April 18, 2024, 12:23:12 PM

Author Topic: World Cup bonus hearing set for April.  (Read 4537 times)

World Cup bonus hearing set for April.
« on: February 21, 2008, 08:54:40 PM »
World Cup bonus hearing set for April.
By: Lasana Liburd (Express).

The infamous 2006 World Cup pact, drawn up by FIFA vice-president and Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) special adviser Jack Warner and agreed to by the 23 Germany-bound "Soca Warriors", will come under scrutiny on April 28, 29 and 30 when the two parties meet with the Sports Dispute Resolution Panel in London.

Lawyers for both sides met with arbitrator, English Queen's Counsel Ian Mill, in London on Wednesday for the second and final procedural arrangement before the formal hearing, which should determine whether there is a contract and what revenue falls under its purview.

Crucially, even if the Warriors are adjudged to be due half of all "World Cup generated revenue", April's hearing is unlikely to determine exactly how much they are owed as the financial aspect of the legal matter-according to a source-is considered too complicated to be dealt with in such a speedy manner.

One financial detail that might be analysed in April, though, is the distribution of a $30 million (7 million Swiss Francs) bounty which FIFA gave to every 2006 World Cup finalist. Warner initially claimed that the FIFA handout was subject to heavy taxation.

"The (Trinidad and Tobago) Federation will get a little more than three million Swiss Francs," said Warner, at a press conference in January 2006. "The fact is the German government taxes 21 per cent of the money. Then, they take five per cent for insurance and therefore what you get in your hand is 74 per cent."

German Finance Minister Oskar La Fontaine, German Local Organising Committee press spokesman Gerd Grauss and then FIFA media chief Andreas Herren all denied Warner's assertion when approached by the Express.
It might be the first of many financial questions put to Warner and the T&TFF if the London arbitrator decides in favour of the players.

T&TFF general secretary Richard Groden claimed that the local body received $18,255,952 for its German campaign and further whittled the figure to $950,403.49 after expenses. But the Trinidad and Tobago government, in accordance with the Freedom of Information Act, revealed, last August, that the T&TFF's income was in excess of $173 million. The disparity between financial statements is at the crux of the most high-profile legal battle to hit local sport.
« Last Edit: February 22, 2008, 01:44:51 PM by Flex »

Re: World Cup bonus hearing set for April
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2008, 10:38:51 PM »
mama

« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2008, 05:40:39 AM »
DOH GIVE UP FELLAS....DOH GIVE UP!!!...

« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2008, 06:03:17 AM »
"the german government taxes 21 % "

?????

warner you really is a pleb. The German government does no such thing.

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
Re: World Cup bonus hearing set for April.
« Reply #4 on: February 22, 2008, 06:39:33 AM »
uncle jackie boy! you can fool some of the ppl some of the time....

« Reply #5 on: February 22, 2008, 10:29:43 AM »
173 mil... wow bredda.... Jack real big and livin large oui....

« Reply #6 on: February 22, 2008, 10:40:02 AM »
if england want to host 2018,jack endorsing that.yuh tink he gettin in any problem in de UK.

« Reply #7 on: February 22, 2008, 10:49:21 AM »
everytime i see these stories my head does hurt

i really think jack thought everybody woulda humble and aint wile he scene

but 173million jeezam

« Reply #8 on: February 22, 2008, 11:23:23 AM »
if england want to host 2018,jack endorsing that.yuh tink he gettin in any problem in de UK.

interesting. :-[

« Reply #9 on: February 22, 2008, 12:32:43 PM »
Dat is old news Jack included d salary 4 d man who went back 2 Holland when dey appoint Anton.

« Reply #10 on: February 22, 2008, 12:54:56 PM »

so they will deliberately sabotage the legal system for jack to get his way?

« Reply #11 on: February 22, 2008, 01:12:38 PM »

It aint ge be no big deal for the arbitrator to rule on behalf of Jack, deny some small island footballers some money, and earn their country a chance to host the world cup and rak in millions of dollars.

yeah they go do that easy easy

« Reply #12 on: February 22, 2008, 01:17:02 PM »
It aint ge be no big deal for the arbitrator to rule on behalf of Jack, deny some small island footballers some money, and earn their country a chance to host the world cup and rak in millions of dollars.
yeah they go do that easy easy
:thinking:
man you nearly as cynical as me about the "system" ;D ;D
translation = I concur ;)
« Last Edit: February 22, 2008, 01:18:36 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline ttcom

• us/trini/jamaican
« Reply #13 on: February 22, 2008, 01:20:39 PM »
If Jack know what's good for him, he better move to Dubai.
Stupidity is an elemental force for which no earthquake is a match."
-Karl Kraus

« Reply #14 on: February 22, 2008, 01:53:03 PM »
This will be battle Royale and i feel the timing of this was done to coinside with the upcoming WC,we not going any where because this will not finish in three days,it will affect all aspects of Football in the country because if Jack holds back the money he claims suppose to be his Football can't function.

People looking at the money the country got for qualifying etc etc as though it cost us nothing to qualify,i remember when Jack was dipping his hand in his pocket everybody was saying he should be given a medal,if Jack loses this it's the end for us mark my word,everything related to Football in the country is owned by Jack,i went into the TTFF office in POS when i was home it's like you in heaven,it have everything and i understand it have more than one,we might say is FIFA money he using but trust me it's Jack's money.

My feeling is everything will have to come out in the open and Jack is going to prove once and for all what he did with the money,what was collected/spent,what was promised to the players,i still can't see without something in writing and signed can anything hold up in this hearing.We looking at 174 million dollars TT put that in US that eh no money for a Federation,clubs all over the world have more money than that(check Jabloteh :rotfl:),knowing the man as i do he will go down fighting because is his empire you dealing with and a lot is at stake for him,i bet you FIFA going to get involved.

« Last Edit: February 22, 2008, 02:22:56 PM by Coop's »

« Reply #15 on: February 22, 2008, 02:08:15 PM »

« Reply #16 on: February 22, 2008, 05:24:00 PM »
Lookin good but he need some onion 2 deal wit JW

« Reply #17 on: February 22, 2008, 06:44:04 PM »
good we should take them on like we take on bahrain. someone come up with a song for this