April 23, 2024, 02:54:44 AM

Author Topic: Liburd: Jabloteh cry discrimination.  (Read 5654 times)

Liburd: Jabloteh cry discrimination.
« on: August 26, 2007, 10:35:37 PM »
Jabloteh cry discrimination.
By: Lasana Liburd (Express).

Pro League team stand firm on player release

CL Financial San Juan Jabloteh chairman Jerry Hospedales yesterday accused the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation's coaches of discrimination as the row between Pro League club and country rumbled on.
National senior team coach Wim Rijsbergen claimed, in a T&TFF media release, Jabloteh were uncooperative and confirmed that under-23 coach Michael McComie would not select any player who failed to abide by their training schedule.
However, Hospedales countered that the T&TFF's training programme, which often comprises multiple sessions per week, was abnormal for any country with a professional league and attempted to bully local clubs in a manner that would not be tolerated by foreign outfits.
Hospedales and Jabloteh coach Terry Fenwick said that the club agreed with the T&TFF in January to release players for one session per week outside the FIFA international window and charged that the coaches had broken their own rules.
The conflict earned headlines three weeks ago when Rijsbergen and McComie refused to write a recommendation for national youth player Lester Peltier who was on the verge of a move to England Premier League club Portsmouthbarring a work permit application. Peltier was denied a work permit by the British Home Office and Jabloteh were furious at the snub from the T&TFF.
Hospedales admitted that the San Juan outfit, who are second in the league at present, would prefer a better working relationship with the T&TFF but claimed they could not bend any further.
"We want to see our players making the national teams and having careers abroad," said Hospedales, "but you cannot have a national team in training with a professional league running. In all other countries, (clubs) have three or four days before an international game to release their players; so why are they doing this to us?
"It is a discriminatory policy. The players abroad (who are not blacklisted) are not being called so why is it some and not all?"
Pro League CEO Dexter Skeene, who was present at January's meeting between Jabloteh and the T&TFF, could not be reached for comment.
Hospedales said that, although other Pro League teams made their players available for national training, his own squad would be at a massive disadvantage if they allowed the national coaches their way.
Last December, Rijsbergen selected 12 Jabloteh players for training in the build-up to the 2007 Caribbean Cup-three times more than the second best represented Pro League side, Neal & Massy Caledonia AIA, who were asked to send four representatives.
At least 18 of Fenwick's 25-man squad have played or been invited to represent Trinidad and Tobago at senior or youth level. Ten from his starting eleven used in Saturday's goalless draw against Vibe CT 105 W Connection have earned call-ups within the past six months.
The English coach bristled at the perceived unfairness of the T&TFF's position and admitted that it had created some discontent within his playing ranks. Jabloteh's former captain Kerry Baptiste left for Bmobile Joe Public this season after defying his club's instructions to play in the Caribbean Cup tournament and Fenwick has to convince players desperate for international glory to respect their domestic obligations.
"Wim is out of order," said Fenwick. "This won't be done anywhere else in the world. They are trying to pick a fight with me when we had a written agreement to let our players go on a Thursday that they went back on.
"Nowhere else in the world would any club allow that but we have and it is not enough.
We want to help the national team but they have to be reasonable and the only people who have suffered are the players."
Hospedales suggested too that the T&TFF's supposed penchant for pulling players out of their clubs might be equally damaging for the national teams.
Jabloteh had seven players on the national under-17 squad which was eliminated from FIFA World Championship yesterday. Hospedales said coach Anton Corneal stopped his players from representing their clubs for over a year and allegedly preferred a stipend of friendly matches.
"They banned them from playing (for their clubs) for two years and then expect them to perform at the highest stage," said Hospedales. "You think Germany did that? (Corneal) already organising his defence with the players saying they should not have played in the colleges' league. But people have to be accountable.
"You have to ask yourself, have they succeeded?"
Fenwick and Hospedales said they are willing to meet the T&TFF at any time to explain their position and are open to further dialogue. But both men urged the national coaches to apply common sense.
"How can they go to the competition leaving their best players behind?" asked Fenwick, who pointed to the absences of Atullah Guerra, Khaleem Hyland, Devon Jamerson, Marcelle Francois and Peltier from the national under-23 team. "It is absolutely ridiculous and unprofessional. They are letting emotions get in the way."
Hospedales agreed. "If public money is being spent to send our national teams abroad," said the club chairman and coordinator of the Divestment Secretariat in the Ministry of Finance, "shouldn't the best players be sent abroad and should they allow the best players be blacklisted?
"I don't mind if they are using their own money but, if public money is being spent, they need to sit down and come to an agreement with the clubs and players.
« Last Edit: August 27, 2007, 06:28:20 AM by Flex »

Re: Liburd: Jabloteh cry discrimination
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2007, 11:11:57 PM »
Jabloteh want to have dey cake and eat it too.

While dey have a point, is dem who pick de fight and now want to complain.

De 2 sides have to work together for the benefit of T&T football.  Jabloteh players not goin to get contract outside without their players representin de National team.  And more and more players will go the route Kerry Baptiste took to earn caps so they can have a chance at getting signed outside.

Hospedales and dem have a runnin battle wit de TTFF and Lord knows....de TTFF eh no angels...not by a longshot.  But it have a time and place to pick yuh battles and dis is one dey not winnin.  Too bad, because as usual, de ones who suffer is de players.

Jerry....u supposed to be a businessman.  In business, yuh have to know when to cut yuh losses and when to make yuh investments.  If yuh want to make a stand on principle, yuh better have de resources to back it up fuh de long term knowin de consequences of such action.  Doh play yuh goin in papers now and lookin to accuse de National coaches of holdin back de players.  You and yuh coach just as if not more culpable.

Offline Diambars

« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2007, 05:11:10 AM »
"Pro League CEO Dexter Skeene, who was present at January's meeting between Jabloteh and the T&TFF, could not be reached for comment. "

« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2007, 05:24:24 AM »
Hospedales and Jabloteh coach Terry Fenwick said that the club agreed with the T&TFF in January to release players for one session per week outside the FIFA international window and charged that the coaches had broken their own rules.
 "but you cannot have a national team in training with a professional league running. In all other countries, (clubs) have three or four days before an international game to release their players; so why are they doing this to us?

if there was an agreement signed then why does the TTFF want to change the arrangement now?
it is great to make a principled stand against the TTFF but they probably have been given "special advise" to do this, and he will never win as look who runs things... ;)
« Last Edit: August 27, 2007, 05:27:25 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Re: Liburd: Jabloteh cry discrimination.
« Reply #4 on: August 27, 2007, 07:06:13 AM »
Just now the T&T will have no team as the amount of "beef" they have with everyone is really forking annoying.

Blacklisted 16.
Jabloteh players.

Maybe Jack trying to make Joe Public the national team and Mike McComie will final become head coach, all the ass kissing he going will finally pay off.

But in all fairness, Jabloteh must be a little more co-operative when it comes to national team. Yes, they are right to stand up against the TTFF un-professional way, but its only their players they are hurting in the end. I guess anyway you look at it, Jack Warner always comes out on top.

« Reply #5 on: August 27, 2007, 07:19:42 AM »
Maybe Jack trying to make Joe Public the national team and Mike McComie will final become head coach, all the ass kissing he going will finally pay off.
Sam, if i was a betting man this would be where my money would go
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #6 on: August 27, 2007, 10:40:13 AM »

Jabloteh stands alone.  No other clubs are complaining....not even W-Connection.  Skeene has said nothing and he is the man to say whether it is unacceptable or not.

When you make a stand on principle you usually the one who will suffer...not other people..i.e. the players.

This politics battle they fighting with the TTFF not doing the players any good long or short term and the reasons are very unclear.  If they had a better relationship something would likely have been worked out.

« Reply #7 on: August 27, 2007, 03:25:55 PM »
Leff dem dey like d cheese

« Reply #8 on: August 27, 2007, 06:17:28 PM »
This is nothing new,this going on even before Fenwick ever came to that club,Hospedales always had problems with the TTFF he works very hard with Jabloteh to prove to them how much he knows and can run Football,his aim is to be the next president of the TTFF if that happens Fenwick will be our national team Coach,this is what all the fight is about.

« Reply #9 on: August 27, 2007, 08:20:29 PM »
release players for one session per week outside the FIFA international window

So let me get this right, he expect our National team to get ready for International duty with 1-day of training per week....??

While I understand his point about the agreement with TTFF, why aren't the other PFL teams complaining or even Skeene....??
He NOT tellin the whole story....

Offline Jay10

« Reply #10 on: August 27, 2007, 10:21:29 PM »

So let me get this right, he expect our National team to get ready for International duty with 1-day of training per week....??

While I understand his point about the agreement with TTFF, why aren't the other PFL teams complaining or even Skeene....??

lol....

This is an under 23 team. one session a week is good enough.
The players should be picked based on their performances in league play....bottom line....Why do we need so much time with our u 23 team??

Dem is big pro players.....senior pros do it...so is about time they learn....

They weren't prepared before so ,, wats the big fuss now....its not going to make any difference......

« Reply #11 on: August 28, 2007, 09:53:28 AM »

lol....

This is an under 23 team. one session a week is good enough.
The players should be picked based on their performances in league play....bottom line....Why do we need so much time with our u 23 team??

Dem is big pro players.....senior pros do it...so is about time they learn....

They weren't prepared before so ,, wats the big fuss now....its not going to make any difference......

You have to consider that Jabloteh probably have the most players present on the current NT.  When they go to NT training, it upsets their own program.  When the PFL was only two rounds and games on weekends only, I know Jabloteh used to train everyday, with one rest day mid week, then go into camp from the Friday for the game on Sunday.  They train twice a day in camp and also the morning of the game.  When yuh program like that it kinda hard to stick in a NT training program too.

Jabloteh also called foul a couple years ago when Joe Public won the league (in their second year returning to PFL ?), because they lost players to the NT and the league never stopped or allowed them to postpone games on account of a depleted side.  Public end up winning the league on goal difference.  I think that was the start of the war.

The next thing is that once-a-week training is hardly enough for any NT going into international competition.  These local fellas is not like Yorke and Latas et al.  When you training with your club everyday and the coach have yuh working a system and playing a particular role....then to go NT training for the one day and the NT coach working a completely different system, the average player might constantly ketch himself playing or positioning himself to what he is accustomed to for his club.  Also NT coaches not in a position to judge/impact players fitness levels, stamina, mental fortitude, injuries etc. on a constant basis.

My problem is that these players at home.  They doh have to fly in from overseas, so the club should be able to give some slack for NT duties.  It shouldn't be too hard to say that if you have three/four or more NT players on your roster (barring injuries or other circumstances), you should get a bligh to postpone your matches.

« Reply #12 on: August 28, 2007, 02:56:33 PM »
Pardners

Stevie and ray can see that Fenick is a capital K clown. They have to take the PBR and the CRH and the UBH to get to training not Heathrow and Gatwick and JFK. Loud steups

« Reply #13 on: August 28, 2007, 03:16:19 PM »
Pardners

Stevie and ray can see that Fenick is a capital K clown. They have to take the PBR and the CRH and the UBH to get to training not Heathrow and Gatwick and JFK. Loud steups

lol !

Although if training is in the morning...with wid all the traffic now, it might take just as long as coming through JFK oui  ;D

Offline Diambars

« Reply #14 on: August 30, 2007, 02:44:14 AM »

« Reply #15 on: August 30, 2007, 02:59:26 AM »
Skeene to the rescue  ...
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_sports?id=161196406
"Skeene confirmed that the T&TFF initially promised to request Jabloteh's players just once per week but said that his proposed meeting would attempt to clarify things for all Pro League teams in the future.
"We need to agree and determine things as regards the national set-up in advance," said Skeene, "so the clubs can plan for these international dates... Today it might be Jabloteh with more than four players but tomorrow it can be someone else.
"Everyone must come to an agreement because it will affect one club today and another tomorrow.""

Thank you Mr. Skeene,
I now believe that Jabloteh has been vindicated.
« Last Edit: August 30, 2007, 03:01:46 AM by WestCoast »

« Reply #16 on: August 30, 2007, 09:23:58 AM »
Not really.

The other clubs compromised.
Considering Fenwick's belligerent attitude in the past I don't think he made any effort to find a solution.
All politics....all this feuding is artificial and worse yet done on purpose.  They are actually happy for conflict....players suffering be damned.