April 26, 2024, 07:46:36 PM

Author Topic: Where is Anthony Noreiga's equal place ?.  (Read 16880 times)

Where is Anthony Noreiga's equal place ?.
« on: June 25, 2007, 08:03:06 AM »
Where is T&T defender Anthony Noreiga's equal place ?.
By: Mervyn Richardson (Soca Warriors Online Press).

On Wednesday, June 13, 2007 I received a call that Anthony Noreiga was still in hospital, so I rushed to the hospital immediately to visit him. On my arrival, two ladies were in the ward with him. I asked him if anyone from the team are still in Los Angeles, he told me his Manager and the Team Doctor are here and will travel with him to Trinidad, also his Mom is coming in about 7:30 p.m. that evening.
I asked him who would pick up his Mom at the Airport, he was not sure. Neither his Manager or the Team Doctor were present. I made a few calls to a few of my friends and learned that both Mr. Sam Phillp and Dr. Terence Babwah visited one of my friend's home on Sunday, June 10, 2007. I asked Anthony if he has a phone number for either of these gentlemen he said no, this was understandable since he goes into a state of delusion periodically. However, my friend told me that someone by the name of Bryan will pick her up, that did not happen.
The reason why I wanted to know who will pick her up was due to the expensive Taxi ride from the Airport to the Hotel about $40.00 USD. At this point there was nothing I could do. Sometime before I got to the Hospital Anthony told both ladies that he would like to have a shower, they were reluctant to take him to the Bathroom. I asked the nurse if someone can give him a shower, the nurse told me that no one was available. I then asked him if I would be allowed to give him a shower, he said yes, providing we walk him to the bathroom so one of the ladies and I walked him to the bath and stayed with him with the shower door slightly open, the reason, he was not capable to walk without assistance. There was a nurse's assistant at his ward on a twenty four hours watch to make sure he does not hurt himself when he is delusional.
We took him to the bathroom, I set the water temperature for him then held his hand into the shower.
 I took the wash cloth rub his back and we took him back to his room. After a change of clothes and bed linens, he told us that he is going to take a nap but do not leave, he wants to see us in the ward when he wake's up. Keep in mind we never met this young man prior to his injury, we were perfect strangers, yet he put his trust in us. One of the ladies feed him when he woke up. In the meantime other "Trinibagonians" came to visit him and brought him toiletries requested by one of the ladies with him at the time. We left the hospital about 9:30 p.m. that evening. I met Mr. Sam Phillip, Dr. Terence Babwah and Anthony's mother on Thursday for the first time in the hospital.
I called the Embassy to inform them that a citizen was seriously hurt at the CONCACAF Gold Cup game, so they can contact the appropriate individual for more information and do whatever is required to look out for the welfare and the restoration of health of this young "Soca Warrior" which is one of the many functions of the Embassy especially, when that individual is representing the country.
When he was discharged from the hospital, the discharge slip indicated that he has a scheduled appointment for the following Thursday, June 21. On Friday after he was discharged we went to order his medical records from the hospital, they said it would take three weeks. On the same day we made in-queries from the Hotel front desk how many days the room is paid for, the young lady said until Sunday 12:00 Noon. On Saturday, June 16, there were many visitors at the Hotel including Mr. Sam Phillip, most of us left at 10:30 p.m.
I understood that Mr. Phillip and Dr. Babwah left early Sunday morning and expected Anthony and his Mom to travel that Monday. Since the Hotel bills were paid until Sunday Noon and with no place to go, the Hotel allowed them to stay for another two hours until we can locate a "Good Samaritian Family's Home" to accommodate them. However, the very Monday they were booked to travel, he was rushed to the Hospital Emergency; had a CT scan and spent about six hours at the Hospital. His Mom was given a note stating that he should not fly at this time.
On Thursday, June 21 he had his scheduled appointment, the attending doctor said he has made an appointment for him to see a specialist in the next three weeks. I visited the family home on Friday, took a couple Roti for him and his Mom which they enjoyed. I can tell you, he is walking a lot stronger now from earlier in the week. This is what actually happened, what I witnessed and my involvement with this young "Soca Warrior". I am not a politician and have no desire to be one, I do not deal in "Spins" the blame game and dishonest statements, especially when it involves a young man with a pregnant wife and a two year old son thousands of miles from home.
I sincerely believe that this young man and his mother should be accommodated in an Extended Stay Hotel rather than shift the burden on this family. What happen to "here every creed and race find an equal place", Minister Piggott responded immediately when the Journalist was expelled from a Caricom country, yet no one did likewise for Anthony Noreiga with a life threatening brain contusion. My question to all concerned: The TTFF and or the Government of T&T. Where is Anthony Noreiga Equal Place?.

Related News

Noreiga Discharged !

Noreiga making steady progress.

« Last Edit: June 25, 2007, 09:51:55 AM by Flex »

Re: Where is Anthony Noreiga's equal place ?.
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2007, 08:18:34 AM »
That real forked up !! Imagine I playing for my country get injured and they just leave me so and gone home ..jah .Is ah good ting they wasn t playing in Nigeria or someting .

« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2007, 08:21:22 AM »
I read this story and my heart went out to anthony!!

I wonder how this impacts on his desire to represent Trinidad and Tobago again.

spare a thought for anthony

« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2007, 08:22:42 AM »
any updates as to where he and his mother are now?
is he still not able to fly, is he waiting around in LA for another Dr's visit?
does the Warrior Nation have any funds to help out? pass round the collection plate.

« Reply #4 on: June 25, 2007, 08:23:48 AM »
I can't believe this!!!  :-\  But realistically I can. SHAME AND DISGUST!!!!!! continues to grow on the TTFF and relevant staff. This is absolutely unacceptable.

« Reply #5 on: June 25, 2007, 08:32:15 AM »
Mr. Noreiga, May you have a speedy recovery so you can spend time with your wife and two year old son.
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #6 on: June 25, 2007, 08:55:53 AM »
Terrence Babwah and Sam Phillip should get de axe.

Get well soon bro.... your family needs you.

« Reply #7 on: June 25, 2007, 09:30:19 AM »
i think that should be ah eye opner for all ahletes representing T&T in any sport, this iz one of the reason FPATT iz needed. BIG UP FPATT FOR REPRESENTING .

« Reply #8 on: June 25, 2007, 09:38:46 AM »
professionalism is really underestimated...
even if Babwah and Phillip couldnt stay the whole time they shoulda organise the scene better...wire him some money to pay for expenses or send someone to check on them

ya dont value professionalism until sh.. like this happens...
what dem wok is? not to take care of the players and make them comfortable...steups...

for all we know they could be callin..checkin up on them...that aint enuff

« Reply #9 on: June 25, 2007, 09:47:32 AM »
did allya read the TTFF version of events here?
there is always two sides to every story.
allya know whose side I on
« Last Edit: June 25, 2007, 09:51:05 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #10 on: June 25, 2007, 09:49:20 AM »
When I read stuff like this my heart does hurt me.  :'(

I feel very sorry for this young man, I pray from the bottom of my heart he gets better and restart his career or get a great job to help himself and his family.

Time for the government to intervene. The TTFF is really ill treating its players.

Terrence Babwah and Sam Phillip should have done better even if they could not have stayed. And Oliver Camps and Richard Groden love to cover up stuff.

Jack Warner made sure to let the public know he was paying for Noreiga Mother to come visit him in LA, he didn't mention Noreiga Mother was the one who had to relief Terrence Babwah and Sam Phillip of their duties.

This is why FPATT important. The problem with FPATT is Jack will have more money to spend once FPATT comes into play as the TTFF would have to spend less and have less responsibilities.... VERY SAD.....

FPATT have to come good to prevent the TTFF from advantaging them.......
« Last Edit: June 25, 2007, 09:53:21 AM by Flex »

« Reply #11 on: June 25, 2007, 09:51:06 AM »
Isn't Noriega contracted to Joe Public? What does Joe Public's owner have to say?  ;)
« Last Edit: June 25, 2007, 11:34:14 AM by E-man »

« Reply #12 on: June 25, 2007, 09:51:43 AM »
Isn't Noriega contacted to Joe Public? What does Joe Public's owner have to say?  ;)
:waiting:

;)
« Last Edit: June 26, 2007, 06:35:42 AM by WestCoast »

« Reply #13 on: June 25, 2007, 10:18:10 AM »
What about the Gold Cup officials ,is them blasted tournament the man get injured een steupsss .They let the ambulance pass and then forget about the man .

« Reply #14 on: June 25, 2007, 10:20:38 AM »
We quick to blame Piggott but does he know about the scene. Get he contact info from the website he contact and sent him the info. The man was in Germany so even if he is a waggonist he should have some sense of pride as to the value of the SW.

As 4 JW etc what all yuh expect the ox go spin the scene and say that idiot weary want the players to suffer. So if this eh sufferation tell me what is.

« Reply #15 on: June 25, 2007, 10:33:40 AM »
WAIT NAH!

man get a serious, potentially career-ending injury playing for the TTFF and they leave him in the street like a stray dog to dead?

on top of that, he is play for jackoff PFL side.

ah speechless.

« Reply #16 on: June 25, 2007, 10:36:46 AM »
 dreary hush ass nah boy...steuuuuuuuuuuuuups....

Totally unacceptable at any level of Football and administration...TTFF need to get their ass sue over this...I wish Noreiga a speedy and full recovery...Just like the airport fiasco...Blind leading the blind....A setta headless chicken we dealing with...This really disgusting to hear

« Reply #17 on: June 25, 2007, 10:41:25 AM »
hear this
i hear a rumor that d man should have been kept in hospital longer but de hospital discharge him early cause dey knew nobody was going to pay the bill

« Reply #18 on: June 25, 2007, 10:52:33 AM »
hear this
i hear a rumor that d man should have been kept in hospital longer but de hospital discharge him early cause dey knew nobody was going to pay the bill

dais how it is work in the states. he come like a vagrant.

« Reply #19 on: June 25, 2007, 10:58:22 AM »
hear this

dais how it is work in the states. he come like a vagrant.

well boy after reading this it look like dem fellas get treated like vagrants in truth by TTFF

« Reply #20 on: June 25, 2007, 11:16:10 AM »
A literal stranger had to take care of Noreiga.... SHAMELESS !!!!!!!
 :-[  :'(

Thank you Mr Mervyn Richardson....

How can we assist this young man.....

Flex or Tallman, lets pick up a donation for Noreiga and send it to his family.

« Reply #21 on: June 25, 2007, 11:21:09 AM »

Totally unacceptable at any level of Football and administration...TTFF need to get their ass sue over this...I wish Noreiga a speedy and full recovery...Just like the airport fiasco...Blind leading the blind....A setta headless chicken we dealing with...This really disgusting to hear
Sue on what grounds?

I think people are overreacting to this situation and not being realistic about what could have been done better.

« Reply #22 on: June 25, 2007, 11:43:16 AM »
How can we assist this young man.....

Flex or Tallman, lets pick up a donation for Noreiga and send it to his family.
I've been in contact with Mervyn and we're working out on how best to assist Anthony. Should have something more concrete later on today.

« Reply #23 on: June 25, 2007, 12:49:31 PM »
Posted by: Bake n Shark
Insert Quote
Quote from: Ponnoxx on Today at 12:36:46 PM

Sue on what grounds?

I think people are overreacting to this situation and not being realistic about what could have been done better.

From the reports a lot could have been done better.

- The TTFF could have sent one of their administrative personnel to the hospital with monies to set up and ensure proper care and support for the player.

- Get a second opinion on his status of being discharged.

- Move him to a better facility.

- Get his wife and kid out there with him.

These amongst other things could have been done. From the reports of the injury he sustained you know it was way to early to have him discharged. It's not about over reacting, it's about wanting the best possible care for the player. What's wrong with that?

-

« Reply #24 on: June 25, 2007, 01:18:53 PM »
My big question is whether the TTFF has an established insurance set-up for its players, at all levels down.  Footing the bill would be a second thought if this were the case.  This is where the investigation needs to lead too.  What kind of insurance does the TTFF provide to players representing the country?  Is it short-term, or will it cover those that have sustained longer-term injuries?

« Reply #25 on: June 25, 2007, 01:36:12 PM »
AH man asking if we should collect som funs to help the brother in crisis ,it seems doh warriors supporters have plenty ah money ah never hear nobody talk bout ah fund raiser weather it be warrior nation or soca warriorz , waham none ah dese need funds for nottin iz time we start doing something to raise funds .every fryday sat sun in summer iz ah boat ride down and up the H

« Reply #26 on: June 25, 2007, 01:38:59 PM »
Posted by: Bake n Shark
Insert Quote
Quote from: Ponnoxx on Today at 12:36:46 PM

Sue on what grounds?

From the reports a lot could have been done better.

- The TTFF could have sent one of their administrative personnel to the hospital with monies to set up and ensure proper care and support for the player.

- Get a second opinion on his status of being discharged.

- Move him to a better facility.

- Get his wife and kid out there with him.

These amongst other things could have been done. From the reports of the injury he sustained you know it was way to early to have him discharged. It's not about over reacting, it's about wanting the best possible care for the player. What's wrong with that?

-

Me eh faulting nobody for being concerned dred...just offering my assessment of the situation because I feel a lot of people posting on emotion rather than common sense.  I ent no doctor so i'm not going to downplay the severity of his injury...but the man suffered a concussion, along with some bruising of the brain.  As long as his neurological signs indicate no lasting injury then discharging him was the proper thing to do by the hospital.  Man does get concussion in professional sports in the US all the time...three/four weeks later they good.  His seemed a little more severe, that's about the only concession I'll make.

I can't fault Babwah in his actions...he couldn't walk in the people hospital and treat Noriega...he has to cede treatment to the facilities doctors.  He also has an obligation to the rest of the team and needs to be present at the games to direct the sideline care for the team members.  Once assured of his care, the proper thing was to return to the team.  He would have only been in the way at the hospital...and not of much spiritual support to Noriega given the fact that he wasn't very lucid.

I think the TTFF dropped the ball though in not flying up his family to be with him at the hospital...but at the same time, did the family members all have passports, visas etc.?  So much may have been out of the TTFF's control.

Sad and dispiriting to read how helpless he was and reliant on strangers, and one would have hoped that an attache would have been left at the hospital...but again, remember that these TTFF officials aren't here indefinitely (their visas) so that may have been a concern as well.  A lot of factors...that's all I'm saying.

« Reply #27 on: June 25, 2007, 01:41:03 PM »
My big question is whether the TTFF has an established insurance set-up for its players, at all levels down.  Footing the bill would be a second thought if this were the case.  This is where the investigation needs to lead too.  What kind of insurance does the TTFF provide to players representing the country?  Is it short-term, or will it cover those that have sustained longer-term injuries?
I would also think that the tournament itself would have/or mandate some kinda insurance policy for the players that would span the duration of their involvement in the Gold Cup.
AH man asking if we should collect som funs to help the brother in crisis ,it seems doh warriors supporters have plenty ah money ah never hear nobody talk bout ah fund raiser weather it be warrior nation or soca warriorz , waham none ah dese need funds for nottin iz time we start doing something to raise funds .every fryday sat sun in summer iz ah boat ride down and up the H

Ease yuhself...Tallman say they working on sumting... :beermug:

« Reply #28 on: June 25, 2007, 01:51:35 PM »
No ah not easin may self why we hav to waite for something to happen to have fund raiser dis is somethin we should be havin right. we will always need funds for something .

« Reply #29 on: June 25, 2007, 01:57:39 PM »
The funny thing is man dare to question why them men fighting against the ttff ....when the ttff men couldnt careless bout their own players giving men less money that an amateur would make playing in an atlanta mexican league when they representing the country in the gold cup all of them need to go under the gun ....i feel it this  is a time of change god has had enough and payback comming for them