April 19, 2024, 04:17:41 PM

Author Topic: Super Bowl XLII -GIANTS VS PATRIOTS  (Read 8690 times)

Super Bowl XLII -GIANTS VS PATRIOTS
« on: January 21, 2008, 11:57:36 AM »
Top 10 Super Bowl storylines
Updated: January 21, 2008, 11:27 AM EST 18 comments RSS digg blog email print Did you ever wonder what happens to all those T-shirts and caps when events don't play out exactly as expected?

Like, for example, all the "Green Bay Packers 2007-08 NFC Champions" paraphernalia that had to be secreted away from Lambeau Field on Sunday night.

Maybe it goes to the same place as all those ledes written by sportswriters trying to get a jump on their deadlines.

With the Super Bowl coming to the state that gave us the O.K. Corral, can you imagine all the Old Gunslinger storylines that just disappeared into the dustbin of history when Brett Favre was picked off by Corey Webster in OT on Sunday?

So we won't have ol' No. 4 riding into town for one last shootout, but we will have these 10 storylines as the road-ragin' Giants take on the perfection-pursuing Patriots.

1. The rematch
With the Vegas line opening at Patriots -13.5, the question will be how can the Giants hang with New England?

Well, for starters by doing pretty much doing what they did in Week 17 to build a 28-16 lead, the largest deficit the Patriots faced all season.

In that coming-of-age performance by Eli Manning, the Giants were able to do what no other Patriots opponent could this season: score five touchdowns. As the Chargers learned on Sunday and the Jaguars the week before that, if any team wants to have a shot at upsetting the juggernaut, it had better come away with touchdowns in the red zone.

Manning was brilliant in the red zone in the first meeting, throwing a TD pass on each of the Giants' four trips inside the 20.

Which brings us to...

2. Brady vs. Manning (again)In 2003, 2004 and 2006, Tom Brady and Peyton Manning ended each other's season. The 2007 season ends for Brady and Eli Manning on the same day no matter what happens Feb. 3, but the kid brother will be trying to do what big bro did last year: outsling Brady over 60 minutes.

Check out the quarterbacks Eli Manning has outplayed as he's climbed the ladder to the Super Bowl: former Pro Bowler Jeff Garcia, current Pro Bowler and $67.5-million-dollar man Tony Romo and Hall of Famer Brett Favre. In the first two playoff games, Manning's QB rating was more than 50 points higher than his counterparts, and on Sunday — despite several drops — Manning out-rated Favre, who threw two picks, including the game-loser in OT.

If Manning outplays league MVP Tom Brady, the Giants' ridiculous run — a record 10 straight road wins — may just end with the Lombardi Trophy.

And it's not out of the question. On Sunday, Brady was picked off three times in comparatively balmy weather.

3. A country for old men
With its dry, warm weather and short par-4s, Arizona may just be the most hospitable place in America for old folks.

Which is just fine with Junior Seau, Rodney Harrison, Michael Strahan and Amani Toomer.

Seau, 39, and Harrison, 35, keyed a Pats D that did not allow a touchdown in the AFC Championship game. Seau had a sack and knifed through the line for a key third-down stop inside the 5. Harrison was not only his usual battering-ram self in run support, but he consistently put pressure on Philip Rivers with his perfectly timed blitzes.

Strahan, 36, was held in check by Green Bay, but amassed an absurd 15 solo tackles in the first two rounds of the playoffs. One week after scoring twice against the Cowboys, Toomer, 33, made a diving 23-yard catch to set up the Giants' final touchdown.

Throw in 41-year-old Giants punter Jeff Feagles, making his first Super Bowl appearance after 20 years in the league, and there figures to be some very happy football geriatrics on Feb. 3.

4. The grouch v. the ex-grouchWho would have thought that when Tom Coughlin finally got to the Super Bowl, he'd be Mr. Nice Guy in the coaching comparison?

On the verge of losing the team with his "if you're five minutes early, you're late" discipline, Coughlin pulled a mid-life mellow heretofore unseen in the professional coaching ranks. Even guys like Bill Parcells and Mike Ditka, whose doctors ordered them to take it easy after heart attacks, couldn't pull off the spiritual shift that Coughlin has undergone this season.

Strahan, who chaffed under Coughlin to the point of considering retirement, has even acknowledged that his coach now cracks jokes. Jokes! It may be the only turnaround more impressive than that of the team.

Bill Belichick, however, hasn't changed a bit. And don't expect him to.

5. Plax and the SmurfsPlaxico Burress is a beast. He is 6-foot-5, 232 pounds and he can run. He caught 11 passes on Sunday for 154 yards, and would have been pushing 200 had the ball not squirted out upon hitting the ground after a sprawling catch at the end of the first half.

The Patriots' corners are not beasts. They are Smurfs. Asante Samuel is listed at 5-10. Ellis Hobbs at 5-9.

Plaxico Burress' height may cause some major problems for the Patriots' corners. (Jamie Squire / Getty Images)

They have struggled with big receivers in the postseason. The 6-5 Vincent Jackson had six catches for 93 yards against them one week after the 6-6 Matt Jones and 6-4 Ernest Wilford both caught touchdown passes against them for the Jaguars.

In Week 17, Burress set the tone with a 52-yard catch on the Giants' second play from scrimmage. Hobbs had perfect coverage on the play, but was simply too short to be much of a bother when Burress went up to get the ball.

Burress finished with four catches for 84 yards and two touchdowns. If Bill Belichick tosses and turns in the next two weeks, it will no doubt be with thoughts of the monstrous No. 17 in his head.

6. Those one-dimensional Patriots
Injuries to Laurence Maroney and Sammie Morris, coupled with the why-bother-running success of the Patriots passing game, led New England to long spells of one-dimensionality this season.

It was during this eight-week midseason stretch without a runner exceeding 75 yards that the conventional wisdom cemented: The Pats won't run the table because they can't run the ball.

Nobody is saying that anymore. Since Week 15, Maroney has gone over 100 yards four times in five games. The only team to hold him under 100 was the Giants, who held him to 46 yards on 19 carries, but he did punch it in twice against them.

Over his last five games, Maroney has rushed for 550 yards, including back-to-back 122-yard efforts in the playoffs, and six touchdowns.

On Sunday, with Brady struggling against the Chargers' active defense, Maroney carried the team on his back, ripping off 106 yards in the second half as the Patriots played keep away and chewed up over 20 minutes of possession after intermission.

7. Where's Randy?Against the Jaguars in the divisional round, it was understood that the Jags were bracketing Randy Moss and giving the Patriots the underneath stuff to Wes Welker and Kevin Faulk.

But on Sunday in the conference title game, the Chargers were mixing up their looks, sending blitzes and playing Moss straight up at times. And still, he was invisible.

Moss had one catch for 18 yards and one drop. On a third-and-three in the first half, he ran a soft, rotten banana of a square-in that was easily jumped and batted down by Quentin Jammer. The guy who spent the season driving corners off him with sharp routes was nowhere to be found (actually it was Vincent Jackson).

Moss' head may have been elsewhere. But considering the Patriots needed every bit of his six-catch, 100-yard, 2-TD performance to beat the G-Men in Week 17, he'd better get his mind right over the next two weeks.

8. Maybe Tiki Barber was the problem
Speaking of Coach Coughlin, one player who missed out on the transformation may now be wishing he had spent the last year on the field instead of ripping his former team.

Tiki Barber's comments about Eli Manning and Tom Coughlin did not turn out to be prophetic. (Matthew Stockman / Getty Images)

For years, Tiki Barber was the Giants' best player. Some days he seemed like the only above-average player on the team. When he retired at 31 and in good health and started taking shots at Coughlin and the alleged unleaderly Manning, it was hard to argue with anything he said.

Now, though, with Coughlin squeezing the most out of his team by loosening his grip and Manning looking like an unflinching battlefield commander, it's hard to even believe these are the guys Barber was talking about.

9. The Domenik mystique
Perhaps no player has ever had a season swing as wildly from one end of the pendulum to the other as Giants kick-returner Domenik Hixon. Talk about a long return. He's taken it all the way from the waiver wire to the Super Bowl.

After suffering the trauma of being in on the opening day hit that threatened to paralyze Bills tight end Kevin Everett, Hixon was released by the Broncos on Oct. 2, nine days after fumbling in a loss to the Jaguars.

Rescued immediately off the scrap heap by the Giants, he has provided a spark on special teams. He returned a kickoff for a touchdown against New England in Week 17 and saved New York against the Pack with his heroic dive on R.W. McQuarters' fourth-quarter fumble.

10. Welcome to GlendaleThe Giants don't lose away from the Meadowlands. In their last 10 games not played in New Jersey, they are not only undefeated, but they have held their opponents to just 148 points over those games (while scoring 237).

During the stretch, they have won in six blue states (Maryland, Michigan, Illinois, Pennsylvania, New York and Wisconsin), three red states (Georgia, Florida, Texas) and one United Kingdom. They have won in sun, rain and bitter cold. Seven of their 10 straight road victories have been by seven points or less with three decided by a field goal.

The Patriots, meanwhile, proved that pretty much the only thing that could even slow them down was inclement weather. In the 10 games played before Thanksgiving, New England averaged 41.1 points per game and had an average margin of victory of over 25 points per game.

The average daily high for Feb. 3 in Glendale is 71 degrees.

Offline sinned

Re: Super Bowl XLII -GIANTS VS PATRIOTS
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2008, 02:51:25 PM »
pats all the way

« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2008, 10:17:42 PM »
Cutass book.
The underverse will endure.

« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2008, 05:58:41 PM »
Cutass book.
The underverse will endure.

Yuh sayin de giants is de equivalent of Furians?

« Reply #4 on: February 03, 2008, 12:18:22 PM »
any wagers,anyone?

« Reply #5 on: February 03, 2008, 05:23:39 PM »
Giants by 3
 :whistling:
 :nailbiting:
« Last Edit: February 03, 2008, 05:25:21 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline JayTheWrecker

« Reply #6 on: February 03, 2008, 05:30:49 PM »
i've had a fair sized wager on New York but with a 12.5 point start

i think New England will probably win but i don't think the Giants are going to get tanked as the spread suggests

NE havent looked too strong last couple of games imo and NY are on a roll and nothing to lose and +12.5 is an insult for me

SO COME ON YOU GIANTS!!!  :wavetowel:
Son, there's only two things that matter in this life. Family and Football. Everything else is bullshit

« Reply #7 on: February 03, 2008, 06:08:46 PM »
New England to win

Giants to cover

Take the over

« Reply #8 on: February 03, 2008, 06:11:29 PM »
giants ent play day lucky
play look like a fumble den next play man miscover de receiver for a giants big gain ;)
spoke tooooo soon
interception NE...darn it

Giants defence doin GREAT
is de Offense dat I take offence to ;D
« Last Edit: February 03, 2008, 06:30:44 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #9 on: February 03, 2008, 08:46:56 PM »
New England to win

Giants to cover

Take the over

Well two out of three isn't bad.

Giants need a touchdown with 2.5 minutes.

This is where Eli gets picked.

« Reply #10 on: February 03, 2008, 08:59:14 PM »
Giants 3 up
0:10
NE ball on their own 16
4th and 20
1 time out
 :nailbiting: :nailbiting:

Giants WIN!!!!!!!!!!!!
« Last Edit: February 03, 2008, 09:04:33 PM by WestCoast »

« Reply #11 on: February 03, 2008, 08:59:57 PM »
NEW YORK NEW YORK GIANTS

« Reply #12 on: February 03, 2008, 09:06:09 PM »
Great game ,congrats New yorkers   :beermug:

« Reply #13 on: February 03, 2008, 09:10:55 PM »
I come back to delet meh post quick quick but allyuh men beat meh.

Can't explain it.

Eli throw the pick butSamuel forget to catch it.

The rest was history.

Looks like Belicek gone for good.

Amazing win by the Giants. Well played.

« Reply #14 on: February 03, 2008, 09:12:48 PM »
""Patriots Win!", "Brady is once again the Super Bowl MVP" These phrases will not be tossed around Monday morning.
If you are looking for a soundbyte, that will make headlines, here is one for you:
Cheaters never win. Okay, so they won 18.
Let me rephrase: CHEATERS NEVER WIN 19 IN A ROW." ;)
http://www.associatedcontent.com/article/578583/the_new_york_giants_win_super_bowl.html

« Reply #15 on: February 03, 2008, 09:25:55 PM »
Giants by 3
yuh hit that nail on de head bredda.the giants win,the giants win.

« Reply #16 on: February 03, 2008, 09:46:19 PM »
Good to see the much maligned Eli get one... just like his brother....let Tiki Barber hold he arse and take dat....I just leave Ny and I sure they go run he out of town now - and I agree, NE is a tiefing side so no sympathy for them.....Randy has bad karma too it seems....this reminds me of the All Star Lakers with Malone, Shaq, Kobe, Horry and Fisher who get cut arse in the finals

« Reply #17 on: February 03, 2008, 11:56:32 PM »
Damn!
Finally something to shut up them damn New-England fans and waggonists.

Doh worry Tiki, yuh was right, we go spin it this way, yuh comments drive Eli to improve he game and leadership. Now of course, yuh go cyah shut up the NY fans...

« Reply #18 on: February 04, 2008, 12:42:21 AM »
Good to see the much maligned Eli get one... just like his brother....let Tiki Barber hold he arse and take dat....I just leave Ny and I sure they go run he out of town now - and I agree, NE is a tiefing side so no sympathy for them.....Randy has bad karma too it seems....this reminds me of the All Star Lakers with Malone, Shaq, Kobe, Horry and Fisher who get cut arse in the finals

Tiki's comments have been blown outta proportion and taken out of context...he never questioned Eli's leadership abilities, nor did he describe them as being comical...contrary to what the press has stated.

It feels good to shut the critics up for good.  As a long-suffering NY Giants fan this is sweet.  Only TnT going to Germany and playing Sweden to a standstill feels any better...and honestly, not by much.  Our last victory in 1990 was sweet, we lost three games that year, to Philly in Game 9, to San Fran in Game 10 and to Buffalo in Game.  We came back and beat Philly in Game 15 or 16...beat San Fran in the NFC Title game and finally defeated the Bills in SB XXV.  In short, we beat every team we faced that year.

This year...and no lie, just this morning I was telling the guy driving me that I see a parallel to that season.  We lost six games all year, Dallas in Game 1, Green Bay in Game 2..., Minnesota late, Washingtong late, Dallas again and New England in the final game.  The only team on that list that we didn't beat are the Vikings...and likely only because we only played them once.

The Patriots and their insufferable fans have been mouthing off all year...what a classless lot.  End of the game and rather than show some class and accept defeat with grace with the post-game handshake (as ceremonial as it is), Belichick was halfway to the locker room before Manning could take the final knee.  Good riddance to bad rubbish.

Cheaters never win, and winners never cheat!

« Reply #19 on: February 04, 2008, 10:00:15 AM »
The Patriots and their insufferable fans have been mouthing off all year...what a classless lot.  End of the game and rather than show some class and accept defeat with grace with the post-game handshake (as ceremonial as it is), Belichick was halfway to the locker room before Manning could take the final knee.  Good riddance to bad rubbish.

Cheaters never win, and winners never cheat!

Seems to me that the only graceless act on the night was by Belichick. All of the players were very gracious in congratulating and giving credit to the Giants. Even the more annoying ones like Bruschi and Hobbs.

As for the fans being insufferable...it is always a case of the pot calling the kettle black. All fans have their moments and they are usually most annoying when their team is successful. And all fans find that opposing fans are classless even though they have identical behaviours.

It is all about circumstance. If the Giants go on to win a string of Superbowls and have an 18-win season I am pretty sure that their fans would milk it for all it is worth and everybody else would find them insufferable. Just look at the Yankees.

Also, on the topic of classlessness, aren't the Giants the team whose fans sexually assault and verbally abuse their own female patrons?

Classy.
Most clubs that have been experiencing a good season have cocky or insufferable fans.

« Reply #20 on: February 04, 2008, 10:03:42 AM »
Good to see the much maligned Eli get one...

I am happy for Eli too.

I remember last year when he was getting negative comparisons to Rivers and everyboidy was comparing the cost of having him, since the picks they gave up turned out to be Merriman and Kaeding (in addition to Rivers)

Well now he win a Superbowl, which the goal of the whole thing, and in just 4 years too. If he goes on to win nothing else for the Giants he justify that trade in one fell swoop.

« Reply #21 on: February 04, 2008, 03:35:58 PM »
Belichick shake the giants coach hand ,what else yah want ,is ah kinda flukey wildcard vibes still ent .

« Reply #22 on: February 04, 2008, 11:45:30 PM »

Seems to me that the only graceless act on the night was by Belichick. All of the players were very gracious in congratulating and giving credit to the Giants. Even the more annoying ones like Bruschi and Hobbs.

Afterwards, maybe.  The entire offense was in the locker room when the game officially ended...as was half the defense.  Seau said a defensive coach had to grab him by the arm and order him back out onto the field.  I didn't interpret that as him being reluctant to comply though...more like they didn't realize... everybody just kinda walked off without giving it much thought.  Probably just following Belichick's lead.

As for the fans being insufferable...it is always a case of the pot calling the kettle black. All fans have their moments and they are usually most annoying when their team is successful. And all fans find that opposing fans are classless even though they have identical behaviours.I am

Nah dred...I ent just talking, I speaking with specificity.  I interact with a number of them on another board and I've been following the 5th Down blog on the nytimes.com website the past month.  Unless you've been reading along you won't know what I'm talking about...I was there leading up to the Tampa game, Cowboys game...the Packers game...and this.  The Packers fans were the best...just real gracious and good-natured.  The Patriots fans were insufferable, as I said.  All the evidence is there, feel free to go read it.  The only thing the Giants fans were doing was ragging on Tiki and Shockey kinda hard.  There was good-natured back and forth with some Pats fans, but most were just arrogant and treated this game like a pre-ordained coronation that the Giants were lucky to be welcomed to.  I could go on and on...but as I said...

It is all about circumstance. If the Giants go on to win a string of Superbowls and have an 18-win season I am pretty sure that their fans would milk it for all it is worth and everybody else would find them insufferable. Just look at the Yankees.

You apparently don't follow the NFL enough.  The boston-area fans have always had a reputation for extremely boorish behavior..., and believe it or not Giants fans are considered knowledgeable and somewhat genteel...as laughable as that might sound to you.  Pats fans have just taken their boorish behavior to higher levels...dat ent Bake n Shark saying dat.
Also, on the topic of classlessness, aren't the Giants the team whose fans sexually assault and verbally abuse their own female patrons?

Classy.

Uhm no.  That would be Jets fans...totally different demographic.  Yuh trying hard doh, lol

Most clubs that have been experiencing a good season have cocky or insufferable fans.

Speculative, and ultimately tangential.  My comments pertain to observed behavior, not hypothetical scenarios.
« Last Edit: February 04, 2008, 11:51:59 PM by Bake n Shark »

« Reply #23 on: February 04, 2008, 11:46:36 PM »
Belichick shake the giants coach hand ,what else yah want ,is ah kinda flukey wildcard vibes still ent .

Yeah I read afterwards (or maybe I heard it on TV) that they shook hands before he fled for the tunnels.  Mitigates it some I guess.
« Last Edit: February 04, 2008, 11:48:59 PM by Bake n Shark »

« Reply #24 on: February 05, 2008, 06:38:54 AM »
Giants by 3

a-a ... make any bets?

« Reply #25 on: February 05, 2008, 07:34:40 AM »
Afterwards, maybe.  The entire offense was in the locker room when the game officially ended...as was half the defense.  Seau said a defensive coach had to grab him by the arm and order him back out onto the field.  I didn't interpret that as him being reluctant to comply though...more like they didn't realize... everybody just kinda walked off without giving it much thought.  Probably just following Belichick's lead.

To be fair to Belichick he was escorted by an NFL official across the field who also though tth egame was over. By the time he got to ref he was already at Coughlin and definitely wasn't inn the mood to be jerked around by being forced back across the field.

I am not defending him though because he has a bad attitude. The worst of it was his disdain for the mandated post-game wraps where he was his usual tight-lipped and ungracious self.

Nah dred...I ent just talking, I speaking with specificity.  I interact with a number of them on another board and I've been following the 5th Down blog on the nytimes.com website the past month.  Unless you've been reading along you won't know what I'm talking about...I was there leading up to the Tampa game, Cowboys game...the Packers game...and this.  The Packers fans were the best...just real gracious and good-natured.  The Patriots fans were insufferable, as I said.  All the evidence is there, feel free to go read it.  The only thing the Giants fans were doing was ragging on Tiki and Shockey kinda hard.  There was good-natured back and forth with some Pats fans, but most were just arrogant and treated this game like a pre-ordained coronation that the Giants were lucky to be welcomed to.  I could go on and on...but as I said...

In general other teams message boards tend to attract the worst demographic of team fandom. I go to the Colts message board and see it all the time and also see it with other fans on United boards.

With that being said if the Patriots came off worse by comparison to the Packers/Cowboys/Tampa Bay there is not much I can say. Not the most scientific sampling but your description would be a common and valid generalization. It is certainly not for me to defend Boston fandom or provide reasons as justifications.

I support the team and go to the games and would object to being painted with a broad brush. I would never go to an opposing fan site to post. Even if you have the intention of being a level headed and fair-minded poster it is too easy to come across as being trollish or combative. I would think that many Pats fans are like this also and have no desire to piss in somebody else’s pool.

But then in team support as in any other group you have your different demographics.

« Reply #26 on: February 05, 2008, 08:31:54 AM »
Giants by 3

a-a ... make any bets?
nah ah couldnt get a small borrow from mah pardna in London :devil:

« Reply #27 on: February 05, 2008, 11:52:48 AM »

« Reply #28 on: February 05, 2008, 03:20:37 PM »
In general other teams message boards tend to attract the worst demographic of team fandom. I go to the Colts message board and see it all the time and also see it with other fans on United boards.

With that being said if the Patriots came off worse by comparison to the Packers/Cowboys/Tampa Bay there is not much I can say. Not the most scientific sampling but your description would be a common and valid generalization. It is certainly not for me to defend Boston fandom or provide reasons as justifications.

I support the team and go to the games and would object to being painted with a broad brush. I would never go to an opposing fan site to post. Even if you have the intention of being a level headed and fair-minded poster it is too easy to come across as being trollish or combative. I would think that many Pats fans are like this also and have no desire to piss in somebody else’s pool.

But then in team support as in any other group you have your different demographics.

This wasn't even a sports or Giants message board, this was another West Indian message board...and then the Times site.

I didn't take note of your location...and certainly didn't peg you for a Pats fan (I was wondering why you were 'defending' them), so in that respect I'd say that I certainly never meant to paint all Pats fans with the same brush.  It's unfortunate that the churlish among you seem to overwhelm the more passionate...but as I said, Boston area fans are notorious boors.  It's pretty much the same fan base that support the Pats, that support the Red Sox and the Celtics.  I need only point at Patrick Ewing's rookie year when he went to Boston Garden and was greeted by posters of an ape in the stands, monkey noises and bananas being thrown on the court.  Good ole USA.

We have some pretty obnoxious fans in the NYC area as well...but they tend to support the Yankees and the Jets, lol
« Last Edit: February 05, 2008, 03:34:06 PM by Bake n Shark »

« Reply #29 on: February 05, 2008, 05:22:02 PM »
The absolute best post-game quotes:

I want to get a copy of the 19-0 book (which was printed and ready to go by the Boston Globe), cuz I like to read a little fiction - Antonio Pierce #58

Everyone has a game plan.....until they get hit in the mouth (Originally Mike Tyson) - Michael Strahan #92

Oh, those 18-1* asterisk t-shirts take win too, like yeah take 18 and one allyuh f^&%ers, and take de asterisk for tiefing, too  :rotfl: :rotfl:

Is almost like a NY Trini design that shirt.

Hmmmmm?