but instead it was Haiti (or any other caribbean country). The hosts then knocked JA out of WC qualifying in the CFU tourney. Would you not see the flaw in that settup?

I believe that's how Cuba, the most successful CFU U-17 team, got knocked out.

« Reply #23 on: April 16, 2007, 07:17:38 PM »

I believe that's how Cuba, the most successful CFU U-17 team, got knocked out.

who knocked out Cuba? sucks for them  :-\
anyway...that does not answer my question...
do u agree or not agree that is a faulty process to allow the host of a future tournament to knock out a potentail qualifier? If the US was hosting the WC..should they be allowed into WC qualifying and potentially take a spot in the Hex at the expense of T&T, Hait, Ja etc...I'm sure the Cubans felt especially aggrieved.

Offline Toussaint

• Haiti Spors
« Reply #24 on: April 16, 2007, 07:35:37 PM »
Jamaica eliminated Cuba ( 2-1)

Filho, I think you misunderstand me. I brought Cuba's case because just like you I think it was unfair for the host, who is automatically qualified for the final round, to take part in the qualifying tounament and knocks out other teams. I think we are on the same wavelenght on this issue.

Jamaica2099, it's true the format change provided Jamaica the opportunity to face those teams you consider 'strong opponents'. However, both TnT and Jamaica are currently in the same situation. It's really too early to use that argument.
« Last Edit: April 16, 2007, 07:47:40 PM by Toussaint »

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #25 on: April 16, 2007, 08:23:19 PM »
You really believe that is why Jamaica was placed in that group?  Do me a favor..answer a few simple questions....trust me..it will help you see the light

1) Wasn't the primary aim of the tournament for the caribbean teams (excl. Jamaica) to qualify for the WC qualifying round in Jamaica?
2) Wasn't JA, as host, automatically qualified for that phase of WC qualifying?
3) Isn't it normal procedure for the host NOT to be involved in qualifying?
5) If Canada was one of the more competitive teams, but T&T weren't...why did you whip Canada 3-0, yet T&T beat you quite easily? 

Excluding 5), you know where am going with this. You need to stop thinking of it as a CFU championship...that was the stupid CFU trying to save money and kill two birds with one stone...when they realized they had contaminated a WC qualifying process by allowing the already-qualified hosts the opportunity to knock out qualifying teams. They needed FIFA intervention (provided by JW) and common sense prevailed...

Here goes:

1) NO! In 2004 FIFA mandated that confederations without, must implement an annual U-16 Champions Cup to ensure that they could go head to head with their counterparts around the World.
That is the "PRIMARY AIM" of the CFU U-16 Youth Cup.

2) Jamaica qualified as host. Yes! But the CFU U-16 Youth Cup IS for Caribbean teams ONLY with optional guest teams and is held annually. The U-17 & U-20 World Cups are every 2 years.

3) Yes! So how do you explain the "guest teams" in the qualifiers that eliminated other teams chances of advancing from the first round. How fair was that? Mexico won the CFU Youth Cup but Haiti was crowned Champions in the true sense of the tournament being for the Caribbean.

4)See answer #3

5) Shows how much you know.  ;D
jjbrown

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #26 on: April 16, 2007, 08:28:37 PM »

Filho, I think you misunderstand me. I brought Cuba's case because just like you I think it was unfair for the host, who is automatically qualified for the final round, to take part in the qualifying tounament and knocks out other teams. I think we are on the same wavelenght on this issue.

Jamaica2099, it's true the format change provided Jamaica the opportunity to face those teams you consider 'strong opponents'. However, both TnT and Jamaica are currently in the same situation. It's really too early to use that argument.

Sure I can!  :devil: Between Jamaica, USA, Costa Rica and Canada how many points can you honestly see T&T getting?
jjbrown

« Reply #27 on: April 16, 2007, 08:41:56 PM »

Sure I can!  :devil: Between Jamaica, USA, Costa Rica and Canada how many points can you honestly see T&T getting?

dat mexico victory have yuh on a high and pumped up  ;D again yuh play canada first and tnt last focus on canada cause maybe when JA play trinidad both teams maybe out. Of all the teams you pick tnt you pick poor tnt to get a victory eh ohhh .... your confidence real high  :beermug:
« Last Edit: April 16, 2007, 08:48:33 PM by DWarriorMan »

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #28 on: April 16, 2007, 09:20:21 PM »

dat mexico victory have yuh on a high and pumped up  ;D again yuh play canada first and tnt last focus on canada cause maybe when JA play trinidad both teams maybe out. Of all the teams you pick tnt you pick poor tnt to get a victory eh ohhh .... your confidence real high  :beermug:
Yep! The 2 positive results against Mexico plus the preparation of Jamaica's U-17 Young Reggae Boyz have me on a high and pumped up. ;D
jjbrown

« Reply #29 on: April 16, 2007, 10:17:37 PM »

Here goes:

1) NO! In 2004 FIFA mandated that confederations without, must implement an annual U-16 Champions Cup to ensure that they could go head to head with their counterparts around the World.
That is the "PRIMARY AIM" of the CFU U-16 Youth Cup.

2) Jamaica qualified as host. Yes! But the CFU U-16 Youth Cup IS for Caribbean teams ONLY with optional guest teams and is held annually. The U-17 & U-20 World Cups are every 2 years.

3) Yes! So how do you explain the "guest teams" in the qualifiers that eliminated other teams chances of advancing from the first round. How fair was that? Mexico won the CFU Youth Cup but Haiti was crowned Champions in the true sense of the tournament being for the Caribbean.

4)See answer #3

5) Shows how much you know.  ;D

Learn how to read

1) All you have said is that there must be a CFU 16 championship so that the region remains competitive. There is nothing said about format, or how the championship should be decided. You did not answer what the primary aim of the tournament in 2006. And only an idiot  will put crowing an 16 caribbean champ ahead of qualifying for the WC. And if you could read you would see that I said the CFU messed up and tried to kill 2 birds with one stone. ie. they tried to combine the CFU championship with WC qualifying. They should be 2 separate tournaments given the way the WC qualifying format is currently set up for caribbean teams...or one big tournament with only caribbean teams, with the best teams qualifying for the WC or qualfyng for the next stage of qualification where none of the teams are hosting the next round. Once it became clear that the CFU had screwed up the format, and teams like Cuba were wrongfully eliminated (Touissant, I forgot Cuba played in the first round) WC qualifying rightfully took precedence. do u finally get it?

2) Look at your answer..you agree with me and didn't even realize it. CFU Under 16 tourney should be a separate tourney with caribbean teams only. It can be used as part of the WC qualification as I described above and remove any controversy or conflicts of interest. If the region wants to invite guest teams..fine...They've done it with the Gold Cup and Copa America. But it should never interfere with a clean, fair WC qualifying process. The tourney that was set up as the CFU Under 16 champs was flawed. It remained the CFU Under 16 championship in name only to comply with the FIFA mandate you so smartly referenced...but again, WC qualifying had to take preference.

3) Again..we agree. The guests should never be allowed to eliminate any caribbean teams from WC qualifying. As I said, the format was totally flawed. Read my previous posts..read this one. They fixed it mid-tournament. Better late than never. Noone ever accused the CFU of planning things well. Truth is Jamaica, Cuba, Panama, Canada, etc.. should never have be around WC qualifying. It's that simple

4) We agree again..it would be unfair

5) Too much of coward to touch that one eh?

See how much I know  ;) U know I make prefect sense becauseu agree with me. But instead of realizing that mistakes were made and it was better to change them mid tournament..u would prefer to continue with a  flawed tourney and put a CFU champ over WC qualification. Real big fish in a small pond mentality. get over it...What is you obsession with who is crowned CFU champ when WC qualification was just more important and the format was adapted to suit that very simple concept.