April 26, 2024, 04:16:01 PM

Author Topic: Final T&T squad named for U-17 World Cup.  (Read 9764 times)

Final T&T squad named for U-17 World Cup.
« on: July 29, 2007, 04:41:24 PM »
Final T&T squad named for U-17 World Cup.

Trinidad and Tobago’s National Under 17 squad for the upcoming FIFA Under 17 World Championship in Korea next month was announced by head coach Anton Corneal on Sunday, a week before the contingent departs for Holland for a training camp ahead of its opening match against Ghana.
Corneal and his staff met with the players on the weekend and revealed the squad with 21 players being selected, four being named as reserves and five players missing out after weeks of preparation following T&T’s qualification for the Championship after a 1-0 win over Jamaica in Kingston in early May.
Defence Force midfielder and TTFF’s young player of the year for 2006 Leston Paul will captain the team which includes all but three players who were part of the squad during the final round of qualifiers. There are also three new additions in US-born duo, goalkeeper Kern Cesar and midfielder Aaron Maund while United Petrotrin Stephan Campbell also broke into the team. Forward Daniel Joseph, who missed the qualifiers due to injury is also in the final squad going to Korea.
“It’s always a tough decision to release players who have been together with you for such a long time. It goes past just the coach/player relationship and is more like a coach/son attachment,” Corneal’s first statement to TTFF Media was following the initial announcing of the squad.
“I think the group of thirty players we had worked hard and very well together but it’s unfortunate that we cannot take them all to the tournament. In the end we decided to utilize players who were compatible with each other and most ready at this time. Whatever players who were released today will rejoin us as soon as we get back from the tournament,” Corneal added.
The former national player explained that the selection of the 21-man squad was a process over a period of time, particular the past three weeks and done collectively with the other coaches attached to the team. Hutson Charles is an assistant with Ross Russell as goalkeeper coach. Senior Team head coach Wim Rijsbergen has also worked with the team.
“We had been looking at various compositions over the past few weeks. The other coaches all gave their full opinion and we came together with very similar names so it was therefore something across the board that led to the final squad. It was also difficult for the other coaches as we have been looking at these players for a while in practice, game situations and all other aspects such as their mental readiness, fitness level, tactical awareness and their understanding of the game. And this is what we thought was best for our country at this time going into the tournament.”
Finally, Corneal was firm when asked whether he felt the team could gave a respectable showing at the Championship and return with the benefits that would auger well in the future of T&T’s football, particularly on the international scene.
“Yes! I think this team is capable of achieving that. I think they can do it because they all have the right to be there. It’s a first time experience for all the teams at the Under 17 level. No team has more experience than us at an Under 17 World Cup. We have countries in there with maybe more of a footballing reputation. But I think we have had good enough exposure and we are also a World Cup nation. Our players are ready, they are looking forward to it and it’s now a case of going out there and performing to the best of our ability.” Corneal concluded.
T&T, in Group F, will play its first two games in Cheonan on August 20 against Ghana and against Colombia on August 23 before it’s closing Group fixture against Germany on August 26 in Changwon.

T&T 21-man squad for FIFA U-17 World Championship:

Goalkeepers:

Glenroy Samuel (San Juan Jabloteh), Jesse Fullerton (Weston Fury High School), Kern Caesar (Victory Christian Academy).

Defenders:[/b]

Akeem Adams (W Connection), Brenton Balbosa (Defence Force), Jean Luc Rochford (Joe Public FC), Ryan O’Neil (Defence Force), Robert Primus (San Juan Jabloteh), Shelon Bateau (San Juan Jabloteh).

Midfielders:

Aubrey David (W Connection), Aaron Maund (FC Greater Boston), Chike Sullivan (San Juan Jaboteh), Kevin Molino (San Juan Jaboteh), Leston Paul (Defence Force, captain), Micah Lewis (San Juan Jabloteh), Marcus Joseph (United Petrotrin), Sean De Silva (Superstar Rangers), Stephan Campbell (United Petrotrin).

Forwards:[/b]

Daniel Joseph (San Juan Jabloteh), Daneil Cyrus (Stokely Vale FC, Tobago), Stephen Knox (San Juan Jaboteh).

Reserves:

Chad De Freitas (Superstar Rangers), Cameron Roget (LA Jolla Nomads), Stephan Chang (San Juan Jabloteh), Wesley Douglas (unattached).
« Last Edit: July 30, 2007, 07:58:57 AM by Flex »

Offline RGarcia

• Forward To Mid-Field to Defense
  • Who Jah bless, no man curse!
Re: Final T&T squad named for U17 World Cup
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2007, 05:06:47 PM »
alright guys now is the time to fine tune. Good Luck!!!! :beermug:
All American

« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2007, 06:36:35 PM »
Good luc to the young gunners of the Warriors!  Now we have a base for thr next U 19 and for 2014 if we get screwed by the TTFF for 2010.

« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2007, 10:28:59 PM »
good luck to the guys.  I hope these guys stay thgether and grow from strength to strength, and move on a nd quilify for all the future tournaments together - U19, Olympic etc and eventually become the full national team in 6 odd yrs.
we behind you all 100%

« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2007, 10:52:18 PM »
who's the ones got dropped? since they had to bring in 3 new men and a next keeper
looks like 2 a dem r De Freitas and Chang who i think were in d side from d start

flex or tallman....all ya could provide some picture profiles coming closer to the tournament??

and is this showin on cable TV in T&T??

« Reply #5 on: July 30, 2007, 05:53:57 AM »
I think Jesse is now the 3rd keeper.

I really don't know anything about this Cameron Roget and Aaron Maund but I suppose they will help the team.

I am confident that they will do well in this tournament. In 2014 we should see very good World Cup team coming out of T&T.

« Reply #6 on: July 30, 2007, 07:38:26 AM »
CONGRATS to the team selected!  We're behind you guys all the way!

Condolences to the guys not selected.  Must be tough but this is a significant test of CHARACTER for you.  How you handle and rebound from disappointment will say much more about you as an individual than any feats on the field of play.  Little consolation at this time I know but I for one look forward to bigger and better things from you.

I'm 100% convinced the coaching staff picked what they thought was the best team.  I just wonder if they may come to rue the De Freitas non selection.
« Last Edit: July 30, 2007, 07:40:56 AM by palos »

« Reply #7 on: July 30, 2007, 07:46:31 AM »
who's the ones got dropped? since they had to bring in 3 new men and a next keeper
looks like 2 a dem r De Freitas and Chang who i think were in d side from d start

Ah tink de other one is Isaiah Fergusson from New York Red Bulls.

Re: Final T&T squad named for U17 World Cup.
« Reply #8 on: July 30, 2007, 07:59:14 AM »
from what i read...chad de frietas had a knee operation recently....maybe he did not recover fully...
anton used him on both flanks....he really is a striker with a decent scoring record at SSFL and youth football...Anton only named 3 strikers..... all the best to the boys and the staff....lets go

Re: Final T&T squad named for U-17 World Cup.
« Reply #9 on: July 30, 2007, 08:17:19 AM »
very jabolteh heavy.

they is the best youth side in t & t?

« Reply #10 on: July 30, 2007, 08:26:32 AM »
Aaron Maund played for the Mass Youth Soccer Association, Roxbury Latin, FC Greater Boston Bolts and also in 2006 he played a few games for the United States national U-17 team.

Karen Maund cheers on her son, Aaron Maund, and his team, the Bolts of Massachusetts.
« Last Edit: July 30, 2007, 09:02:11 AM by Flex »

« Reply #11 on: July 30, 2007, 10:26:56 AM »
To the players not on the way to Korea: stay positive, stay focused and as you support your team ... reflect on how you can improve your game and bolster your chances for making squads to come.

Doh dig nutten ... chances will come!

« Reply #12 on: July 30, 2007, 10:38:48 AM »
from what i read...chad de frietas had a knee operation recently..

Wow, knee operation at that age?
Ah hope he recover fully.

Offline Dr. Rat

• Licks Pass!!!
« Reply #13 on: July 30, 2007, 11:07:46 AM »
San Juan Jabloteh continues to roll. :applause: :applause:
PNM in yuh mudda-in-law

« Reply #14 on: July 30, 2007, 02:15:08 PM »
wasnt  ryan oneil the captain before ? ........ or well..................best of luck guys

« Reply #15 on: July 30, 2007, 02:23:03 PM »
Aaron Maund played for the Mass Youth Soccer Association, Roxbury Latin, FC Greater Boston Bolts and also in 2006 he played a few games for the United States national U-17 team.

Karen Maund cheers on her son, Aaron Maund, and his team, the Bolts of Massachusetts.
Given that he's played with the US U17 already, how can he play for us now?

« Reply #16 on: July 30, 2007, 02:42:06 PM »

Probably wasn't in an official FIFA sanctioned game.

Offline fatimarima

« Reply #17 on: July 30, 2007, 03:49:11 PM »
Im not sure about this, but I think as long as a player has not been capped by the senior team of a country then he is eligible to play for another country if he has citizenship in that other country.  Again Im not sure about this.

« Reply #18 on: July 30, 2007, 05:01:05 PM »
Congrats and all d best. To d fellas who eh make it remember Michael Jordon didn't make the team after he first try out.

« Reply #19 on: July 30, 2007, 05:42:37 PM »
Well Chaddy had surgery and couldnt recover to make the 21.... unfortunate but these things happened...    he said he was disappointed but the team comes first ... 

Offline RGarcia

• Forward To Mid-Field to Defense
  • Who Jah bless, no man curse!
« Reply #20 on: July 30, 2007, 08:20:27 PM »
Im not sure about this, but I think as long as a player has not been capped by the senior team of a country then he is eligible to play for another country if he has citizenship in that other country.  Again Im not sure about this.
You are correct!! Once not capped by the senior team you can play for anyother country!! :beermug: :beermug:
All American

« Reply #21 on: July 31, 2007, 05:15:12 AM »

Once he is under 21 he can change alliance.

« Reply #22 on: July 31, 2007, 06:00:11 AM »
from what i read...chad de frietas had a knee operation recently..

Wow, knee operation at that age?
Ah hope he recover fully.

He quick you know. Fast players usually get knee trouble at some time.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #23 on: July 31, 2007, 08:04:03 AM »
What about this youth man Franz Husbands?

Offline Kay B

« Reply #24 on: July 31, 2007, 12:46:46 PM »

Aaron did not play for the US under 17. He was in the US national pool as a younger player but was not a full member of the team. Aaron gave a moving speech at Sharkey Henry's funeral since Sharkey was his coach as a very young boy. He is certainly not a "foreigner" to T&T.
« Last Edit: August 01, 2007, 06:04:46 AM by Flex »

Offline ON DE BLOCK

« Reply #25 on: July 31, 2007, 01:51:29 PM »
soca warriors under 17, the future of tnt football is in your hands or should we say on your feet, victory is job 1 but whatever the result, keep de red white and black flying high in korea,looking forward to local football at a new level, all the best and buss deh net....

« Reply #26 on: August 01, 2007, 07:25:44 AM »
Aaron did not play for the US under 17. He was in the US national pool as a younger player but was not a full member of the team. Aaron gave a moving speech at Sharkey Henry's funeral since Sharkey was his coach as a very young boy. He is certainly not a "foreigner" to T&T.

Well according to the US official website he was a second half sub for the US U-17 team on 3 occasions.....

click on links below.....

Game 1

Game 2

Game 3

He also trained with them...

U.S. Under-17 MNT Training Camp Roster.

There is more, I will search for them and post it soon...

Offline Kay B

« Reply #27 on: August 01, 2007, 10:35:36 AM »

Well according to the US official website he was a second half sub for the US U-17 team on 3 occasions.....

click on links below.....

Game 1

Game 2

Game 3

He also trained with them...

U.S. Under-17 MNT Training Camp Roster.

There is more, I will search for them and post it soon...
Aaron was in the pool of players the US were looking at but he was never in the full U-17 team. The games were really scrimmages against club teams and the U-15 side. He is good enough to be in the side but that is T&T gain that they did not include him. We also have a born Trini (Shaenon Williams) playing for the US team at right back. It could be fun to see Aaron up against his club team mate at the world cup.

« Reply #28 on: August 01, 2007, 10:43:02 AM »
Shaenon Williams was a striker, no ? they convert him...

Give us a break down on Aaron Kay B, like is he left footed, why he took so long to join T&T after we qualify, what position he plays, is he strong, fast,  etc etc.....

Offline Kay B

« Reply #29 on: August 01, 2007, 10:59:15 AM »
Shaenon Williams was a striker, no ? they convert him...

Give us a break down on Aaron Kay B, like is he left footed, why he took so long to join T&T after we qualify, what position he plays, is he strong, fast,  etc etc.....

Aaron and Shaenon are players. They play multiple positions and they do it well. I have no idea where Aaron is playing for T&T but he played outside midfield for his club team which won a national championship, he played a central defender for the Mass state team, he sometimes plays a holding midfielder, he is a track star in high school and he could learn a panorama tune in 2 weeks. Spanner(Leroy) and Shaenon's father both encouraged and recommended Aaron for the T&T squad and since school is real important for this kid, he could not come sooner.