April 19, 2024, 04:49:08 PM

Author Topic: Hislop, Phillips weigh in on new coach.  (Read 7091 times)

Hislop, Phillips weigh in on new coach.
« on: January 04, 2008, 03:09:09 PM »
Hislop: Maturana's pedigree matches Beenhakker's.

Former Trinidad and Tobago World Cup goalkeeper Shaka Hislop has endorsed the latest appointment of Colombian Francisco Maturana as interim head coach of this country’s national team but remained realistic adding that only time will tell how well he fares at the helm.

Also fully supporting Maturana’s arrival on the T&T scene was technical director of the TTFF Lincoln Phillips who returned from the US on Friday morning. Phillips said one of the Maturana’s major assets is his man management ability having to work with the likes of former Colombian stars Carlos Valderamma, Rene Higuita and Faustino Asprilla and get the best out of them.

Hislop, currently president of the Football Players Association of T&T, feels too that the squad of players working under Maturana will have a lot to look forward to.

“Time will tell really how well this appointment goes but he is definitely a coach with a rich pedigree and a lot of experience,” Hislop told TTFF Media. “It’s too early now for people to guess how it will go but certainly we have given ourselves a big push forward by appointing someone with pedigree to match Leo Beenhakker. I certainly hope he can fit into the shoes that Beenhakker left… they will be very big shoes to fill and I truly hope he can do it.”

Hislop added that Maturana’s inability to speak fluent English will not be a problem.

“It shouldn’t be because it’s all about how he expresses his ideas to the team and to his coaching staff and less about how well he does interviews. Leo spoke English very well but his strengths were how well he communicated his ideas.

We know people who speak English as a first language and still have problem getting their ideas over. There have been coaches who have spoken different languages but also they have worked with players who didn’t speak their (coach’s) language and have done well and I have experienced that in my time as a player,” Hislop continued.

With his gloves now hung up, Hislop’s message to the current players was to embrace the coming period.

“Representing your country is the highlight of anyone’s career and I don’t care who you are or which club you play for. You have to embrace and enjoy it. It’s not always going to be easy but it’s something that will attract people and as players you have to embrace that. The players will have to give him (Maturana) the respect and opportunity he deserves to get the best out of the group. It should be as exciting a time as any,’ Hislop concluded.
Phillips says new coach will be a plus to local development.

Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation Technical Director Lincoln Phillip says his technical department will utilize the vast knowledge of newly appointed National Senior team interim head coach Francisco Maturana, ensuring that his experience trickles down through the development scheme at the various levels.

Phillips, knowing fully that Maturana’s main objective will be the preparation of the Senior team for the 2010 South Africa World Cup campaign, added that the Colombian would be bringing a proven track record to the T&T programme and the other coaches involved must benefit from having him here.

“We are very fortunate to get a coach of his caliber in such short notice,” Phillips told TTFF Media, crediting the efforts of Special Advisor Jack Warner and the TTFF in acquiring the services of the ex-Ecuador coach.

“He has a proven track record and has led teams in World Cups and at the Copa America and that’s a matter of record. What is very important from our standpoint is that his teams in the past have always played an attractive and attacking style of football which is consistent with the way we would like to play and our style of football… our way of life as a matter of fact,” Phillips added. “That meshes very nicely with what we have here.”

Noting that Maturana has been in charge of several high profile and flamboyant players such as Carlos Valderamma, Rene Higuita and Faustino Asprilla, Phillips rated the man’s player management skills.

“He has worked with these players like Valderamma and Higuita and has been able to get the best out of them which shows he has a lot of man management experience. These are guys who have their own drum beat and being able to get them to express themselves so well show me that his management skills are very good. This is an asset with him coming to Trinidad where we have so many of our players based overseas who work under several good managers.

“I am definitely looking forward to working along with him and ensuring that his experience is passed down to the coaching development program which is extremely vital,” Phillips said. Assistant coach Anton Corneal mentioned on Thursday that Maturana will be at the disposal of the local coaching fraternity and as has been the case in the past, coaches will be invited to observe national team training sessions.

“This is something we have done in the past especially under Beenhakker but these coaches do not readily take advantage of the opportunities. We hope though that we can take every bit out of having Mr Maturana working here with us,” Corneal said.

« Last Edit: September 12, 2008, 05:42:55 AM by Flex »

Offline Diambars

Re: Hislop, Phillips weigh in on new coach
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2008, 03:47:03 PM »
Like Shaka is a politician, less than two weeks ago he endorsed the current asst. as the rightman for the Job???

« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2008, 03:53:19 PM »
Like Shaka is a politician, less than two weeks ago he endorsed the current asst. as the rightman for the Job???

ah feel shaka looking for the job of goalkeeping coach

« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2008, 03:58:31 PM »

I was going to say the same thing, and then I study that to be the head of FPATT, yuh had to be a politician in truth oui....especially if yuh have to deal with the Chaguanas MP.  

I feel a lot of time men does just say what they expect the public want to hear...just not cause no hoola-baloo, but behind the scenes, they saying....WTF ?

Then again, what else the man go say boy...if he could endorse Corneal, then who he wouldn't endorse...except probably Pardners  ;D

« Reply #4 on: January 04, 2008, 04:09:22 PM »

Then again, what else the man go say boy...if he could endorse Corneal, then who he wouldn't endorse...except probably Pardners  ;D

If yuh bring him ah fish broth he go recommend yuh fuh de wukk

« Reply #5 on: January 04, 2008, 04:12:35 PM »

Then again, what else the man go say boy...if he could endorse Corneal, then who he wouldn't endorse...except probably Pardners ;D

If yuh bring him ah fish broth he go recommend yuh fuh de wukk

Wey sah...allyuh still remember that fish broth ?  That seem like so long ago ah bubble them two pot.

« Reply #6 on: January 04, 2008, 04:25:42 PM »
I never taste it....but de reviews from odder people make it de broth pot of legend

dat same year yuh was supposed to take ah lil vacation up in foreign and bring some.....ah still lickin mih lip and waitin

« Reply #7 on: January 04, 2008, 04:55:30 PM »
Ah did pass through NY, but didn't meet up with the boys.  Doh worry next time it have something in foreign, yuh boy go bubble something special for the foreigners.

Re: Hislop, Phillips weigh in on new coach.
« Reply #8 on: January 04, 2008, 07:34:10 PM »
Lincoln...doh talk too early befor Don Pacho come and pelt a right left combi at yuh....

« Reply #9 on: January 04, 2008, 11:19:26 PM »
U see y I cyah b a politician u have to endorse left, right and center

« Reply #10 on: January 04, 2008, 11:37:09 PM »
Shaka is on firm ground. In the first instance he was asked about Corneal. He gave a Corneal-specific response. In the second he was asked about Maturana. He gave a Maturana-specific response. He wasn't asked about Corneal v. Maturana.

Part of the discussion should rest on Fuentes' timing in asking.

« Reply #11 on: January 04, 2008, 11:54:45 PM »
D only way to support Anton is when u are being PC

« Reply #12 on: January 05, 2008, 10:47:13 AM »
Curious as to why hislop did  commented on the constant changing of coaches

« Reply #13 on: September 11, 2008, 04:11:05 PM »
I wonder what they saying now ....

« Reply #14 on: September 11, 2008, 04:13:03 PM »
Hislop: Maturana's pedigree matches Beenhakker's.

Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation Technical Director Lincoln Phillip says his technical department will utilize the vast knowledge of newly appointed National Senior team interim head coach Francisco Maturana, ensuring that his experience trickles down through the development scheme at the various levels.
Phillips, knowing fully that Maturana’s main objective will be the preparation of the Senior team for the 2010 South Africa World Cup campaign, added that the Colombian would be bringing a proven track record to the T&T programme and the other coaches involved must benefit from having him here.
“We are very fortunate to get a coach of his caliber in such short notice,” Phillips told TTFF Media, crediting the efforts of Special Advisor Jack Warner and the TTFF in acquiring the services of the ex-Ecuador coach.

Ah boy what he saying now !!!!

« Reply #15 on: September 11, 2008, 04:16:51 PM »
Ah..maturana's pedigree matches Beenies. Nutten wrong with that statement. but pedigree is a measure of the past. it eh helping us out now at all. Pele have real pedigree...but he starting up front for my team today.

anyhow..lewwe give Maturana a chance yes. De dance eh over. We have a job to finish and coaches have had worse starts to their career and come out heros. football is a funny thing. let's see what we thinkg after we meet Guatemala in October if Maturana is still coach then

« Reply #16 on: September 11, 2008, 04:53:49 PM »
Hislop singing another tune today. :devil: Can't wait for his Espn column released

« Reply #17 on: September 11, 2008, 10:49:12 PM »
Well Phillips still being served d dotish juice and blieve dat d DUMBTIST should stay. Shaka has found an anditode 4 d poison dat he drank when he supported his appointment

« Reply #18 on: September 12, 2008, 06:14:13 AM »
From what I read by scanning that is that

Shaka saying that he was a successful coach for Colombia because he could manage big talents. To me if yuh have th elikes of Rincon, Valderrama and Asprilla it kinda obvious that you need to keep them at all costs. What I woul dlook at was that he had success because he had great talents to work with

Lincoln saying that he not to bothered by the possibility of WC qualification because we blooding young players for the future and we learning about player development.