April 19, 2024, 08:12:53 PM

Author Topic: T&T U-17s off to Peru for friendlies.  (Read 4302 times)

T&T U-17s off to Peru for friendlies.
« on: July 10, 2007, 01:46:55 PM »
T&T U-17s off to Peru for friendlies.

Trinidad and Tobago’ Under 17 footballers will have another chance to test their readiness for next month’s FIFA Under 17 World Championship when they visit Peru for a pair of friendly matches against two of their First Division clubs later this week.
The team, under head coach Anton Corneal and manager Christopher Gouveia, will head off to Peru on Wednesday. A few weeks back, T&T played the Peruvian National Under 17 team in two games, losing 1-0 and drawing the second game 0-0 at the Marvin Lee Stadium. This time around they will play two Under 20 teams of pro clubs Sporting Crystal and Universidad on July 13 and 15.
A 24-man squad will head off for the two games before returning home and looking ahead to a trip to Holland before their arrival in Korea for its opening game against Ghana on August 20.
“Even though we have played Peru twice before I think this trip is another good opportunity for the team because it gives them a chance to play against teams of a similar style away from home. We haven’t played that much games away from Trinidad with exception of the qualifying series in Jamaica and the friendlies in Honduras. Peru gave quite a good account of themselves in their recent game against Colombia so again these games can provide us with a good measuring stick before our games in Korea,” Corneal told TTFF Media.
“We still have to finalise the 21-man squad to take to Korea and so this also gives us a further chance to see what we need to before making the final decision. Our staff has worked tremendously hard since the qualification phase and with the support of the TTFF I think we are on the right path. Of course everything will come down to how well we do in Korea but I can honestly say that we have stuck to our programme and taking everything in good stride.”
Corneal added that there are further invitations for matches but the team will return home on July 16 and undergo training locally before considering any other options.
« Last Edit: July 10, 2007, 01:49:03 PM by Flex »

Re: T&T U-17s off to Peru for friendlies.
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2007, 01:51:37 PM »
Like we only preparing for Colombia or what, what about the styles of Germany and Ghana. We already play Peru, we should look to play Nigeria and England too. Change up de styles a little to see how our team will coup.
« Last Edit: July 10, 2007, 02:11:55 PM by Flex »

« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2007, 02:10:04 PM »
I think that this team is not playing enough games against quality foreign oposition.

What happen to the tourney that was supposed to be hosted here?

I constantly hear of age group teams like the USA play about 20 warm up games before tournaments. 

We need to play more games.

Offline jr sams

• Every time....all de time....true to form
« Reply #3 on: July 10, 2007, 02:30:16 PM »
At the very least play a Euro and an African team as Sam suggested. Its a Global competition and the youths definitely not getting enough variety in the warm ups.
well yes

« Reply #4 on: July 10, 2007, 04:01:12 PM »
TTFF bankrupt and Jack gone with the rest ah de money.  We don't have the finances to send our team on a multi-nation tour.  That is how it always is with our preparations.  We hope for miracles.

« Reply #5 on: July 10, 2007, 04:06:36 PM »
Thank u Sam. I fed up of the same ting ovah and ovah. We will be embarass I guess we goal is just to quallify

« Reply #6 on: July 10, 2007, 05:29:10 PM »
weary, yuh know full well...As long as Jackula .....

1. geh he US 20 million  cut from TV rights at de Finals Cup,
2. sell some  20,000 Simpaul bogus-package rip-orf "ticket-or-leave-it" deals (US $1999.99 plus VAT all-inclusive Hibiscus package wit'-cow-heel-soup-meal-on-return-to-T&T) but find yuh own blinkin' hotel, taxi, meals, translator, transport to de stadium 200 miles away in some remote corner of Korea..... package dat TI btw go be fuss in de line to buy ...and den geh yuh tail send back (no refund) when yuh realize dat visay is required to geh pass Korean immigration in Korea  :rotfl:
3. pocket de Adidas / Carib / Ray-ban / Busta / Hitachi / Hyundai / Blue waters sponsorship money,
4. hide de 2 million dat FIFA award to prepare T&T for Korea (Blatter jess ha to cook de numbers a li'l)( and tell Boynes dat all de morney done and how de guvunment eh care about our players) and ..
5. set up some front of money-laundering with some hastily arranged "Local Organizing Committee" where he resurreck as anoddah "spethial advithor"......
6. and give the under 17 each a li'l sumting ... a pair of tacky red rude-bwoy ghetto tugs, 50 dullahs spennin' morney, coupons to 3 meals at Royal Castle, and 1 free pass each to swim in de Concacaf Centre of Excellence swimming pool, after dey return from Korea.......

...... den everyting go be nice with de swine-ish comfort zone dat we have conditioned our wine-orna-bumsee-culture to fixate on and geh totally distracted by.  >:( .

Den somebody go want to raise meh blood presshah and tell meh..."Hurry, hurry! All who signin' up for de free-juzzy lime at some Jackula-owned birt'day-bashment Crown Plaza hotel party ....call this number........Steuppps! Look doh geh me vex today eh! Shims man!  >:( Ah fed up. Ah say ah fed up!!!!!!

Why we trinis dotish so, and so content wit' exploitation and crumbs dread?
« Last Edit: July 10, 2007, 06:31:05 PM by dreamer »

« Reply #7 on: July 10, 2007, 06:18:52 PM »
Like we only preparing for Colombia or what, what about the styles of Germany and Ghana. We already play Peru, we should look to play Nigeria and England too. Change up de styles a little to see how our team will coup.

would be nice. but do teams like England and Nigeria even want to play us? what is the budget? they might be doing the best with what they have. Who knows who was approached and who rejected us

« Reply #8 on: July 10, 2007, 07:18:55 PM »
How our people does report so ! Ah whole report on a national team travelling in preparation for world Cup and no report on de names of the players going
« Last Edit: July 11, 2007, 07:24:50 AM by royal »

« Reply #9 on: July 10, 2007, 08:03:35 PM »
Anton tv tonite say they go b playin some games in Holland on d way to Korea. I guess we have to thank Wim 4 organizing dat.

Offline ttcom

• us/trini/jamaican
« Reply #10 on: July 11, 2007, 10:04:07 AM »
Didn't I said on another thread that the team should be playing Pro league teams. Why go to Peru to play club u20?? That money could be used for something. Stay home and play pro league u 20s and u23s. I recommend an academy setup for u12,u16,and u18 and they in the school. In summer the tour the West Indies and play other schools and nationals team. Bush football need to stop.
Stupidity is an elemental force for which no earthquake is a match."
-Karl Kraus

« Reply #11 on: July 11, 2007, 02:16:04 PM »
The Pro League teams was on the same schedule with brazil, haiti and the US and we know the closes we seeing Brazil is in Copa and Under 20 on tv