April 20, 2024, 04:47:20 AM

Who will win the 2008 Sprite Slam Dunk contest?

Rudy Gay, Grizzlies
2 (33.3%)
Gerald Green, Timberwolves
1 (16.7%)
Dwight Howard, Magic
2 (33.3%)
Jamario Moon, Raptors
1 (16.7%)

Total Members Voted: 6

Author Topic: 2008 NBA ALL STAR WEEKEND  (Read 4072 times)

2008 NBA ALL STAR WEEKEND
« on: February 15, 2008, 08:36:05 AM »
i'm backin de east to win de all star game.with lebron gettin MVP.

Re: 2008 NBA ALL STAR WEEKEND
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2008, 09:13:16 AM »
Bryant hopes to put off surgery until after OlympicsAssociated Press
Updated: February 14, 2008, 9:28 PM EST 72 comments RSS digg blog email print EL SEGUNDO, Calif. (AP) - Kobe Bryant was diagnosed with a torn ligament in his right pinkie finger Thursday and the Lakers All-Star has decided not to undergo surgery that could sideline him for six weeks.

Kobe Bryant has been playing with an injured pinkie on his right (shooting) hand. (Kent Smith / Getty Images)
The damage occurred when Bryant dislocated the finger at New Jersey on Feb. 5, and was aggravated in Wednesday night's game at Minnesota.

The team said Thursday that the damage was more extensive than first believed. There is a complete tear of the radial collateral ligament and avulsion fracture, in which a small bone fragment had been pulled off by a tendon.

Bryant was examined in Los Angeles by Dr. Steven Shin, a hand specialist who recommended surgery to repair the ligament.

"My current thinking is to give my finger some treatment and rest for a few days, and hope I can still continue to compete at a high level after that rest," Bryant said in statement.

"I would prefer to delay any surgical procedure until after our Lakers season, and this summer's Olympic Games. But this is an injury that myself and the Lakers medical staff will just have to continue to monitor on a day-to-day basis."

It was unclear if Bryant will play in Sunday's All-Game at New Orleans. But he will skip the 3-point shooting contest, with Dirk Nowitzki of Dallas replacing him.

« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2008, 10:08:13 PM »
Dwight fukkin Howard take it tuh ah whole 'nother level tonite boy....is years me eh watch de Slam Dunk competition, but pardna come out with ah vengeance tonite and kill it.  His dunks will be on YouTube for quite some time...talk about creativity.

« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2008, 10:34:49 PM »
yeah boy dat super man shiz look real good...especially in slowmotion
never thought ah reall tallman/centre could actually win that...but de man deserve he props

3 point shooutout was real clanging dis this rounds

« Reply #4 on: February 17, 2008, 10:45:51 AM »
yeah boy dat super man shiz look real good...especially in slowmotion
never thought ah reall tallman/centre could actually win that...but de man deserve he props

3 point shooutout was real clanging dis this rounds

yeah boy, from time I see he pulling up he shirt and and spy de 'S' on he chest I start tuh bawl....dat shit was hot.  Plenty people was saying it would be hard fuh ah tall man tuh win de dunk out...dai'z why ah say he come back wid ah vengeance.

As fuh de three-point...Nash well surprise mih how he flame out early.

« Reply #5 on: February 17, 2008, 11:24:46 AM »
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6xk2rPmP3BQ

technically, i eh know if that superman dunk even qualify as a dunk..

man just elevate then pelt de ball in from about 2 feet away. lol

but still that hadda be the nastiest dunk i see in years..

the blowout candle dunk from greene was real wicked too, especially watching it in slow motion.

This dunkout was right up there with dominique v jordan and with the vince carter show of years ago..

Offline sinned

« Reply #6 on: February 17, 2008, 12:35:35 PM »
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6xk2rPmP3BQ

technically, i eh know if that superman dunk even qualify as a dunk..

man just elevate then pelt de ball in from about 2 feet away. lol

but still that hadda be the nastiest dunk i see in years..

the blowout candle dunk from greene was real wicked too, especially watching it in slow motion.

This dunkout was right up there with dominique v jordan and with the vince carter show of years ago..

it does qualify as a dunk. or at least acoording to wikipedia:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Slam_dunk

"There is one component required for this particular "field goal" to be classified as a "dunk": 1) the ball must be thrown into the basketball net in a downward motion where both the ball and player's hand(s) are both above the basketball rim."

« Reply #7 on: February 17, 2008, 01:29:36 PM »
East at West
Preview | Game Trax | Depth Chart | Head-to-Head 
TICKETS: East |  West   
NEW ORLEANS (AP) - Jason Kidd is Eastern Conference All-Star, who by Sunday could play for a team in the West.

How's the NBA supposed to handle that one?
"I told him he should have spent 30 minutes in the Western Conference meetings, and 30 minutes in the Eastern Conference meeting," Cleveland's LeBron James said Friday. "He's with us right now at halftime, but he might go play for the West."

Kidd's stalled trade from New Jersey to Dallas probably won't change the color of his uniform for Sunday's All-Star game, but it added a level of uncertainty to the opening day of All-Star weekend.

"He's kind of in limbo," Kobe Bryant said.

So is Bryant.

Bryant said he'd "rather not play" Sunday night because of a torn ligament in his right pinkie, but doesn't think he has a choice. NBA policy dictates that if a player is healthy enough to play in the final game before the break and the first one after, he won't be excused from the All-Star game. Bryant is hardly pleased with the rule.

"But what can you do?" he said. "I don't want to be suspended, miss a game."

It wasn't clear if Bryant, wearing a black splint over the finger, would in fact be suspended if he sat out. He expected the Lakers to talk to the league about his options, and couldn't say for sure if he would play.

"Honestly, I don't know what to tell you," Bryant said. "I'm not really sure where the NBA stands. I have no idea."

Bryant, Kidd and the rest of the All-Stars joined with an expected 2,500 volunteers to take part in a day of community service throughout New Orleans on Friday, helping aid in the recovery from Hurricane Katrina.

Bryant played Wednesday night in Minnesota, then returned to Los Angeles and learned his injury was worse than originally thought. He declined the doctor's recommendation of surgery, even though he said Lakers owner Jerry Buss encouraged such an option to prevent a longer-lasting injury.

Bryant already pulled out of Saturday's 3-point contest and was replaced by Dirk Nowitzki - who's still awaiting word if he's getting a new teammate.

The Mavericks and Nets agreed to a deal Wednesday that would have sent Kidd to Dallas. But Devean George exercised his right in the collective bargaining agreement to block the trade. So the Kidd trade rumors, which have dragged on for most of the season, showed up in New Orleans with him.

"It is what is. I don't know if I'm going to be with the Nets or Mavs or whoever it may be, but this is one of the biggest stages for the NBA until the playoffs start," Kidd said. "It just happens that me being traded or me being on hold until being traded has taken on a life of its own and it's a big topic right now."

Nets president Rod Thorn said George's stance hadn't changed as of Friday morning, which spares the NBA from having to figure out what to do when the starting point guard for the East happens to play for a team in the West.

"I haven't played for a Western Conference team. So I think I would be on the East," Kidd said. "It might have been different had I played last night for the Mavs, but I think everything will work itself out and I'll be on the East for right now."

It's the second straight year that Kidd and Bryant were in the All-Star weekend headlines. Kidd believed a trade was possible last year before the deadline and the Lakers were a candidate. A deal was almost made days later before falling through when the Lakers wouldn't include center Andrew Bynum, which angered Bryant.

So he knows how Nowitzki must feel.

"I saw him walking around," Bryant said. "I don't know how he's dealing with this - that close to getting Jason Kidd."

The Lakers aren't the only ones holding their breath over Bryant's injury. USA Basketball managing director Jerry Colangelo said coach Mike Krzyzewski called him in the morning when he heard news that could be damaging to the Americans' gold-medal hopes.

"I'm pulling for Kobe and I want him healthy because I want him in our uniform this summer," Colangelo said.

Bryant, who had to withdraw from U.S. teams in 2003, '04 and '06 before finally making his debut last summer, says he will play in the Olympics.

"I'm not missing this summer," he said. "Unless something drastic happens, God forbid. I've been waiting to play on this team for too long."

Bryant, who won his second All-Star game MVP award last year, is among the NBA's fiercest competitors. But don't expect to see him asking West coach Byron Scott to put him in at the end if Sunday's game is close.

"In my youth, yeah," he said. "In my old age of 29, no."

« Reply #8 on: February 17, 2008, 03:46:13 PM »
Let's do de damn thing Wade. Let dem know we have de worst record fuh dis season, but we have de second best player in de NBA. Kobe, Wade and James, dat is de order, yes Supa say dat and dat is what it is  ;).

MVP- D. Wade
« Last Edit: February 18, 2008, 02:52:13 PM by SUPA »

« Reply #9 on: February 17, 2008, 03:58:09 PM »
supa yuh loyalty is noted

but da wade fellah is ah shadow of he former self...yuh see him in yesterdays skills competition? de body willin but it eh able

« Reply #10 on: February 17, 2008, 05:12:10 PM »
Dwight Howard on ah roll...he's my choice for MVP.

EDIT:  LeBron James deserved it, I ended up voting for him in a close race over Ray Allen.
« Last Edit: February 17, 2008, 11:15:18 PM by Bake n Shark »

« Reply #11 on: February 18, 2008, 11:30:52 AM »
Ray Allen scored 28 points, making three straight 3-pointers in the final 3:15, and LeBron James added 27 as the East, widely considered the NBA's weaker half, beat the Western Conference 134-128 in Sunday night's All-Star Game.

Last year, the West humiliated the East in a 153-132 rout in Las Vegas when Kobe Bryant and Co. rewrote the event's record books. However, this time led by Allen's 14 fourth-quarter points and a stunning dunk by James with 55 seconds left, the East salvaged some pride and can return to the season's second half with bragging rights.

James, who added nine assists and eight rebounds, was the MVP for the second time in three years. He also won the honor in 2006.

"We didn't want to come out here and get beat up on again," James said.

Amare Stoudemire, Brandon Roy and Carmelo Anthony scored 18 points apiece to lead the West, which trailed by 13 entering the fourth quarter and rallied behind New Orleans' Chris Paul. The guard's seventh assist of the final period set up Roy's layup to give the West a 122-119 lead.

But Boston's Allen, the final player added to either roster, knocked down his second 3-pointer in 48 seconds to tie it before Paul answered with a 3 of his own, sending the hometown crowd into a frenzy.

Allen finally missed and James poked away the ball, and then came up with the night's most stirring moment.

Slashing through the lane, Cleveland's megastar rose and dunked over several West defenders, much like he did in Game 5 of last year's Eastern Conference finals in Detroit when he scored the Cavaliers' final 25 points.

Paul was called for an offensive foul on the West's next trip. Dwyane Wade hit a layup and Allen scored to make it 131-125. Roy's 3-pointer with 8.7 seconds brought the West within three, but Allen made three free throws to close it out.

The weekend in New Orleans was about much more than spectacular dunks, a game featuring marginal defense or collecting strings of beads while strolling down boozy Bourbon Street. The NBA came to the Big Easy hoping to help this special city continue its comeback from Hurricane Katrina, the effects of which are still being felt 2 1/2 years since she blasted through.

On Friday, the world's biggest basketball names as well as hundreds of volunteers fanned out to all sides of the city to help refurbish playgrounds, paint houses and lend a hand with whatever they could on a day devoted to community service.

Many of the players were moved by the experience and came away with a greater sense of what the area has gone through and the monumental work that lies ahead in the Gulf Coast Region.

"Well, I hope not just me, but every All-Star from the East and West was able to put smiles on kids and on families faces," James said. "I think we all know what happened, the devastation down here and to bring the NBA All-Star game here I think it really uplifted the families down here. We had a great time."

Bryant, who won MVP honors last year, played less than 3 minutes so he could rest his injured pinkie. The 10-time All-Star dislocated his finger earlier this month and doctors have advised him to have surgery.

Bryant, though, energized by the club's addition of center Pau Gasol in a trade, wants to delay any operation until late summer. As soon as he took on the West's bench, a trainer wrapped a large ice pack around his entire hand, rendering arguably the league's top player to spectator status.

New Jersey's Jason Kidd spent the weekend wondering whether he would be going back to the Nets or changing into a Dallas jersey. A complex trade, snagged when Mavericks guard Devean George blocked the deal, may have new life.

The clubs still hope to get a deal done before Thursday's deadline.

Players were grooving even before they hit the floor.

Introduced under a balcony resembling one in the city's historic French Quarter, several of the All-Stars danced as a local brass band filled New Orleans Arena with the sounds that exemplify the area's laid-back, fun-loving ethos: Laissez Les Bon Temps Roulez - Let The Good Times Roll.

The East came out flying, getting seven dunks and a layup in the first 5 minutes to take an early 11-point lead before the West awakened. Paul and Hornets teammate David West sparked the West, which cut it to two before James, Kidd and Dwight Howard, whose Superman routine won him Saturday's dunk contest, put on passing display like they were playing pickup ball in the schoolyard.

On one possession, Kidd threw a lob pass to James, who then bounced it off the glass for a charging Howard, who slammed it in. Both teams were scoring so quickly in the second quarter that the p.a. announcer was having a hard time keeping up.

"Rasheed Wallace," he said before catching a breath to say, "Carmelo Anthony."

The game was missing one of its biggest stars as Shaquille O'Neal was not selected, snapping his record-tying 14-year run. Without O'Neal, there were no comedic moments like when Shaq pulled out a giant sneaker phone or made like a point guard and dribbled his way up the court.

Notes
Phoenix will host next year's All-Star game. The event was last held there in 1995, when the West won 139-112 and Sacramento's Mitch Richmond was named MVP. ... Celtics C Kevin Garnett, the leading vote getter who missed the game because of an abdominal strain, worked out for coach Doc Rivers on Sunday. He's expected to practice with the club in Denver on Monday and could return to action on Tuesday. "I'm back to my old self again," he said. ... Unlike Las Vegas a year ago, there weren't many A-listers on celebrity row. California Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger was probably the biggest name. At halftime, his wife, Maria, chatted with hoops legend Julius Erving.

« Reply #12 on: February 18, 2008, 11:47:07 AM »
this is king james 2nd ALLSTAR MVP and de man is only 23.

« Reply #13 on: February 18, 2008, 03:00:16 PM »
supa yuh loyalty is noted

but da wade fellah is ah shadow of he former self...yuh see him in yesterdays skills competition? de body willin but it eh able

Yeah, I looked at the competition and I swore on meh yute, tears almost ran out meh eye. I hate to admit dis doh, but you are correct wid de above statement. However, although he lost some of it, due to surgery and thing, but he is still in de top 4 or 5 scorers in de league. De last few days ah pull up he stats, he was averaging around 25 points a game. I believe de other of top scorers are Kobe, James and Iverson, correct meh if ah wrong. I had de honor of meeting Wade by ah nice lil soul food restaurant near tuh de arena. Yeah ah just said it, soul food restaurant, ah know de owner, she said Shaq and Wade does be there on ah regular basis, dat alone will tell us how humble dem 2 people are, cuz dey cud go and eat by ah restaurant dat charging about $200.00 ah plate..

I doh just like and appreciate talent, but ah does look at how ah superstar does treat people dat are less fortunate dan him or her. I must admit to you all, he is so down to earth and humble guy, it is not even explainable. De men and dem was eating and people were bothering dem fuh dis and fuh dat, dey were not running de people off and dey responded to each person wid ah smile on dey face. Yuh have tuh love and appreciate people like dat. Wade, Shaq and 3 other people were there waiting on Mom's (we call her dat) good soul food. They gave meh son autograph and thing. Shaq wasn't a big deal, cuz I had 2 parties on south beach ah while back and he and Iverson were in de VIP area, so ah met him in person already. But that was meh first time tuh meet Wade up close and in person, real nice guy to go wid his talent. HIGHLY BLESSED.
« Last Edit: February 18, 2008, 03:26:49 PM by SUPA »

« Reply #14 on: February 18, 2008, 03:13:09 PM »
Atleast he kill heself and win the Chapionship ,he lucky . But daiz it for him for a couple more years until he recover ,like I said you guys kill the man and he played he naval string out .
If it was not for bosh ,the west would have won that game .Big up Kapono and to bad Jamario did not get the beyond the free line dunk ,cause for a finale he had a 720 dunk.

« Reply #15 on: February 18, 2008, 03:36:38 PM »
Atleast he kill heself and win the Chapionship ,he lucky . But daiz it for him for a couple more years until he recover ,like I said you guys kill the man and he played he naval string out .
If it was not for bosh ,the west would have won that game .Big up Kapono and to bad Jamario did not get the beyond the free line dunk ,cause for a finale he had a 720 dunk.

Family remember he still averaging about 25 points a game, he still up dey wid de best. Wid de right pieces fitted in de puzzle, wid de running game we have wid especially Wade, Marion, Banks and Right, we will be okay. All I want is ah few more wins dis seaon tuh make de numbers look presentable. Cuz Supa done start tuh do he scouting fuh de draft. Check out Beardsley and Derrick Rose, we cud get one ah dem, keep him or trade him off fuh ah already established big name player in de NBA, dat will be Riley call, he is de professional, so he know what is best. But dem anyone ah dem 2 guys will compliment Wade and Marion nicely. Remember where you heard it first  ;). HIGHLY BLESSED. 
« Last Edit: February 19, 2008, 02:39:59 PM by SUPA »

« Reply #16 on: February 19, 2008, 01:24:14 AM »
AS a man who could ah jump (and dunk) in he day I could tell you that as much as I loved the superman dunk, that dunk from behind the backboard is so difficult I can't even begin to explain. That was the dunk of the night for me, it just didnt have the flair and OH ISHH of the SUPERMAN dunk, but welcome back to the SLAM DUNK contest, the birthday cake dunk I thought was brilliant/creative too.

« Reply #17 on: February 19, 2008, 01:06:05 PM »
dais true...de way I see man like kobe and lebron jump out dey seat when he smoke it from behind the backboard.....I FIGURE it must have been hard as hell........it somehow just doh look that difficult when ah 7footer with long arms does it
either way i suspect that fellah land himself some future commercials for somebody product with that superman flyin ting................shaq mus be VEX :devil:

That birthday cake ting look real wicked in trute

« Reply #18 on: February 19, 2008, 07:11:02 PM »
dais true...de way I see man like kobe and lebron jump out dey seat when he smoke it from behind the backboard.....I FIGURE it must have been hard as hell........it somehow just doh look that difficult when ah 7footer with long arms does it
either way i suspect that fellah land himself some future commercials for somebody product with that superman flyin ting................shaq mus be VEX :devil:

That birthday cake ting look real wicked in trute

Wey de jail is dis Dutty, ah doh know how long yuh have dat avatar dey, but ah just observed it. Well give credit where it is due, it wicked boss  :beermug:. HIGHLY BLESSED.

« Reply #19 on: February 19, 2008, 07:25:06 PM »
AS a man who could ah jump (and dunk) in he day I could tell you that as much as I loved the superman dunk, that dunk from behind the backboard is so difficult I can't even begin to explain. That was the dunk of the night for me, it just didnt have the flair and OH ISHH of the SUPERMAN dunk, but welcome back to the SLAM DUNK contest, the birthday cake dunk I thought was brilliant/creative too.

short man like you coulda wet it  ???

now i feeling ole...  ;D

as for the behind the backboard, yuh right i would have thought that was impossible prior to that dunkout.. and then he catch it off the backboard too (not just dunk it normal) and also he avoid bouncing he head on the base of the backboard.. That was ridiculous..

It unfortunate the judges ent realize just how high greene had to jump to blow out the candle.. Viewing it live in the arena it would look like a very simple dunk but the replay does it justice.. and then the dunk in socks that cant be easy either unless he had some kinda secret grips under it..

why i thought the superman dunk wasn't a dunk is cause i remember from sweat when men trying dey dunkout ting and that was always an argument when dem low-flying cane plane men try pelting it in from a distance..

Oh and what about the dunk where he pass it off the backboard with his left hand and wet it with the right?? mih laaawd

« Reply #20 on: February 20, 2008, 12:00:09 PM »
Yes that one was sick too I almost forget that one - but for a man 6' 11'' not as hard I doh think....now if he was 5' 9'' like me.... lol