April 24, 2024, 08:08:18 PM

Author Topic: Goalkeeping Central: All About the GK's  (Read 19734 times)

Re: Goalkeeping Central: All About the GK's
« Reply #60 on: January 14, 2013, 10:11:00 AM »
Watch dis!

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/nyK8r9M4rkc" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/nyK8r9M4rkc</a>

South American U-20 Championships. Game at 3-2 favoring Uruguay when this went down in the 84'. This save allowed Peru to stay in contention, and that they did ... match finished 3-3.
« Last Edit: January 14, 2013, 10:15:01 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #61 on: January 14, 2013, 10:24:49 AM »
Watch dis!

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/nyK8r9M4rkc" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/nyK8r9M4rkc</a>

South American U-20 Championships. Game at 3-2 favoring Uruguay when this went down in the 84'. This save allowed Peru to stay in contention, and that they did ... match finished 3-3.

If he was at Central, I wouldn't know whether to buy him a drink for those saves......or sack him for coming so far out of his box lol

« Reply #62 on: January 14, 2013, 10:25:36 AM »
Commitment right there!

« Reply #63 on: January 14, 2013, 11:03:46 AM »
Doh want to take the focus away from the GKs, but here are highlights of the entire game ... first part of the coverage is Argentine (tournament is taking place there); then the final part is Peruvian. The equalizing goal was a PK. (The player fouled and the one who takes the kick is Cristian Benavente who is on Real Madrid's reserve squad. I think he's been with Real since he was 8.)

FS @ 2:45 he was off his line again, wasn't so fortunate then.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/eC9xEFa144E" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/eC9xEFa144E</a>

Heard of Diego Forlan? Well check out Diego Rolan (#9) ... watch from about 3:38 and check the run he makes to score. Another example of commitment!
« Last Edit: January 14, 2013, 11:07:21 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #64 on: January 14, 2013, 12:37:03 PM »
Doh want to take the focus away from the GKs, but here are highlights of the entire game ... first part of the coverage is Argentine (tournament is taking place there); then the final part is Peruvian. The equalizing goal was a PK. (The player fouled and the one who takes the kick is Cristian Benavente who is on Real Madrid's reserve squad. I think he's been with Real since he was 8.)

FS @ 2:45 he was off his line again, wasn't so fortunate then.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/eC9xEFa144E" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/eC9xEFa144E</a>

Heard of Diego Forlan? Well check out Diego Rolan (#9) ... watch from about 3:38 and check the run he makes to score. Another example of commitment!

Wow! That was some run! Can't make out if the winger saw him or just boxed the ball and hoped. Either way, fantastic commitment from Rolan.

« Reply #65 on: February 05, 2013, 11:03:17 AM »
Another keeper mishap (this one from Monday's Egyptian league game between El-Hodood and Wadi Degla).

Guess this is why Shabazz and Charles left out Jan :devil: ... keeper must be sluggish from the extended break.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/ntXT-uvj-0Y" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/ntXT-uvj-0Y</a>

The commentator here says it's Youtube material (@ 0:55) and well ... he eh lie. ;D
« Last Edit: February 05, 2013, 11:26:43 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #66 on: February 05, 2013, 12:20:12 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/tH_kBn-y-PQ" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/tH_kBn-y-PQ</a>
Incident last week from the match between Criciuma and Chapecoense in the Brazilian Campeonato Catarinense played January 31, 2013. Good work by the keeper.

Trip down memory lane: calls to mind this event from the 1994 WC.
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/ZP6O-Dt_38s" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/ZP6O-Dt_38s</a>
Mexico v Bulgaria.

« Reply #67 on: February 07, 2013, 06:35:04 AM »
With his current form for QPR being on a steady incline and after yesterday's performance, particularly, that blinding save (that didn't officially count) he made on rooney's thug-induced header, anybody still have doubts about Julio Cesar's return to the kind of form that had him being regarded as one of the very best in football?

« Reply #68 on: April 07, 2013, 11:14:40 AM »
Two young keepers to watch-my boy DeGea-the Spanish Cat and Belgium's  and Chelski's Thibaut Courtois, he is on loan at Atletico this season. Courtois has been described by some as the best young goalie. So I have been keeping an eye on my boy's competition. I actually enjoy watching him save, same as when I watching the Spanish Cat.

http://youtu.be/UZEci6bzrAg

http://youtu.be/ndhmdwIswp8

« Reply #69 on: April 07, 2013, 01:35:36 PM »
Two young keepers to watch-my boy DeGea-the Spanish Cat and Belgium's  and Chelski's Thibaut Courtois, he is on loan at Atletico this season. Courtois has been described by some as the best young goalie. So I have been keeping an eye on my boy's competition. I actually enjoy watching him save, same as when I watching the Spanish Cat.

I am beginning to wonder if Chelsea are even going to be able to keep him....you always seem to hear rumblings about him not wanting to go back to Chelsea (to be on no bench) and understandably so....but the  kinda season I se Cech is having, it doh look like we go be needing him as a first choice anytime soon, so.....but on the basis of his pure talent, from what I have seen of him in this and other videos, he does seem pretty good. If he does eventually come to Chelsea the only concern we might need to have would be the adjustment to the physicality of the league.  (that, and, I wish he wouldn't follow this trend these GK's have nowadays of always spittin' in dey dam glove! Nasty S.O.B's!) 

« Reply #70 on: April 10, 2013, 09:03:17 AM »

I am beginning to wonder if Chelsea are even going to be able to keep him....you always seem to hear rumblings about him not wanting to go back to Chelsea (to be on no bench) and understandably so....but the  kinda season I se Cech is having, it doh look like we go be needing him as a first choice anytime soon, so.....but on the basis of his pure talent, from what I have seen of him in this and other videos, he does seem pretty good. If he does eventually come to Chelsea the only concern we might need to have would be the adjustment to the physicality of the league.  (that, and, I wish he wouldn't follow this trend these GK's have nowadays of always spittin' in dey dam glove! Nasty S.O.B's!) 

Chelsea better play it smart with Courtois.  If they keep farming him out and don't decide on when it is best to bring him back to base, Real Madrid or even Juve will come calling.  Buffon got about 3 years max left, and Casillas probably will play to about 38, so Juve probably has the more urgent need to find an heir to Buffon.  Boy, Belgium blessed from back to front:  Courtois, Mignolet, Vermalen, Kompany, Vertonghen, Hazard, Mirallas, Benteke, Lukaku...and it goes on.

« Reply #71 on: April 10, 2013, 11:21:25 AM »
It would be nice if Belgium could get to a finals, World Cup or European. I remember their side and their brilliant goalie who was their most well known player at that time. I think it was either 1994 World Cup or 1998.

« Reply #72 on: April 10, 2013, 12:07:08 PM »
It would be nice if Belgium could get to a finals, World Cup or European. I remember their side and their brilliant goalie who was their most well known player at that time. I think it was either 1994 World Cup or 1998.

Michel Preud'homme....successor to another great Belgian, Jean Marie Pfaff. After falling off even as a football nation for a while, they seem to be putting their (young) gifted GK's back on the world spotlight these days....between Curtois and Mignolet they look to be in good hands for a long time....before them, Chelsea had (a Black) one named "Yves Ma-Kalambay" who had played for Belgium in the '08 Olympics.....but he mind eh right these days. 

« Reply #73 on: April 10, 2013, 03:36:12 PM »

Michel Preud'homme....successor to another great Belgian, Jean Marie Pfaff. After falling off even as a football nation for a while, they seem to be putting their (young) gifted GK's back on the world spotlight these days....between Curtois and Mignolet they look to be in good hands for a long time....before them, Chelsea had (a Black) one named "Yves Ma-Kalambay" who had played for Belgium in the '08 Olympics.....but he mind eh right these days. 

The one I was talking about is Pfaff.

« Reply #74 on: April 10, 2013, 03:50:07 PM »

The one I was talking about is Pfaff.

His last WC was in Mexico....had a decent tournament, but Maradona was too much fuh him/them in the semis. 

« Reply #75 on: April 11, 2013, 10:22:49 AM »
Yeah, both Pfaff and Preud'homme are probably top-20 of greatest GKs ever.  Pfaff carry Belgium into the WC semis in '86, but Mara had different thoughts about who was boss. 

« Reply #76 on: April 11, 2013, 10:37:07 AM »
Yeah, both Pfaff and Preud'homme are probably top-20 of greatest GKs ever.  Pfaff carry Belgium into the WC semis in '86, but Mara had different thoughts about who was boss. 

LOL!  Yeah, and you are absolutely correct in your placement of the two of them. I think I was being overly modest when I said Pfaff had a "decent" tournament.  It was fitting to see after the match that it was he and Maradona that exchanged shirts in what seemed to be a clear acknowledgment of each other's greatness.  I can never forget, either, the image of Klinsmann scoring against Preud'homme in '94, a low hard shot to his last (left) post......lick way he water bottle wit no regards!.  :D

« Reply #77 on: April 11, 2013, 10:30:19 PM »
http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/12040/8627549/Contrasting-keepers

On Monday evening against Manchester City, David de Gea was just 17 minutes away from matching the longest time Peter Schmeichel ever went without conceding a Premier League goal for Manchester United. With that achievement in his sights, Ryan Giggs attempted an ambitious and ill-advised backheel and the ball soon fell to James Milner whose deflected strike flew past the outstretched fingertips of the young Spaniard. The plaudits that would come with eclipsing Schmeichel were not to be. That just seems to be the way it goes for De Gea.

"I could have bought Joe Hart for £100,000 so we all make mistakes," admitted Sir Alex Ferguson in February of last year. "If you look at the England goalkeeper situation for the last 20 years, I would think he's easily the best." Perhaps it wasn't meant to be a slight on the young goalkeeper in possession of the No.1 shirt at Old Trafford but the message was clear: Hart is just about the best around.

Indeed, the perceived contrast between the form of Hart at Manchester City and the high-profile errors of De Gea at Manchester United became a key narrative of last season's title race. For the second season running, Joe Hart picked up the Premier League Golden Gloves award after keeping the most clean sheets of any top-flight goalkeeper. De Gea, meanwhile, made an error on his league debut against West Brom and endured an ongoing struggle to shake off the stigma for the remainder of the campaign.

So while Hart was named in the Premier League team of the year, De Gea faced a summer of seemingly endless debate about his future and suggestions that Anders Lindegaard might take his first-team place. England goalkeeping legend Gordon Banks summed up the mood of many in putting Hart on a different level to either of the United options.

"I am not sure about the two keepers at United, not at all," Banks told the Daily Mail last year. "Sir Alex Ferguson could have got a better keeper than either of them. I am sure he wishes he had signed Joe, who is the best English goalkeeper by a mile and could become the best in the world. He is now making terrific saves for Manchester City, while these lads at United look as if they can let in important goals."
« Last Edit: April 11, 2013, 10:32:10 PM by Bourbon »
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

Offline Richard G.

• Ah en new...jus doh post as often as oda people
« Reply #78 on: April 12, 2013, 02:29:47 AM »

On Monday evening against Manchester City, David de Gea was just 17 minutes away from matching the longest time Peter Schmeichel ever went without conceding a Premier League goal for Manchester United. With that achievement in his sights, Ryan Giggs attempted an ambitious and ill-advised backheel and the ball soon fell to James Milner whose deflected strike flew past the outstretched fingertips of the young Spaniard. The plaudits that would come with eclipsing Schmeichel were not to be. That just seems to be the way it goes for De Gea.

"I could have bought Joe Hart for £100,000 so we all make mistakes," admitted Sir Alex Ferguson in February of last year. "If you look at the England goalkeeper situation for the last 20 years, I would think he's easily the best." Perhaps it wasn't meant to be a slight on the young goalkeeper in possession of the No.1 shirt at Old Trafford but the message was clear: Hart is just about the best around.

Indeed, the perceived contrast between the form of Hart at Manchester City and the high-profile errors of De Gea at Manchester United became a key narrative of last season's title race. For the second season running, Joe Hart picked up the Premier League Golden Gloves award after keeping the most clean sheets of any top-flight goalkeeper. De Gea, meanwhile, made an error on his league debut against West Brom and endured an ongoing struggle to shake off the stigma for the remainder of the campaign.

So while Hart was named in the Premier League team of the year, De Gea faced a summer of seemingly endless debate about his future and suggestions that Anders Lindegaard might take his first-team place. England goalkeeping legend Gordon Banks summed up the mood of many in putting Hart on a different level to either of the United options.

"I am not sure about the two keepers at United, not at all," Banks told the Daily Mail last year. "Sir Alex Ferguson could have got a better keeper than either of them. I am sure he wishes he had signed Joe, who is the best English goalkeeper by a mile and could become the best in the world. He is now making terrific saves for Manchester City, while these lads at United look as if they can let in important goals."

De Gea comes within 17 minutes of eclipsing Peter Schmeichel's record for minutes played without conceeding a goal for Manchester United and the best they can come up with is talking about Joe Hart's Golden Gloves and Premiership Team of the Season accolades (of last season).  De Gea has shown himself to be mentally tough and that has shown in his performances furing this 2012-2013 season. Remember Sir Alex had his head on the chopping block when he seemingly found the formula and he's still there, numerous championships and titles later. He's still very young and has a lot to grow into. He's done very well and I will venture to say we've all seen his level of confidence grow as he's had a chance to stamp his own personality and style to Manchester United (very key to his improvement as a GK).

So what should be said about Joe Hart's errors of this season? hmmmm.....Look..as of right now Joe Hart is the perceived best GK in the premiership. De Gea is working his way up the ladder. I'll have fun watching both grow into two of the world's best.

Blessings and enjoy the day.
Richard G.
T&T first. Any other country comes a very distant 2nd.

www.soundcloud.com/dcoachg
www.soundcloud.com/dcoachg2
www.soundcloud.com/dcoachg3

« Reply #79 on: April 12, 2013, 06:03:09 AM »

De Gea comes within 17 minutes of eclipsing Peter Schmeichel's record for minutes played without conceeding a goal for Manchester United and the best they can come up with is talking about Joe Hart's Golden Gloves and Premiership Team of the Season accolades (of last season).  De Gea has shown himself to be mentally tough and that has shown in his performances furing this 2012-2013 season. Remember Sir Alex had his head on the chopping block when he seemingly found the formula and he's still there, numerous championships and titles later. He's still very young and has a lot to grow into. He's done very well and I will venture to say we've all seen his level of confidence grow as he's had a chance to stamp his own personality and style to Manchester United (very key to his improvement as a GK).

So what should be said about Joe Hart's errors of this season? hmmmm.....Look..as of right now Joe Hart is the perceived best GK in the premiership. De Gea is working his way up the ladder. I'll have fun watching both grow into two of the world's best.

Richard G.

Well the whole article kinda answered that....it was too long to post. Keep remembering the fact that DDG still young. Also remember that Hart is English..thus by default the English media sees him as the best in the world.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #80 on: April 13, 2013, 10:02:07 AM »
De Gea's mental strength may be his best assest. Many have crumbled before, dealing with the negativity from the English press, and the expectations that goes with pulling on the United jersey, week in and week out.  I hope the press will give him his credit when he pass Hart as the best in the EPL in the next 2 years. My keeper!
« Last Edit: April 13, 2013, 10:07:57 AM by Giggsy11 »

« Reply #81 on: April 14, 2013, 06:13:26 PM »

Richard G.

Well the whole article kinda answered that....it was too long to post. Keep remembering the fact that DDG still young. Also remember that Hart is English..thus by default the English media sees him as the best in the world.
[/b]

to further reinforce your point...I watching "My Beautiful Game" on FSC right now..."greatest Player" is the theme....David Seaman say Paul Gascoigne is the best he has ever seen....he even go as far as to say he find Gascoigne better than Maradona and Messi. "he is more of a complete package" he say.  Ah guess he still eh see the package Ronaldinho deliver on he ass in Japan.

« Reply #82 on: April 18, 2013, 12:30:55 PM »
Southall’s long and winding road
http://www.fifa.com/classicfootball/players/do-you-remember/newsid=2026983/index.html?cid=newsletter_en_20130418_newsid2026983

In the 1980s and 1990s, Neville Southall was considered to be one of the world’s greatest goalkeepers. After winning two English league championships and FA Cups with Everton, as well as the European Cup Winners’ Cup and a record 92 caps for Wales, he was one of the continent's finest custodians.

What also added a bit of intrigue about ‘Big Nev’ was his career path. After starting out working in a café in his home town of Llandudno, he then moved to doing manual work for the local council before becoming a refuse collector.

Despite only doing the job for a few months before turning professional, his trade stuck in the memories of football fans. Indeed his recent biography, was entitled ‘The Binman Chronicles’; a tip of the hat to his former role.

Southall left school in the 1970s without a qualification to his name, but after hanging up his boots and gloves for good in 2002 at the age of 43 he earned a teaching certificate four years later. He is now mentoring ‘NEETs’: children who are not in education, employment or training.

“We began by giving excluded youngsters the chance of gaining an apprenticeship through sport,” he told FIFA.com. “They also did carpentry, bricklaying, art and other things. It’s alternative education.

“It’s about children who aren’t academic, who are good with their hands, perceived to be disruptive or who are actually disruptive. They don’t get opportunities that the academic ones get. It’s not that they aren’t bright, just not academic."

Just as in football, Southall and his colleagues have enjoyed success. One of his former pupils now has his own music business; others are in hairdressing, tattooing or back in mainstream education.

The Welshman believes that his “former life as a footballer” gave him a good grounding for his current role. “Being in the dressing room, dealing with people from all walks of life, helped make the transition between playing and teaching,” he continued.

“In a dressing room there are different characters, the intelligent ones, the silly ones, the loud ones and the quiet ones - and it's similar in the classroom as well. Mind you, I'm quite scatty. I'm not neat and tidy and I don't like being enclosed by four walls. I like being outside and the youngsters the same!"

When asked whether the youngsters were in awe of the legend standing before them, Southall smiled and said: “Their verdict was if you’re any good, you’ll be on YouTube. Also if their dad rated you, you were OK.”

Despite the glory days of his career, which saw him earn an MBE for services to football, appear in the PFA’s Team of the Year four consecutive times and win the 1985 Football Writers' Award, Southall now appears to be more than content to look forward rather than relive times past.

“I never have been one to look back,” he said. “If you look back to what you have achieved you’re not going to want to achieve much more in your life. There is always something else going on tomorrow.”

Southall’s next challenge is the growth of his Community Foundation. “It’s about giving people from all walks of life a chance through sport,” he said. “It could be helping out a kid who can't afford a pair of boots or transport to their training sessions. The current economic climate means that there are so many people struggling – and if I can help them, I will.”

(... and, there's an excellent interview with him on Youtube).
« Last Edit: April 18, 2013, 12:37:28 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #83 on: April 18, 2013, 12:43:37 PM »
Southall’s long and winding road
http://www.fifa.com/classicfootball/players/do-you-remember/newsid=2026983/index.html?cid=newsletter_en_20130418_newsid2026983

In the 1980s and 1990s, Neville Southall was considered to be one of the world’s greatest goalkeepers. After winning two English league championships and FA Cups with Everton, as well as the European Cup Winners’ Cup and a record 92 caps for Wales, he was one of the continent's finest custodians.

What also added a bit of intrigue about ‘Big Nev’ was his career path. After starting out working in a café in his home town of Llandudno, he then moved to doing manual work for the local council before becoming a refuse collector.

Despite only doing the job for a few months before turning professional, his trade stuck in the memories of football fans. Indeed his recent biography, was entitled ‘The Binman Chronicles’; a tip of the hat to his former role.

Southall left school in the 1970s without a qualification to his name, but after hanging up his boots and gloves for good in 2002 at the age of 43 he earned a teaching certificate four years later. He is now mentoring ‘NEETs’: children who are not in education, employment or training.

“We began by giving excluded youngsters the chance of gaining an apprenticeship through sport,” he told FIFA.com. “They also did carpentry, bricklaying, art and other things. It’s alternative education.

“It’s about children who aren’t academic, who are good with their hands, perceived to be disruptive or who are actually disruptive. They don’t get opportunities that the academic ones get. It’s not that they aren’t bright, just not academic."

Just as in football, Southall and his colleagues have enjoyed success. One of his former pupils now has his own music business; others are in hairdressing, tattooing or back in mainstream education.

The Welshman believes that his “former life as a footballer” gave him a good grounding for his current role. “Being in the dressing room, dealing with people from all walks of life, helped make the transition between playing and teaching,” he continued.

“In a dressing room there are different characters, the intelligent ones, the silly ones, the loud ones and the quiet ones - and it's similar in the classroom as well. Mind you, I'm quite scatty. I'm not neat and tidy and I don't like being enclosed by four walls. I like being outside and the youngsters the same!"

When asked whether the youngsters were in awe of the legend standing before them, Southall smiled and said: “Their verdict was if you’re any good, you’ll be on YouTube. Also if their dad rated you, you were OK.”

Despite the glory days of his career, which saw him earn an MBE for services to football, appear in the PFA’s Team of the Year four consecutive times and win the 1985 Football Writers' Award, Southall now appears to be more than content to look forward rather than relive times past.

“I never have been one to look back,” he said. “If you look back to what you have achieved you’re not going to want to achieve much more in your life. There is always something else going on tomorrow.”

Southall’s next challenge is the growth of his Community Foundation. “It’s about giving people from all walks of life a chance through sport,” he said. “It could be helping out a kid who can't afford a pair of boots or transport to their training sessions. The current economic climate means that there are so many people struggling – and if I can help them, I will.”

.....I was just watching some highlights of him on YouTube about a week ago....not many available.  The man was an excellent GK....sharp reflexes and great agility, especially for such a very big man. He was certainly one of the best of his time. (and certainly NOT "head and shoulders" inferior to Bruce Grobelaar....like one imps was once quoted as saying on here...)

Offline Richard G.

« Reply #84 on: April 19, 2013, 07:35:33 AM »

Richard G.

[/b]

to further reinforce your point...I watching "My Beautiful Game" on FSC right now..."greatest Player" is the theme....David Seaman say Paul Gascoigne is the best he has ever seen....he even go as far as to say he find Gascoigne better than Maradona and Messi. "he is more of a complete package" he say.  Ah guess he still eh see the package Ronaldinho deliver on he ass in Japan.

I left out that point on purpose. It's very evident that some bias would play into personal opinions.

Richard G.

« Reply #85 on: April 19, 2013, 02:52:24 PM »

Richard G.

[/b]

I left out that point on purpose. It's very evident that some bias would play into personal opinions.

Richard G.

I totally agree wit yuh and I expect some bias too, but to say dat Gascoigne better than maradona and Messi?!  Dize not bias nuh, dize clear sign of a serious drug problem.  :D Blessings and enjoy yuh day, too.

Offline Married2ATrini

« Reply #86 on: April 24, 2013, 07:50:39 AM »
April 19, 2013

Ranjitsingh named One of Top Goalkeepers in Country

MACON, Ga. – Sophomore goalkeeper Greg Ranjitsingh earned honorable mention recognition in an article ranking the top goalkeepers in the country according to TopDrawerSoccer.com on Friday morning. 

Only 14 netminders from across the nation were named in the release, with Ranjitsingh being listed in the players under consideration section.

The well-deserved inclusion of Ranjitsingh in the article comes after a season that solidified him as one of the best goalkeepers in the nation. The NSCAA Second Team All-South Region and Atlantic Sun All-Conference second team netminder led the A-Sun with a 0.87 goals against average and 93 saves and ranked 12th in the country with a sparkling .838 save percentage.

Ranjitsingh and 17 other letterwinners from last year's squad that went 11-7-2 overall and lost in the A-Sun Championship title game for the second time in the last four seasons will return to Macon for preseason camp to kick-off the 2013 campaign this August.

To read the complete article on TopDrawerSoccer.com, click here.

Offline Richard G.

« Reply #87 on: April 24, 2013, 08:20:30 PM »
AH man tell me ah should put dis up fuh all to see. Hopefully peace will reign after some edumification of our football brains  ;D ;D ;D

This is why being a goalkeeper is so incredibly difficult. We' re not supposed to save penalties but we do :)

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/ymgMNLPw1yY" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/ymgMNLPw1yY</a>

Blessings and enjoy de night.
Richard G.
« Last Edit: April 24, 2013, 08:26:42 PM by Bakes »

« Reply #88 on: April 24, 2013, 08:29:25 PM »
Good post  :beermug:

I always bristle whenever folks get on a man case for "missing" a penalty... in my mind a) nothing is guaranteed; and b) yuh have to give credit to the goalie for making the save.  So I always think "goalie saved it" rather than "X miss it".  This kinda breaks it down and shows just how difficult it should be in theory for a goalie to save a well-taken penalty.  Or put another way, how hard it should be to 'miss'.

Offline Richard G.

« Reply #89 on: April 25, 2013, 03:52:18 AM »
Did some research and found this (checked against another website it's pretty accurate minus a penalty here or there). I think it's a pretty decent assessment of the success and failure rates of penalties. Interesting to note the actual statistic of GKs saving penalties is only 16%. BTW a save is a save (I've always preferred the GK made the save... ;) Sounds so much better to my biased ears..lol)

http://www.myfootballfacts.com/Premier_League_Penalty_Statistics.html

Penalty Stats 2002-03 to 2012-13

Home Penalties %           63.20
Away Penalties %           36.80
Penalties Scored %   79.11
Penalties Missed %   4.77
Penalties Saved %   16.12