Look it here again

Ask TI or Bake n Shark

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=30694.msg351154#msg351154

pass(10trini):

--- Quote from: palos on February 22, 2008, 06:35:01 AM ---
--- Quote from: pass(10trini) on February 22, 2008, 06:10:48 AM ---
--- Quote from: Big Magician on February 22, 2008, 04:26:59 AM ---soul calyspo

--- End quote ---

Why do people always believe Soca is a mixture of U.S music and calypso. Soca is a fusion of Indian and Calypso music. :beermug:

--- End quote ---

Perhaps because the person who coined the term described it as soul of calypso?

--- End quote ---

Huh!!

Themanfriday:

--- Quote from: fishs on February 22, 2008, 01:37:14 AM ---
--- Quote from: Bake n Shark on February 22, 2008, 01:33:29 AM ---
--- Quote from: Baygo Boy on February 22, 2008, 12:59:24 AM ---Trinba, Shorty began calling his music soca in the 70's not 1987, unless of course ah missing something. lol

--- End quote ---

Yeah ah was coming to say I think he meant 1978 instead ah 1987, 78 was when Sweet Soca Music was released, the album that had "Om Shanti".  Even still, many hail Indrani as the song that actually got the genre going...and that was from 1973.

This getting move to Culture and Entertainment no doubt.

--- End quote ---

Indrani kick it off ah remember sitting on ah railing in Couva with ah pardner and we was talking about how that song going to revolutionise kaiso then the late great master of them all Maestro really get it going followed closely by the immortal sugar bum bum and La La by Nelson.
Yes this looks destined for Culture section.

--- End quote ---

We know you old ;D ;D ;D  you was old then  :o

Peong:
Trinba where you get the word "trinba" from?
Have you heard ppl saying it or did you make it up yourself?
For the Captain Obviouses out there I can tell it is a derivative of trinbagonian, I just never heard the word myself.

Dutty:

--- Quote from: Peong on February 22, 2008, 10:05:25 AM ---Trinba where you get the word "trinba" from?
Have you heard ppl saying it or did you make it up yourself?
For the Captain Obviouses out there I can tell it is a derivative of trinbagonian, I just never heard the word myself.

--- End quote ---

de man does call port of spain, poston...so wordplay is nuttn with he

Until Omardihno do the translation I does just nod mih head nervously and agree

Navigation

[0] Message Index

[#] Next page

[*] Previous page

Go to full version