April 20, 2024, 04:17:45 AM

Author Topic: T&T U17s focus on Costa Rica ahead of World qualifier on Saturday.  (Read 8193 times)

T&T U17s focus on Costa Rica ahead of World qualifier.

Trinidad and Tobago’s National Under 17 footballers got a first feel of the battle field which they will take to in search of a place in the FIFA Under 17 World Championship on a dry Thursday evening at the National Stadium, Kingston.
Known as “The Office”  the home of the “Reggae Boyz” will be the centrestage for the final round of CONCACAF qualification which T&T opens on Saturday from 5pm (6pm T&T time) against Costa Rica in the first game of a double header. North American neighbours Canada and the United States will face off from 7pm.
The junior “Soca Warriors” who arrived here on Wednesday with head coach Anton Corneal and his staff, looked a more relaxed and ready to work bunch on Thursday as they had the chance to undergo a full session at the Harbour View Mini Stadium and then at the National Stadium.
A day earlier, and one session at the Arnett Gardens venue, team T&T were in two minds and with eyes all around as they got their first session out of the way without much alarm. Initially, the police outriders refused to escort the team to the venue, claiming some shootouts earlier in the month had made it an unsafe area and then upon arrival at the venue, after eventually doing their job on the journey there, they didn’t stick around, forcing the arrival of another couple officers to stay with captain Jesse Fullerton and his teammates. However, parents back in T&T could breathe easier as the session went without any form of distress and the team will not have to return there during its eleven day stay in the country. Coincidentally the Arnett Gardens venue was also the same venue used by the T&T World Cup squad in March, 2001 when the Russell Latapy led team went under to the “Reggae Boyz” 1-0 on a Tyrone Marshall first half strike. Back then, hundreds of Jamaicans including Dancehall star Beenie Man turned up to see Latapy and his men train but on Wednesday there was hardly a homeboy in sight and word is that the spurts of violence in the area was largely responsible for that.
The Harbour View Stadium was a much better setting, well structured with its stands around the ground and well kept field and change room facility making it just the kind of venue for a local club, one which some of the clubs back in T&T would be encouraged to emulate. There were advertisement boards all around including some from the Jamaican media as well as a tribute board to former Harbour View and Jamaican star Ricardo Gardner.
“We settled in well after the first day. On these kind of trips the first day is always one to get out of the way and we did that. Today we had the chance to train up at Harbour View and then in the evening at the match venue. We put all our preparations over the two days leading up to Saturday’s match in relation to the opponents we will be facing and their specific style of play,” Corneal told TTFF Media on Thursday.
“We have seen them and we know what to expect. We will prepare to play Costa Rica and then shift our focus to the other teams after Saturday’s encounter. We know how important it is to get something out of the first match and that is our main focus at this time,” he added.
Corneal also used the track “Lion” by T&T songster Kees Diffenthaller to get his players battle ready. The song, with the words “I am a lion… I am a fighter” is about preparing one self for the many challenges in life, finding strength within one’s heart, holding on to dreams even though it seems out of reach and inspite of the many that would always try to bring down a brother.
T&T Senior team head coach Wim Rijsbergen, soon to begin training with a squad of players for the 2007 CONCACAF Gold Cup, also arrived to join the Under 17 team at he Knutsford Court Hotel in Kingston for the duration of the tournament.
Corneal also shared his feelings on the fact that this squad has been together for two plus years and the players have a good feel of each other. “Right now it’s a proper mix and its all up to proper execution. We have faced these teams before with these very same players so it’s nothing new to them and that’s a plus for us compared to previous youth teams.”
Local fans would want to note too that the players spread from the length and breath of T&T with faces coming from Mayaro, Point Fortin, La Brea, Cascade, Couva, San Juan, Biche, Morvant, Arima, Petit Valley, Mount Hope, Glencoe, Carenage, Port of Spain to Plymouth in Tobago. One player, striker Isaiah Ferguson lives in New York.
“I think generally we have a tight bunch of guys who are very passionate about what they are doing and have all the desire to do well and make the country proud,” skipper Fullerton. With one day to do before the first match, Corneal couldn’t ask for more than that from his promising pack.

Players and hometown

Jesse Fullerton (Glencoe), Glenroy Samuel (San Juan), Robert Primus (Morvant), Aubrey Davis (Point Fortin), Jean Luc Rochford (Arima), Brenton Balbosa (Biche), Stephen Chang (Trincity), Ryan O’Neil (Arima), Sheldon Bateau (Port of Spain), Daneil Cyrus (Plymouth).
« Last Edit: April 26, 2007, 05:27:37 PM by Flex »

Offline black chinee

Re: T&T U17s focus on Costa Rica ahead of World qualifier on Saturday.
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2007, 03:34:27 PM »

« Last Edit: April 26, 2007, 03:42:08 PM by black chinee »

« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2007, 05:03:33 PM »
Nice fellaz...go in dey and complete the mission!!

« Reply #3 on: April 26, 2007, 05:32:54 PM »
Nice write up Shaun, good job and great job with them photos.

Respect !!!!!!!!

Allyuh watch allyuh ass in Jamaica with all them gun shots and Police not co-operating. Safe trip back home fellas, we bad in T&T but not so bad one time. Jamaica better provide better cover for all them teams there.

Offline Pro-Jayz

• Is ah long time since ah went Gulf City!
« Reply #4 on: April 26, 2007, 07:12:37 PM »
Ah have ah feeling this U-17 team will give us something really special that we will never forget  :beermug:
only born in Santa Cruz BUT RAISED IN SAN FERNANDO..so dont get tied up!...I FROM SOUTH!

« Reply #5 on: April 26, 2007, 08:12:25 PM »

Respect !!!!!!!!

Allyuh watch allyuh ass in Jamaica with all them gun shots and Police not co-operating. Safe trip back home fellas, we bad in T&T but not so bad one time. Jamaica better provide better cover for all them teams there.

The voilence thats going on in the Arnette Gardens area is mostly rival gangs against each other. Surprised that they scheduled training for the under-17s there. Yes, this is the heart of Jungle...ghetto.

Offline Toussaint

• ...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.
    • Haiti Spors
« Reply #6 on: April 27, 2007, 06:44:11 AM »

Respect !!!!!!!!

The voilence thats going on in the Arnette Gardens area is mostly rival gangs against each other. Surprised that they scheduled training for the under-17s there. Yes, this is the heart of Jungle...ghetto.

Unfortunately, the problem exists almost everywhere in the Caribbean. However, I have a question: if the police officers knew the area is 'unsafe' even for them who are armed why did JFF let a foreign team go to the area?
...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.

« Reply #7 on: April 27, 2007, 06:56:13 AM »
toussaint give you prediction of the tournament in Jamaica  ;D

« Reply #8 on: April 27, 2007, 07:29:29 AM »

Respect !!!!!!!!

Unfortunately, the problem exists almost everywhere in the Caribbean. However, I have a question: if the police officers knew the area is 'unsafe' even for them who are armed why did JFF let a foreign team go to the area?

It would be interesting to see if any other foreign team was scheduled to go to Arnette Gardens.  I suspect no.  Next time any Jamaican team come Trinidad, we should schedule dem to go train in Laventille.

Offline Toussaint

• Haiti Spors
« Reply #9 on: April 27, 2007, 07:45:47 AM »
toussaint give you prediction of the tournament in Jamaica  ;D

My prediction based on pure instinct and a little bit of past performances of the teams:
Jam vs USA ....win for Jam (upset of the tournament)
Jam vs Can...tie
Jam vs Cos...tie (overconfidence of the boyz)
Jam vs TnT...tie (controversial result)
Jam=6pts

USA vs Can...tie
USA vs Cos...win for USA
USA vs TnT...win for USA
USA=7pts

TnT vs Cos...tie
TnT vs Can...win for TnT (Canucks blow it)
TnT=5pts

Cos vs Can...tie

Cos=3pts
Can=3pts

USA...2W...1L...1D.........7pts
Jam...1W...0L...3D.........6pts
TnT...1W...1L...2D........5pts

Cos....0W...1L...3D.........3pts
Can....0W...1L...3D.........3pts

You can also consider that my wish list if you have any power to grant wishes ;D

« Reply #10 on: April 27, 2007, 08:06:24 AM »
It would be interesting to see if any other foreign team was scheduled to go to Arnette Gardens.  I suspect no.  Next time any Jamaican team come Trinidad, we should schedule dem to go train in Laventille.

I agree 100% Palos !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! f**k them yardies !!!!!! they bad mind.

« Reply #11 on: April 27, 2007, 08:48:41 AM »

Respect !!!!!!!!

I assume the JFF were not aware of the recent upserge of violence in the Arnette Gardens area...obviously the police would have more knowledge of whats going on in the area, hence their reluctance to escort the young T&T team there. Having said that...the gangs would put themselves in a heightened sense of awareness if they see a bunch of cops patrolling their area...and the cops in my mind might feel that they would not be sufficiently armed to react if they come under gun-fire from these dangerous gang members..many times the weapons carried by these thugs are more sphisticated than those carried by the Law men! I saw a documentary on TV recently that depicted gang violence in El slavador...Its even worse down that side.
« Last Edit: April 27, 2007, 08:50:16 AM by Reggaefan »

« Reply #12 on: April 27, 2007, 08:53:43 AM »

Respect !!!!!!!!

Are you saying the JFF singled out the T&T youths for "special" treatment? I believe an official from the TTFA was in Jamaica last week to inspect the match venues and training grounds....he was satisfied with all the arrangements that were put in place for the t&t youths.

« Reply #13 on: April 27, 2007, 08:58:58 AM »

Respect !!!!!!!!

Are you saying the JFF singled out the T&T youths for "special" treatment? I believe an official from the TTFA was in Jamaica last week to inspect the match venues and training grounds....he was satisfied with all the arrangements that were put in place for the t&t youths.

Was any other foreign team or even the Jamaican team scheduled to train at Arnett Gardens for this tournament?  A simple yes or no will suffice.

Offline Toussaint

• Haiti Spors
« Reply #14 on: April 27, 2007, 09:07:45 AM »

Respect !!!!!!!!

I assume the JFF were not aware of the recent upserge of violence in the Arnette Gardens area...obviously the police would have more knowledge of whats going on in the area, hence their reluctance to escort the young T&T team there. Having said that...the gangs would put themselves in a heightened sense of awareness if they see a bunch of cops patrolling their area...and the cops in my mind might feel that they would not be sufficiently armed to react if they come under gun-fire from these dangerous gang members..many times the weapons carried by these thugs are more sphisticated than those carried by the Law men! I saw a documentary on TV recently that depicted gang violence in El slavador...Its even worse down that side.

Yup...I think it is. Those MS13 kids are crazy.

« Reply #15 on: April 27, 2007, 11:55:32 AM »
Jamaica to stage CONCACAF U-17 Final Round Group B
www.concacaf.com

27.4.07 - Jamaica will host the 2007 CONCACAF Under-17 Final Round Qualification Group B from 28 April – 6 May at the National Stadium in Kingston.COMPLETE SCHEDULE
Jamaica, which is staging its second CONCACAF U-17 Final Round event, will play Canada, Costa Rica, Trinidad & Tobago and USA in Group B, from which three teams will progress to the FIFA U-17 World Cup Korea Republic 2007 from 18 August – 9 September.

Haiti and the hosts, Honduras were the first two CONCACAF representatives to qualify to the FIFA U-17 World Cup after finishing first and second, respectively, in Group A Qualification held at the Tiburcio Carias Andino Stadium in Tegucigalpa from 4-8 April.

SCOUTING THE TEAMS…
CANADA: One of the three North Zone teams that earned a bye into CONCACAF Final Round … Canada was the first CONCACAF nation to host a FIFA Under-16 World Championship in 1987 … The maple leafs would later progress to three more FIFA Tournaments (1989, 1993, 1995) but they have not qualified to an U-17 World Cup in more than a decade … Stephen Hart is in charge of the maple leafs.

COSTA RICA: Claimed one of the two Central American berths to the CONCACAF Final Round after winning the Union Centroamericana de Fútbol (UNCAF) Tournament held in El Salvador … Despite a loss to Panama, Costa Rica defeated Guatemala, Nicaragua and El Salvador during the UNCAF event … The ticos became the first Central American team to compete at the 1985 FIFA U-16 World Championship in China … Since then Costa Rica has qualified for five more FIFA U-17 World Cups, the most by any Central American nation … Manuel Gerardo Ureña is the coach for the ticos.

JAMAICA: With David Hunt at the helm, Jamaica are hosting their second CONCACAF U-17 Final Round Group … The reggae boyz competed in the CFU Youth Cup last year in Trinidad & Tobago finishing fourth … The reggae boyz have played in nine previous CONCACAF Qualification Tournaments and progressed to their only FIFA U-17 World Cup in New Zealand 1999 … Jamaica was the second Caribbean nation to qualify to a FIFA U-17 World Cup.

TRINIDAD & TOBAGO: Coached by Anton Corneal, Trinidad & Tobago are making their first appearance at the CONCACAF Final Round since 1999 … The soca warriors are competing in their 11th CONCACAF Qualification, which is the most by any Caribbean team, after hosting and finishing third at the CFU Youth Cup last year … Trinidad & Tobago defeated Aruba, Grenada and Guyana in the first round … After tying Barbados and defeating Surinam, the soca warriors lost to the eventual tournament champions Haiti to end the second round … Trinidad & Tobago captured the third-place honour with a victory over Jamaica.

USA: One of the three North Zone teams that earned a bye into CONCACAF Final Round … Is the only CONCACAF team (and globally) to have qualified to all the FIFA U-16/U-17 World Cups (1985-2005) and will be looking to make it 12 consecutive berths in 2007 … The stars & stripes won the inaugural CONCACAF tournament in Trinidad & Tobago 1983 and nine years later, they claimed its second Confederation crown in Cuba … The USA currently have a 16-game unbeaten streak in CONCACAF U-17 Qualification … The stars & stripes are coached by John Hackworth.

CONCACAF All-Time U-16/17 Final Round Tournaments (1983-88 U-16; 1991-Present U-17)
Year – Venue (s) – Champion – (FIFA WC Qualifiers)
1983 – Trinidad & Tobago – USA
1985 – Mexico – Mexico – (Costa Rica, Mexico, USA *)
1987 – Honduras – Mexico – (Canada^, Mexico, USA)
1988 – Cuba – Cuba – (Cuba, Canada, USA)
1991 – Trinidad & Tobago – Mexico – (Cuba, Mexico, USA)
1992 – Cuba – USA – (Canada, Mexico, USA)
1994 – El Salvador – Costa Rica – (Costa Rica, Canada, USA)
1996 – Trinidad & Tobago – Mexico – (Costa Rica, Mexico, USA)
1999 – El Salvador, Jamaica – (Jamaica, Mexico, USA)
2001 – Honduras, USA – (Costa Rica, Trinidad & Tobago^, USA)
2003 – Canada, Guatemala – (Costa Rica, Mexico, USA)
2005 – Costa Rica, Mexico – (Costa Rica, Mexico, USA)
2007 – Honduras, Jamaica – (Haiti, Honduras, TBD-3)

From 1983-1996, CONCACAF staged eight Under-16/17 Tournaments with a winner being crowned in each. Seven of the CONCACAF tournaments (1985-1996) doubled as qualifiers to the FIFA U-17 World Cups. In 1999, the U-17 CONCACAF event became a Final Round Qualification consisting of two groups, each in a different venue.

* USA progressed to FIFA U-17 World Cup China 1985 as the first CONCACAF U-16 Tournament Champion in 1983
^ FIFA U-17 World Cup Host

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #16 on: April 27, 2007, 12:01:38 PM »
Love CONCACAF's uncompromising summary of each team.  ;D
jjbrown

« Reply #17 on: April 27, 2007, 01:17:17 PM »

I am sure the TTFF reps were commenting on the standard of the facilities and would have little idea of the escalating violence there. How would they know?

« Reply #18 on: April 27, 2007, 02:08:50 PM »

Respect !!!!!!!!

Was any other foreign team or even the Jamaican team scheduled to train at Arnett Gardens for this tournament?  A simple yes or no will suffice.

I dont know Palos. Maybe yes, maybe no.

Offline Lionpaw

• Highest Grade.
  • Smoke Weeeeed, under the Jamaican Sky Light.
« Reply #19 on: April 27, 2007, 04:32:14 PM »
Good Job by the JFF. They know that them Trini players are coward little girls  :rotfl:  :rotfl:
Smoke and Fly

« Reply #20 on: April 27, 2007, 05:47:31 PM »
Them Jamaicans trying to play mind games with our team and place them in a bomb shelter to train and to make matters worst even the Police refuse to escort them into Bagdad Gardens (Jamaica) and yet we have people (a few) here who thinks Trinis hate Jamaicans for no simple reason.

Play Fair !!!! when they come to T&T we never treat any teams like this.

When we should hope we both join Haiti at the finals. Some use cheap tactics and some Jamaican posters here waiting patiently for T&T to fail. Now I know why Sam attack these fools.

Come on T&T, prove them wrong, we did it in 2006 and we will do it again. They started off laughing at us how Panama and Guatemala will destroy us and in the end we prevailed !!!!!!!!

Keep laughing Reggae People !!! after joy, brings sorrow....
« Last Edit: April 27, 2007, 05:50:45 PM by Flex »

« Reply #21 on: April 27, 2007, 06:51:19 PM »
Good Job by the JFF. They know that them Trini players are coward little girls  :rotfl:  :rotfl:

When is yuh life yuh talking about,yuh better be coward,is the only life yuh got........

You're not a reflection of the jamaicans I know and for that reason I'll not bring myself down to your level,which is an ancient tribal upbringing  harnest deep in the jungles.   

« Reply #22 on: April 27, 2007, 07:08:05 PM »

Respect !!!!!!!!

small thing  ;D  :devil:

« Reply #23 on: April 27, 2007, 08:33:13 PM »
RF some of us are familiar with JA so doh be talkin grap that the JFF eh know bout Arnette Gardens. Give me a break. The question is when Arnette Gardens, Tivoli Gardens etc eh have an upsurge in violence.

A deliberate action. I hope the players know that the war start

« Reply #24 on: April 27, 2007, 08:59:58 PM »
RF some of us are familiar with JA so doh be talkin grap that the JFF eh know bout Arnette Gardens. Give me a break. The question is when Arnette Gardens, Tivoli Gardens etc eh have an upsurge in violence.

A deliberate action. I hope the players know that the war start

The whole way this article was written is very suspcious. What I can say though is that the T&T officials had the option to cancel the training session out of concern for safety for the kids...and its exactly what I would have done in the circumstances.

I have no reason to believe that anything written in that article is correct about police refusing to go into Arnette Gardens...afterall, there is already a major police outpost in that community. Didnt the kids eventually end up going and got their training in without incident?

Also, it puzzles me why the Jamaican authorities would want to single out T&T for specail attention when we have to worry about teams like Costa Rica, USA, and Canada. ::)

Unless they are trying to avenge that injustice done to the team last year when they switched up the competition in T&T to give T&T a chance at winning the CFU under 17 title... ;)

« Last Edit: April 28, 2007, 09:43:21 AM by Reggaefan »

Offline Lionpaw

• Highest Grade.
  • Smoke Weeeeed, under the Jamaican Sky Light.
« Reply #25 on: April 28, 2007, 09:19:43 AM »
I laugh at u fools because nothing is really going on at Arnett. Only upsurge going on is police terrorizing ppl cause election time is near. Election time=Police Terrorism time. Nowadays Tivoli and Arnett are two of the safest places to be.
Smoke and Fly

« Reply #26 on: April 28, 2007, 11:29:38 AM »
de youths go be safe. nobody eh studying them and their minds only on the task at hand. time to concentrate on football

« Reply #27 on: April 28, 2007, 12:19:17 PM »
Dem boys go be more ready dis time. Go T&T... and build for de future!