April 25, 2024, 02:53:45 AM

Author Topic: Final team prepares for Olympic qualifier vs Cuba.  (Read 4818 times)

Final team prepares for Olympic qualifier vs Cuba.
« on: October 04, 2007, 04:46:53 PM »
Final team prepares for Olympic qualifier vs Cuba.

Trinidad and Tobago will be looking to the services of overseas-based trio of Kevon Neaves, Aaron Downing and Matthew Bartholomew to take them past the Caribbean final round of Olympic qualifiers which gets going here on Tuesday.
T&T will host the three-team group which includes Cuba and Grenada with the winner advancing to next year’s CONCACAF Final round leading to the Beijing Olympics. And coach Michael McComie along with Wim Rijsbergen and Jan Van Deinsen finalized the 20-man squad which will go into action against the Cubans from 5pm on Tuesday at the Marvin Lee Stadium, Macoya.
Neaves, who earned a call up from Leo Beenhakker and came on in the second half of T&T’s 2-0 win over Iceland last February, spearheads the list of five overseas-based players in the team which goes into camp from Saturday. Neaves trained and played that game in London alongside the likes of Dwight Yorke, Russell Latapy, Stern John and Carlos Edwards to name a few.
The ex-W Connection duo of Bartholomew and Downing have been absorbing the experience of European football since February in Belgium with Royal White Star Woluwe FC, while Marcelle Francois and English-based goalie Andre Charles are expected to add a bit more to the T&T outfit. Charles is a former National Under 17 and Under 20 goalkeeper and has been attending Southampton Solent University. Francois, a former National Under 20 team and CL Financial San Juan Jabloteh player is attached to the California University of Pennsylvania.
The rest of the team includes W Connection striker Shane Calderon, Joe Public’s Kendall Jagdeosingh, Caledonia AIA’s Carlyle Mitchell, Hayden Tinto, Superstar Rangers defender Corneal Thomas as well as United Petrotrin’s Keon Daniel and Simeon Augustus who impressed during the last group phase in Suriname. CL Financial San Juan Jabloteh’s Elton John also earned a pick but there is no place for Khaleem Hyland nor Atullah Guerra and Lester Peltier.
McComie also had to release defender Radanfah Abu Bakr who, if selected, would have missed the Cuba game having been red carded in the last game against Suriname. It means Abu Bakr would also have missed two weeks of School in England. McComie opted for another local defender instead.
“The coaches and I looked at our options closely and this is the final squad we came up with and we’re quietly confident they can pull us through this round,” McComie told TTFF Media. “It’s unfortunate though that we couldn’t get the kind of sessions we wanted which meant that we picked some players based on their performances in the FCB Cup games we saw. And this happened simply because after a meeting with the Pro League and the clubs in an attempt to arrange for the release of players for training, the League got back to us too late. So we return to the training ground this Saturday.
“We went with the players we felt are in better form right now and of course we also feel that the overseas-based players will bring the kind of leadership and form that we need to get by these teams, particularly Cuba. We think Cuba is the best prepared team in this group and that game will be a difficult one no two ways about it. We need to prepare well for them and stick to our game plan,” McComie added. The rest of the team is Larry Bacchus, Devon Drayton (United Petrotrin); Marcus Ambrose (Caledonia AIA); Alkie Edwards (Defence Force); Kevin Mussio (St Anthony’s College); Kareem Gray (W Connection) and Christopher Sam (Police FC).

Olympic Qualifier fixtures

9/10/2007 T&T vs Cuba 5:00pm Marvin Lee Stadium
11/10/2007 Cuba vs Grenada 5:00pm, Marvin Lee Stadium
13/10/2007 T&T vs  Grenada 5:00pm, Marvin Lee Stadium

Related News

T&T try to get right combination for cuba.

Cubans come in tonight.

Photo: Shaun Fuentes

« Last Edit: October 08, 2007, 08:18:26 AM by Flex »

Re: [U-23] Final Team Prepares for Olympic Qualifier vs Cuba
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2007, 05:05:35 PM »
Final Team Prepares for Olympic Qualifier vs Cuba.
By: TTFF Media.

The rest of the team includes W Connection striker Shane Calderon, Joe Public’s Kendall Jagdeosingh, Caledonia AIA’s Carlyle Mitchell, Hayden Tinto, Superstar Rangers defender Corneal Thomas as well as United Petrotrin’s Keon Daniel and Simeon Augustus who impressed during the last group phase in Suriname.  CL Financial San Juan Jabloteh’s Elton John also earned a pick but there is no place for Khaleem Hyland nor Atulla Gurra and Lester Peltier.

Wow that trio must  eh good enough.... but it eh suprising cause richard roy scoring in the pfl and shane calderon hardly getting minutes at WC unless roy injured  say wha wish the U23 the best ah luck.....
« Last Edit: October 04, 2007, 05:12:34 PM by Trini _2010 »

« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2007, 05:12:14 PM »

The rest of the team includes W Connection striker Shane Calderon, Joe Public’s Kendall Jagdeosingh, Caledonia AIA’s Carlyle Mitchell, Hayden Tinto, Superstar Rangers defender Corneal Thomas as well as United Petrotrin’s Keon Daniel and Simeon Augustus who impressed during the last group phase in Suriname.  CL Financial San Juan Jabloteh’s Elton John also earned a pick but there is no place for Khaleem Hyland nor Atulla Gurra and Lester Peltier.

Wow them men must  good enough..... i guess

Yuh see dis f**king politics... So Terry and Mcomie willing to f**k with Trinidad and Tobago's future over a dispute....

Both ah dem should get a big piece of wood ... beat de shit out of each other.. den replace both them with people who willing to benefit the country

as Anil would say Steupssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss
 >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:(

« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2007, 05:13:41 PM »

Wow them men must  good enough..... i guess

Yuh see dis f**king politics... So Terry and Mcomie willing to f**k with Trinidad and Tobago's future over a dispute....

Both ah dem should get a big piece of wood ... beat de shit out of each other.. den replace both them with people who willing to benefit the country

as Anil would say Steupssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss
 >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:(
they try out and did not make the grade....fair and square and the selection was based on the FCB cup
« Last Edit: October 04, 2007, 05:39:35 PM by Trini _2010 »

« Reply #4 on: October 04, 2007, 05:19:46 PM »
ian mc aulley coulda get call-up. he better than kevon

Bio

julius james

• M.A.C. Hermann Trophy candidate

• Lowe's Senior CLASS Award candidate

• Preseason Soccer America All-American

• Preseason College Soccer News All-American

• Preseason BIG EAST Defender of the Year

• Preseason All-BIG EAST

• Team Captain

• Soccer America National POW (10/2)

• Soccer America Team of the Week (10/2)

• BIG EAST Defensive Player of the Week (10/1)

• M.A.C. Hermann Trophy Semifinalist

• First Team NSCAA All-American

• First Team Soccer America All-American

• First Team College Soccer News All-American

• First Team All-Northeast

• First Team All-BIG EAST

• BIG EAST Defender of the Year

• Preseason Soccer America All-American

• Preseason College Soccer News All-American

• Preseason BIG EAST Defender of the Year

• Preseason All-BIG EAST

• Team Captain

• M.A.C. Hermann Trophy candidate

• Second Team NSCAA All-American

• First Team College Soccer News All-American

• First Team SoccerTimes.com All-American

• First Team All-New England

• First Team All-BIG EAST

• BIG EAST Defender of the Year

• Preseason All-BIG EAST

• Team Captain

• Second Team All-BIG EAST

• First Team All-New England

• First Team College Soccer News All-Freshman   

All-American

« Reply #5 on: October 04, 2007, 06:51:48 PM »
Question.

If Abu Bakr isn't selected for these matches, and we qualify for the final round, would he have to sit out our first match then, against a presumably bigger opponent ?

basically mih question is, if a man pick up a red card let we say headbutting ah opponent, and he happen to hurt his head in the process, seeing that he injured for the next match, does him not playing really count as a 'suspension' ?

« Reply #6 on: October 04, 2007, 07:04:01 PM »
CL Financial San Juan Jabloteh’s Elton John also earned a pick but there is no place for Khaleem Hyland nor Atulla Gurra and Lester Peltier.

Well look ting, Elton John got picked and he was not initially invited to de camp. So how dat wuk? Fenwick tell him tuh go, and he jes show up at de training sessions and impress McComie? Ah wonder if dis will set ah bad precedent, and man who feel dey deserve a call up go jes start appearing at training sessions? ;D

« Reply #7 on: October 04, 2007, 07:39:25 PM »
Dey eh pick Richard Roy? One of the best strikers in T&T! Dey gone mad or what. Elton John is a talented player no doubt but....is the youngest and least seasoned of all the Jab players. I feel McComie will just bench him. Maybe they plan to use Hyland and them for the national team tryouts ::).

McComie moving more and more like a young Jack everyday. He need to show some spine and rely on coaching skills not connections to achieve success.  He will get used up and excreted by the powers that be for their own ends if he is not careful. I hope he prove everybody wrong because he will have lost a lot of respect if we don't make it past Cuba.

« Reply #8 on: October 04, 2007, 08:42:54 PM »
CL Financial San Juan Jabloteh’s Elton John also earned a pick but there is no place for Khaleem Hyland nor Atulla Gurra and Lester Peltier.

Well look ting, Elton John got picked and he was not initially invited to de camp. So how dat wuk? Fenwick tell him tuh go, and he jes show up at de training sessions and impress McComie? Ah wonder if dis will set ah bad precedent, and man who feel dey deserve a call up go jes start appearing at training sessions? ;D
makes one wonder is really the deal with mackomie , fenwick and the three muskerteers
cause if fenwick send ah player that wasnt called and he eventually get picked ah starting to wonder is really the problem with the trio
 ??? ??? ???

Offline john_public

Re: Final team prepares for Olympic qualifier vs Cuba.
« Reply #9 on: October 05, 2007, 05:15:55 AM »
i eh sure if gurra strated to go trainin, or if peltier took part, ubt if u guys think them fellars get looked at properly and were found to be not good enough den ppl real blind.

and because u playin outa trini u beta than all locals

i seen mussio play, well only this season and for me this yute lazz. glad to see sam in the team

u k now morvant if julius decide to represent de us ( not sayin ever even taught about it) ppl go say he is a sell out, but how much times u go see men that eh as good as u, and every time trini playin we gettin an early goal in we tail, and u still eh gettin a call,

« Reply #10 on: October 05, 2007, 06:27:41 AM »
Question.

If Abu Bakr isn't selected for these matches, and we qualify for the final round, would he have to sit out our first match then, against a presumably bigger opponent ?

basically mih question is, if a man pick up a red card let we say headbutting ah opponent, and he happen to hurt his head in the process, seeing that he injured for the next match, does him not playing really count as a 'suspension' ?
Abu Bakr was not selected because he would have been missing school in vain.  Even if they brought him, he would have had to sit out the first match since he got a red card against Suriname.  The cause of the red card is not taken into consideration.  A red is a red.The next game after Cuba, he will be able to play.  So automatically, his absence count as a sit out.  Whether in the country or not.

« Reply #11 on: October 05, 2007, 07:35:54 AM »
Horse starving, when grass growing.

Let me try and make some sense out of this.

Arsenal, Millwall, Portsmouth and Cardiff City wanted Lester Peltier.

Khaleem Hyland, Lester Peltier and Atullah Guerra had solid commitments from Portsmouth and Ajax.

Celtic and Bayern Munich (rumour) wanted Hyland.

But yet they are not good enough for the T&T Olympic team. And players such as Kendall Jagdeonsingh (out of the FCB cup, scored no goals) and Hayden Tinto (in the finals, catching his ass to make Guyanese AIA side) shitting down themselves on the field.

Now all 3 was picked for trial with the Olympic team, who according to McComie couldn't get the kind of sessions they wanted because the League got back to them too late and they decided to just pick players base on FCB Cup play.

Then explain how Kevon Neaves, Aaron Downing, Matthew Bartholomew, Andre Charles and Marcelle Francois got picked when McComie didn't even see them play in over a year ? Not that these players is't good, I am sure they are some of the better youths coming up, but based on what they got picked over men who had been training with the team a while now. Dont get me wrong, its nice to call up Kevon Neaves, Aaron Downing, Matthew Bartholomew and Andre Charles but have them play a friendly game or 2 and then pick your team from there...

And to add to this, who is the scout for McComie ? Elton John wasn't even pick in the first place and decided to show up on his own and now he on the final 20 man squad.

Maybe McComie dont want the Jabloteh trio to go abroad. ?

Radanfah Abu Bakr place should have been taken by Carlon Murray and give Julius James a trial too. Bakr will only miss one game (vs Cuba) and once he get call up again if we make it to the next rounds all cards should be wiped out. Marcelle Francois slower than Marvin Andrews.....

I would really love to know whats the deal with Richard Roy, 8 PFL goals while Jagdeosingh (4) and Sam (6) and yet he didn't make the side.

A midfielder (Josimar Belgrave) have 8 goals also....

I feel McComie is over his head and I am hoping T&T do not suffer because of this asshole. A bald head cunny in the making.

« Last Edit: October 05, 2007, 07:46:53 AM by Flex »

« Reply #12 on: October 05, 2007, 09:36:45 AM »
Isn't Josimar Belgrave to old ? And how old is Carlon Murray and Julius James ? I know they are 2 good defenders and that is what we need badly...

I think Fabien Lewis, Makan Hislop, Yohance Marshall and Ancil Farrier are 4 defenders we need to keep track on...

Whats the deal with Shastri Spencer, Lyndon Luke, Kezi Lara, Makesi Lewis, Ricardo Peltier, Jason Devenish, Clevon George, Thorne Holder, Stephen De Las, Javed Mohammed, Kyle McIvor, Gorian Highley and Kareem Smith ? have not heard anything from them in a while. I know asome of them went on US schols. I think Smith left his club in Denmark too.. ?

Elijah Manners and former Mucurapo striker Richard Roy are good players too.

« Reply #13 on: October 05, 2007, 11:43:54 AM »
Hyland, Peltier, Guerra out of Mc Comie’s final list        
Friday, 05 October 2007  

Trinidad and Tobago U-23 coach Michael Mc Comie will be looking to the services of overseas-based trio of Kevon Neaves, Aaron Downing and Matthew Bartholomew to take the team past the Caribbean final round of Olympic qualifiers which gets going at the Centre of Excellence from Tuesday.

In a release by the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation media officer Shaun Fuentes it stated, “San Juan Jabloteh’s Elton John earned a pick but there is no place for club teammates Khaleem Hyland, Atulla Gurra and Lester Peltier.

T&T will host the three-team group which includes Cuba and Grenada with the winner advancing to next year’s CONCACAF Final round leading to the Beijing Olympics.

Coach Michael McComie along with Wim Rijsbergen and Jan Van Deinsen finalized the 20-man squad which will go into action against the Cubans from 5pm on Tuesday at the Marvin Lee Stadium, Macoya.

“I can’t see what the national coaches are doing really,” said a disappointed San Juan Jabloteh head coach Terry Fenwick. “We(Jabloteh) can’t believe that defenders Karlon Murray and Devon Jamerson were not also picked. I really don’t know what football they are watching to select players.”

“Karlon, Jamerson, Hyland, Guerra and Peltier are all players that were featured regularly by Jabloteh and we are on top of the League at the moment.”

Fenwick warns that Cuba may be the only threat at the moment and once T&T progresses to the next stage of qualifying, the coaches would need to rethink their squad and have the best players available.

In the release McComie said, “We went with the players we felt are in better form right now and of course we also feel that the overseas-based players will bring the kind of leadership and form that we need to get by these teams, particularly Cuba. We think Cuba is the best prepared team in this group and that game will be a difficult one no two ways about it. We need to prepare well for them and stick to our game plan.”
Kevon Neaves, who earned a call up from Leo Beenhakker and came on in the second half of T&T’s 2-0 win over Iceland last February, spearheads the list of five overseas-based players in the team which goes into camp from Saturday. Neaves trained and played that game in London alongside the likes of Dwight Yorke, Russell Latapy, Stern John and Carlos Edwards to name a few.

Ex-W Connection duo of Bartholomew and Downing have been absorbing the experience of European football since February in Belgium with Royal White Star Woluwe FC, while Marcelle Francois and English-based goalie Andre Charles are expected to add a bit more to the T&T outfit. Charles is a former national U-17 and U-20 goalkeeper and has been attending Southampton Solent University. Francois, a San Juan Jabloteh and former national U-20 player is currently attached to the California University of Pennsylvania.

The rest of the team includes W Connection striker Shane Calderon, Joe Public’s Kendall Jagdeosingh, Caledonia AIA’s Carlyle Mitchell, Hayden Tinto, Superstar Rangers defender Corneal Thomas as well as United Petrotrin’s Keon Daniel and Simeon Augustus who impressed during the last group phase in Suriname.

McComie also had to release defender Radanfah Abu Bakr who, if selected, would have missed the Cuba game having been red carded in the last game against Suriname. It also meant that the Caledonia AIA player would have missed two weeks of School in England.

“The coaches and I looked at our options closely and this is the final squad we came up with and we’re quietly confident they can pull us through this round,” said McComie.

“It’s unfortunate though that we couldn’t get the kind of sessions we wanted which meant that we picked some players based on their performances in the First Citizens Cup games we saw. And this happened simply because after a meeting with the Pro League and the clubs in an attempt to arrange the release of players for training, the League got back to us too late, so we would be returning to the training ground this Saturday.

The rest of the team is Larry Bacchus, Devon Drayton (United Petrotrin), Marcus Ambrose (Caledonia AIA); Akeil Edwards (Defence Force); Kevin Mussio (San Juan Jabloteh), Kareem Gray (W Connection) and Christopher Sam (Police FC).

« Reply #14 on: October 05, 2007, 08:20:22 PM »
Khaleem Hyland just scored the winner for Jabloteh in the FCB Cup. Jabloteh beat Petrotrin (1-0) for third place.

McComie you is a dam asshole in true....

Joe Public out of the FCB cup a long time now but you picking players base on FCB Cup performance.....  :rotfl: