April 23, 2024, 09:08:24 AM

Author Topic: U-17s get a taste of Amsterdam  (Read 3481 times)

U-17s get a taste of Amsterdam
« on: August 09, 2007, 12:37:02 PM »
U-17s get a taste of Amsterdam.

Trinidad and Tobago National Under 17 skipper Leston Paul says his players are shouldering the blame for an inept performance in their first training game on the current tour of Holland which saw them suffer a heavy 6-2 loss to Premier Division club De Graafschap on Tuesday.
Paul admitted that his team had only themselves to blame but promised that his charges would pick their game up.
“We were embarrassed because we didn’t start the game with any kind of intensity. We took too long to feel the team out and we paid the price early because they were three up in no time,” Paul told TTFF Media. “But I think we have learnt from that and these games are important. In some way we are happy for that type of game and now we know how our game must be sharp from the first whistle. We are still really developing so I don’t think it’s a matter of panicking right now.”
Paul and his teammates had a long run in Thursday’s morning session before the contingent had a chance to experience a bit of Amsterdam prior to another day of sessions on the pitch. Amsterdam is a 90 minute drive.
“We hopefully will pick things up on for the rest of the tour and get ready for Korea,” Paul added.
Head coach Anton Corneal allowed the players to have some fun time on the golf course on Wednesday evening as the players attracted the interest of several guests at the hotel who of course can relate to T&T due to the involvement of head coach Leo Beenhakker and Wim Rijsbergen.
“I think the evening was a good one because while the emphasis is on preparing for the tournament it’s also important that they have some time away from the pitch. The Federation has really ensured that this team has a good build up for the tournament and that is evident when you look at the facilities here. So in that way we will try to make the best of the experience because something like this is ideal for the preparation of future national teams as well. When you listen to what the directors and coaches say about their preparation here it makes one realize how much we need to do back home if we expect to get good results. This trip is ideal for us to realize that and try to follow pattern back home as well. To an extent we are doing it but there are ways we can follow suit and lift the standard of our preparations at all levels back home,” Corneal concluded.

Re: U-17s get a taste of Amsterdam
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2007, 12:51:02 PM »
with such a great youth system in place I wonder how come holland didn't make it.  home them fellaz keep out of the weed shops when they go amsterdam - time fuh dat on the way home.

« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2007, 12:55:19 PM »
Amsterdam has the best window shopping and Coffee Shops in the world!!   ;D

« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2007, 01:18:07 PM »
Hopefully none of them will smoke weed while there

« Reply #4 on: August 09, 2007, 01:30:06 PM »
Dem under nuff pressha. Take dem youths red light district let dem crack ah nut and relax we  ;D

« Reply #5 on: August 09, 2007, 02:01:25 PM »
pussy is the source of life and power.

educate them in amsterdam corneal.

« Reply #6 on: August 09, 2007, 02:02:59 PM »
Take dem to see the Anne Frank House a must see when in Holland. Not to mention it have a real nice Chinee Food place it was the best food I ate durin the WC

« Reply #7 on: August 09, 2007, 02:05:13 PM »
Take dem to see the Anne Frank House a must see when in Holland. Not to mention it have a real nice Chinee Food place it was the best food I ate durin the WC

it have real nice brazilian, russian, ukrainian, and other eastern european sushi there too  ;)

u cyah go amsterdam without having a taste.

« Reply #8 on: August 09, 2007, 02:09:42 PM »

Yuh make sure dey geh ah taste ah de red, white, and black eh, me personally wasn't too impressed w/the merchandise, but perhaps ah went ah de wrong time...

« Reply #9 on: August 09, 2007, 02:12:13 PM »
Speaking from experience family??