General > Entertainment & Culture Discussion

Post ah movie thread

<< < (166/229) > >>

truetrini:

--- Quote from: Observer on May 11, 2012, 06:36:47 AM ---Saw Mission Impossible on the plane. What a load of crap! Also had time to watch Contraband and I enjoyed it. Love heist & con movies

--- End quote ---

Jack soon making a blockbuster! 

JDB:

--- Quote from: dinho on May 11, 2012, 06:22:11 AM ---I normally look at performance at the box office after the first week as a better indicator compared to gross profit... The hype and glitz could have a blockbuster film rack up record numbers in the first week, but if its a disappointing experience for fans, it normally tapers out fast over the following weeks as the word gets around.
--- End quote ---

The Avengers numbers were truly spectacular and it did something unique as far momentum. The Friday numbers were behind the Hunger games and Harry Potter yet by Sunday it blew away every other film by a significant margin. That means that it had great word of mouth and great repeat business on the opening weekend.

FireBrand:

--- Quote from: dinho on May 11, 2012, 06:22:11 AM ---something about the Avengers have me feeling like I could go back and take it in again... And i've heard that from a number of people as well, so i'm sure this have plenty legs to run.

--- End quote ---

So true.... and with dem inflated movie ticket prices I cyar even remember when last I went to the movies more than once to see de same flick. Hell, I might even take it een a third time...maybe in Imax...

Bakes:

--- Quote from: JDB on May 11, 2012, 05:28:26 AM ---I didn't get into the money thing because I wasn't in doubt about whether the movie would be a financial success, that was always going to happen. The concern I expressed was a different one, that it could have easily been a disappointing experience for fans.

It didn't happen but not every thing that you wary of happens and its not as if there aren't examples of much anticipated movies being disappointing viewing experiences.

--- End quote ---

Seems you taking it as though I throwing it in yuh face that ha ha yuh was wrong... if so then that's not the case.  I merely pointing out what a resounding success it was quite to the contrary, and perhaps despite the fears of many.

JDB:

--- Quote from: Bakes on May 11, 2012, 12:35:52 PM ---Seems you taking it as though I throwing it in yuh face that ha ha yuh was wrong... if so then that's not the case.  I merely pointing out what a resounding success it was quite to the contrary, and perhaps despite the fears of many.

--- End quote ---

No sweat.

--- Quote from: FireBrand on May 11, 2012, 11:43:16 AM ---So true.... and with dem inflated movie ticket prices I cyar even remember when last I went to the movies more than once to see de same flick. Hell, I might even take it een a third time...maybe in Imax...

--- End quote ---

I definitely going back, but that is partly because I sleep though a good bit of the first half. As for generally watching things twice, I can't remember doing that in a long while too, more because of time than price. I sneak off to see this one solo on opening weekend so I will get to see it again on my next date night.

Navigation

[0] Message Index

[#] Next page

[*] Previous page

Go to full version