April 19, 2024, 11:45:00 AM

Author Topic: Ma Pau to replace Police in Pro League.  (Read 8766 times)

Ma Pau to replace Police in Pro League.
« on: March 01, 2008, 05:40:50 AM »
Ma Pau to play in Pro League.
T&T Newsday Reports.

Ma Pau Soccer Club (SC) has replaced Police in the Pro League for the 2008 season, which is scheduled to kick off on April 5.

According to a media release from the Pro League, the league’s board of directors, on Thursday afternoon, agreed to allow Ma Pau to complete the list of ten participating teams.

The other clubs are champs CL Financial San Juan Jabloteh, W Connection, Joe Public, Caledonia AIA, Tobago United, St Ann’s Rangers, Defence Force, United Petrotrin and North East Stars.

The agreement came after weeks of negotiations between Ma Pau’s management and the league’s executive, with the board of directors approving the club’s requirements in terms of its financial and administrative capabilities.

The Woodbrook-based club was formed last May and, in the 2007 North Football Association (NFA), they were the runners- up in the league phase but copped both the Superstar Cup and League Knockout events.

Former national striker and coach of the Under-17 and Under-21 teams Ron La Forest is the team’s coach while former M&M Harvard manager Louis Charles is holding the similar position with Ma Pau SC. La Forest made it clear that his team will be no pushover this season. “People might think that the big clubs have already grabbed up all the talent but it’s not so,” he said.

La Forest is currently conducting open sessions at the King George V Park, St Clair this week.

“We had a fantastic turnout of players showing keen interest of becoming part of Ma Pau football club,” he said. “It will be a tough season for us but although we are the ‘new kids on the block’ we will be competitive.”

Pro League Chief Executive Officer (CEO) Dexter Skeene commented, “I expect that they would be able to give a creditable performance.

“And, with their managerial expertise, they would be able to effectively run a professional unit able to compete in the professional league and that’s why the Board of Directors saw it fit to add Ma Pau as one of the teams in the League for 2008,” he continued.

Regardless of their inexperience at the competitive level, Skeene said, “they have people around them with years of involvement in business and football.”

Charles noted, “we have the backing to be a top notch professional club. We have been given the resources and it’s now up to us, the members of the football club, to know how to use these resources to create what our bosses want, which is a top professional club.”

Police will be out of the 2008 season after Police Commissioner Trevor Paul issued a directive to ban lawmen from participating in sporting activities, outside of their work time, in a bid to beef up the police staff to combat the upsurge in crime. And WASA FC was unable to meet the league’s financial stipulations to enter the fray, having stated their intentions to move up from the Super League (they won the 2007 Super League crown).

Re: Ma Pau to replace Police in Pro League.
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2008, 06:23:31 AM »
what is they home grounds? i wish is cic grounds. i like de rope off football. what big players playing with dem?

i have a strong feeling about this side because that st james, deigo, caranarge area have some big players who just dont go past de lighthouse. behind cali ah go back de chinese side this year.

« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2008, 06:27:42 AM »
Ma Pau...is FC...football club....not SC...Soccer club.

Soccer is for Americans.

Yuh even have to say that word in a American accent to sound ok...in a Trini accent it does sound like "sucker".

But I go follow this side. Lets see how long it takes them to get a win.

Also where is there home ground? As a north zone team they could get a good following.

« Reply #3 on: March 01, 2008, 10:14:06 AM »
So who were Ma Pau top players last year in the NFA?

« Reply #4 on: March 01, 2008, 11:18:36 AM »
Can them trini football owners ever name the clubs after their location.? When will people learn anything about marketing and wonder why people don't go to their games. Where's the local pride?  Imagine if Barcelona, Manchester Utd, AC Milan wasn't named after where they play. You think they will be that successful for decades. how bout the WOODBROKE MA PAU or the PORT OF SPAIN MA PAU.  When i here Ma Pau i thought it was some Vietnam food :rotfl:

« Reply #5 on: March 01, 2008, 12:11:10 PM »
Wuh happen to WASA?

« Reply #6 on: March 01, 2008, 01:11:20 PM »
Can them trini football owners ever name the clubs after their location.? When will people learn anything about marketing and wonder why people don't go to their games. Where's the local pride?  Imagine if Barcelona, Manchester Utd, AC Milan wasn't named after where they play. You think they will be that successful for decades. how bout the WOODBROKE MA PAU or the PORT OF SPAIN MA PAU.  When i here Ma Pau i thought it was some Vietnam food :rotfl:

I doh tink naming the clubs after the location is whats important (eg Juventus)..but you're right, the biggest clubs always started off as being important to the local community, regardless of name.

Although, truth is TnT too small to support d crowds necessary to support a whole professional league. 

« Reply #7 on: March 01, 2008, 01:33:20 PM »
although i think this is some random chiney man who usin the football to launder more money i support his initiative

and in the back of my mind i seein this side as a poisionner and ron la forest aint no joke coach neither

the brand go be a nice west brand.........lookout for some forgotten intercol men and couple few men who join police jus to sweat  ;D

« Reply #8 on: March 01, 2008, 02:27:59 PM »
How did Ma Pau get in the Mix? Once you have money you can petition the PFL board of Directors and get in. What about quality of football?

« Reply #9 on: March 01, 2008, 06:40:11 PM »
ah hear tobago utd players celebrating this move ;D

« Reply #10 on: March 01, 2008, 08:20:07 PM »
ah hear tobago utd players celebrating this move ;D

This will be the first year they don't come last.

And Mr. Ron "we doh have to scout dem, dem have to scout us"  La Forest is the coach. Interesting.

« Reply #11 on: March 01, 2008, 09:03:52 PM »

I doh tink naming the clubs after the location is whats important (eg Juventus)..but you're right, the biggest clubs always started off as being important to the local community, regardless of name.

Although, truth is TnT too small to support d crowds necessary to support a whole professional league. 

Juventus is still officially Juventus di Torino...so Turin still getting big up.  I actually think Babalawo have a point...not only does 'Mau Pau' not have any resonance...it has no resonance (presumably) with the local community.  It's going to be hard selling a team to a community which does not identify with it...chances are that's what many teams in the PFL are faced with.

« Reply #12 on: March 01, 2008, 09:12:38 PM »
Ma Pau FC have players like Wendell Douglas, Akiel Fairbain, Steffon Peters, Kyson Lewis, Akiel Griffith and Irvin Rullow. They will play they games in the Queen's Park Savannah.

Ron La Forest is a tutu coach. Lazy no ass. He and Dion La Foucade (St Anns Rangers) go catch they royal ass in de league this season. Richard Fakoory needs to resign for the betterment of St Anns football. Dion cant coach and Ron dunce.

Isn't Ma Pau the name of a parrot in South America.... :rotfl:

Ah swear Trinidad clubs have de worst names in de world.

What de f00ck is ah W Connection, United Petrotrin or a Jabloteh.... now this Ma Pau thing take de f00cking cake.
« Last Edit: March 01, 2008, 09:19:41 PM by Flex »

« Reply #13 on: March 01, 2008, 09:50:22 PM »
Isn't Ma Pau a restaurant in Trini?

« Reply #14 on: March 01, 2008, 10:10:02 PM »
You talking bout Sweet Lime.....Ma Pau is de casino with all dem Phillipine and Chinee does gamble...dong by de mas camp pub.  I was really tinking it was ah Chinee man side, but den ah see is Ron and dem coaching.  Anyway, ah know dem chinee and dem goh come out and support dey brand.......It goh be real diversity in de league

« Reply #15 on: March 02, 2008, 04:15:34 AM »
Ma Pau jackpot in Media 21 football

Friday, October 26 2007

MA PAU, playing their first season in the Media 21 Limited- sponsored Northern Football Association Premier Division, won the Group “A” title.

And they also reached the final of the League Cup series with a 3-0 shut out of Police. Akiel Fairbain netted a double and Wendell Douglas got the other goal for the newcomers. Earlier, Ma Pau ripped apart QPEFA 5-0 in a quarter-final match with Irvin Rullow netting twice while Sheldon Carimbocas, Steffon Peters and Keremme Goddard got one goal each. Police shut out Petit Valley United 4-0 on goals by Anslem Coa, Garfield Ambrose, Kevin Morang and Kelon Williams.

And St Francois Nationals whipped Harvard 4-1 with Lorne Joseph scoring a double, Mario Assoon and Keron Edwards, one each. Shawn Ramdoo got the consolation. In league action, Ma Pau sealed the group title with a 8-0 hammering of Fire Services on Sunday.

Akiel Fairbain helped himself to a hat-trick of goals, while Sheldon Taylor (two) and Wendell Douglas, Kevin Quintero and Rennie Estwick (one apiece) also scored.

And Superstar Rangers who finished runners-up shut out last season’s champions Alcoa Carenage United 2-0 on goals by Keith Willams and Winston Guy. Queen’s Park held third with a 3-1 win over Malvern with Devon Alleyne scoring twice and Brendon Barry the other. Djerrel Sebro got the consolation goal. St Francois Nationals put themselves within reach of the Group “B” title when they whipped Medianet Orie 3-0 on a Keron Edwards double and another goal by Lorne Joseph.

They now top the standings with 38 points from 16 matches with two more to play. But Police have 35 points with four matches still to complete their schedule. Maple moved up to fourth after edging QPEFA 1-0 on Gerard Martin’s goal.

Ma Pau is a Casino in Port of Spain, Trinidad, Trinidad and Tobago. The casino's gaming space features fifty gaming machines and three table and poker games.

Ma Pau Sports Club are the newest members of the T&T Pro League following weeks of negotiations.

The Northern Football Association (NFA) team come into the competition at the expense of Police SC, who dropped out following a directive from Police Commissioner Trevor Paul preventing police officers from participating in sporting events outside the service during working hours.

Also back are Tobago United, who finished last in 2007 but remained in the line-up after promoted Super League champions WASA FC could not meet the financial requirements to join the Pro League.

On Thursday afternoon at the League's office in Valpark Shopping Plaza, Valsayn, the T&T Pro League's board of directors granted Ma Pau membership after lengthy discussions were held concerning several applications from teams wanting to join the professional league.

The directors found that Ma Pau met the requirements of the League in terms of their financial and administrative capability.

Commenting on the League's newest members, T&T Pro League CEO Dexter Skeene said: "I expect that they would be able to give a creditable performance. And with their managerial expertise they would be able to effectively run a professional unit able to compete in the professional league and that's why the board of directors saw it fit to add Ma Pau as one of the teams in the League for 2008.

"They will bring a wealth of experience to the League in areas of managerial and coaching positions with Louis Charles (manager) and Ron La Forest (coach) on board."

Skeene is fully aware the Ma Pau club have a short history, but added: "They have people around them with years of involvement in business and football."

He made reference to Neal & Massy Caledonia AIA in 2007, stating: "Their performance improved 100-fold when proper management systems were implemented and, as a result, they were able to challenge for the championship. I think a major part was the addition to their staff of persons like Brian Lewis, along with the involvement of Neal & Massy Limited, who were able to lend their expertise. I expect that the same thing would happen to a team like Ma Pau. I'm sure that they will not come into the Pro League with the same team that they had last season in the North Zone."

Ma Pau SC manager Louis Charles told ttproleague.com that his club have been granted the resources by Ma Pau Members' Club to create a top professional club.

"We have the backing to be a top-notch professional club. We have been given the resources and it's now up to us, the members of the football club, to know how to use these resources to create what our bosses want, which is a top professional club," said Charles.

Ma Pau SC, hailing from Woodbrook, Port of Spain, were formed in May 2007 and have already been successful, finishing runners-up in the North Zone and winning both the Superstar Cup and League Knockout competitions last season.

They are coached by former Trinidad and Tobago international Ron La Forest, who will carry the team into the top flight. He will have the task of getting them ready for the 2008 T&T Pro League season, which kicks off on April 5.

And despite having little time to prepare for the new season, La Forest believes Ma Pau will be competitive in their first campaign at the Pro League level.

"People might think that the big clubs have already grabbed up all the talent, but it's not so," he said.

La Forest conducted open trials for his senior team for four days last week and will have more sessions this week at King George V Park in St Clair in efforts to select the best possible squad for their debut season.

"We had a fantastic turnout of players showing keen interest of becoming part of Ma Pau football club. It will be a tough season for us but although we are the 'new kids on the block', we will be competitive," assured La Forest.

« Reply #16 on: March 02, 2008, 07:31:40 AM »
How did Ma Pau get in the Mix? Once you have money you can petition the PFL board of Directors and get in. What about quality of football?

pretty much!
and with police being kicked out and WASA not goin up, they have a extra place.
Ma Pau have REAL $$..hadda be! but they cant have their home grounds as the savannah.
that go be totally unacceptable in my opinion.
If they really check those grounds out there they would see y.

We play against them last yr, they good. but gonna obviously need some more quality players for the pro league.

« Reply #17 on: March 02, 2008, 07:36:04 AM »
Ma Pau FC have players like Wendell Douglas, Akiel Fairbain, Steffon Peters, Kyson Lewis, Akiel Griffith and Irvin Rullow. They will play they games in the Queen's Park Savannah.

Ron La Forest is a tutu coach. Lazy no ass. He and Dion La Foucade (St Anns Rangers) go catch they royal ass in de league this season. Richard Fakoory needs to resign for the betterment of St Anns football. Dion cant coach and Ron dunce.

Isn't Ma Pau the name of a parrot in South America.... :rotfl:

Ah swear Trinidad clubs have de worst names in de world.

What de f00ck is ah W Connection, United Petrotrin or a Jabloteh.... now this Ma Pau thing take de f00cking cake.

y ya hatin on Dion, Sam??
he coach ya b4?

wit Ron, i eh know bout him though...he have a good record with teams, but never played under him b4....
but d best of luck to both of dem.

« Reply #18 on: March 02, 2008, 08:35:54 AM »
good point azzuri

« Reply #19 on: March 02, 2008, 10:12:14 AM »
Maybe they go get the chinese construction workers to come out and support them  :-\

« Reply #20 on: March 02, 2008, 02:34:13 PM »
I remeber playing against Jabloteh back in the 80's in under 14.
and they had a good reputation back they so nothing wrong with their name.

In fact they made the name.

« Reply #21 on: March 02, 2008, 05:20:53 PM »
Ma Pau............ it sound like a Chinese veneral disease.

« Reply #22 on: March 02, 2008, 05:27:49 PM »
Ma Pau............ it sound like a Chinese veneral disease.

Maybe the motto is "Yuh go ketch the Ma Pau fever"  :rotfl:

« Reply #23 on: March 02, 2008, 05:31:45 PM »

Juventus is still officially Juventus di Torino...so Turin still getting big up.  I actually think Babalawo have a point...not only does 'Mau Pau' not have any resonance...it has no resonance (presumably) with the local community.  It's going to be hard selling a team to a community which does not identify with it...chances are that's what many teams in the PFL are faced with.

Ent you know. And people always hate on American sports and why they successful. they name their team after their region.  If the New York Giants and Yankees were not named after NY, I would not of been supporting them and Where their pround "NY" logos because Im proud to show their from NY like me..

« Reply #24 on: March 02, 2008, 05:36:09 PM »
Trust me, Dion cant coach. He have contacts, but he cant coach, nothing personal, hope he learn the game.

« Reply #25 on: March 02, 2008, 06:50:28 PM »
Sam...sorry....

« Reply #26 on: March 02, 2008, 07:48:49 PM »
never worked under him since i was a youth...(dion Lafoucade)
worked with him in terms of coaching. He knows his shit in terms of that...the basics and technical stuff

he should be able to transfer it to the bigger leagues i think.
He is VERY knowledgeable.

IS big man he gonna be dealing with, but with that said them "Big man" cah act like little girl when a coach tryin to install discipline.

I know he doh take no kinda rudeness and indiscipline, so if ya eh like it --RIDE
dem gettin too much money and act like children(footballers on a whole)..They forget thas their WOK!
ya eh go go a party and bounce in 2 hrs late and expect nothing to be said for example..
case in point--Adriano---big big imps!

but again i wish Dion luck in this new role.

« Reply #27 on: March 03, 2008, 08:28:02 AM »
Maybe I does imagine plenty things but check the heights here.

Ent Manning say he ent want no gambling in TT.

Ent the Industry supposed to close down in a few yrs.

Ent the Casinos defence was they used to employ hundreds and people go be on the breadline.

Look how Ma Pau now into sports!!  ;D

Thus maybe they cannot be closed down as they are now a Football club and no longer a Casino.

Looks like a very nice way to disburse funds and move money around.

Not bad!!!

« Reply #28 on: March 03, 2008, 11:22:49 AM »

Ent the Casinos defence was they used to employ hundreds and people go be on the breadline.

Look how Ma Pau now into sports!! ;D

Thus maybe they cannot be closed down as they are now a Football club and no longer a Casino.

Not bad!!!

Same thing went through my mind when I read this thread.

« Reply #29 on: March 03, 2008, 12:04:43 PM »

Look how Ma Pau now into sports!!  ;D

Not bad!!!

Probably not as sinister but a way to get PR and entrench itself in other parts of society.

The question that I have is how come a NFA team leapfrogging the Superleague? How does that work? If Police and WASA turn down the opportunity what about the rest of the superleague or the NFA champs for that matter.