April 26, 2024, 04:23:01 PM

Author Topic: Africa Cup Thread  (Read 40823 times)

Togo will play in African Cup after deadly ambush
« Reply #31 on: January 10, 2010, 12:12:55 AM »

Togo has changed its mind and agreed to play in the African Cup of Nations, according to French sports daily L'Equipe on its website on Saturday — despite a call from Togo's government to return home following the deadly attack in Angola.

"The entire delegation just met and, after all, we'll be on the pitch Monday to play against Ghana," midfielder Alaixys Romao, who plays for French club Grenoble, was quoted as saying. Friday's attack killed an assistant coach, a team spokesperson and the Angolan bus driver, according to the team and the Togo government.

Angolan Information Minister Manuel Rabelais said Friday that eight team members and one Angolan were injured.

Togo forward Thomas Dossevi had told the Associated Press in a phone interview that it would pull out of the tournament and fly out of Angola early Sunday.

Efforts to reach a tournament spokesman and Dossevi by phone after the team changed its mind went unanswered.

"People died for this tournament, others were injured. We can't abandon them and leave like cowards. If we stay here, it's for them. But also so as not to give satisfaction to the rebels," Romao reportedly said.

"Our government doesn't necessarily agree with us but we are determined to play in this competition. The decision was taken unanimously."

Africa's football championship was expected to open as planned on Sunday, even though other teams were shocked and worried by the ambush of the Togo bus as it entered Angola's restive, oil-rich Cabinda province.

"We have goosebumps … who knows what is going to happen to us," Amade Chababe, Mozambique assistant coach, told AP Television News when the squad passed through Johannesburg en route to Angola on Saturday.

Gunmen in an area in Angola plagued by separatist violence used machine-guns to open fire on the bus. Togo's bus, in a convoy from Congo, was about 10 kilometres across the border in Angola when it came under fire.

Re: The 2010 African Cup of Nations
« Reply #32 on: January 10, 2010, 09:35:59 AM »
ooooohhhhhkkkkkkaaaayyyyy.......I could understand where they coming from if they did indeed change their minds and decide to play.....going home would give the terrorists (btw dat term applies these brutes or only people of the Islamic faith??...but I digress) credence.

But how they going back home??  By bus??  Again??  with plenty armed escort I guess....fighter jets and tank and thing??  ??? ???

« Reply #33 on: January 10, 2010, 09:39:51 AM »
I'm saddened by this decision... I hope they would have played for Honor and for the love of the game despite tragedy.... My heart goes out to our fellow brothers in Togo.

« Reply #34 on: January 10, 2010, 11:37:54 AM »
I'm saddened by this decision... I hope they would have played for Honor and for the love of the game despite tragedy.... My heart goes out to our fellow brothers in Togo.

Daft Trini, did you read this (article below) or yuh just trying to live up to your name?  8)

Togo has changed its mind and agreed to play in the African Cup of Nations, according to French sports daily L'Equipe on its website on Saturday — despite a call from Togo's government to return home following the deadly attack in Angola.

"The entire delegation just met and, after all, we'll be on the pitch Monday to play against Ghana," midfielder Alaixys Romao, who plays for French club Grenoble, was quoted as saying. Friday's attack killed an assistant coach, a team spokesperson and the Angolan bus driver, according to the team and the Togo government.

Angolan Information Minister Manuel Rabelais said Friday that eight team members and one Angolan were injured.

Togo forward Thomas Dossevi had told the Associated Press in a phone interview that it would pull out of the tournament and fly out of Angola early Sunday.

Efforts to reach a tournament spokesman and Dossevi by phone after the team changed its mind went unanswered.

"People died for this tournament, others were injured. We can't abandon them and leave like cowards. If we stay here, it's for them. But also so as not to give satisfaction to the rebels," Romao reportedly said.

"Our government doesn't necessarily agree with us but we are determined to play in this competition. The decision was taken unanimously."

Africa's football championship was expected to open as planned on Sunday, even though other teams were shocked and worried by the ambush of the Togo bus as it entered Angola's restive, oil-rich Cabinda province.

"We have goosebumps … who knows what is going to happen to us," Amade Chababe, Mozambique assistant coach, told AP Television News when the squad passed through Johannesburg en route to Angola on Saturday.

Gunmen in an area in Angola plagued by separatist violence used machine-guns to open fire on the bus. Togo's bus, in a convoy from Congo, was about 10 kilometres across the border in Angola when it came under fire.

« Reply #35 on: January 10, 2010, 11:57:03 AM »

Daft Trini, did you read this (article below) or yuh just trying to live up to your name?  8)

ah reading now that de togolese govt requesting de team to return. it sound like they cyah guarantee their security so they want them to quit the competition. wonder what rebels coming out of de woodwork in SA for WC? ???

« Reply #36 on: January 10, 2010, 12:33:26 PM »
Was confirmed that Togo will take no part in this tourney.

Not sure how this would impact that group, or what the rules will dictate but I imagine another African Team could be called to fill the spot...

Would personally like to see Morocco...
« Last Edit: January 10, 2010, 12:38:49 PM by College »

« Reply #37 on: January 10, 2010, 01:02:17 PM »

« Reply #38 on: January 10, 2010, 01:51:01 PM »
2-0 to Angola at the half.

Offline TdotTrini

« Reply #39 on: January 10, 2010, 02:57:36 PM »
4-4 FT
Teamwork divides the task and multiplies the success

« Reply #40 on: January 10, 2010, 02:59:48 PM »

« Reply #41 on: January 10, 2010, 03:20:26 PM »
I switch off at 4-1 Angola. That is amazing.

« Reply #42 on: January 10, 2010, 03:48:09 PM »
I want to see a semifinal of Cameroon, Ivory Cost, Ghana and Nigeria

« Reply #44 on: January 10, 2010, 06:23:53 PM »
A similar situation but not quite the sames as in Angola. The Basque in Spain, France, Portugal. Taken form today's BBC.

Four suspected members of the Basque separatist group ETA have been arrested in Portugal and France, officials say.

Police found explosives and weapons in a van as they arrested two of the suspects near Portugal's border with Spain, Spain's interior minister said.

The other two were picked up in central France. They were caught with weapons, false number plates and fake documents, officials said.

Eta has waged a 41-year campaign for an independent Basque homeland.

The group has been blamed for more than 820 deaths in that period. It ended its most recent ceasefire in June 2007.

Spanish Interior Minister Alfredo Perez Rubalcaba said the operation that culminated in the arrests near Clermont-Ferrand in France had been started by French authorities several months ago, triggered by a concentration of vehicle thefts attributed to ETA.

Mr Perez Rubalcaba said the man and the woman arrested belonged to ETA's "logistical-military apparatus" that supplies the group's militants with explosives and weapons.

Spain raised its terrorism alert level to two on a four-point scale last month before it assumed the six-month presidency of the EU.

Offline Reaper2004

• Warrior Nation Enforcer
« Reply #45 on: January 10, 2010, 09:10:37 PM »

« Reply #46 on: January 11, 2010, 11:55:22 AM »
shocker - malawi 3 : algeria 0

ivory coast and burkina faso 0-0 at the half.

security beef up...angola style.

« Reply #47 on: January 12, 2010, 01:36:58 PM »

« Reply #48 on: January 12, 2010, 06:34:19 PM »
the big one today - egypt 3, nigeria 1

highlights, etc. - http://footballfashion.wordpress.com/2010/01/12/video-egypt-3-nigeria-1-africa-cup-of-nations-2010-highlights/

I expected Egypt to do well yuh know..everytime they are underestimated and still prove alot of people wrong

« Reply #49 on: January 12, 2010, 09:02:21 PM »

« Reply #50 on: January 13, 2010, 01:39:22 PM »
Why is that nobody seems to have interest in the African Nations Cup?
Not much interest in de brudaz eh.

« Reply #51 on: January 13, 2010, 02:00:11 PM »
frico,
          we can't get the games FREE!!!!!

« Reply #52 on: January 13, 2010, 03:36:03 PM »
actually you could pick up some of the games on justin.tv

Offline mwanasoka

• Football is played from de neck up.
« Reply #53 on: January 13, 2010, 04:00:45 PM »
Cameroon  geh beat by Gabon today ( 0 x 1 )
Ito'o captain de team and look ineffective.
When the power of love overcomes the love of power,the world will know peace.

« Reply #54 on: January 13, 2010, 04:14:43 PM »
Why is that nobody seems to have interest in the African Nations Cup?
Not much interest in de brudaz eh.
The schedule not work-friendly.

« Reply #55 on: January 14, 2010, 08:04:32 AM »
Dont get me wrong mates,I am actually looking at the matches on the net,but I miss the comments by some of the blokes on this MB.Everything seems so quiet when Caribbean interest should really be high.I do understand the reasons though.

Offline mwanasoka

« Reply #56 on: January 14, 2010, 08:30:19 AM »
Dont get me wrong mates,I am actually looking at the matches on the net,but I miss the comments by some of the blokes on this MB.Everything seems so quiet when Caribbean interest should really be high.I do understand the reasons though.
Yuh absolutely right eh ! I could hear de crickets in de backgrong.

At de start I tort we couldn't get to see de games but now I seein

them on Myp2p & jess sine up below.I doh know how Myafricanfootball.com

work yet. In about ah hour & ah half is : MLI vs. ALG  then  ANG  vs.  MWI.

http://www.fifa.com/worldfootball/nationalteams/index.html

« Reply #57 on: January 14, 2010, 08:31:37 AM »
Frico,
           There seems to be a number of reasons. You may agree or disagree. Like someone said it is not work friendly and is not shown of the major sports channels. There is also a feeling that this nations cup is just before the WC and the players(from the african WC qualifiers) may not be putting out their all(fear of injuries). Then there is the EPL, Liga, Calcio, Bundesliga kinder readily available. Then there is the situation with TOgo.

Offline mwanasoka

« Reply #58 on: January 14, 2010, 09:02:26 AM »
Frico,
           There seems to be a number of reasons. You may agree or disagree. Like someone said it is not work friendly and is not shown of the major sports channels. There is also a feeling that this nations cup is just before the WC and the players(from the african WC qualifiers) may not be putting out their all(fear of injuries). Then there is the EPL, Liga, Calcio, Bundesliga kinder readily available. Then there is the situation with TOgo.

' Fear of injury ' factor is so true.Brake yuh leg now & have tuh depend on yuh CLUB to fix it, like TTFF ?

This may be why these super ballers just bearly braking ah sweat.

« Reply #59 on: January 14, 2010, 01:06:59 PM »
I think the explanations are logical for the lock of interest as some of you explained but I see the games on Myp2.The atmosphere though is lost because of the lack of posts,some funny,some true,some critical,well yuh get the idea.Its like having sex without foreplay. ;D