May 19, 2013, 12:58:35 AM

Author Topic: ARSENAL FORWARD  (Read 296268 times)

Re: ARSENAL FOREVER
« Reply #720 on: August 20, 2008, 05:44:53 PM »

So arsenal decide they go take we scrape ups?
« Reply #721 on: August 21, 2008, 06:29:17 AM »
LONDON (AP) - Arsenal signed French defender Mikael Silvestre on a two-year deal from Premier League rival Manchester United on Wednesday.

The 31-year-old Silvestre left Old Trafford after nine years, rejecting a move to Manchester City in favor of the prospect of Champions League football in London.

Silvestre, who missed much of last season with knee ligament damage, is the first player United has sold to the Gunners since Brian Kidd in 1974.

"I've spent a large part of my career at United, the last nine years, and I'll remember that time fondly but feel I'm ready for a new challenge," said Silvestre, who won four league titles at Old Trafford. "Arsenal is known for playing technical and skillful football, and has a young but experienced squad.

"I'm really excited about this next stage of my career, hopefully playing my part in helping the club to new successes."

Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger broke his usual policy of signing young, promising players.

"We have a strong squad but a young squad and Mikael's versatility, experience and caliber will provide the extra depth we need to reinforce our challenge for honors this season," Wenger said. "His defensive adaptability will serve us well and it's a big plus that Mikael has top-level experience and a great understanding of football in the Premier League."

Silvestre struggled to feature in Alex Ferguson's plans at United after fellow French defender Patrice Evra established himself on the left, and Nemanja Vidic and Rio Ferdinand forged a successful partnership in the center.

After joining from Inter Milan in 1999, Silvestre made 361 appearances, scoring 10 times and claiming 10 major titles.

"Mikael was a great servant and a wonderful professional," Ferguson said. "We wish him all the best at his new club and thank him for his service."

Re: So arsenal decide they go take we scrape ups?
« Reply #722 on: August 21, 2008, 06:33:39 AM »
wha u mean? silvestre is a big player. he play in the world cup for france.

buh me eh like how they moving so cheapy. young player go only take u so far.

they playing for 3rd or 4th again.

« Reply #723 on: August 21, 2008, 06:36:03 AM »
Scraps???? I bet you he purge ManUre before the season done....Go Chelsea!!!

« Reply #724 on: August 21, 2008, 06:41:26 AM »
so tottenham scrape-ups and aston villa scrape-ups doh count eh fergie

Offline Pasdah Beatz

• Spiritual Seal
  • I was born to die as a SoCa WaRrIoR
« Reply #725 on: August 21, 2008, 07:20:29 AM »
yea i didn't understand de move... I figure they want ah cheap, ok, defender, with ah level head tuh keep de youths in check

« Reply #726 on: August 21, 2008, 07:26:18 AM »
so tottenham scrape-ups and aston villa scrape-ups doh count eh fergie

any player we buy is at the peak or approachin the peak of his athletic prowess

eg Carrick or Yorke

and we does pay good too ;D

« Reply #727 on: August 21, 2008, 10:38:25 AM »
Actually Silvestre is an upgrade on Hoyte who we just sold!!!

Online dinho

« Reply #728 on: August 21, 2008, 10:46:55 AM »
geez boy arsenal really scrunting... silvestre??

and he self, the man gone from one bench to the next.

he coulda go sunderland. steups

« Reply #729 on: August 21, 2008, 10:57:22 AM »
ALyuh bad talk Silvestre...dat is d man who alyuh going and put in alyuh Fantasy league team when Arsenal play Manu and alyuh putting him as Captain.

The red/albino 4ker go score a header and make a assist for Adebayor, watch and see.

« Reply #730 on: August 21, 2008, 11:21:32 AM »
ALyuh bad talk Silvestre...dat is d man who alyuh going and put in alyuh Fantasy league team when Arsenal play Manu and alyuh putting him as Captain.

The red/albino 4ker go score a header and make a assist for Adebayor, watch and see.

niaevity becomes you young padawan :beermug:

that gallas move last season was luck

arsenal man u evra go captain cuz allyuh cya buss we net ;D

Online dinho

« Reply #731 on: August 21, 2008, 11:30:15 AM »

niaevity becomes you young padawan :beermug:

that gallas move last season was luck

arsenal man u evra go captain cuz allyuh cya buss we net ;D

hold on there fellah, how yuh go give ah novice like touches the credit for the gallas move?!

that was all me son, but ah like how yuh take notes and preparing to copy de move.

No luck in that one.. You can find the rationale in the Pelau Recipe chapter 7...

All de big guns was tie up in super sunday so not much points was there for the taking, and Gallas was on a mission.

« Reply #732 on: August 21, 2008, 11:36:58 AM »
nah ah know it was u omar ah was jus mentioning the incedent not sharing credit

and it was still luck..........dem super sundays does be some hard weeks to navigate in real

« Reply #733 on: August 21, 2008, 01:36:14 PM »
De BIGGEST SURPRISE to me is dat Wenger sign somebody over 30 years of age.

Not jes dat, he sign him fuh 2 YEARS to boot!

« Reply #734 on: August 21, 2008, 01:48:00 PM »
good observation palos.

is a french conspiracy.

Offline Giggsy11

• Arguing with a fool proves there are two.
« Reply #735 on: August 21, 2008, 05:03:37 PM »
Dey just being their usual cheap self.
Go sell crazy somewhere else, I am all stocked up over here!

« Reply #736 on: August 21, 2008, 09:13:55 PM »

And Senderos! Who I hope will see less playing time as a result.

Arsenal defensive options.

LB: Clichy, Silvestre
RB: Sagna, Eboue,Toure
CB: Toure, Gallas, Silvestre, Djourou, Song, Senderos

Not too bad once players stay fit.

Offline Ryan

« Reply #737 on: August 22, 2008, 12:34:43 AM »
Arsenal sign Silvestre from Man Utd.

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=564710&sec=england&cc=3888

I only now see dis. I find it amazin that Man U wud let such a good player go 2 one of their big rivals. I cud see him being a very big player 4 Arsenal.

« Reply #738 on: August 22, 2008, 01:36:15 AM »

And Senderos! Who I hope will see less playing time as a result.

Arsenal defensive options.

LB: Clichy, Silvestre
RB: Sagna, Eboue,Toure
CB: Toure, Gallas, Silvestre, Djourou, Song, Senderos

Not too bad once players stay fit.

Van Persie will be player of the year book mark this

« Reply #739 on: August 22, 2008, 01:57:18 AM »
hold on there fellah, how yuh go give ah novice like touches the credit for the gallas move?!

nah

Touches   

doe take dat

Omardinho   call yuh ah novice....wha d jail iz this....

« Last Edit: August 22, 2008, 01:59:07 AM by rotatopoti3 »

Offline Ryan

« Reply #740 on: August 22, 2008, 03:18:22 AM »
silvestre is perfect 4 arsenal....experienced and u cudnt ask 4 better cover at left back or centre back...plus he's french so he fittin in one time. cant believe manu let dis one go thru.

« Reply #741 on: August 22, 2008, 06:20:19 AM »

Van Persie will be player of the year book mark this

I would like nothing more.

Offline Tigger

« Reply #742 on: August 23, 2008, 01:07:00 PM »
loss to fulhamamerica

0 points

« Reply #743 on: August 23, 2008, 03:27:27 PM »
it was always going to be a tall order this season and now made worst by the amount of injuries.
No Fabragas, Rosiky, Diaby, Eduardo, means little depth to draw upon and also no tactical options.
Lets face it Eboue is a right back nothing else, Bendtner not ready (I eh sure he ever will be) and I have real doubts about Walcott as a wide player. If he was not English the media would have been ripping him apart. I would love to see him play upfront and partner Adebayor running behind defenders.
Once again Gallas was caught wanting in his defending, allowing his man to get infront of him to score,
That being said Van Persie and Adebayor missed good chances

« Reply #744 on: August 23, 2008, 05:43:46 PM »
Arsenal play shit today.

Cant even string 4-5 passes together.

Clichy was leaning up on the post with his hand on his waist and the ball pass right next to him he was lapsin.

Van Persie need a proper worm out and Denilson not ready.

Nasri rip some men though, he and Cesc go be poison.

« Reply #745 on: August 25, 2008, 10:09:49 AM »

« Reply #746 on: August 25, 2008, 10:25:00 AM »
What a gay thread
End the blacklist, TTFF.

« Reply #747 on: August 27, 2008, 01:41:29 PM »
Arsenal play shit today.

Cant even string 4-5 passes together.

Clichy was leaning up on the post with his hand on his waist and the ball pass right next to him he was lapsin.

Van Persie need a proper worm out and Denilson not ready.

Nasri rip some men though, he and Cesc go be poison.

so said so done. only denilson could do with some castor oil and a bush bath and we good to go

we up 3-0 and bentner cyar pass the salt on ah dinner table

GOOD NEWS ;D

'We were organised, disciplined and focused'
On the performance…

“It was a big game for us and I felt we were well organised, disciplined, focused and basically never really under threat from FC Twente. What was most important was not to make mistakes, be patient and score our goals.

“I felt the whole team was sharper and physically we were much better than on Saturday afternoon. Maybe that is why we made it easier. It was a game that gave us the same problem as in the first game, by man marking us all over the pitch. When they had the ball they didn't take many risks - they were more focused on possession. We had to be well organised because they played a little bit with our patience.

On the return of Cesc Fabregas…

“I believe he brings calm and confidence to the side and overall we had a good balance in the side. He could have stayed on. He was more disappointed Twente didn't really have a go at us; he likes to play. He wants always to play but I took him off because he has just come back from a hamstring and we play again on Saturday. Recovery time will be very short.”

On responding to the weekend defeat…

“The response was clear. It was togetherness, it was consistency and that is what you want on a night like that. We want to play with the best and to do that means qualifying for the Group Stage. There was so much at stake tonight that of course it was a big mental test.”

On going goal crazy…

“We have struggling a little bit for goals but I was never really worried about that because we can create chances. It is difficult when you start the season with a qualifier and in-between you have an international friendly. At that moment the bodies aren't completely ready to absorb all that and you can have a dip a little bit. I felt that on Saturday.”

On Nasri's substitution…

“He had a stomach bug during the game and was sick at half-time. He couldn't go on.”

On central midfield…

“I think Denilson had a good game tonight. We have as well Aaron Ramsey - for me he will be a very good player - and we have Alex Song and we have Abou Diaby. Even Nasri can play central but we have to see.”

On Walcott's performance…

“I feel you have to be patient with Theo, I always say that. He can be decisive in any game against anybody if the team has a good collective display and if you can get him involved. He has improved his first touch, his link play, and that was a vital stage for him. Then without losing his one against one ability, he has worked on his control on the move and looks now to have found the balance between individual play and team play. He is a good finisher. What he did today is really the brand of a good finisher and you cannot teach that. He has that naturally.

On Vela's globetrotting...

“We don't see Vela a lot because he goes to Mexico last week and then goes again next week to Jamaica to play two games. Then he will come back a bit late for the game we play away. But I am confident he will play an important part in the season, but at the moment he is away. He is a top class player.”

« Last Edit: August 27, 2008, 04:09:49 PM by morvant »

Online dinho

« Reply #748 on: August 29, 2008, 07:13:10 AM »
I'm posting this article here for all of you who have been parading the "Wenger have no money to spend" and "we have a stadium to pay for" arguments.

Wheel and come again!

Boss Wenger has millions to spend

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/a/arsenal/7587530.stm

Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger has millions available to spend on players.

The Gunners have lost Mathieu Flamini, Alexander Hleb and Gilberto since the end of last season - and Wenger had been expected to strengthen his squad.

"If he said 'I want this guy and he's £30m, can I buy him?', the answer is yes. Absolutely yes," revealed Arsenal director Danny Fizsman.

"It's not our decision who Wenger spends money on, nor will it ever be our decision."

If Arsene found the right player he would buy him

Arsenal director Danny Fizsman
Arsenal have not won a trophy for three seasons and there have been calls from supporters for Wenger to bolster his squad with some big-money signings.

The Gunners have brought in Samir Nasri from Marseille for £12m and Mikael Silvestre from Manchester United for an undisclosed fee.

But Fizsman added: "There were great expectations and hopes that we would buy heavily this summer.

"We totally back Wenger, it's his decision.

"If Arsene found the right player he would buy that player, but at the moment his hasn't."

And Fizsman admitted that if the Gunners were to buy established players before the transfer window shuts on 1 September, it could cause problems.

"There's a dual problem for him," said the Arsenal director of Wenger.

"If we buy star names, you are talking about relatively mature players who need to be integrated into the way Arsene plays - they don't know our style and it also impacts on the youngsters who have been brought through."

606: DEBATE
Should Wenger be spending money?

Wenger recently said in an interview that he wants to develop his first-team players through the youth ranks at the club.

The Frenchman said that he decided on this policy during the club's development of their Emirates Stadium, which opened at the start of the 2006-07 season.

"When we decided to build the stadium I wanted to anticipate the possibility of financial restrictions, so I concentrated on youth," Wenger said in an interview with the Independent newspaper.

"I also felt the best way to create an identity with the way we play football, to get players integrated into our culture, with our beliefs, our values, was to get them as young as possible and to develop them together.

"I felt it would be an interesting experiment to see players grow together with these qualities, and with a love for the club."

Offline Giggsy11

• Arguing with a fool proves there are two.
« Reply #749 on: August 29, 2008, 08:17:25 AM »
Vulnerable one ah hope yuh read the article.
Go sell crazy somewhere else, I am all stocked up over here!