April 16, 2024, 11:13:52 AM

Author Topic: Korean FA boss wants steel band at U17 World Cup.  (Read 6821 times)

Korean FA boss wants steel band at U17 World Cup.
« on: July 14, 2007, 08:50:28 PM »
Korean FA boss wants steel band at U17 World Cup.

Remembering the performance of Woodbrook Playboys Steel Orchestra when Trinidad and Tobago’s Senior Team battled to a 1-1 draw with South Korea in a friendly international back in 2004, President of the Korean Football Association Dr Mong Joon  Chung wants the national instrument to return to his country.
This time, Chung who is also a FIFA Vice President and chairman of Hyundai Heavy Industries wants a T&T steelband to accompany the Trinidad and Tobago National Under 17 team at the FIFA Under 17 World Championship in Korea next month.
T&T is one of five CONCACAF nations at the 24-team Finals and will opens its appearance at the tournament against Ghana on August 20 and will subsequently face Germany and Colombia.
Chung made the request for the steel band via a formal letter to fellow FIFA Vice President Jack Warner last week.
“You may recall the last time your country visited mine you brought a steel band, Wood brook Playboyz. I have discussed another such initiative with my FA to invite another such steel band on the occasion of the FIFA Under 17 World Championship,” Chung wrote.
He added though that his organization had no budget for the initiative and moreso didn’t want to set a bad precedent for the other participating countries but felt it would be another ideal stage for T&T to showcase part if its culture through the national instrument.
Warner and by extent the TTFF has since set about in trying to arrange for a local School steel band to make the appearance but added that they would have to seek the support of the government and corporate sector in making it happen. Warner is currently in Canada for the FIFA Under 20 World Championship and departs for Cape Town where he will represent FIFA President Sepp Blatter at the “90 minutes for Mandela” match between Africa and the Rest of the World. Warner was also forced to turn down an invitation this week from the organizers of the South America Copa America for the  Final between Argentina and Brazil.

U17s lose opening match in Peru

Trinidad and Tobago’s National Under 17 footballers played their first match of its training camp in Peru and had settle for a 3-1 defeat to Sporting Cristal’s Under 20 team in Lima on Friday evening.
The visiting T&T team, led by head coach Anton Corneal, arrived in Peru on Wednesday night and have made the trip to play two matches, the second being on Sunday against Universidad’s Under 20 outfit.
Speedy striker Daniel Joseph was T&T’s lone scorer on Friday, pulling a goal back in the second half after the home team had 2-0 up.
Corneal used seven substitutions in the match and from his accounts, T&T should have made better use of its chances on goal, particularly in the second half.  Winger Micah Lewis was a threat to Sporting Cristal for the majority of time with his movements on the flank but T&T were guilty of not getting enough numbers into the penalty box whenever they made inroads on the sides of the pitch.
“I would say we got a lot out of the exercise. We started properly settling down in good time and playing with composure which made them have to play as well. But we struggled to get enough players into the box for cross balls,” Corneal told TTFF Media after the match. “Most times we were only picking one player out in the box and that was not working while they were able to always have three and four men whenever they went forward. I thought we allowed the goals on defensive blunders except for the third one which was really a fabulous strike from about 15 yards out after we cleared a corner.”
“We paid for trying to switch the ball from side to side in the defensive part and we didn’t convert when our chances came. Physically and skill wise we matched them which was a good sign,” Corneal added.
Joseph’s goal came after he carried the ball past the sweeper and then cut back before striking  a left footer into the far post to leave  the scores at 2-1 before they got a third item ten minutes from the end.
Goalkeeper Jesse Fullerton started in goal and Glenroy Samuel took up position for the second half. US-born players Cameron Roget and Aaron Maund were among the seven players introduced in the second half.

Re: Korean FA boss wants steel band at U17 World Cup.
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2007, 10:01:13 PM »
If steelband is allowed in Korea based on the invitation of the Korean FA boss, then it shows just how much of a farce the excuse that FIFA used in Germany that our national instrument posed a "security threat" and was banned from the stadium.

« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2007, 10:33:37 PM »
Is fifa......

Farce In Football Always........

The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #3 on: July 15, 2007, 05:44:05 AM »
If steelband is allowed in Korea based on the invitation of the Korean FA boss, then it shows just how much of a farce the excuse that FIFA used in Germany that our national instrument posed a "security threat" and was banned from the stadium.

was it a FIFA mandat banning the pan...or de German security people?

« Reply #4 on: July 15, 2007, 07:26:55 AM »
Speaking of Korea...

They Tied 1-1 at the half with our Favorite Mid-East Team:

S. Korea 1 - Bahrain 1

« Reply #5 on: July 15, 2007, 09:51:14 AM »
Imagine, steelpan has left such an impression on the Korean FA chief that he personally wrote a letter to the TTFF inviting some steel band groups in Korea for the World Cup. This is an excellent opportunity for some more international exposure of our national instrument.

I'm just praying that TTFF does not contrive some way to miss out on this opportunity.

« Reply #6 on: July 15, 2007, 09:56:28 AM »

This is the under 17 world cup, then senior world cup is much more complicated. Talibans always interested in Europe and USA and not so much in Korea. We loyal fans paid the price for that in Germany.

ALSO:

Are you sure the Korean boss wrote that letter or Jack Warner wrote it to himself, maybe Jack Warner is trying to get nuff support for the T&T under 17 team at the government expense (alone)... while the TTFF take credit 100%...

Jack realise that there is nuff money to make. How much did he and his son walk away with in the last under 17 world cup hosted in T&T again. (2001). If the government pick up all the expenses then the profit will be bigger for Jack Wanrer this time around.
« Last Edit: July 15, 2007, 09:59:36 AM by Sando »

« Reply #7 on: July 15, 2007, 10:18:36 AM »
Are you sure the Korean boss wrote that letter or Jack Warner wrote it to himself, maybe Jack Warner is trying to get nuff support for the T&T under 17 team at the government expense (alone)... while the TTFF take credit 100%...

Jack realise that there is nuff money to make. How much did he and his son walk away with in the last under 17 world cup hosted in T&T again. (2001). If the government pick up all the expenses then the profit will be bigger for Jack Wanrer this time around.

No! Jack ask the Korean to to write the letter to him with the afrementioned request.  he can't afford to write it to himself and be accused of fraud yetagain!
 :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
« Last Edit: July 15, 2007, 10:21:01 AM by palos »

« Reply #8 on: July 15, 2007, 10:31:22 AM »
I was just going to post that.  Dat is what de Koreans do fuh Jack tuh give dem de World Cup.

steups

« Reply #9 on: July 15, 2007, 01:33:51 PM »
Come on Palos, being allowed to play in the stadium and being present at the World cup is 2 completely different things. Besides, as far as I know we were allowed to play in Germany just not in the stadium.

« Reply #10 on: July 15, 2007, 01:45:28 PM »
Come on Palos, being allowed to play in the stadium and being present at the World cup is 2 completely different things. Besides, as far as I know we were allowed to play in Germany just not in the stadium.

In the current U20 WC....the Africans have drums....so do some of the SA teams....Canada had drums too....all in the stadium.

I thought the U20 tournament was a FIFA competition.  My bad.

« Reply #11 on: July 15, 2007, 02:13:27 PM »
He wants the steelband to be part of the contingent...a collective cultural ambassador that would be part of the entourage if you will.  He said nothing about them playing inside the stadium.  Also, in all fairness to FIFA we need to be more objective when regarding their position.  We know that we weren't going to Germany to do nothing that would discredit TnT, but remember that there was a very credible threat of hooliganism, not just by genuine football fans, but also on the parts of neo-nazis.   

So if you thus have such a credible threat that possibly could infiltrate the stadium...having ANYTHING inside that stadium that potentially could be used as a weapon is really poor idea.  I personally think their fears were exaggerated, and would have loved to have some pan behind de warriors in de stands.  Imagine though if ah group ah hooligans start rioting and (because they mighta outnumber de riddim section) overpower man and take way he tenor pan, and start beating next man wid it could you de kinda damage tuh spectators we looking at?

« Reply #12 on: July 15, 2007, 02:18:08 PM »
Imagine, steelpan has left such an impression on the Korean FA chief that he personally wrote a letter to the TTFF inviting some steel band groups in Korea for the World Cup. This is an excellent opportunity for some more international exposure of our national instrument.

I'm just praying that TTFF does not contrive some way to miss out on this opportunity.
I find that if they so impressed, then as a FIFA VP he should find money in some budget somewhere to fund it.  Tuh ass with that talk about not being fair tuh de other countries.

« Reply #13 on: July 15, 2007, 03:02:17 PM »
He wants the steelband to be part of the contingent...a collective cultural ambassador that would be part of the entourage if you will.  He said nothing about them playing inside the stadium.  Also, in all fairness to FIFA we need to be more objective when regarding their position.  We know that we weren't going to Germany to do nothing that would discredit TnT, but remember that there was a very credible threat of hooliganism, not just by genuine football fans, but also on the parts of neo-nazis.   

So if you thus have such a credible threat that possibly could infiltrate the stadium...having ANYTHING inside that stadium that potentially could be used as a weapon is really poor idea.  I personally think their fears were exaggerated, and would have loved to have some pan behind de warriors in de stands.  Imagine though if ah group ah hooligans start rioting and (because they mighta outnumber de riddim section) overpower man and take way he tenor pan, and start beating next man wid it could you de kinda damage tuh spectators we looking at?

A pan eh any more dangerous dan a trumpet, saxophone or tuba but dem was allowed in de Stadium when Holland play.  Buh say wha.....Gopaul luck eh Seepaul luck ent?  Maybe de hooligan dem wouldn't think to use brass instruments as weapons.

« Reply #14 on: July 15, 2007, 03:32:16 PM »

A pan eh any more dangerous dan a trumpet, saxophone or tuba but dem was allowed in de Stadium when Holland play.  Buh say wha.....Gopaul luck eh Seepaul luck ent?  Maybe de hooligan dem wouldn't think to use brass instruments as weapons.

Agreed...that pan no more dangerous than brass.  Then again I never see brass instruments at any of the games in Germany, but if that's what you saw then I'd have to say yes...that was a double-standard, and would love to see the rationale for banning one an allowing the other.

« Reply #15 on: July 15, 2007, 05:54:39 PM »

lololol

« Last Edit: July 15, 2007, 06:00:56 PM by palos »

« Reply #16 on: July 15, 2007, 06:44:17 PM »
we would have beat sweden and england and topped the group if they let pan in the stadium

« Reply #17 on: July 15, 2007, 06:46:55 PM »
we would have beat Sweden and England and topped the group if they let pan in the stadium
doh underestimate the power of the twelveth man ;)

it was a Plot by MI-5 :D
« Last Edit: July 15, 2007, 06:48:48 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #18 on: July 15, 2007, 09:56:35 PM »
Another scheme to get my tax payers dollars as is the gov't go have to pay 4 the side to go.

« Reply #19 on: July 16, 2007, 02:22:22 AM »
someone go advise de TTFF to get de money from FIFA den ask de government to pay for the whole thing resulting in de TTFF getting day bonus for dat month......TTFF players 0  ;)

ah lie?
« Last Edit: July 16, 2007, 02:23:54 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline ballpiyong

• Winning is not everything it is the only thing
« Reply #20 on: July 16, 2007, 03:28:26 PM »
Big up to the team and the national instrument!!!

Offline ANC2

« Reply #21 on: July 16, 2007, 06:57:59 PM »
They need pan for sure because if they play Korean music everybody fall asleep in the stadium.

« Reply #22 on: July 16, 2007, 09:17:27 PM »
 why we doh send Camps instead so dey could beat him "like ah pan"