April 24, 2024, 01:20:54 AM

Author Topic: Post ah movie thread  (Read 277680 times)

Re: Post ah movie thread
« Reply #1350 on: March 16, 2017, 07:38:31 PM »
logan dread dread movie.......d best proof that comic book movies can be R-rated, dramatic and "real" FX wise and still rake in big box office numbers....deadpool had already proven R rated part .....but logan may have turn a niche into an expanding market

« Reply #1351 on: March 30, 2017, 04:20:36 AM »
!IT.......Dey remake d defining horror of mih childhood.........seems to rely on jump scares more than psychological terror so I holding out hope for it being better than d original
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/FnCdOQsX5kc" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/FnCdOQsX5kc</a>

« Reply #1352 on: April 21, 2017, 01:16:33 AM »
Split.

James Mcavoy. FAWWWKKK!!!! That was acting. Oscar for sure!!

« Reply #1353 on: May 08, 2017, 08:33:44 AM »
anyone following all the goings on in the MCU (marvel cinematic universe)?

got to say, the guardians of the galaxy movies have been the best of the bunch. irreverant and kicksy.

there is supposed to be a plan to wind all of the strands together with a plot involving thanos and the infinity stones.

marvel/disney have a money-maker there. doctor strange, avengers, guardians - is no wonder wolverine and prof x could retire.

« Reply #1354 on: July 20, 2017, 09:13:46 PM »
Split.

James Mcavoy. FAWWWKKK!!!! That was acting. Oscar for sure!!

Split sequel coming in Jan. 2019. The name is Glass.

Starring Bruce Willis, Samule L. Jackson  and McAvoy.
Anya Taylor Joy who was also in Split will return.

« Last Edit: July 20, 2017, 09:15:33 PM by vb »

« Reply #1355 on: November 02, 2017, 08:25:38 PM »
Atomic Blonde: Good movie/action.

The book of Henry - good movie. Surprise in the movie not indicated in the preview.

Thor - Ragnarok. Good action as to be expected. Actually had Thor looking kinda dim in this one. ;-)

« Reply #1356 on: December 10, 2017, 07:11:15 PM »

JLA... good movie. I think some of the characters need to have their own movie to appreciate what they bring to the table, eg. Flash and Aqua Man.

Aqua Man has really changed since I read the comics but  having said that I like the character.

To be honest just put Gal Badot in the WW costume and that is a good movie right there (for me) ;-)

Mother.........don't know what the hell they were trying to  do with that movie. For most of the movie I assumed she was giving birth to the Anti Christ.

The Foreigner...good Jackie Chan flick. A more serious Jackie.

« Reply #1357 on: February 25, 2018, 10:14:18 PM »
Anyone take in Black Panther yet? Is it worth the hype?

« Reply #1358 on: February 26, 2018, 04:34:00 PM »

Very good movie. Don't know if it's worth the hype. But I can totally understand why black people are proud of it.

What I found curious was how sometimes there would be an argument about the ramifications of helping refugees etc that bordered on ethnocentrism it was almost like listening to a Black Donald Trump. It made you aware that some countries in an effort to protect themselves may seem racist, elitist or ethnocentric.

« Reply #1359 on: February 26, 2018, 07:59:51 PM »

Very good movie. Don't know if it's worth the hype. But I can totally understand why black people are proud of it.

What I found curious was how sometimes there would be an argument about the ramifications of helping refugees etc that bordered on ethnocentrism it was almost like listening to a Black Donald Trump. It made you aware that some countries in an effort to protect themselves may seem racist, elitist or ethnocentric.
Thanks for sharing your viewpoints, I'll definitely have to check it out. This movie inspired black people in a way I've never seen before, it's like it created a movement which was good to see.

« Reply #1360 on: February 27, 2018, 12:01:25 AM »
I saw it. I think it is a good. I liked it. VB's point about the sounding like DT is on point. But if some Africans feel that way is because of the consequences of their history with the outside world. Not saying that it should be the way to go. But good sci-fi flick. Growing as a teenager in TT, there was a lot of hype about the first Shaft movie. To me is the same thing, just a different generation. The Tobago brother Duke, who played Umbako, was real f--king funny. Making lots of money, so look out for BP 2. Hollywood has an insatiable apetite for sequels.

« Reply #1361 on: March 01, 2018, 12:21:45 AM »
I'll go take it in this weekend  :beermug: