April 19, 2024, 05:28:19 PM

Author Topic: No match-fee for FPATT players.  (Read 11641 times)

No match-fee for FPATT players.
« on: February 08, 2008, 05:22:15 AM »
No match-fee for FPATT players.
By: Walter Alibey (Newsday).

Only four months away from the team’s first qualifying match for the 2010 World Cup, Trinidad and Tobago’s Soca Warriors are still locked in a battle with their employers the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF).
Newsday learnt yesterday, that players who are members of the Football Players’ Association of Trinidad and Tobago (FPATT) received no match fees following Ash Wednesday’s international friendly against Guadeloupe at the Queen’s Park Oval in Port-of-Spain.
This is all because they refused to sign a match-fee contract before the match offered to them by the federation.
A senior member of FPATT said the players resented being rushed to sign the one-match contract which was expected to land them US$400 each.
The players allegedly refusing to sign, include Sunderland striker Kenwyne Jones, Southampton’s Stern John, Swansea’s Jason Scotland, Collin Samuel of Toronto FC, Marvin Oliver (Caledonia AIA) and goalkeeper Clayton Ince.
Newsday also learnt that the players were being offered US$700 for a draw and US$1, 000 for a victory against the French islanders yesterday.
It was alleged the players were told that if they did not sign the contract, then they would receive no payment for their performance against Guadeloupe.
According to the FPATT official, his association wants to offer the players something that will prevent them from experiencing similar situations that many of the country’s national players have gone through.
“We want to offer them a package for the entire campaign and not something that they will not benefit from if they are not selected on the squad,” the official said yesterday.
He expressed the view that if the players had signed for Wednesday’s match- fee, it would have been what they will be paid for the entire campaign.
“What would be even worse is the fact that the football federation has a squad of 40 players in training, and therefore if you are excluded from the squad for matches, then you will have nothing to get,” the FPATT official said.
FPATT has since called an emergency meeting for their players where they will be informed of some of the benefits to be derived from their proposal to the TTFF.
The FPATT official also revealed that they intend to meet with the football federation to discuss financial rewards and incentives for future matches.
“Although we have our own package to offer the players, we wanted to see what the football federation was offering before we could have made any demands, add to it or agree with it,” the official said.
FPATT have been representing the Soca Warriors for what they claim as “outstanding money from their participation in the 2006 World Cup in Germany,” and are awaiting arbitration in the matter.
Both FPATT and the TTFF agreed for the process to go through an English arbitrator late last year with an expected response by the end of March.
The FPATT official also pointed out that the players all want to play for Trinidad and Tobago in the World Cup qualifiers leading up to South Africa. The Soca Warriors will take on the winners of the Cayman Islands/Bermuda clash on either June 14 or 15 in their first qualifying match.

Star Trinidad and Tobago striker Kenwyne Jones who plays for Sunderland in the English Premier League is closely marshalled yesterday by three Guadeloupe players in the friendly international at the Queen's Park Oval, Port-of-Spain. (2008-02-07), Author: Rattan Jadoo.
« Last Edit: February 08, 2008, 05:31:06 AM by Flex »

Re: No match-fee for FPATT players.
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2008, 05:24:50 AM »
ah eh read dis yet eh.....but mih first reaction is...

WWHHHAAATTTT???!!!!

Ok....now on to the story....

« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2008, 05:27:52 AM »
Ah lord.....same shit.....different day

« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2008, 05:42:10 AM »
all that glitters is not gold...

« Reply #4 on: February 08, 2008, 05:45:12 AM »
"FPATT have been representing the Soca Warriors for what they claim as “outstanding money from their participation in the 2006 World Cup in Germany,” and are awaiting arbitration in the matter."
NEWSDAY come back with this shit AGAIN ::)
when the reporters in TnT go learn that FPATT is NOT involved in that

aye Mr. Walter Alibey, read this Thread...http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=27474.msg309043#msg309043

« Last Edit: February 08, 2008, 05:49:56 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #5 on: February 08, 2008, 06:24:58 AM »
A senior member of FPATT said the players resented being rushed to sign the one-match contract which was expected to land them US$400 each.
The players allegedly refusing to sign, include Sunderland striker Kenwyne Jones, Southampton’s Stern John, Swansea’s Jason Scotland, Collin Samuel of Toronto FC, Marvin Oliver (Caledonia AIA) and goalkeeper Clayton Ince.
Newsday also learnt that the players were being offered US$700 for a draw and US$1, 000 for a victory against the French islanders yesterday.
It was alleged the players were told that if they did not sign the contract, then they would receive no payment for their performance against Guadeloupe.
According to the FPATT official, his association wants to offer the players something that will prevent them from experiencing similar situations that many of the country’s national players have gone through.
We want to offer them a package for the entire campaign and not something that they will not benefit from if they are not selected on the squad,” the official said yesterday.
He expressed the view that if the players had signed for Wednesday’s match- fee, it would have been what they will be paid for the entire campaign.

so if it was a one match contract why would it be what they were paid for the entire campaigne?
were they gonna be paid 400 or 700?

is this poor reporting or skulldugery?

« Reply #6 on: February 08, 2008, 07:39:04 AM »
BIG UP TO MEN LIKE OLIVER WHO not in europe but turn down a cool 400us

i didnt know the men who aint make it out a d 40 gettin salt??

jeezan nuttin for comin out all them days and runnin like a horese in couva?

« Reply #7 on: February 08, 2008, 07:44:52 AM »
when will Jackula's SHIT ever end?
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #8 on: February 08, 2008, 08:01:11 AM »
We want to offer them a package for the entire campaign and not something that they will not benefit from if they are not selected on the squad,” the official said yesterday.

so if it was a one match contract why would it be what they were paid for the entire campaigne?

I taking this one with a pinch of salt.  Mr. MC yuh could be right, something about this report just not making sense, and ah wonder if the reporter rush this story without doing the proper ground work.  Newsday always like to be the first to report something, not always accurate.

Firstly which players on Wednesday are FPATT members ?
Secondly what in the contract would have suggested that if the players sign for a one-off game for US$400, then they would have signed for the entire campaign.
I could agree with negotiating a package for the entire campaign so those who train and ent get pick could still get a lil something...but that have to be structured properly catering for all conditionalities.

Now ah hope is $400 for the game and an additional $700 or $1000 if the game draw/win respectively.

FPATT give we the true picture nah.

« Reply #9 on: February 08, 2008, 12:01:57 PM »
This whole situation is so confusing it eh funny,one Minuit FPATT representing the players the next thing is they not,then who representing them,they on their own or what?is it just those players mentioned that did not sign/accept money or was it the whole team?i'm not hearing Shaka,JB etc saying anything,i knew we would have this problem again because the initial one was never resolved,TTFF thought by eliminating Jack and Carlos things would of change but as long as the so called blacklisted players involved expect this to happen.So you all want to tell me those guys played for nothing?did they fly home on their own who paid the airfare?i might be wrong here but we can't say no match fee because they were offered a fee just that they did not accept it.

« Reply #10 on: February 08, 2008, 12:03:55 PM »
FPATT.....paging....FPATT.....

« Reply #11 on: February 08, 2008, 12:34:57 PM »

I taking this one with a pinch of salt.  Mr. MC yuh could be right, something about this report just not making sense, and ah wonder if the reporter rush this story without doing the proper ground work.  Newsday always like to be the first to report something, not always accurate.

Firstly which players on Wednesday are FPATT members ?
Secondly what in the contract would have suggested that if the players sign for a one-off game for US$400, then they would have signed for the entire campaign.
I could agree with negotiating a package for the entire campaign so those who train and ent get pick could still get a lil something...but that have to be structured properly catering for all conditionalities.

Now ah hope is $400 for the game and an additional $700 or $1000 if the game draw/win respectively.

FPATT give we the true picture nah.

My interpretation:

They probably going on the idea that if they agree to $400 now, then that is what they will likely be paid per match for the rest of the campaign. On top of that it is likely the base fee is $400. If they draw the fee then goes up to $700, and if they win, up to $1000.

« Reply #12 on: February 08, 2008, 12:39:02 PM »
What is Jack Warner's estimated net worth??? Anyone knows???

« Reply #13 on: February 08, 2008, 01:08:23 PM »
I read it the same way mose.  if you take 400 now..why would you expect anything different come time to play cayman is or grenada...or even mexico?  fellaz, i really hate to say it, but it really really lookin leke we goh have to support JA in SA :devil:

« Reply #14 on: February 08, 2008, 01:14:28 PM »
FPATT.....paging....FPATT.....

Sorry I have not posted for some time. FPATT collectively decided to only issue statements via the President and Vice President, as sometimes statements were taken out of context. I have passed on Shaka and Claytons contact details to the mods. It is particularly frustrating that journalists still insist on connecting the arbitration to FPATT.

As I understand it, the players were presented with documents to sign by the team manager David Mohammed. The players discussed their options and took advice from FPATT. Essentially, FPATT felt that documents should be reviewed by FPATTs lawyers before signing. This was not the time or place for contract negotiations. Some FPATT members refused to sign, but eventually, the majority of players did sign.

The concern was not about match fees, but more about what else the documents contained, as well as concern over insurance arrangements and travel arrangements.

FPATT has repeatedly contacted TTFF since December to ask for a meeting. Despite acknowledging the letters, Mr Camps has so far been unable to agree a meeting date.

Foreign players expected to return to their clubs in good physical and mental condition should be provided with First class travel. I understand that Kenwyne, and perhaps Stern, were upgraded by Sunderland.

FPATT was formed partly to provide collective bargaining to players so that they would not be subject to distractions such as contract negotiations while in training camp. FPATT is disapointed that TTFF have resisted FPATTs attempts to hold talks prior to the players arriving in camp, and therefore  allow players to concentrate on their football. Hopefully, TTFF will agree to meet with FPATT to begin negotiations shortly.

I hope this answers some questions.

Offline bajanscout

• bajanscout
« Reply #15 on: February 08, 2008, 01:50:18 PM »
Marvin is d only local player that turn down d 400 dollar deal .that's to show he knows he's worth more than that per game.brazil player and england players are getting $20000 per game we men can't even get 10% of that that aint rite.
bajanscout

« Reply #16 on: February 08, 2008, 06:31:41 PM »
Marvin is d only local player that turn down d 400 dollar deal .that's to show he knows he's worth more than that per game.brazil player and england players are getting $20000 per game we men can't even get 10% of that that aint rite.

what gate receipts those teams pulling?

I all for proper insurance, proper transportation and accomodation arrangements.  I have never felt you should be paid to play for country....just a stipend to cover expenses and despite this blacklist thing I still think that is the better course.

Volunteer to play for country and earn your money at your club.

« Reply #17 on: February 08, 2008, 06:42:49 PM »
How much d cricketers does make 4 playin 4 TNT?

« Reply #18 on: February 08, 2008, 06:58:37 PM »

I all for proper insurance, proper transportation and accomodation arrangements.  I have never felt you should be paid to play for country....just a stipend to cover expenses and despite this blacklist thing I still think that is the better course.

yeah dcs what do you do?
next time the country need somebody with your services volunteer nah? love up your country...steups...You feel country gonna take care of you when your foot break? Trinis always critical of a next man bread..what a next man should do to earn his living or not....but i guarantee put yourself in that situation...you will not be as giving as your time...to leave your family, kids and your commitments to come sweat for your country..

« Reply #19 on: February 08, 2008, 07:19:08 PM »

My interpretation:

They probably going on the idea that if they agree to $400 now, then that is what they will likely be paid per match for the rest of the campaign. On top of that it is likely the base fee is $400. If they draw the fee then goes up to $700, and if they win, up to $1000.

So simple that even yuh average 12-year old could understand it.

« Reply #20 on: February 08, 2008, 07:21:28 PM »

Sorry I have not posted for some time. FPATT collectively decided to only issue statements via the President and Vice President, as sometimes statements were taken out of context.

Change yuh screen name...plain and simple, no?

« Reply #21 on: February 08, 2008, 07:28:44 PM »

yeah dcs what do you do?
next time the country need somebody with your services volunteer nah? love up your country...steups...You feel country gonna take care of you when your foot break? Trinis always critical of a next man bread..what a next man should do to earn his living or not....but i guarantee put yourself in that situation...you will not be as giving as your time...to leave your family, kids and your commitments to come sweat for your country..

You cyah read or what...whey de man criticise anybody?  Some ah allyuh Trinis juss unecessarily quarrelsome sometimes yes.  Like you, I disagree with his position, but I doh think he criticising any of the players  :beermug:

I too kinda feel that pride in representing one's country should be what these players aspire for, unless it's some big money making tournament or something.  The reality though is that these players aren't playing for their country, they play for their country's football federation.  They are at will employees whose employment can end (not getting called up) on whim and don't really have much bargaining position.  It's a situation decidedly to the advantage of the TTFF, and I applaud the players for finally taking a stand.

The TTFF is resistant to the reality that the players are now coalescing behind a unified voice in FPATT and as much as the TTFF recognizes the body, the TTFF is slow to recognize the authority of that body.  So they pay lip service to FPATT and say 'yeah, is ah good thing that the players are organizing...we like Shaka"...but at the same time they are trying to go about things the same old way, screwing over the players how they see fit.  I imagine it was a sacrifice for many to turn down 'so much' money...but kudos to those who did on principle.  Hopefully this small sacrifice will seed the beginnings of a better bargaining position in the long run.

« Reply #22 on: February 08, 2008, 07:31:15 PM »
DCS, you think we still in the "bun and sweet drink" days or what. You must remember that them men career practically over by the time they reach 35. They have to make as much money before they retire. You say that they making their money thru their clubs so they should volunteer. That is exactly one of the reasons why the clubs try to force the players not to play for their country. They are the ones that pay the salary, medical etc.

« Reply #23 on: February 08, 2008, 07:34:32 PM »

yeah dcs what do you do?

You cyah read or what...whey de man criticise anybody?  Some ah allyuh Trinis juss unecessarily quarrelsome sometimes yes. 

hello Mr Pot, or is it Mr Kettle?

« Reply #24 on: February 08, 2008, 07:34:40 PM »
You cyah read or what...whey de man criticise anybody?  Some ah allyuh Trinis juss unecessarily quarrelsome sometimes yes.  Like you, I disagree with his position, but I doh think he criticising any of the players  :beermug:

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #25 on: February 08, 2008, 08:17:02 PM »
hello Mr Pot, or is it Mr Kettle?

You could call me anything but daddy for all I facking care.

Do you have anything substantive to add or are you juss here to weigh in from the peanut gallery?

« Reply #26 on: February 08, 2008, 08:51:28 PM »
arrrrm, DCS
next time ya go to Hi Lo, tell dem you does volunteer at ya wuk and see if day let you take out ya groceries with out putting down some blue notes

serious....try it nuh ;)

ESPECIALLY when People like Jackula taking all dem Millions and runnin
« Last Edit: February 08, 2008, 09:20:47 PM by WestCoast »

« Reply #27 on: February 08, 2008, 09:01:44 PM »
You cyah read or what...whey de man criticise anybody?  Some ah allyuh Trinis juss unecessarily quarrelsome sometimes yes.  Like you, I disagree with his position, but I doh think he criticising any of the players  :beermug:

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
;)

« Reply #28 on: February 08, 2008, 09:02:57 PM »
How much d cricketers does make 4 playin 4 TNT?

I doh know about T&T but with WI the players are full time employees and do not play for clubs. 

« Reply #29 on: February 08, 2008, 09:08:37 PM »
That is exactly one of the reasons why the clubs try to force the players not to play for their country. They are the ones that pay the salary, medical etc.

I glad you brought that up.  UEFA and Fifa just came up with this agreement about compensating the clubs when players called up for Intl Duty.
They don't lose any money when they leave the club and that is who they are contracted to....the clubs are basically loaning the players out to the federations.  If the federations pay the clubs then what?

Hope i got the gist of that UEFA/Fifa thing because that is my take on it....still need to read up more but it is not an insignificant development and it is going to come into play with these very discussions....I bet it is going to change things.