May 26, 2013, 01:24:54 AM

Author Topic: SuperBlue turns toilet-cleaner!  (Read 2715 times)

SuperBlue turns toilet-cleaner!
« on: August 04, 2005, 08:03:21 AM »
By Cecily Asson (T&T Mirror)

EIGHT-TIME Road March/six-time International Soca Monarch champ SuperBlue (Austin Lyons), who has reportedly fallen on hard times, has refused to deny or confirm among many fast-flying rumours making the rounds that he is cleaning toilets for $3 and washing cars for $10 in St. James in order to survive!

Instead, in a face-to-face interview with TnT Mirror on Wednesday afternoon, SuperBlue said he preferred to let his detractors talk, while he quietly works hard in the background at re-igniting a career that once had his name on the lips of all soca-loving people of the Caribbean.

The lyrical bard, a definite shadow of his former self but still with a warrior spirit that leapfrogged him to the top of his game did, however, admit to Mirror that he has problems, none of which he wanted to publicly identify. He openly admitted: “I need all the help I can get.”

SuperBlue said he was aware of the buzz in town, all because of the absence of his high-energy glitzy performances from the soca stage for the past few years.

For thousands of SuperBlue fans, after all the glitz and glamour, the money, the cars and all the other trappings associated with success, it’s the general feeling that the mega soca star has hit an all-time low.

He has been labelled as “a St. James hustler”.

The allegation was publicly made last week, by his former lover and mother of one of his many children (Fay-Ann Lyons), Lynette Steele.

Steele, in a Sunday Mirror exclusive last week and in radio pronouncements, alluded to his demise by referring to his successes and questioning the disappearance of his money.

A reluctant SuperBlue, when told of what was being said about him, responded: “I will let them talk. People are saying all kinds of things; I hear I washing toilet for $3, I hear I washing cars ...

“I have problems, but I’m taking them one day at a time.”

Although completely off the charts, SuperBlue has still managed to command the respect of quite a few in the entertainment industry.

Many have expressed concern about him, and there has been a clarion call for someone to take him out his dilemma.

Mirror finally caught up with SuperBlue outside Smokey and Bunty, Western Main Road, St. James, but not before futile attempts had been made to talk with him at a St. James flat, where he reportedly shares a room with some friends, and at several of his other favourite liming spots.

Mirror also learnt that Blues no longer shared a house with wife, Karen Lyons, and that the woman who he married a few years ago, and from whom he has been estranged “for some time now”, lived not too far from where he rests his head at nights.

When spotted, he had just alighted from a taxi, and had gone straight into a casino to try his luck with the machines.

It caused one of the regulars liming outside the St. James bar to remark: “Look at him now; he no longer owns a car.

“He’s a man who won so many cars; he once owned a Lexus, he owned a record store in Miami, lived a luxurious life ...

“His music was played in the movie, Side Street.”

The former King of Soca was putting in tokens in the slot machine when Mirror approached him for an interview.

He agreed to the interview, but not before collecting his drink from the bar.

It was then over to Smokey and Bunty, where he joined long-standing friend, Sydney Nanton who, only minutes before, pledged any kind of support to see his all-time favourite artiste “rise from the ashes”.

Dressed in light blue plaid shirt and unusual black pants, blue surf sandals, a pair of sun shades pulled over his head, but minus his trademark blue head tie, a forlorn SuperBlue apologised for wearing black.
“It’s not like me ...,” he mumbled.

“Look, I don’t even have on my head tie.”

SuperBlue mumbled a lot, some words were audible ... some were not.

He spoke of the dizzying heights to which the music took him; he also spoke of the power of it.

“Even my mother worried about what the music did to me,” he smiled, as he lovingly remembered the woman who gave him life.

He remembered the many opportunities the music had given to him.

“The places I travelled, the people I met, and life has been good to me ...,” he commented with a far away look.

SuperBlue is confident that the time will come when he will do it again.

“When you are on top, there are people waiting to pull you down,” he groaned.

When asked why has there not been any recorded work from him for the past three years, he begged: “I’m working quietly; let there be an element of surprise.”

Asked about his family life, he quickly jumped off his chair saying: “Nah, nah, I’m not going there.”

Mirror contacted wife, Karen, at her St. James home.

Mrs. Lyons snapped: “I have absolutely nothing to say.

“I am on my way out the door.”

Meantime, friend Nanton strongly defended SuperBlue: “He’s not as bad as people think.

“Many of his friends here know he needs help in many ways. I can tell you, he doesn’t have to ask for anything.

“People willingly give to him. Even if he asks, he ends up getting more than he asked for.”

Another unidentified bar patron chipped in: “If he asks for one cigarette, he gets a pack; we buy drinks for him.”

The talented Point Fortin artiste, whose professional career kicked off in the 1980s, is the one reputed to have changed the face of soca music in TnT with his infectious rhythms and sweet hooklines.

He was also the author of “jump and wave”, which many artistes have now adopted.

SuperBlue told Mirror he now produces The SuperBlue Road Show every Friday night at Caribbean Corner, a St. James restaurant.

Re: SuperBlue turns toilet-cleaner!
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2005, 03:20:10 PM »
It real sad how SuperBlue is struggling....hopefully he can recover from his terrible situation.  I don't know what led to his problems but I know one of his issues is drug use...so he needs to fix that problem if it aint fixed as yet.

« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2005, 01:14:14 PM »
and dat casino ting eh helpin eedah.

« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2005, 01:29:41 PM »
Very sad indeed. The gambling and the drug use certainly has had it's toll.

• Monkey know which tree to climb! :-)
« Reply #4 on: November 02, 2005, 01:54:49 PM »
He needs to go to gamblinging anonymous and rehab! I am sure help is there if he goes to the right people/chancels. Once he gets over the gambling and drug use the sky will be the limit for him once again as he has a God-given talent for composing! Shorty also told him the same when he was alive! Get yuhself together Superblue before its too late!! :(

« Reply #5 on: November 19, 2005, 12:05:49 AM »
You know topics like this always get me sad.  These are the times when you have to ask yourself "I have many many friends when i'm rich, popular and in the limelights, but when I fall - who gonna catch me" ? 
Everybody in this world, one way or the other knows BlueBoy/Superblue, you telling me all these people I mean those high in society can't lend a hand to help this man who basically put TnT on the map with his talent and music ?
Now I know it will have some of you who would say "must be he didnt want help from no one" or "man have pride" but I ask, what is pride ?

Iwer George and his lyrics from "Gimme ah Bligh", really listen to that song, it says alot about what this discussion is about.

Really sad.

« Reply #6 on: November 29, 2005, 05:23:31 PM »
is a really sad thing how men can fall from the highest of heghts to the lowest of lows.  rudyard kipling wrote a story called "the man who would be king" which kinda talks about the same.

i saw a similar story in the guardian but they didnt say it was superblue-the writer wrote that the artiste was wearing blue clothes-so u could figure it out.  the article also said that the artiste's daughter -i guess that would be fayann- was trying to help him out but that he was hard to pin down.  i really hope that he gets some kind of help soon and ppl stop encouraging his bad habits.  i know it is hard to tell someone to do the right thing (man just want to give him cigarette to smoke and rum to drink hoping he go give them a song or some kicks) but someone has to man up and do the dang thing.
The heights that great men reached and kept were not attained by sudden flight; for they while their companions slept, toiled on upwards through the night.

A library is not a luxury but one of the necessities of life.

Offline rastafari

« Reply #7 on: November 30, 2005, 12:40:17 PM »
This is a really sad thing but i remember back in de day when i was a youth, must be about 1980/1981 he sing a song called soca baptist.
Anyway dig de kick, dem times my grandmother was baptist so ah did know a few baptist families  and de rumour was de baptist and dem wok ah obeah on him fuh singing dat song becasue dey did give him ah warning.

JAH BLESS RASTAFARI

« Reply #8 on: November 30, 2005, 06:17:17 PM »
ah hear somehing like that also Rastafari...but i ain't go believe it that really happen to he.
is dey white powder that ya doh use to powder with nah  :-[

Offline biga84

« Reply #9 on: December 02, 2005, 07:59:58 AM »
This is a really sad thing but i remember back in de day when i was a youth, must be about 1980/1981 he sing a song called soca baptist.
Anyway dig de kick, dem times my grandmother was baptist so ah did know a few baptist families and de rumour was de baptist and dem wok ah obeah on him fuh singing dat song becasue dey did give him ah warning.

JAH BLESS RASTAFARI

But if I am not mistaken his mother was a baptist, so I doubt that true.

« Reply #10 on: December 02, 2005, 08:20:14 AM »
Anyway dig de kick, dem times my grandmother was baptist so ah did know a few baptist families  and de rumour was de baptist and dem wok ah obeah on him fuh singing dat song becasue dey did give him ah warning.

JAH BLESS RASTAFARI

Soca Baptist
Lived to Philly
Y? I dont know

Offline kingkoolie

« Reply #11 on: July 26, 2006, 09:26:04 AM »
ah cyah believe allyuh believe d TNT MIRROR!!!! :rotfl: Everyone has problems, and he has to work his out like d rest of us...allyuh does hear what one hadda say an take dat as trute...gih d man ah break nah...

« Reply #12 on: July 26, 2006, 11:27:50 AM »
lawd,, your screen name will be ah interesting thread when you hit de main board

anyway..back to bllue,, I doh understand how/why his daughter/family cannot get him into the best rehab place in any foreign country....de man say he self dat he lookin fuh help

Trini rehab cyah cut it...sen de man cuba or someting
Little known Fact:: Oh gaardoo ah reach 9200 posts
Ah movin like mih pardner west coast

« Reply #13 on: July 26, 2006, 11:37:19 AM »
lawd,, your screen name will be ah interesting thread when you hit de main board

anyway..back to bllue,, I doh understand how/why his daughter/family cannot get him into the best rehab place in any foreign country....de man say he self dat he lookin fuh help

The thing about adicts though... they have to WANT help and make the first step (unless you have them committed to a facility against their will). I wouldn't be surprised  if Blue has been in and out of programmes... real sad eh?

« Reply #14 on: July 26, 2006, 01:52:13 PM »

ah cyar wait for that :rotfl:

« Reply #15 on: July 27, 2006, 08:38:54 PM »

ah cyar wait for that :rotfl:
wait till Berris get hold ah him  ;D

« Reply #16 on: July 31, 2006, 07:07:09 PM »
ah cyah believe allyuh believe d TNT MIRROR!!!! :rotfl: Everyone has problems, and he has to work his out like d rest of us...allyuh does hear what one hadda say an take dat as trute...gih d man ah break nah...

<slips in and out of a coma>
Handle dey sar...KingKoolie.
Come in General Discussion and introduce yaself nah...
 :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: ah loves it yes....

Me and Mr Organic sharing some ole kaiso files on MSN and is only cause ah he I actually sid down and listen to blue songs eg
barbara
soca baptiste
flag party
pump up
wine on something
bachannel time
put up ya finger
to name ah few.

So after breaking meh chair ah realize dat dem youth man who calling dem self soca artiste dese days ain't have nothing with Blue and his generation ah soca artiste.  Talk bout riddim

« Reply #17 on: August 19, 2006, 03:22:16 PM »
It is very sad tuh read these stuff about Blue, cuz I'm his biggest fan. SuperBlue  :( and Latapy are my national heroes.

« Reply #18 on: August 19, 2006, 04:43:54 PM »

Me and Mr Organic sharing some ole kaiso files on MSN and is only cause ah he I actually sid down and listen to blue songs eg
barbara
soca baptiste
flag party
pump up
wine on something
bachannel time
put up ya finger
to name ah few.

So after breaking meh chair ah realize dat dem youth man who calling dem self soca artiste dese days ain't have nothing with Blue and his generation ah soca artiste.  Talk bout riddim

Trinicana you never hear dem tunes before Organic mek yuh listen to them!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  :o :o :o how old yuh is?? yuh is jailbait?

« Reply #19 on: August 20, 2006, 11:13:52 AM »

barbara
soca baptiste
flag party
pump up
wine on something
bachannel time
put up ya finger
to name ah few.

Trinicana you never hear dem tunes before Organic mek yuh listen to them!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  :o :o :o how old yuh is?? yuh is jailbait?

FF is not my fault nah....Iz ah brass girl. So ah use to be in dey front, left hand side ah dey stage hook up with dey Blue Ventures, Shadileer, Charlies Roots, Majors (ah old soul) Taxi, Caribbean Traffik Jam and dem. Ah wasn't for dey individual performer, well until ah read some post in here bout long time performers and ah start to download music

Blue win yes.
Pump UP and Barbaraaaaaaaaaaaaa lawd hear dey horn section

« Reply #20 on: August 25, 2006, 03:06:38 PM »
lord i remeber when i was about 7 in nyc went to visit meh fadda. ah man come up to meh father and was praysing him for $20. only to hear aftre was blue boy back then..super blue... dem days he was riding the white horse strong to..
 alllyuh remeber that song..was ah big hit" would u ride the white horse"
 ajala was on ah de artists i thing
 hope blue work how he situation
 as for kingkoolie.... man as i was telling some ppl today...this board getting worse and worse....
come lime in genereal discussion....welcome  ;D
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #21 on: September 01, 2006, 10:20:29 PM »
yuh is ah imps ot what> de man in real trouble with de drugs fella

I see him with my own eyes in ah casino outside smokey and bunty de man was cleaning de damn place

« Reply #22 on: September 02, 2006, 09:45:04 PM »
yuh is ah imps ot what> de man in real trouble with de drugs fella

I see him with my own eyes in ah casino outside smokey and bunty de man was cleaning de damn place

Blue problem is cocaine nuttin more nuttin less,de gambling doh compare to de smoking ..now I eh coming down on de man ah just stating ah fact.It really sad becuz as Trinicana say ,none ah dem youths today want anything with Superblue and his music..well except Machel  ;D
...It easy to say nobody eh want to help but if yuh get burn by de man over and over at some time yuh blank him completely and dais Blue problem,de cocaine make him lose everything including he friends....Only Blue cud make he self stop, nobody else, yuh cud take him to de best rehab in de world ,if he eh want to stop he going right back when he come out,I eh saying de rehab won't help but he have to come to terms with it and realize how it ruining his life....The last I heard he was doing ok, weather that means he done  or he sometimesin,if is true at least he on the right track and hopefully he cud put this past him,only then musicians will want to work with him and he cud regain his position in de soca world........ON TOP

FIGHT DEM SUPER .....
« Last Edit: September 04, 2006, 07:41:21 AM by berris »

« Reply #23 on: September 24, 2006, 04:59:47 AM »

FIGHT DEM SUPER .....

Superblue, you have it in you to come back.......trus meh

http://www.icerecords.com/Superblue.htm
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.