choose your favorite

poster 1
1 (2.9%)
poster 2
30 (88.2%)
poster 3
3 (8.8%)

Total Members Voted: 33

Author Topic: vote for World Cup 2010 poster  (Read 8241 times)

vote for World Cup 2010 poster
« on: September 10, 2007, 01:57:58 PM »
http://www.fifa.com/poster

edit: winner must be a South African

« Last Edit: November 26, 2007, 10:51:14 AM by E-man »

Re: vote for World Cup 2010 poster - win tickets
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2007, 03:25:08 PM »
the link wasn't yet operational when i checked earlier in the day. The first one look real retro....way too clasical for the first world cup in Africa. The second one making a statement about the continent, you have to love it. The third one is very beautiful, but it looking somehow out of place.

I just glad nobody didn't follow up on them boring 'stadium posters' they used in Italy 90 and France 98 and them 2 unimaginative things they crank out for the last 2 editions. Sad to say it, but the last decent WC poster was the USA own.

« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2007, 03:34:54 PM »
Poster 2 for sure.

« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2007, 03:37:57 PM »
Poster 2 for sure.

I concur

Poster 3 is ah lil disturbing.......Plus de ball go be too slippery for man to kick when it come out

« Reply #4 on: September 10, 2007, 03:41:26 PM »
Poster 2 for sure.

I concur
Not only is it clever, but it have ah African feel tuh it. As soon as ah see de face, Fela Kuti come tuh mind.

« Reply #5 on: September 10, 2007, 03:41:51 PM »
Number 2

« Reply #6 on: September 10, 2007, 04:14:33 PM »
Number 2
Come nah man, doh say it like dat, it coming across as ah double entendre  :rotfl:.

« Reply #7 on: September 10, 2007, 06:30:07 PM »
Ok. Numero Dos!!!!!

« Reply #8 on: September 10, 2007, 07:51:33 PM »
Number 2
Come nah man, doh say it like dat, it coming across as ah double entendre  :rotfl:.
ahh ha ha ha

I concur
Poster 3 is ah lil disturbing.......Plus de ball go be too slippery for man to kick when it come out
dat supposed to be a pregnant woman?

ok
I immediatly get a continental feeling about the second one ;)

ok here is my best Zulu....
mina -khetha inamba -bili ( I choose number two )
http://isizulu.net/
Tallman how I did ;D
« Last Edit: September 10, 2007, 09:21:09 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #9 on: September 10, 2007, 07:59:51 PM »
number 2 for me...

something bout number 3 dont sit right with me...

so... so... wha yuh trying tuh say?? Africa is only about poor ass pregnant women holding dey belly in ah hot desert?

ok waay over the top, but yuh hadda admit it was a fleeting thought on first glance...

« Reply #10 on: September 10, 2007, 08:02:32 PM »
number 2 for me...
so... so... wha yuh trying tuh say?? Africa is only about poor ass pregnant women holding dey belly in ah hot desert?
ok waay over the top, but yuh hadda admit it was a fleeting thought on first glance...

maybe they trying to say,
"The whole continent is pregnant with anticipation about the world cup coming to South Africa."
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #11 on: September 10, 2007, 08:13:09 PM »
and check de beat up old mikasa football dey use for de pregnant belly...

i definitely see some latent connotations...

« Reply #12 on: September 10, 2007, 08:19:42 PM »
number 2 for me...

"The whole continent is pregnant with anticipation about the world cup coming to South Africa."

nah ah think they trying to show that Africa is the cradle of civilization..right Just Cool  ;)

anyway #2 look like the best concept

« Reply #13 on: September 10, 2007, 08:25:21 PM »
edit: winner must be a South African

ahhhhh, the beauty of "fine print"...steuuuups

« Reply #14 on: September 10, 2007, 09:15:03 PM »
It was between number 2 and 3 for me but I went with number 3 because I like the abstract vibe it gives off.

« Reply #15 on: September 10, 2007, 09:49:56 PM »
Dat was easy fuh me, ah went wid number 2. Tuh me it was de appropriate one fuh 2010 world cup in Africa. HIGHLY BLESSED.

« Reply #16 on: September 10, 2007, 10:10:24 PM »
number 2 for me...

I think number 3 was meant to symbolize de US defender after Robinho waltzes past him on the byline

« Reply #17 on: September 11, 2007, 11:38:20 AM »
Well yesterday when E-man put start de thread ah went one time to vote on FIFA website....den ah read de agreement and see de "must be South African" and steeuppss and eh bother to post....

But ah agree wid most, ah like # 2....

I was trying to see if there was something on de site about the ideas behind de posters so I might be better able to understand # 3.....but didn't find anything....

« Reply #18 on: September 11, 2007, 12:31:15 PM »
It eh have no member of d warrior nation family in SA? It have man in China and not SA to vote and represent d RWB because Jack insuring that d next time I go WC I go need a wheel chair to enter d stadia dem

« Reply #19 on: September 11, 2007, 01:04:29 PM »
I not really feeling Number...I mean de second one, lol.

To me it connotes too much of a "football is the savior" kinda vibes...that and it too UNESCO, "World Cup 2010, SA...help the poor Africans".

Eto'o face of 2010 World Cup
« Reply #20 on: November 23, 2007, 04:31:16 PM »
Eto'o face of 2010 World Cup
BBC Sport

Barcelona star Samuel Eto'o was unveiled on Friday as the face of the 2010 World Cup in South Africa.

Fifa president Sepp Blatter on Friday launched the poster for the first tournament to be staged in Africa.

An image of the Cameroon striker about to head a football, his face and neck superimposed on a map of Africa, will form the centrepiece of the publicity campaign for the tournament.

The 2010 World Cup is due to kick off in South Africa on 11 June.

"You will have no problem to recognise first of all that it's Africa and you have the face of one of the most popular and well-known faces of the continent," Blatter told reporters.

"He was not able to participate in the last World Cup but what is more important here is to give this continent a face, a human face in football," he said ahead of Sunday's draw for the qualifying rounds.

Eto'o was only 17 when he appeared in the 1998 tournament in France but the "Indomitable Lions" failed to qualify for the last World Cup in Germany.

The former African player of the year has been the target of racist chanting in Spain where he has also played for Real Madrid and Real Mallorca.

The 2010 World Cup organisers also revealed that South Africans will get cheap tickets to watch the 2010 World Cup on home soil.

South Africa's 2010 Local Organising Committee chairman Danny Jordaan said the special tickets were an attempt to make watching the finals as accessible as possible to South Africa's population, more than half of whom live below the poverty line.

« Reply #21 on: November 23, 2007, 04:41:20 PM »
The way the face angle I didn't make out Eto'o. Hopefully Cameroon qualify this time. That poster had to win hands down.

« Reply #22 on: November 23, 2007, 05:46:14 PM »
The way the face angle I didn't make out Eto'o. Hopefully Cameroon qualify this time. That poster had to win hands down.

me either i didnt even know that was eto'o. Cote D'ivoire is going to be the team to beat in Africa.

d_#1Trinba

« Reply #23 on: November 24, 2007, 03:32:40 PM »
one thing for sure is that i will have my money for one mm

« Reply #24 on: November 26, 2007, 10:48:20 AM »
FIFA president Sepp Blatter caused consternation among the World Cup organising committee when he unveiled the poster logo for 2010 and implied the face with the contours of the African continent with its eye on a football was based on Cameroon and Barcelona striker Samuel Eto'o. In fact, the design is modelled on a generic African footballer, but the fear after Blatter's comments is that Eto'o will complain that his permission was not given or that South Africans will be upset one of their players was not chosen.

http://www.mailonsunday.co.uk/pages/live/articles/columnists/columnists.html?in_article_id=496372&in_page_id=1951