April 25, 2024, 03:50:19 PM

Author Topic: Saints put the hurt on Malick.  (Read 5141 times)

Saints put the hurt on Malick.
« on: November 15, 2007, 11:26:10 PM »
Saints put the hurt on Malick.
By: Joel Julien & Nikita Braxton (Express).

St Mary's College showed their "Spartan" spirit and upset Malick Secondary Comprehensive 2-1 after extra-time in a hard-fought RBTT North Zone InterCol Final at the Hasely Crawford Stadium yesterday. Using the theme of the Spartans from the movie 300, the Saints, campaigning in the Senior Division of the Secondary Schools Football League (SSFL) after being relegated last year, were able to defeat their more fancied Championship Division rivals.
The game was a close encounter but the deadlock was eventually broken in the 75th minute when Malick skipper Robert Primus fired a bullet from outside the 18-metre box. St Mary's custodian Matthew Jardim could only parry the shot into the path of Akieem Bailey, who played the ball across the face of the Saints' goal where Brandon Victor tapped in.
The goal caused St Mary's head coach Jason Edwards to become aggravated and the referee eventually ordered him off to view the remainder of the game from the stands.
However, 11 minutes later, the CIC faithful were given something to cheer about when they levelled the score. St. Mary's captain Veer Lakhan-Joseph hit a well-directed cross to Hakeem King, who slotted it past the outstretched hands of Malick goalie, Joseph Baird.
Apart from losing their goal advantage, Malick also lost their captain when Primus received a second yellow card in the 90th minute.
The game flowed into extra time when there was another tense moment with Baird saving three consecutive close-range attempts on goal.
However, St. Mary's midfielder Leston Paul's golden boots did not disappoint and he scored the game-winner in the tenth minute of extra time.
Coach Edwards praised his team's effort, saying they "showed a lot of heart and Malick probably underestimated them". He also called on the SSFL to review the officiating of the final.
"A tough game but the better team won because we played with heart," Paul said over the screams of the St Mary's fans.
InterCol action continues today when the South Zone title will be decided with Naparima College taking on Presentation College San Fernando from 4 p.m. at the Manny Ramjohn Stadium, Marabella.
« Last Edit: November 16, 2007, 06:16:48 AM by Flex »

Re: Fairytale continues as St. Mary’s claim North Zone Title
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2007, 12:41:02 AM »
Dis thread deserves to be a sticky note  ;D :beermug: :beermug:

Offline thane

« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2007, 02:23:59 AM »
BIGGGGGGGGGGGGG....!!!

« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2007, 05:31:11 AM »
good triple save by the malik keeper.................guess thats y he collapsed in heap afterward

Re: Saints put the hurt on Malick.
« Reply #4 on: November 16, 2007, 08:27:21 AM »
ALL RIGHT SAINTS LEH WE GO AFTER THE TITLE NOW!!!!

Offline Lightning

« Reply #6 on: November 16, 2007, 08:48:32 AM »
Onward, march on.......
I spent a lot of money on booze, birds and fast cars. The rest I just squandered.

« Reply #7 on: November 16, 2007, 09:19:20 AM »
For all to see, here is the school song. YUH CAH STOP TRADITION!

Out of the shadows of the past they come to cheer us!
Boys of the old brigade of gallant CIC
And our thousand voices ring in mighty chorus
College of St. Mary's onto VICTORY!!!
Yonder our colours white and blue are proudly waving
Down the field our team comes sweeping crashing through
We’re urging them on
They’re dashing along
On, On
Fearless and strong
Go the boys of St. Mary’s college
Glorious throng...
Loyal sons of the old white and blue
Brave hearts and true
Write their name in triumphant story
Onward march on!
Boys of CIC to glory!!!!
« Last Edit: November 16, 2007, 09:38:35 AM by grskywalker »

« Reply #8 on: November 16, 2007, 11:10:41 AM »
Anybody see Morvant Man lately..........  :rotfl: :rotfl:

Guyanese AIA next !!!!!!! South team W Connection put a spool in they wheel last game....  :rotfl:

I never knew St Marys had some good players on that team like Leston Paul and Sean DeSilva, I would think they would have been playing for teams in the SSFL. They are two top T&T midfielders. But both need some weight though....  :rotfl:

« Reply #9 on: November 16, 2007, 11:13:02 AM »
« Last Edit: November 16, 2007, 11:53:56 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #10 on: November 16, 2007, 11:20:51 AM »
meh poors raise dey watchin dem pics and videos. fellas alyuh have meh beaming with pride for dat win!!! big congrats!!! :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #11 on: November 16, 2007, 12:59:35 PM »
Congrats CIC

Finish the war now...dont fall in the next battle.

« Reply #12 on: November 16, 2007, 01:06:38 PM »
And I thought my week couldn't get any worse..... :'(

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #13 on: November 16, 2007, 02:29:31 PM »
CIC yeah boy

licks like fire!

bring on the title!

« Reply #14 on: November 16, 2007, 04:00:59 PM »
And I thought my week couldn't get any worse..... :'(

doh worry ATO Fatima is also part of the Holy Ghost of Fathers so is ok if yuh support  :devil: :devil:

Offline Pasdah Beatz

• Spiritual Seal
  • I was born to die as a SoCa WaRrIoR
« Reply #15 on: November 16, 2007, 04:21:49 PM »
Is my life coming to an end
All these far out dreams becoming reality - CIC win north intercol whodah thunk it?

So does that mean my dreams could come through as well -
BEYONCE, BEYONCE Go mek meh meh breakfat gyul!!

Offline QWT

• In China, nothing surprises me anymore!
    • Resident Alien - a blog about my life in China
« Reply #16 on: November 17, 2007, 12:51:34 AM »
Haha, that's great news! :D