March 28, 2024, 04:30:49 AM

Author Topic: Happy Independence Thread  (Read 56324 times)

Happy Independence Thread
« on: August 31, 2005, 05:20:59 AM »
Happy 43rd Birthday Trinidad & Tobago !!!

I wish for peace and harmony in we land.
I wish for de negative elements (you know who you are) in our society to be washed away.
I wish for Guatemala tuh be crushed by de Soca Warriors on Saturday, September 3rd

Together we aspire, together we achieve

« Last Edit: August 31, 2015, 08:46:38 AM by Flex »

Re: Happy 43rd Birthday Trinidad & Tobago !!!
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2005, 05:22:28 AM »
BOOMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM......YEA TNT TNT TNT

« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2005, 05:33:33 AM »
For de home struck Trinis like myself.God bless T&T and may his hand be upon us in these next two matches for FULL points.......Amen.
Allyuh did'nt know I is a deacon in preacher church ;D

Offline Richard G.

• Ah en new...jus doh post as often as oda people
« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2005, 05:57:49 AM »
As only Trinbagonians can celebrate...we feteing for 43 years legally  ;D

Happy Independence and Republic day T&T.

Lata and blessings and enjoy de day.
Richard G.
T&T first. Any other country comes a very distant 2nd.

www.soundcloud.com/dcoachg
www.soundcloud.com/dcoachg2
www.soundcloud.com/dcoachg3

« Reply #4 on: August 31, 2005, 06:52:34 AM »
BLESSINGS UPON OUR TWIN ISLAND STATE.....HAPPY ANNIVERSARY.

« Reply #5 on: August 31, 2005, 07:26:18 AM »
Love, peace and prosperity to all my trinis in de mother land and abroad. May God continue to bless us and may we contiue to progress as a nation to secure a better tomorrow for our youth.

Finally, may the Almighty Father empower us to put de sweetest cut ass on Guatemala on Sept. 3rd 2005!

Go T&T... Go Warriors! :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel:

« Reply #6 on: August 31, 2005, 07:41:35 AM »
Love, peace and prosperity to all my trinis in de mother land and abroad. May God continue to bless us and may we contiue to progress as a nation to secure a better tomorrow for our youth.

Finally, may the Almighty Father empower us to put de sweetest cut ass on Guatemala on Sept. 3rd 2005!

Go T&T... Go Warriors! :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel:

For real Firebrand...........HAPPY B'DAY T&T......... and yes we'll celebrate by Cuttin' some Guatemalan A$$ On Saturday......

« Reply #7 on: August 31, 2005, 08:39:53 AM »
Happy Birthday T&T.  We country goin through some real strife right now.  Ah hope dat we GROW UP and not always take tings so lackadasical and instead develop de rich and vast potential we have as a people.  Sometimes ah doesn't even want to read de papers wit de amount a crime bein reported but is a reality so I also hopin fuh a HEALIN of de country.

Goin to de WC could be a blessing for our country.  A rallying point fuh we to concentrate and focus on all de GOOD we have.  It could start right there on Saturday and build momentum.
Or it might be a temporary plaster to cover a serious wound. 

Eedah way....wishin T&T all de best in this our 43rd year of Independence.

As Sentinel does say...Luv U T&T!!!

« Reply #8 on: August 31, 2005, 09:02:20 AM »
Ah thank God for this nation...only 43 years old?  Hmmm We are truly blessed....Father we thank you for keeping us free, we ask that you keep all them criminals and radical muslims in check.  We pray that you give our leaders wisdom and courage to lead.

Let Mame and Tantie, Grand Pa and the children feel safe again in our land.....and bring us success on Saturday. In jresus name Amen.......

Royal your misss Deacon's meeting boy  ;D...next week you preaching

« Reply #9 on: August 31, 2005, 03:39:13 PM »
I 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th & 6th everthing said above!

Sweet sweet T&T
Lord how ah luv up my country!
Sweet sweet T&T
No better place I'd rather be!

Happy 43rd to all my proud & independent minded Trinis!
Let us never again be slaves to any other culture or country!!

Together we aspire & together we will kick Guatemala's ass on Saturday!  8)

Happy Independence Thread
« Reply #10 on: August 31, 2006, 06:16:16 AM »
Happy Birthday my fellow Trinbagonians

44 great years!.....with many accomplishments.... Crawfie Jenny Wendy Ato  Bovell Socawarriors....allyuh add tuh de list.

ok it edited  :)

« Last Edit: July 08, 2015, 07:32:09 AM by Flex »

Re: Happy Birthday my fellow Trinbagonians
« Reply #11 on: August 31, 2006, 07:09:25 AM »
Yeah man...bless up !  :beermug:

Offline monty

« Reply #12 on: August 31, 2006, 07:22:19 AM »
How you leave out the Prince so ???? Edit that and put Lara one time!!

« Reply #13 on: August 31, 2006, 07:24:19 AM »
Yes, congrats to a blessed country and people.

Offline cocoapanyol

HAPPY 44TH INDEPENDENCE!!
« Reply #14 on: August 31, 2006, 07:24:35 AM »
 :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
I can please only one person per day. Today is not your day. Tomorrow isn't looking good either.

« Reply #15 on: August 31, 2006, 08:29:41 AM »
Happy Bday TnT...

« Reply #16 on: August 31, 2006, 08:30:49 AM »
How you leave out the Prince so ???? Edit that and put Lara one time!!

wha bout Ian Morris  ;D
« Last Edit: August 31, 2006, 08:34:20 AM by kicker »

« Reply #17 on: August 31, 2006, 08:45:49 AM »
How Independence comes "birthday" now?  This I would like to know.  Trinidad and Tobago was not "born" today, as we existed as a country for many, many years prior.

We did gain our Independence, however.  So Tongue, stop talking tata.  Wha birthday yuh talking bout?  I guess Columbus "discovered" Trinidad as well, right?

Happy Independence Day fellow Trinbagonians.

« Reply #18 on: August 31, 2006, 09:01:24 AM »
How Independence comes "birthday" now?  This I would like to know.  Trinidad and Tobago was not "born" today, as we existed as a country for many, many years prior.

We did gain our Independence, however.  So Tongue, stop talking tata.  Wha birthday yuh talking bout?  I guess Columbus "discovered" Trinidad as well, right?

Well the islands existed from way back when and were inhabited by Amerindians......but the islands were not called Trinidad & Tobago. Those names were branded by the spaniards (Columbus) Trinidad (La Trinidad) is spanish for the holy Trinity (father, son & holy spirit) which was what Columbus was reminded of when he saw the trinity (three) hills.....his first sight of Trinidad from the sea.....

Tobago, I think is a degeneration of the word "tobacco" which was a cash crop upon re-discovery. (correct me if I'm wrong)....

so sure today is not the birthday of the islands as a physical landmass inhabited by Caribs & Arawaks.....

but it is the birthday of Trinidad & Tobago as an independent country (as we know it)

........I wid yuh boy Tongue  ;D (except yuh forget Ian Morris  ;D ;D ;D)

daz my lil history lesson fuh de day  :beermug:
« Last Edit: August 31, 2006, 09:08:26 AM by kicker »

Offline doh_stick

« Reply #19 on: August 31, 2006, 09:12:41 AM »
Wha bout Stephen Ames...

« Reply #20 on: August 31, 2006, 09:13:46 AM »

Oh gorm man.  Yuh know wha de man mean?  Why allyuh ha t tek ting so literal?

And yeah tongue.....yuh cyah leff out BCL....probably de fuss name on de list yuh call dey.

Den again...is bess yuh didn't call no name because man already chattin a setta assholery bout Ian Morris and Stephen Ames.  Nex ting yuh go be hearin wha bout Hardest.

« Reply #21 on: August 31, 2006, 09:14:02 AM »

Well the islands existed from way back when and were inhabited by Amerindians......but the islands were not called Trinidad & Tobago. Those names were branded by the spaniards (Columbus) Trinidad (La Trinidad) is spanish for the holy Trinity (father, son & holy spirit) which was what Columbus was reminded of when he say the trinity (three) hills.....his first sight of Trinidad from the sea.....

Tobago, I think is a degeneration of the word "tobacco" which was a cash crop upon re-discovery. (correct me if I'm wrong)....

so sure today is not the birthday of the islands as a physical landmass inhabited by Caribs & Arawaks.....

but it is the birthday of Trinidad & Tobago as an independent country (as we know it)

Today is the birthday of Trinidad and Tobago AS AN INDEPENDENT COUNTRY, not the birthday of Trinidad and Tobago on the whole.  There is a difference.

To say happy birthday Trinidad and Tobago is to negate all the work that those who toiled PRIOR to 1962 did.  So before 1962, was Trinidad and Tobago dead?  Did it exist?  The Water Riots, The fight for independence, other such pivotal moments in our history count for nothing then?

Come fellas, use the proper terminology.

Happy Independence Day Trinidad and Tobago.

Offline Madd Ras#13

Re: HAPPY 44TH INDEPENDENCE!!
« Reply #22 on: August 31, 2006, 09:18:49 AM »
ah wonder if we dat independent? :-\ anyway  :beermug:
all dat is necessary is necessary

« Reply #23 on: August 31, 2006, 09:27:11 AM »

Well the islands existed from way back when and were inhabited by Amerindians......but the islands were not called Trinidad & Tobago. Those names were branded by the spaniards (Columbus) Trinidad (La Trinidad) is spanish for the holy Trinity (father, son & holy spirit) which was what Columbus was reminded of when he say the trinity (three) hills.....his first sight of Trinidad from the sea.....

Today is the birthday of Trinidad and Tobago AS AN INDEPENDENT COUNTRY, not the birthday of Trinidad and Tobago on the whole.  There is a difference.

To say happy birthday Trinidad and Tobago is to negate all the work that those who toiled PRIOR to 1962 did.  So before 1962, was Trinidad and Tobago dead?  Did it exist?  The Water Riots, The fight for independence, other such pivotal moments in our history count for nothing then?

Point taken but when you celebrate your birthday, do you celebrate it on the day you actually came into the world or the day when you were a recognizable zygote in your mother's womb?

« Reply #24 on: August 31, 2006, 09:42:07 AM »

breds..u taking this way too serious. think of it as metaphor. not everything has to be addressed in a literal manner. wishing a happy 'birthday' to a nation is a common expression that is used by many a writer. It is a way of personalizing the country, and gives the greeting an informal feel, like greeting an old friend. nobody is negating anything or making light of the nation's history and to be honest, you are not saying anything we don't already know. I like the way you address our nation's history, and I personally would stick to Independence Day myself, but historical accuracy is not the point here. Given the context, people should feel free to express these things however they feel.

« Reply #25 on: August 31, 2006, 09:50:37 AM »

Today is the birthday of Trinidad and Tobago AS AN INDEPENDENT COUNTRY, not the birthday of Trinidad and Tobago on the whole.  There is a difference.

To say happy birthday Trinidad and Tobago is to negate all the work that those who toiled PRIOR to 1962 did.  So before 1962, was Trinidad and Tobago dead?  Did it exist?  The Water Riots, The fight for independence, other such pivotal moments in our history count for nothing then?

oh gosh U....de man start ah thread wid good intentions and yuh come dry so like some chili bibbie...  ;D....leh we just bask in de nostalgia nah and not get caught up in de terminology... :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:  oh and tongue how yuh go leave out Giselle Laronde  ;D

« Reply #26 on: August 31, 2006, 09:55:14 AM »

Oh gorm man.  Yuh know wha de man mean?  Why allyuh ha t tek ting so literal?

And yeah tongue.....yuh cyah leff out BCL....probably de fuss name on de list yuh call dey.

Den again...is bess yuh didn't call no name because man already chattin a setta assholery bout Ian Morris and Stephen Ames.  Nex ting yuh go be hearin wha bout Hardest.

hahaha...I was jess kixin' bout Ian Morris......but that 4th place was agonizing though....laawwd !!..he deserve a special mention  ;D....in fact IAN MORRIS FUH PRESIDENT !!!!  :D
« Last Edit: August 31, 2006, 09:57:47 AM by kicker »

« Reply #27 on: August 31, 2006, 10:10:36 AM »
Happy "Birthday" Independence Trinidad and Tobago  ;D

We have come a long way, but we still have a journey ahead of us.

« Reply #28 on: August 31, 2006, 10:28:03 AM »
Birth of a Nation....our nation's dawning...Look 'Yout not today! ok ah lef out some people...so wham, allyuh kyah add tuh de list. doh spoil it nah :beermug: :beermug:
« Last Edit: August 31, 2006, 10:35:49 AM by Tongue »

« Reply #29 on: August 31, 2006, 10:33:22 AM »
look 'Yout not tuday! ok ah lef out some people...so wham, allyuh kyah add tuh de list. doh spoil it nah :beermug: :beermug:

hahahahahahha  allyuh doh study it.  Tongue is meh boy.  ent manage?    ;D

Add Dr. Eric Eustace Williams to that list one time please.