May 26, 2013, 01:59:05 AM

Author Topic: ARSENAL FORWARD  (Read 298816 times)

Offline Dansteel - The Iceman

Re: ARSENAL FORWARD
« Reply #5160 on: June 26, 2012, 11:03:52 AM »
Alyuh men rather post on Facebook? Stueps, at least gunner have the balls to show he face once in a while.
Umm, I thought I was showing my face.

Honestly most of them tired of the level of debate (if you could call it that) on Socawarriors. This place is just a glorified slanging forum now. I could handle myself but sometimes talk does get tiresome. Peong if you troll them they will remove you. They real dread with that.
Victoria concordia crescit

« Reply #5161 on: June 26, 2012, 11:05:27 AM »

http://www.arsenal.com/news/news-archive/olivier-giroud-agrees-deal-to-join-arsenal

Olivier Giroud agrees deal to join Arsenal

Arsenal Football Club is delighted to announce that France international Olivier Giroud has agreed to join the Club on a long-term contract.

The 25-year old striker completed a medical before agreeing terms at the Club’s training ground on Monday evening. The completion of the transfer is now just the subject of formal processes.

Click on the image above to see Giroud in his new colours

Giroud arrives from French champions Montpellier, where 21 goals in 36 league appearances made him the French league’s joint top goalscorer last season and also earned him a place in the Ligue 1 Team of the Year.

Giroud, who enjoyed a two-year spell at the Stade de la Mosson and broke into the national team in November 2011, flew to London after representing Les Bleus at the European Championship in Ukraine and Poland.

The Chambéry-born player spent his formative years in France's lower leagues, developing his game with Grenoble, on loan at FC Istres and then at Tours FC, where he played alongside Laurent Koscielny for a season before being awarded the Ligue 2 Player of the Year award in 2009/10.

Manager Arsène Wenger said: “We are delighted to have secured the signing of Olivier Giroud. He has a very good physical presence and is exceptional in the air, with a great work ethic. We are excited about Olivier joining us and he will add an additional dimension to our attacking options next season.

“He has proved that he is capable of performing at the top level with club and country, and we saw what a big influence he was in Montpellier’s championship-winning side last season. We all look forward to Olivier joining us and seeing him play in an Arsenal shirt.”

Giroud, whose contract with Arsenal will officially commence on July 1, said: “I am delighted to be here at Arsenal and to be part of one of the great teams in English football. It's a huge satisfaction to join this great club and it’s been a dream since I was young to play in the Premier League.

“I was attracted by the philosophy of football and Arsène Wenger’s 'touch' at this club. I have always admired Arsenal with its great history and reputation, and I now hope to achieve great things here. I’m very proud to be a Gunner and I will give my best for all the Arsenal fans.”

Giroud will join up with the Gunners for the Club’s pre-season preparations ahead of the new season.

« Reply #5162 on: June 26, 2012, 11:29:49 AM »
Alyuh men rather post on Facebook? Stueps, at least gunner have the balls to show he face once in a while.

Honestly most of them tired of the level of debate (if you could call it that) on Socawarriors. This place is just a glorified slanging forum now. I could handle myself but sometimes talk does get tiresome. Peong if you troll them they will remove you. They real dread with that.

Trini gunners sound like sensitive guys  :rotfl:   I joined before because a few of my friends were in it but I left because it was boring.

« Reply #5163 on: June 26, 2012, 11:43:25 AM »

Trini gunners sound like sensitive guys  :rotfl:   I joined before because a few of my friends were in it but I left because it was boring.

Being an Arsenal supporter is tough enough these past 7 years. We talk more about serious team stuff than picong in the group.

« Reply #5164 on: June 26, 2012, 11:44:21 AM »

Tired of the level of debate here? Lol.

You should just say they tired of debate on the whole. What you see as slanging is just healthy debate and it is no different in the Chelsea, Man U or Liverpool threads. They are taken to task just like Arsenal.

It has nothing to do with the level of debate here, the problem is that the truth hurts. Arsenal fans seem to me to be a sensitive set of fans, and when you start to take them to task about the fact that the club hierarchy is cheap and more interested in turning a profit than in winning trophies they take exception.

What u all wanted was a fan forum where you could glisten over yuh team without opposition. Best allyuh stay over there on the trinigunners site where they could talk to their heart's content about how well they did to finish 3rd, who they wish Wenger would buy and how they will be better next year with the batch of youths coming through.... For like the 5th year running.  ::)

« Reply #5165 on: June 26, 2012, 12:08:13 PM »
Men tired of debate , wtf ? So alyuh run a hole and hide?.  :rotfl:

« Reply #5166 on: June 26, 2012, 12:12:49 PM »

You should just say they tired of debate on the whole. What you see as slanging is just healthy debate and it is no different in the Chelsea, Man U or Liverpool threads. They are taken to task just like Arsenal.

It has nothing to do with the level of debate here, the problem is that the truth hurts. Arsenal fans seem to me to be a sensitive set of fans, and when you start to take them to task about the fact that the club hierarchy is cheap and more interested in turning a profit than in winning trophies they take exception.

What u all wanted was a fan forum where you could glisten over yuh team without opposition. Best allyuh stay over there on the trinigunners site where they could talk to their heart's content about how well they did to finish 3rd, who they wish Wenger would buy and how they will be better next year with the batch of youths coming through.... For like the 5th year running.  ::)

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:Men so sensitive on this site?  I does take nuff stick for 'Pool, and ah does give too.  That is how it goes here.  Picong goes part and parcel with being a Trini... ;)

« Reply #5167 on: June 26, 2012, 12:16:15 PM »

Interesting you have an opinion on about what's written in a site you've never been on. Hence my comment about the level of debate. Anyway I still here. How you seem so aggrieved about it? Sound like you feeling rejected.

« Reply #5168 on: June 26, 2012, 12:17:13 PM »

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:Men so sensitive on this site?  I does take nuff stick for 'Pool, and ah does give too.  That is how it goes here.  Picong goes part and parcel with being a Trini... ;)

Well if people doh want to deal in picong that is their business. Nutten wrong with that.
« Last Edit: June 26, 2012, 12:28:22 PM by Dansteel - The Iceman »

« Reply #5169 on: June 26, 2012, 12:19:27 PM »

Interesting you have an opinion on about what's written in a site you've never been on. Hence my comment about the level of debate. Anyway I still here. How you seem so aggrieved about it? Sound like you feeling rejected.

How you know i've never been on it?

I just miss gunnerstunner that's all.  :(

« Reply #5170 on: June 26, 2012, 12:25:22 PM »

How you know i've never been on it?

I just miss gunnerstunner that's all.  :(

That's how I know. We doh talk about what you said there. We quarrel about the club doing nonsense, which player is a goat, whether Wenger loss he mind, etc. Check allyuh slanging people who doh even take you on anymore.  :rotfl:

Gunnerstunner have his own reasons for leaving and is not my place to say. I will tell him you ask for him.

« Reply #5171 on: June 26, 2012, 12:36:12 PM »
Men tired of debate , wtf ? So alyuh run a hole and hide?.  :rotfl:

Men probably just living their lives. I know a few people moved over. But a lot of people joined it without being on SW. I check this site about once a week just outta curiosity.

« Reply #5172 on: June 26, 2012, 02:24:13 PM »

« Reply #5173 on: June 26, 2012, 03:08:30 PM »
Penut gallery uneducated observation. Arsenal should get another CB and move Vermeleen to the central midfield role. This way they will have a long range shooting threat, a midfielder that arrives late in the box, a ball winner and a good passer. Last year whene move forward he look deadly. Him and Song together I would love to see

« Reply #5174 on: June 26, 2012, 03:22:01 PM »

Exactly, what would Arsenal  fans do if they supported Liverpool, as you and I do? At least Arsenal in the Champions League. Liverpool has to make do with a Europa League place. It has not been easy being a Liverpool fan for the last twenty-two years (Champions League success and treble winning season in 2000-01 notwithstanding), so Arsenal fans should count their blessings.

« Reply #5175 on: June 26, 2012, 03:48:32 PM »
Penut gallery uneducated observation. Arsenal should get another CB and move Vermeleen to the central midfield role. This way they will have a long range shooting threat, a midfielder that arrives late in the box, a ball winner and a good passer. Last year whene move forward he look deadly. Him and Song together I would love to see

Possible solution. I have long believed that Arsenal's defensive problems are not because of the centre backs. It is because of the midfield.

« Reply #5176 on: June 26, 2012, 03:52:04 PM »

Exactly, what would Arsenal  fans do if they supported Liverpool, as you and I do? At least Arsenal in the Champions League. Liverpool has to make do with a Europa League place. It has not been easy being a Liverpool fan for the last twenty-two years (Champions League success and treble winning season in 2000-01 notwithstanding), so Arsenal fans should count their blessings.

You right about counting blessings but who are we to tell people whether to join or leave an open internet forum? People free to listen to or ignore any opinion they want. I find it sound like men aggrieved that the Gooners ride out and won't listen to them anymore. I here once a week if anybody want to fight down Arsenal.

« Reply #5177 on: June 26, 2012, 03:58:50 PM »

You right about counting blessings but who are we to tell people whether to join or leave an open internet forum? People free to listen to or ignore any opinion they want. I find it sound like men aggrieved that the Gooners ride out and won't listen to them anymore. I here once a week if anybody want to fight down Arsenal.

Damn right I'm aggrieved, I missing out on good entertainment.

« Reply #5178 on: June 26, 2012, 04:23:30 PM »

hadn't thought about that.  i agree with dansteel that midfield slackness is what cost us some points last season.  m'vila has been earmarked but i am not convinced about him, he has just a tad bit too much swagger for my taste.  his name might just be a smokescreen for another signing though as is wenger's modus operandi at times.    i love the giroud signing and can't wait to see him play.  make no mistake he will be the target man with rvp playing just off him.   i think the ox will def get more playing time this season, that youth is just too good.
The heights that great men reached and kept were not attained by sudden flight; for they while their companions slept, toiled on upwards through the night.

A library is not a luxury but one of the necessities of life.

« Reply #5179 on: June 27, 2012, 06:03:22 AM »

Possible solution. I have long believed that Arsenal's defensive problems are not because of the centre backs. It is because of the midfield.

And those defensive midfield problems are less about the midfield personnel and more about the way Arsenal set up.

Song had an excellent season last year, his best in an Arsenal shirt, but when you watch an Arsenal game you can see he is regularly in the opposition half joining in the attack trying to play through balls for the strikers. I blame that squarely on Wenger because that is what he encourages, and it leaves the defence without cover on the counter.

Personally i think he should have Song hold back more and give him some help alongside him like a Mvila to shore up the middle, as they have enough attacking players to create chances and goalscoring is never a problem. But it would probably mean changing the system and changing the way they play which I doubt they would go for.

« Reply #5180 on: June 27, 2012, 09:24:17 AM »

And those defensive midfield problems are less about the midfield personnel and more about the way Arsenal set up.

Song had an excellent season last year, his best in an Arsenal shirt, but when you watch an Arsenal game you can see he is regularly in the opposition half joining in the attack trying to play through balls for the strikers. I blame that squarely on Wenger because that is what he encourages, and it leaves the defence without cover on the counter.

Personally i think he should have Song hold back more and give him some help alongside him like a Mvila to shore up the middle, as they have enough attacking players to create chances and goalscoring is never a problem. But it would probably mean changing the system and changing the way they play which I doubt they would go for.

I think that is a natural consequence of playing teams that sit deep. You need an attacking threat from deep. The first time Song showed it was 10/11 season. The Boxing Day game against Chelsea that season, we would have never opened the scoring (Song) without a deep threat. It's the same reason that Vermaelen and Koscielny sometimes go on raids into the opposition penalty box. Pique's goal for Barca against Inter in the 2010 UCL semifinal second leg is another classic example. I think more attacking power and less reliance on RVP to finish would allow him to sit back more but I don't think there's any problem with Song pushing up if we are struggling to score against a deep defence. Sometimes you have to take risks.

My problem is when the opposition has possession in midfield and Arsenal doesn't apply pressure. It allows them to play balls behind the defence. Most of Arsenal's goals conceded are due to that.

« Reply #5181 on: June 27, 2012, 10:15:33 AM »

I think that is a natural consequence of playing teams that sit deep. You need an attacking threat from deep. The first time Song showed it was 10/11 season. The Boxing Day game against Chelsea that season, we would have never opened the scoring (Song) without a deep threat. It's the same reason that Vermaelen and Koscielny sometimes go on raids into the opposition penalty box. Pique's goal for Barca against Inter in the 2010 UCL semifinal second leg is another classic example. I think more attacking power and less reliance on RVP to finish would allow him to sit back more but I don't think there's any problem with Song pushing up if we are struggling to score against a deep defence. Sometimes you have to take risks.

My problem is when the opposition has possession in midfield and Arsenal doesn't apply pressure. It allows them to play balls behind the defence. Most of Arsenal's goals conceded are due to that.

arsene9 and arsenal doing with Song, what Chelsea should be doing with Mikel. 

« Reply #5182 on: July 04, 2012, 10:43:11 AM »
Van pussy is leaving arsenal. He is not signing a new contract

« Reply #5183 on: July 04, 2012, 10:51:48 AM »
Van pussy is leaving arsenal. He is not signing a new contract

some fans had already started speculating that giroud and podolski were bought to replace rvp and not partner him.   i can't say that this news is surprising.  at least this year we have the new players in early unlike last year.
The heights that great men reached and kept were not attained by sudden flight; for they while their companions slept, toiled on upwards through the night.

« Reply #5184 on: July 04, 2012, 11:05:48 AM »
RVP snubs new Gunners deal

http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/11670/7868741/RVP-snubs-new-Gunners-deal

Arsenal captain Robin van Persie has announced he will not be extending his contract at Emirates Stadium.

Speculation has been rife over the future of the talismanic captain, who is entering the final year of his contract in North London.

Manager Arsene Wenger stated the importance of keeping Van Persie at the club earlier this month but the 28-year-old Dutchman has decided against prolonging his deal.

The frontman told his official website: "I've thought long and hard about it, but I have decided not to extend my contract.

"I've thought long and hard about it, but I have decided not to extend my contract."
Robin van Persie   Quotes of the week

"You guys, the fans, have of course the right to disagree with my view and decision and I will always respect your opinions."
Disagree

The striker had previously kept quiet over his future and refused to commit to a decision until Wednesday.

Van Persie says he has chosen not to extend his deal following talks with Wenger and chief executive Ivan Gazidis over the club's plans for the future.

He added: "I have kept quiet all this time out of respect and loyalty for the club and as agreed with Mr Gazidis and Mr Wenger, but since there is so much speculation in the media, I think it is fair for you guys to know what's really going on at the moment.

"As announced earlier this year I had a meeting with the boss and Mr Gazidis after the season. This was a meeting about the club's future strategy and their policy. Financial terms or a contract have not been discussed, since that is not my priority at all.

"Out of my huge respect for Mr Wenger, the players and the fans I don't want to go into any details, but unfortunately in this meeting it has again become clear to me that we in many aspects disagree on the way Arsenal FC should move forward."
Robin van Persie   Quotes of the week

"I personally have had a great season but my goal has been to win trophies with the team and to bring the club back to its glory days.

"Out of my huge respect for Mr Wenger, the players and the fans I don't want to go into any details, but unfortunately in this meeting it has again become clear to me that we in many aspects disagree on the way Arsenal FC should move forward."
More developments

Van Persie, who joined Arsenal from Feyenoord in 2004, added: "I love the club and the fans, no matter what happens. I have grown up and became a man during my time with Arsenal FC.

"Everybody at the club and the fans have always supported me over the years and I have always given my all (and more) on and off the pitch. I am very proud of being part of this fantastic club for the last eight years.

"As soon as Mr Gazidis is back from his two-week holiday in America further meetings will follow and I will update you if and when there are more developments."

Van Persie ended last season as the Premier League's top scorer with 30 goals, helping the Gunners to a third-placed finish.

Reigning champions Manchester City have been linked with a move for the prolific frontman, while European heavyweights Barcelona, Real Madrid and Juventus are all thought to be interested.

The Gunners would be loathe to lose their star striker but could sell to avoid losing him on a free transfer when his contract expires next summer.
« Last Edit: July 04, 2012, 11:08:26 AM by dinho »

« Reply #5185 on: July 04, 2012, 12:34:05 PM »
Surprised and saddened by this but what you go do? The Club has issued a counterstatement which makes me think they will hold him for the year unless they get a mad money offer. Of 2 minds about doing that:

Club statement: Robin van Persie

http://www.arsenal.com/news/news-archive/club-statement-robin-van-persie

Arsenal Football Club has issued the following statement with regard to Robin van Persie's future:

"

We have to respect Robin's decision not to renew his contract. Robin has one year to run on his current contract and we are confident that he will fulfil his commitments to the Club.

"We are planning with ambition and confidence for next season with Arsenal's best interests in mind."
« Last Edit: July 04, 2012, 12:35:45 PM by Dansteel - The Iceman »

Offline Ryan

« Reply #5186 on: July 04, 2012, 01:30:12 PM »
Inevitable that a player of his calibre would want to play for a big club at some stage of his career.

« Reply #5187 on: July 04, 2012, 04:33:17 PM »
Inevitable that a player of his calibre would want to play for a big club at some stage of his career.

yeah we know he def won't be going chelsea

« Reply #5188 on: July 04, 2012, 07:32:41 PM »
ManCity willing to pay big money for him. Check out BBC sports for the real news.

« Reply #5189 on: July 04, 2012, 09:07:18 PM »
This kinda remind me of the Rooney contract demands last sason. He too said the club was lacking ambition and City was also rumoured to sign him. We saw how that ended up!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ojDopTolNcU

Hopefully TTFF gets their act together by 2018