April 25, 2024, 04:12:03 PM

Author Topic: TnT U-23-1 versus Jabloteh U-19 3  (Read 4153 times)

TnT U-23-1 versus Jabloteh U-19 3
« on: July 06, 2007, 04:08:48 AM »
McComie takes charge of T&T U-23s.
By: Ian Prescott (Express).

Michael McComie has taken charge of the Trinidad and Tobago under-23 squad in the absence of head coach Jan Van Diesen, who is in Holland where he will soon undergo a back operation.
Dutchman Van Diesen has been diagnosed as suffering from a disc problem and returned to his homeland soon after T&T's participation in the CONCACAF Gold Cup in the United States.
McComie said yesterday it was "touch and go" whether Van Diesen will be available to be with the Under-23 team when they contest the first leg of the 2008 Olympic qualifiers, which take place from August 29-September 5 in Suriname.
McComie was given some tips by national senior head coach Wim Rijsbergen yesterday during a practise match at the Ato Boldon Stadium, Couva, where the under-23s faced CL Financial San Juan Jabloteh's reserve squad (under-19) under overcast conditions.
The national under-23 squad had plenty firepower on show, including Kendall Jagdeosingh, the North East Stars forward, Caledonia AIA winger Hayden Tinto, Ricardo Peltier and W Connection's Shane Calderon.
Also among them was 20-year-old Roland Gavin, who lives in England but was invited to train with the T&T squad after being spotted by coaches.
But, they found Jabloteh more than a handful. Coached by former national player Angus Eve, the club team rallied from trailing by a goal at the half to beat the under-23 footballers 3-1.
The Jabloteh youngsters looked much more motivated on the moist surface and destroyed the nationals on the flanks.
The under-23 selectees led 1-0 through a first half goal by Jagdeosingh. But Eve's youths levelled at 1-1 just five minutes into the second half when Devon Jamerson found the far corner with an angled shot from the left of the penalty area.
Soon after, Joel Russell scored an almost exact replica to put Jabloteh ahead 2-1, before Elijah Manners broke through on the right flank to also angle a shot across goal and into the far corner.
Afterwards, McComie said the under-23s were playing just their third practise match and the coaches wanted to have a better look at the players for selection purposes.
He said the squad was still not fixed and will be trimmed from the current 33 players in training to 25, consisting of three keepers and 22 outfield players.
At the end of next week's training session, a final squad will be announced and will go into camp for a week.
They are also due to play an international warm-up on August 22 before going to the tournament.
McComie said they had also been checking on playing conditions for the qualifying tournament.
"We play in Suriname. We understand it is a small field and also on Astroturf. So, we are just taking a look at the players. There is no fixed team. We will cut down the squad and also invite a couple of other players we think can be a good addition to the team. We will do that until we get the best possible team," he told the Express.

IN CONTROL: National Under-23 player Ricardo Peltier, left, attempts to evade Elton John of CL Financial San Juan Jabloteh's under-19 squad in a warm-up match yesterday morning at the Ato Boldon Stadium, Couva. The Jabloteh line-up beat the T&T U-23s 3-1.
« Last Edit: July 06, 2007, 07:20:51 AM by Flex »

Re: TnT U-23-1 versus Jabloteh U-19 3
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2007, 07:08:54 AM »
yeah, yeah ah know is ah practice game and they was trying out new men (on the U-23team) and all that, and yeah ah wasn't at the game, but we better off sending dat Jabloteh U-19 to represent we in the upcoming Olympic qualifiers :-\<a href="http://" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://</a>

Fyzoman, do you have the line up for both teams?

I don't care if it is a practice game or not. So whether they trying out new men or not, players still should have some tactical understanding of their roles and functions and get a positive result. The score reflects the preparation thus far. Qualifiers is in August. We about to enter the 2nd week in July.

« Last Edit: July 06, 2007, 07:12:01 AM by kingman »

« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2007, 07:12:23 AM »
Why our u-23 team is always the most shitty national team we always have? The u-17 and u-20's always seem to be better organised.

« Reply #3 on: July 06, 2007, 08:34:06 AM »
I dont recall us ever having a decent U23team....what happends after the U20 move up??

« Reply #4 on: July 06, 2007, 08:47:35 AM »
yeah, yeah ah know is ah practice game and they was trying out new men (on the U-23team) and all that, and yeah ah wasn't at the game, but we better off sending dat Jabloteh U-19 to represent we in the upcoming Olympic qualifiers :-\<a href="http://" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://</a>

Fyzoman, do you have the line up for both teams?

I don't care if it is a practice game or not. So whether they trying out new men or not, players still should have some tactical understanding of their roles and functions and get a positive result. The score reflects the preparation thus far. Qualifiers is in August. We about to enter the 2nd week in July.

nah, ah doh have the line-ups, but ah only write all that 'yeah, yeah ah know is ah practice' to be diplomatic, yuh absolutely correct, i thinks it is ridiculous. I get so blasted vex when I read that allyuh eh even know. I hope to hear more bout this from other men.

« Reply #5 on: July 06, 2007, 09:14:47 AM »
Why our u-23 team is always the most shitty national team we always have? The u-17 and u-20's always seem to be better organised.

With de exception of a few players, this squad is de same U-20 squad dat mess down dey self in de last U-20 qualifiers.

With dat kinda performance yesterday ah wonder if Lester Peltier played or went incognito again. De last time he chose to jump ship before de boat sank.

« Reply #6 on: July 06, 2007, 01:40:25 PM »
Thank u Firebrand Touches and I say disband that under 20 team but in true Trini style we promote them to under 23. The Peter Principle what we live by

Offline RGarcia

• Forward To Mid-Field to Defense
  • Who Jah bless, no man curse!
« Reply #7 on: July 06, 2007, 01:51:20 PM »
this is not suppose to be happening we have too many skilled people on the island to choose from for a U19 CLUB team to be beating we so convinceing or even at all..
All American

« Reply #8 on: July 06, 2007, 01:58:52 PM »
A u23 team get beat not edged but beaten 3-1 by an u-19 club team lol that have to be the shittiest team in TT

Offline trini_bwoy

« Reply #9 on: July 08, 2007, 12:47:51 AM »
I agree. We always have a shitty under-23 team and our under-23 team is always de worst of all the teams. It's better San Juan Jabloteh UNDER-19 team represent we. It's a shame. Imagine an under-19 league team (not even an all-stars under-19 team) beating our national under-23 team.
Very shameful and August is a few days from now. Ah shame!! :-[ :-[