April 23, 2024, 07:57:15 AM

Author Topic: How sad is it....  (Read 5134 times)

How sad is it....
« on: June 27, 2007, 12:50:42 PM »
When someone sticks around long enough to run slower than they ran in high school, and basically show that they have no other interest or life past track and field....

Merlene is 47 this year if I am correct. 

LET IT GO, TANTIE MERLE. LAWD

Official Result
Women - 100 Metres
Wind: +0.1 m/s 
Pos   Athlete Nat Mark   Pts

1   Glenn Brianna USA 11.38   10
2   Polyakova Yevgeniya RUS 11.44   8
3   Jones LaVerne ISV 11.48   7
4   Lalova Ivet BUL 11.51   6
5   Benavides Virgen CUB 11.58   5
6   Cechová Katerina CZE 11.77   4
7   Šcerbová Denisa CZE 11.86   3
8   Ottey Merlene SLO 12.03   2

To put it in perspective, her first Olympics was 1980....Hasely Crawford's last Olympics!  :o

« Last Edit: June 27, 2007, 12:55:28 PM by atoboldon »

Re: How sad is it....
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2007, 01:31:32 PM »
what you think is the reason, she need the money or she just bored ?

Offline Swima

« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2007, 01:51:32 PM »
How appropriate that she should run for Slovenia and their code is 'SLO'.
Why would such a legend embarass herself like that for real?
Allyuh doh have masters in Track and Field or what?
Success will never take you by surprise.

« Reply #3 on: June 27, 2007, 02:50:57 PM »
ah feel she want to be running 'til she is 50 yrs.
or maybe she jess mad no ass :-[

« Reply #4 on: June 27, 2007, 03:03:30 PM »
How it is she representing Slovenia again??

« Reply #5 on: June 27, 2007, 08:39:30 PM »
Cuz once shewas too slow to make Jamaica's team again and felt like she should basedon old achievements, she got Slovenian citizenship...the whole thing is a big joke...she must be the only black person there....I know the globe and I doubt Icould find that place on a map....anything she does goes as masters obviously, but still I mean oh gorm man, coach or do something but why d arse u running with girls who wasn't even born when u were in the MIDDLE of your career.

Shameful.   

« Reply #6 on: June 28, 2007, 02:51:24 AM »
I know the globe and I doubt Icould find that place on a map

« Reply #7 on: June 28, 2007, 08:46:13 AM »
Cuz once shewas too slow to make Jamaica's team again and felt like she should basedon old achievements, she got Slovenian citizenship..

Isn't she also married to a Slovenian?

Ok maybe not.
« Last Edit: June 28, 2007, 08:54:21 AM by Peong »

« Reply #8 on: June 28, 2007, 02:15:13 PM »
Cuz once shewas too slow to make Jamaica's team again and felt like she should basedon old achievements, she got Slovenian citizenship..

Isn't she also married to a Slovenian?

Ok maybe not.
Actually, I believe she is.

« Reply #9 on: June 28, 2007, 03:00:54 PM »
It ent have no other Slovenians faster than she? :o

« Reply #10 on: July 03, 2007, 03:48:37 PM »
The man say the country code is SLO... you really think they known for speed?  :rotfl:

« Reply #11 on: July 03, 2007, 08:07:52 PM »
She was married to Nat Page who is a successful coach now but she never remarried...

« Reply #12 on: July 04, 2007, 11:37:19 AM »
i think Merlene's contribution goes beyond the finish line. you all know how many people Granny luces inspired ..both young and old ? how many people must be saying if Merlene can so can I ..and dat is both young and old as well !
Leave the woman alone ...she eh hurtin nobody or taking anybody place..if they better than her she would not be there... I eh see nobody criticising all dem ..fail to make Us athletes with trini roots who suddenly get home vibes just before an olympics !
So waht if she running for an adopted country ? and zola bud did it ...
Merlene ottey is an icon in women's athletics.... in this day of instant success and failure one woman has stood the test of drugs and time ...leave she !

« Reply #13 on: July 04, 2007, 11:51:11 AM »
i think Merlene's contribution goes beyond the finish line. you all know how many people Granny luces inspired ..both young and old ? how many people must be saying if Merlene can so can I ..and dat is both young and old as well !
Leave the woman alone ...she eh hurtin nobody or taking anybody place..if they better than her she would not be there... I eh see nobody criticising all dem ..fail to make Us athletes with trini roots who suddenly get home vibes just before an olympics !
Merlene ottey is an icon in women's athletics.... in this day of instant success and failure one woman has stood the test of drugs and time ...leave she !

. :applause: :applause: ....tell them Jai !! ...he failed !!
 What she do to him now...is not drugs so he have to find sumtin to put down another fellow athlete...shamefull...

« Reply #14 on: July 04, 2007, 02:30:38 PM »
Nobody has denied that she is an athletics icon nor is anyone saying that she's robbing someone of a deserved spot. No one even cares that she is running for Slovenia. We all remember her as an outstanding athlete, a giant in her field. What she is doing now is not enhancing herself or her standing in the sport. Comparing her to Granny Luces is like comparing Romario to a QP Savannah small goal specialist who once played for Malvern or Casuals. Completely different footprints left in the sport... completely different legacies.

Offline Aviator

« Reply #15 on: July 04, 2007, 02:34:22 PM »

What she do to him now...is not drugs so he have to find sumtin to put down another fellow athlete...shamefull...
Now now , Berris, the man choose to run for T&T. There isn't a U.S. sprint team that Ato would not have been able to make. If you do remember the only American to beat him in any consistent basis was Greene. So be happy that the man actually ran for us, becasue we would of still be waiting for a Hasely replacement. Even though he doesn't have an olympis gold medal, he still has 4 of other colours, plus a Wc gold medal which is a damn feat in itself.
Psalm 14:1
The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God.

« Reply #16 on: July 04, 2007, 03:39:13 PM »

Now now , Berris, the man choose to run for T&T. There isn't a U.S. sprint team that Ato would not have been able to make. If you do remember the only American to beat him in any consistent basis was Greene. So be happy that the man actually ran for us, becasue we would of still be waiting for a Hasely replacement. Even though he doesn't have an olympis gold medal, he still has 4 of other colours, plus a Wc gold medal which is a damn feat in itself.

Aviator ..you address this to the wrong person ..read properly before yuh call meh name nah ...

Offline Aviator

« Reply #17 on: July 04, 2007, 11:14:55 PM »

Aviator ..you address this to the wrong person ..read properly before yuh call meh name nah ...

If so, I humbly retract my comments.
Psalm 14:1
The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God.

« Reply #18 on: July 05, 2007, 06:45:24 AM »
Well my whole contribution to this story is this ....what if she ran those races and won ....?   would there have been a big uproar about it and how shameful it is and all that?...I love ball and I will compete in ball till I cant do it no more ...similarly she loves the sport and she should and will compete in it until she believes she can't do it anymore.....she not taking steiroids ..she eh hurting nobody her legacy is already established....people talking bout it shamefull and all that ....f**k that!  the truth is people do things and hope that what they do is remembered for the positive contributions but in this cynical world people gonna always have mixed (sometimes more negative than positive) opinions about other people's business wether it affects them directly or not.....so if she aint hurting nobody and she doing it legally I say leave her be and mind your own goddamn business....allyuh so concerned bout this elegant jamaican competing in track while it have some of our fellow trinis who raping 15 yr old girls and  getting caught trying to molest little girls with animals and shit.........now that is some shameful shit........

« Reply #19 on: July 06, 2007, 07:36:20 AM »
let me clarify something here ...when I referred to those fail to make US athletes from the USA jumping on the T&T bandwagon I was not referring to Ato Boldon !
 For me Ato Boldon is a respected Trinidad and tobago hero of very high esteem. he chose the red white and black instead of the USA and for that he will remain a patriot in my book. You dont illspeak patriots and any hint that I was referring to him is regretted and I apologize.
I was instead referring to many of those who just jump on the T&T wagon for an event and you never hear from dem again...I eh no part ah no personal vendetta against anybody...I too old for dat !
I just eh agree with Ato on this point and maybe some others too but that does not cxhange the view that I have of him as a person and as one of our most outstanding sports personalities who continues to make T&T proud !

« Reply #20 on: July 28, 2007, 05:49:10 AM »
If people feel to play sport or run or whatever at any age they have all my support in doing so.
Let the sport or whatever prove to them that they need to move on.
12.0 sumting still better than what plenty male youths running.
I would never respect any youth who tell me to get off a playing field unless he could prove to me that what I doing affecting his or her chances and then they still have to show they better than me.

« Reply #21 on: July 28, 2007, 09:35:23 AM »

Oh yeah?  :o ???