April 19, 2024, 04:18:28 AM

Author Topic: Take dat Hillary Clinton ...  (Read 77499 times)

Re: Take dat Hillary Clinton ...
« Reply #60 on: January 21, 2008, 08:36:01 PM »
Nice vibe dey WC. Sometimes the cartoonists do a better job of capturing de scene than do columnists.

Earlier on in the thread I referred to the unmasking of the real Hillary ... she and Bill have been doing a great job of just that ... they are sinking to new depths every day.

Imagine! Today ... the day of the man advocating the primacy of focusing on content of character over the colour of a man's skin ... she enters stage center with 'Obama is an extraordinary, young, African-American with so much to contribute ...'

The belly of the beast is always well fed. Conscious ppl ought to be offended.
« Last Edit: August 27, 2008, 06:14:30 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #61 on: January 21, 2008, 08:55:31 PM »
Anyhow, aside from MLK ... today was also a day honouring another serious voice in the struggle:

http://www.barbados.gov.bb/errolb.htm

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Errol_Barrow

Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #63 on: January 22, 2008, 01:06:51 PM »
Barack Obama speaking at MLK's church - decent speech
here is the text of his speech

thanks WestCoast. that's the first time i've heard an obama speech. he seem to have in mind as his target audience a wide range of groups; notably ceding the corporate/executive/management class to hilary. that's the political hard road for sure.

« Reply #64 on: January 22, 2008, 01:19:51 PM »
de seeker will enjoy this oldie but goody

« Reply #65 on: January 22, 2008, 07:10:19 PM »
Good find dey Dutty ... as ah ponder de frosted flakes polories ...

« Reply #66 on: January 22, 2008, 07:14:25 PM »
Barack Obama speaking at MLK's church - decent speech
here is the text of his speech

thanks WestCoast. that's the first time i've heard an obama speech. he seem to have in mind as his target audience a wide range of groups; notably ceding the corporate/executive/management class to hilary. that's the political hard road for sure.
I found that the Audio on that video was lacking so I had to read along
That Chuch HAS to put at least a second mic or better to increase the quality of the audio.
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #67 on: January 24, 2008, 05:42:49 PM »

« Reply #68 on: January 24, 2008, 06:39:45 PM »

« Reply #69 on: January 26, 2008, 07:32:45 PM »
Obama win South Carolina.

« Reply #70 on: January 26, 2008, 07:42:38 PM »
Win is joke,
with 67% of precincts reporting, the man winning with 54% of the vote. Hillary 2nd with 27%,  Edwards on kicks with 19%.

2008 might be a historical year for real, but Super Tuesday will tell the real tale. And then is off to the dirty tricks of the general election.

Funny thing is, I think Clinton could b effective, but she's a polarizing figure, and will always be. She can't talk you over to her side if you not there.

« Reply #71 on: January 26, 2008, 07:51:17 PM »
Obama  :wavetowel:
 ;)
« Last Edit: January 26, 2008, 07:57:47 PM by WestCoast »

« Reply #72 on: January 26, 2008, 08:22:06 PM »
Hillary get brush in South Carolina... onto Super Tuesday.

« Reply #73 on: January 26, 2008, 08:41:40 PM »
He just give the victory speech. The man real good dred. He is eloquent and charismatic but not preachy. He comes across as humble,cool, calm and collected.

The CNN people using words like rout and 'beat-down' to describe the margin of victory. It makes for an interesting race.

« Reply #74 on: January 26, 2008, 09:07:09 PM »
can allya imagine HOW many White House interns my boy Jefferson would *&^% if he was to be given free reign of the white house hallways for another 4 years, as the First Man ;D ;D

« Reply #75 on: January 27, 2008, 12:16:17 AM »
can allya imagine HOW many White House interns my boy Jefferson would *&^% if he was to be given free reign of the white house hallways for another 4 years, as the First Man ;D ;D

WITH IMPUNITY!!! Ah can hear him now ... "Impeach meh now nah!" He finding a nex nex wuk all de time and Monica cyah find a good gig ;D :wavetowel:

Key difference from last escapade is that this time de interns would be Chelsea's contemporaries.
« Last Edit: January 27, 2008, 12:23:02 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #76 on: January 27, 2008, 12:18:04 AM »
Oh yeah ... it would be remiss of me not to add ... TAKE DAT HILLARY CLINTON ... :applause: heheheh

« Reply #77 on: January 27, 2008, 12:20:07 AM »
Win is joke,
with 67% of precincts reporting, the man winning with 54% of the vote. Hillary 2nd with 27%, Edwards on kicks with 19%.

2008 might be a historical year for real, but Super Tuesday will tell the real tale. And then is off to the dirty tricks of the general election.

Funny thing is, I think Clinton could b effective, but she's a polarizing figure, and will always be. She can't talk you over to her side if you not there.

Good talk all round, buh ah mindful of the part in bold especially..

« Reply #78 on: January 27, 2008, 01:47:46 AM »
This is a small victory..Super Tuesday will decide if he ahs what it takes!

The states with the most delegates he is trailing...maybe he gets momentum from this win, maybe not?

we will see.

« Reply #79 on: January 27, 2008, 02:03:48 AM »
The edge is still Hillary's. It would be a different equation if the process was along the lines of the state by state attrition that's been the case up to Saturday, but Super Tuesday makes the scene wholly different. He's got to be prepared to make a major media investment and to choose his retail appearances carefully. There is no room for resting upon the laurels of a natural consituency.
« Last Edit: January 27, 2008, 02:08:44 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #80 on: January 27, 2008, 10:27:36 AM »
The edge is still Hillary's. It would be a different equation if the process was along the lines of the state by state attrition that's been the case up to Saturday, but Super Tuesday makes the scene wholly different. He's got to be prepared to make a major media investment and to choose his retail appearances carefully. There is no room for resting upon the laurels of a natural consituency.

As I said, either way I win, hillary or Obama, once no damn Republican eh go back in de white house...I good!

« Reply #81 on: January 28, 2008, 01:44:52 PM »
tomorrow is florida - time to see if giuliani florida strategy will pay off.

« Reply #82 on: January 28, 2008, 01:51:17 PM »
Rezko - the so called slum lord involved with Obama - was just arrested by the FBI. People are wondering if hold overs from the Clinton administration that are still in the Justice department were activated by the Clinton campaign to pick him up.

http://www.cnn.com/2008/POLITICS/01/28/rezko.arrest/index.html

Of course the Clintons are trying to deny they know the guy themselves:
http://thecaucus.blogs.nytimes.com/2008/01/25/the-rezko-clinton-connection/

« Last Edit: January 28, 2008, 01:58:33 PM by E-man »

« Reply #83 on: January 28, 2008, 03:18:56 PM »
Hillary, it must be horrific to wake up and discover that Ted Kennedy buss camp too ... Mrs. C yuh songing kinda soft dey sayin yuh have the support of a few minor Kennedys ... junior royalty dahlin ... junior royalty. Palace coup 101. Do try to keep up. Or not.

« Reply #84 on: January 28, 2008, 04:43:23 PM »
Clintons and the Race CardCampaign getting more dutty

Fool Me Thrice
It should be no surprise that the Clintons are playing the race card.
By Christopher Hitchens
Posted Monday, Jan. 28, 2008, at 11:59 AM ET
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

How can one equal Bill Clinton for thuggery and opportunism when it comes to the so-called "race card"? And where does one even start with the breathtaking nastiness of his own conduct, and that of his supporters, in the last week? Barack Obama carries South Carolina having made no sectarian appeal to any specific kind of voter, and the best Clinton can say is that this is no better than Jesse Jackson managed to do. Really? Did Jackson come south having already got himself elected the senator from Illinois? And, come to think of it, was Jackson so much to be despised and sneered at when he was needed as Clinton's "confessor," along with Billy Graham, during the squalor of impeachment?

This calculated willingness to shop on both sides of the street of racial politics was actually analyzed quite shrewdly by Dick Morris, the former consigliere of the gruesome twosome, in conversation with Sean Hannity last week. The Clintons, he thought, would be quite happy to lose big to the "black vote" in South Carolina. It would enable them to signal that they were the ones to stem the flow of the color tide. Morris' host protested that this seemed a touch cynical. Morris jovially assured him that he knew the people he was talking about.

As indeed he did. It was Hillary Clinton who insisted on recalling Morris to the embattled White House, notwithstanding his various disgraces and notwithstanding the fact that he had been the adviser and strategist for Jesse Helms of North Carolina. Why am I saying "notwithstanding"? It was because he had performed so well for Helms, including helping him with the famous "white hands" ad that showed a white man crumpling up a letter that told him of preference for "minorities" in hiring, that Morris was thought of by the then-first lady as such a guru.

I never quite understand how the Clintons' initial exploitation of racism was overlooked the first time around and has been airbrushed from the record since. After falling behind in the New Hampshire primary in 1992, and after being caught lying about the affair with Gennifer Flowers to which he later confessed under oath, Clinton left the campaign trail and flew home to Arkansas to give the maximum publicity to his decision to sign a death warrant for Ricky Ray Rector. Rector was a black inmate on death row who had shot himself in the head after committing a double murder and, instead of dying as a result, had achieved the same effect as a lobotomy would have done. He never understood the charge against him or the sentence. After being served his last meal, he left the pecan pie on the side of the tray, as he told the guards who came to take him to the execution chamber, "for later." Several police and prison-officer witnesses expressed extreme queasiness at this execution of a gravely impaired man, and the prison chaplain, Dennis Pigman, later resigned from the prison service. The whole dismal and cruel and pathetic story was told by Marshall Frady in a long essay in The New Yorker in 1993 and is also recounted in a chapter titled "Chameleon in Black and White" by your humble servant in his book No One Left To Lie To. For now, I just ask you to imagine what would have been said if a Republican governor, falling in the polls, had gone out of his way to execute a mentally incompetent African-American prisoner.

Or leaf back, if you will, to the New York Times of March 23, 1992, and the jolly headline, "Club Where Clinton Has Golfed Retains Ways of Old South." Yes indeedy, the Country Club of Little Rock had 500 members, all of them white, and the aspirant candidate had himself photographed there more than once until Jerry Brown made an issue of it. It was then announced by Clinton's people that "the staff and facilities" at the club were "integrated"—a pretty way of stating that the toilets were cleaned by black Arkansans. Yet all this was forgiven by credulous liberals who were sure that they had discovered a New Democrat who was a Southerner to boot.

Many of these same people do not like it now that they see similar two-faced tactics being employed against "one of their own." Well, tough. And many of the most prominent and eloquent black columnists—Bob Herbert, Colbert King, Eugene Robinson—are also acting shocked. It's a bit late. I have to say that Bob Herbert shocked even me by quoting Andrew Young, who said that his pal Clinton was "every bit as black as Barack" because he'd screwed more black chicks. How is Hillary Clinton, or Chelsea Clinton, supposed to feel on hearing that little endorsement? One gets the impression, though, at least from the wife, that anything is OK as long as it works, or even has a chance of working. When Toni Morrison described Clinton as "black" on the basis of his promiscuity and dysfunction and uncertainty about his parentage, she did more than cater to the white racist impression of the African-American male. She tapped into the sort of self-hatred that is evidently more common than we might choose to think. Say what you will about Sen. Obama (and I say that he's got much more charisma than guts), he is miles above this sort of squalor and has decent manners. Say what you will about the Clintons, you cannot acquit them of having played the race card several times in both directions and of having done so in the most vulgar and unscrupulous fashion. Anyone who thinks that this equals "change" is a fool, and an easily fooled fool at that.

« Reply #85 on: January 28, 2008, 04:55:27 PM »
why any of this is a surprise, yuh feel Obama wouldnt stoop to lows tuh get elected?

steups...

A-seeker seems to forget that his boy Dubya had Karl MarxRove did say that Mc Cain had a love child with ah black woman when is adopt de man adopt de child?

and dat give bush de momentum to move on and Mc Cain to reel?

Is politics not social work!

« Reply #86 on: January 28, 2008, 05:02:14 PM »
Guest Column: Clinton is better than Obama
By Jeff Ross
Fri Jan 25, 2008, 07:22 PM EST
Tools:
Print
Comments
Boston - During the debate hosted by the Congressional Black Caucus Institute in South Carolina Senator Barrack Obama touted himself as the best choice for African Americans, Hillary Clinton – the best candidate for women and Edwards – the best candidate for white males. Yet the electoral experience in Nevada demonstrates that, when special interests are involved, Obama fails to stand up for civil rights.
During the Nevada caucuses, the culinary workers union fought hard in the courts to ensure that the election would be held at the seven large casinos to convenience workers. The move was blocked in the courts, because it would unfairly benefit the Obama campaign. The prospect that working people in a 24/7 city would be disenfranchised from the democratic process that African Americans and women fought so hard for was intolerable enough. But then the culinary workers union flew its bosses out from New Jersey. In a violation of workers’ Constitutional rights, the union bosses pressured workers not to vote under penalty of dismissal, termination and denial of union support during the grievance process.
Obama failed to protect people of color and women workers in Nevada who were denied the right to vote by his special interest supporters.
Obama’s close ties with this special interest group resulted in his failure to intervene on behalf of the workers who were being coerced into forgoing their Constitutional right to vote. And this is not the first time that Obama puts special interests ahead of the basic human rights of people, whom he purports to represent.
Obama has taken contributions from special interest slumlords that he represented as a practicing attorney. Race and housing have been inextricably intertwined issues in America’s inner cities for far too long.
The well being of the African American and all inner city communities depends on the quality of housing. However, investors in large public housing projects have no incentive to maintain and improve public housing, because profit margins carry greater weight with them than the right of American families to have clean, habitable and safe environments.
We cannot talk about housing without talking about race, because too often African Americans are given the short end of the stick on housing.
Obama is not a candidate who shares the civil rights record or the African American experience. He comes from a corporate law environment and lives a privileged live that takes him a step removed from the struggling American families.
My candidate understands these struggles.
Hillary Clinton has a history of working with the Children’s Legal Defense Fund. Instead of working at a big corporate law firm when she graduated from Yale Law School, she took up the baton for disadvantaged children of working families in inner city communities and fought for civil rights. Hillary has long fought for civil and human rights of African Americans, Latinos, women and children.
During the Clinton Administration, Hillary lobbied for the appointments of more women to high offices in Washington, D.C., than at any other time in American history.
Hillary’s campaign is getting unprecedented support from women of all races. To me, that’s what hope is all about. Do we want a candidate with a track record on civil rights, equality and women’s rights or a candidate who only pays lip service and looks the part? Where will we be if we allow the wool to be pulled over our eyes?
People of color and women have come too far to let Obama to take us backward now.
The next time Senator Obama touts himself as the best candidate for African Americans, Hillary as the best candidate for women and Edwards as the best candidate for white males, ask, how can we vote for a person who wants to divide communities into sectors? Hillary is the true candidate that unites us around these issues. This is why the experience of a more qualified candidate will be crucial to the immediate future of all America.
Jeff Ross is an attorney with Ross & Associates of Boston. He is also a contributor to the Hillary Clinton campaign.

« Reply #87 on: January 28, 2008, 05:51:29 PM »
Yuh singing is politics and not social work, yet when Jack and Bas performing social wuk yuh gehhin tizzik ... please explain the discrepancy

« Reply #88 on: January 28, 2008, 06:14:55 PM »
Yuh singing is politics and not social work, yet when Jack and Bas performing social wuk yuh gehhin tizzik ... please explain the discrepancy

hey fella, yuh starting tuh talk shit!

Yuh ever see me post anywhere that politics is anything BUT ah nasty game?  If so...illustrate it nah...bolden it, color it, highlight it, underline it, increase de font size etc.

what yuh will never find anywhere connected to my name is a post anywhere stating that dirty politicking is alright.

I have merely stated a fact, yuh decide tuh make me tuh task, yuh efforts better set trying to convince the less sophisticated that yuh is NOT Bush boy.

« Reply #89 on: January 28, 2008, 07:38:22 PM »
Yuh know what dey say ... repeat something enough and they'll believe it ... Unfortunately, no matter how much you remain convinced that independent thinking translates into being a Bushite ... I still won't be a Bushite.

So what about those Trinis?  ;)  ... again ah hadda move like West Coast here ...  ;D

hey fella, yuh starting tuh talk shit!

well, at least we have a concession that ah was making sense before ;D

Yuh ever see me post anywhere that politics is anything BUT ah nasty game? If so...illustrate it nah...bolden it, color it, highlight it, underline it, increase de font size etc.

what yuh will never find anywhere connected to my name is a post anywhere stating that dirty politicking is alright.

I have merely stated a fact, yuh decide tuh make me tuh task, yuh efforts better set trying to convince the less sophisticated that yuh is NOT Bush boy.

My point is merely that it seems so easy for you to accept the Clinton variety of dirt as opposed to the UNC variety. Why not reject both? With Hillary yuh sayin politics dirty, but with UNC yuh saying dey dirty and yuh off to de races in cataloguing how, when why and where.

Join me in condemning Hillary. Or wait, yuh waiting to see whether she get de nomination first?

Right now I saying she still in de running buh she moving despicably. Join me in standing up for truth and justice.

I would say my comments are fair and balanced ... buh dat would only add fuel to yuh fire. ;D