April 20, 2024, 08:26:25 AM

Author Topic: Warner critical of the low standard of T&T football.  (Read 8097 times)

Warner critical of the low standard of T&T football.
« on: March 03, 2008, 05:02:25 AM »
Warner critical of the low standard of T&T football.
By: Gregory Trujillo (Guardian).

FIFA Vice President Jack Warner made a bold statement last week Sunday when he said “we have allowed our standard of football to fall too low”.

It was quite obvious that Warner himself was partially taking some of the blame when he said “WE”.

“Why is it our football is not better?” questioned the most influential man in world football in the CONCACAF region.

Warner was well within his rights to question the state of local football, given that only one player (Leston Paul) from this country drew the attention of English coach John Barnes during the Digicel Kick Start Clinics that was conducted in St Kitt’s and Nevis, Haiti, Barbados, Guyana, Jamaica and T&T.

“Imaging only one player from Trinidad and Tobago impressed former England international John Barnes,” said Warner, who went on to point out that two Haitians and two Kittians were among the eight selected to go to Sunderland for specialised training.

In the presence of many football administrators at the awards function of the Eastern Football Association, Warner stated: “Ask yourself if football today is as good as yesterday. If then, you’ll better ask yourself. Why?”

Speaking to a former top national footballer yesterday, who preferred to remain anonymous, he pointed out that “Warner should ask himself why did he allow football to get the way it is today when he is the one that is running it”.

“He is in charge. He selects the coaches and the players.”

“And, at the same time he has left out many people who could make a valuable contribution to the game.”

The former national player gave as an example the situation encountered by local coach Everard “Gally” Cummings, the man responsible for the success of the infamous “Strike Squad “ of 1989.

“Before 1989, hardly anybody used to look follow the national team with a passion. All this hard work is a spin-off from the ‘Strike Squad’ era.

“Before that, nobody used to paint the national flag on their faces, on their finger nails, or even dress their dog in red.

“Some people who never liked the colour red became comfortable with it because of the ‘Strike Squad’.

“Back then, Jack was just the secretary of a dying football federation.

“No that he is a powerhouse in world football what he has done is sidelined all who have made invaluable contributions. Who created that? Warner created his own monster.”

“The ‘Strike Squad’ attracted a full stadium even in warm-up matches. That’s when everybody started to point our we needed a bigger stadium.

“Gally was the first national coach to sell out the stadium, and the first to play with an all-local team. And he is out of football.

“People would come back to football when they see justice is being done. When the TTFF begins to shown accountability for money being spent. When local players and local coaches are treated with respect.

“When we start producing a local national team, we wouldn’t have to depend on outside players. When these overseas players can’t make it, we have no team.

The source said that Warner needs to do some soul searching and he will find out who is doing all the damage.

“There are so many people who have advocated that football should be developed from the primary level right up to senior level. Why have this not been done?

“Then, why did they destroy the zones in football?

“By doing so, they have interfered with football in Port of Spain, San Fernando, Point Fortin, Fyzabad, Princes Town, Arima, Chaguanas and other areas.

“In the old days, players were being screened in a structural manner before they made it to the national team.

“When a player reached the national team, the whole country knew who he was and what he could do.

“Also, coaches were being trained and were on display. Also the managers. All zones and clubs had managers.

The president of the federation came from a zone.

“Before they destroyed the zones, there wasn’t much crime in the communities because everybody was involved.

“If they could not make the zonal team, they still had their club team to represent. Everybody was active.

In the old days, minor leagues attracted hundreds of community teams.

“Right now, the football association is not a friend of the players. Therefore, the players are seeking avenues elsewhere where they could feel comfortable and not be victimised.

If the zones weren’t destroyed, there would not have been so much crime in the country.

“Right now, when a coach goes to the community to do a coaching programme, he is competing with the drug pusher.If you can’t sell football you could sell drugs.

“Taking football away from the zones has also interfered with the small businessman selling snow cones, sugar cake, ice block, channa and nuts.

“Football was destroyed when the federation took the best zonal clubs and formed a national league.

“When Warner honestly answers his own question, he would back off or resign.”
« Last Edit: March 04, 2008, 09:26:38 AM by Flex »

Re: Warner critical of the low standard of T&T football
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2008, 05:05:11 AM »

Everything that ex national player say is shyte , especially the part about Gally.

« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2008, 05:34:53 AM »
Speaking to a former top national footballer yesterday, who preferred to remain anonymous,

Lord like they fraid  warner !!!  this footballer should have gotten up and told warner that to his face  when he was delivering the  speech....

« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2008, 07:48:07 AM »

Everything that ex national player say is shyte , especially the part about Gally.
i agree with you he said something to the sort that no one was interested in TT football until the strike squad!! i was only born in the mid 80`s but with all the talk from my parents about the talent in those days before i was born thats all BULL...
ahhhmm fishs was neing sacarstic!  He does not agree with warner, he really agrees with what the ex-player has said.

« Reply #4 on: March 03, 2008, 07:50:47 AM »
Everybody involved in football know that you cannot bad talk warner because you will not get no work.

TT football is just sad

any way you look at it.

form Top with the adminstration to the players on strike for world cup money
from bottom with poor infrastructure to no fans showing up in community games less fans in professional games

everything Just Sad

« Reply #5 on: March 03, 2008, 08:00:30 AM »
KND why yuh eh go and kick another big stone and braek yuh toe?

Why de  players, who never were on strike in de first place have football in T&T sick?

« Reply #6 on: March 03, 2008, 08:13:13 AM »
Jackula....take ah loud

SSSTTTEEEUUUPPPSSSS!!!!!   

« Reply #7 on: March 03, 2008, 08:17:04 AM »
that man sound like a poster on this board

« Reply #8 on: March 03, 2008, 08:30:08 AM »
that man sound like a poster on this board

first  thing i think it hada be a old man takin bout snowcone in the savannah an ting :rotfl:

« Reply #9 on: March 03, 2008, 10:50:51 AM »
How come JW could be good and bad. The footballer make not have used the best examples to put JW out there but his over all message is right. He is right, Jack warner is the one to say why football at an all time low in the country. He is the "special adivisor" so then he should be advising on the necessary steps to be taken in an effort to ensure that football is being develop from the grassroot level to the National level.

« Reply #10 on: March 03, 2008, 11:55:03 AM »
I try to avoid discussing topics like these because it involves two different times and some people on here can't relate to both,the only people on here that can tell if T&T Football have improved or have gotten worse,if players today are better than yesteryear are those who have been around both era's,i don't know if you younger guys know how much it hurts for guys like myself to accept what Football in our country has reached too.

I don't care what anyone say our system we used in the past was the best for our country,we trying to do what other countries doing and it just will not work,what brings crowd for them not working for us,the names our teams using not working for them,the uniforms we use not working for us we looking pretty and playing crap,the best players in the country used to be seen by everybody on a daily basis weather it's Premier or Minor leagues,anybody in T&T could of picked our national team because they knew the players and that went for youth teams also,what that undisclosed guy was saying is correct,if people can't relate to what he is saying it will sound like he is talking crap but trust me you guys will never know what good Football/players this country had.

We watching too much Football on TV and trying to compare what we see on there to what we have at home,when people trying to compare Kenwyn with Drogba and Carlos with Lampard/Gerrard or T&T with England,i think it's stretching it a bit too far,some of us are never satisfied with what we have,if we say Football free today we still will not get a crowd that's how bad things are,no sponsorship,free nuts,Tasa band,DJ can bring back the beautiful game,what people want is to see good Football not to be distracted by the unnecessary noise.

All jack is saying to the public is that he know he mess up our Football,what i don't understand with our Football is that we have a lot of questions and no answers,if we get answers they usually don't or can't work,would telling Jack anything to his face solve our problems?try it and see,we have tried that for years.
« Last Edit: March 03, 2008, 12:24:27 PM by Coop's »

« Reply #11 on: March 03, 2008, 12:12:03 PM »
LOUD LOUD STEUPS

Offline THETRUFF

« Reply #12 on: March 03, 2008, 03:08:43 PM »
Firstly Jack Warner should question the accountability of the TTFF in matters pertaining to the treatment of our national players...
Secondly...Trinidad and Tobago as a nation had lagged behind in developing the footballing minds of our players...Its obvious at the highest levels of the game...the physical abilities of the players are roughly even....except the phenoms of course ..who are just a cut above the rest....a professional footballer will have a high level of fitness..therefore any advantage a team may have over their opponents will have to be in tactics and  mental toughness......The latter being the area where we have not improved....and consequently...our footballing level has fallen...
Starting from the top....it may be sad to say...but we may have to wait for the current leaders in TTFF to die before we actually change them/kick them out...and give someone else a chance with fresh ideas...and a modern look on the game...other than several foreign based pros...our players are just not good enough.....and of course alot of ppl would be naive to not believe what im saying is the truff...but lets ask our selves this question.....without our overseas pros.....what team can we beat..thats not obviously weaker than us?? can we beat any team out of the concacaf region..thats not ranked lower than 130 in the world??....The idea of a local Pro league is to strengthen and prepare our players at home for the rigors of real football...and improve overall technique....work ethic...professionalism...etc....etc...if this is not the case....of course our football will suffer...because where will the pipeline of solid players come from....who knows the answer??...all i can attest to is that TT football is much weaker than it was 10 yrs ago...and much much weaker than it was 20+ yrs ago

« Reply #13 on: March 03, 2008, 03:30:31 PM »
Firstly Jack Warner should question the accountability of the TTFF in matters pertaining to the treatment of our national players...
Secondly...Trinidad and Tobago as a nation had lagged behind in developing the footballing minds of our players...Its obvious at the highest levels of the game...the physical abilities of the players are roughly even....except the phenoms of course ..who are just a cut above the rest....a professional footballer will have a high level of fitness..therefore any advantage a team may have over their opponents will have to be in tactics and mental toughness......The latter being the area where we have not improved....and consequently...our footballing level has fallen...
Starting from the top....it may be sad to say...but we may have to wait for the current leaders in TTFF to die before we actually change them/kick them out...and give someone else a chance with fresh ideas...and a modern look on the game...other than several foreign based pros...our players are just not good enough.....and of course alot of ppl would be naive to not believe what im saying is the truff...but lets ask our selves this question.....without our overseas pros.....what team can we beat..thats not obviously weaker than us?? can we beat any team out of the concacaf region..thats not ranked lower than 130 in the world??....The idea of a local Pro league is to strengthen and prepare our players at home for the rigors of real football...and improve overall technique....work ethic...professionalism...etc....etc...if this is not the case....of course our football will suffer...because where will the pipeline of solid players come from....who knows the answer??...all i can attest to is that TT football is much weaker than it was 10 yrs ago...and much much weaker than it was 20+ yrs ago

You and Coops talk the truff dey boy  ;D

« Reply #14 on: March 03, 2008, 04:07:35 PM »
Secondly...Trinidad and Tobago as a nation had lagged behind in developing the footballing minds of our players...Its obvious at the highest levels of the game...the physical abilities of the players are roughly even....except the phenoms of course ..who are just a cut above the rest....a professional footballer will have a high level of fitness..therefore any advantage a team may have over their opponents will have to be in tactics and mental toughness......The latter being the area where we have not improved....and consequently...our footballing level has fallen...

This is what I want to know, what's going on with the clubs and the development of players? Even if there exist some who will run the TTFF fairly players still need to be developed and this cannot be doneat the National level. The national level is for elite players, and not learners.

Therefore, clubs must be held responsible for not holding the players to a higher level of professionalism bothe on the field and off it.  The Pro lrague remindme of the youth system in the U.S. where winning is promoted over proper development by many clubs. As a team amazing, as an individual can function properly. The clubs have to take some flak for the quality of players coming up.

Pushing the players over to the next level can be attributed to the TTFF not providing adequate avenues for the players to move up and on.

« Reply #15 on: March 03, 2008, 04:40:13 PM »
Truff and especially Coop's I really like the read...

I feel the truth is that football (sports) is more of medium of entertainment for us. Rather than a way of life as it use to be for us.... in years gone by...

« Reply #16 on: March 03, 2008, 05:09:15 PM »
may I add that countries like Jamaica made it to the "Big Fete" way before we did and
they NEVER had someone like Warner............
Coincidence?.............. :thinking:............I leave that for you to decide... ;) ;)
« Last Edit: March 03, 2008, 05:25:47 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline Diambars

« Reply #17 on: March 03, 2008, 06:42:00 PM »
The only relevant question what is he prparing to do, there must be a reason why is he raising the issue in his friendly newspapers.

« Reply #18 on: March 03, 2008, 06:45:15 PM »
The only relevant question what is he prparing to do, there must be a reason why is he raising the issue in his friendly newspapers.
I concur

by the way where was he talkin...very strange I find how the article moved
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #19 on: March 03, 2008, 08:44:17 PM »
I concur

That talk come out from time to time. I just read an article from 2003 where he was talking the same way. That was when we dropped to 71st in rank. He was looking for gov't hand outs:

Warner: T&T sport in Stone Age (Express)

Thursday, November 20th 2003

FIFA Vice President Jack Warner has issued a stern warning to the Trinidad and Tobago football fraternity as he continues to witness the progress of other Caribbean nations, in particular Jamaica, while this country has declines rapidly.
According to the latest FIFA world rankings, T&T are now 71st, and only third in the Caribbean.
Warner, back from Jamaica where he accompanied FIFA President Jack Warner at the ground-breaking ceremony for that country's National Training Facility, remains hopefully of a change of circumstances for T&T's football, but says he is far from impressed with the current state of affairs.
"While in Jamaica, I saw a Federation that was miles and miles behind Trinidad and Tobago in terms of organisation and on the pitch, and now I see them way ahead," Warner told TTFF Media on Tuesday.
"Their awards ceremony to honour past greats was of course a function of an extremely high standard. I sat their and wondered if the TTFF can do something like that at this point in time. I saw the ground breaking ceremony for their training facility and a government giving the Jamaican Federation 26 acres of land for a goal project which their government gave them in less than six months and I realise that it took the TTFF more than two years to have not received a similar grant from the government of Trinidad and Tobago for a piece of land that is lying idle in Forest Reserve."
Warner even added that he felt the Jamaica Olympic team were capable of getting the better of T&T's Senior team, not because of a lack of talented players or the ability to succeed, but due to the fact that their teams has been engaged in a proper development programme.
"I have seen a Federation here playing two matches in one day both of which were properly organised and the quality of the football were absolutely super. Jamaica's Under 23 team is about two goals ahead of our senior team and Jamaica's senior team is an orbit where the T&T senior team will not be in some time to come."
Warner ventured a reason for his assessment: " This has come about because of the collective efforts of the Jamaican Government which continues to pump US$100,000 a month into the football, has given them land and understands the value of sport and more so football. It has come about because of the efforts of businesses like Wray and Nephew (sponsors of the national league). The fact that their players are willing to also go the extra mile."
"All of this puts Jamaica way ahead of the rest of the Caribbean and I as President of CONCACAF and more so as a Trinidadian, I am extremely concerned about what direction Trinidad and Tobago is going in and I am extremely pleased about what Jamaica is doing."
The Jamaicans are currently 47th on the world rankings.
"We must realise that sport is now a professional institution that must be nurtured over a period of time," Warner added.
"As far as sport is concerned, we in Trinidad are still living in the Stone Age and the others are obviously living in the 21st century or aspiring to do so," said Warner.
The CONCACAF president warned further that if the country believes that help will come from "heaven" then " I have more news for you. We shall continue to go lower and lower until the country wakes up. They have waken up to kidnapping, they have waken up to crime and corruption and now I hope that soon they will awake to sport."
Warner leaves here on Saturday for Abu Dhabi before traveling on to Frankfurt on December 1 for the 2006 World Cup qualification draw and a series of FIFA meetings.

sound familiar?

Offline THETRUFF

« Reply #20 on: March 03, 2008, 08:44:54 PM »
Truff and especially Coop's I really like the read...

I feel the truth is that football (sports) is more of medium of entertainment for us. Rather than a way of life as it use to be for us.... in years gone by...

you hit the nail on the head....we are just not as passionate and involved in football as we once were....remember those days when the SSFL was like a religion for us.....and stadiums were packed out to go see schoolboys play REAL BALL.....now we have the pro league and where is the passion?....just as you said forever trini...it is not a way of life for us anymore as it once was...and our players are now in a state of suspended animation...and recently some serious regression....honestly i think the TTFF.....management of the local game/players is very very poor....development is supposed to happen before guys become pros...at pro level the player then has to take it to the next step/...becoming special....Jack Warner reacts to stimuli.....instead of anticipating and planning ahead...these guys are primitive in their thinking and only new ideas from modern thinking ppl....in a modern World can save our football...

Offline ttcom

• us/trini/jamaican
« Reply #21 on: March 04, 2008, 07:08:43 AM »
I agree with TRuff and coop. I remember it was a joy to play minor league ball and seeing the crowds at the games. Eddie Hart was a buzz of activities. However, today's generation don't have that love for the game. I get calls from Trinidad on a regular basis for money to pay U16 players for my former team Santos. When did we get to the stage that football is about money?
Stupidity is an elemental force for which no earthquake is a match."
-Karl Kraus

« Reply #22 on: March 04, 2008, 08:01:57 AM »
I agree with TRuff and coop. I remember it was a joy to play minor league ball and seeing the crowds at the games. Eddie Hart was a buzz of activities. However, today's generation don't have that love for the game. I get calls from Trinidad on a regular basis for money to pay U16 players for my former team Santos. When did we get to the stage that football is about money?

The minor leagues still runnning, Eddie Hart league still running.
Long time the only thing you had to look forward on a Saturday afternoon or a Sunday morning was football, pan practice (if was before carnival) or staying home an watch Mastana Bahar on TTT. Now it have soo much other things for the youths to do, push ah lil coke, shoot ah man or 2 , rob ah family etc.
I think is a whole combination of factors that have us in this sorry state as far as football is concerned.
Of course the least definitely is NOT Jack Warner and the mash up of community football.

« Reply #23 on: March 04, 2008, 08:13:54 AM »
I concur

That talk come out from time to time. I just read an article from 2003 where he was talking the same way. That was when we dropped to 71st in rank. He was looking for gov't hand outs:

Warner: T&T sport in Stone Age (Express)

Thursday, November 20th 2003

FIFA Vice President Jack Warner has issued a stern warning to the Trinidad and Tobago football fraternity as he continues to witness the progress of other Caribbean nations, in particular Jamaica, while this country has declines rapidly.
According to the latest FIFA world rankings, T&T are now 71st, and only third in the Caribbean.
Warner, back from Jamaica where he accompanied FIFA President Jack Warner at the ground-breaking ceremony for that country's National Training Facility, remains hopefully of a change of circumstances for T&T's football, but says he is far from impressed with the current state of affairs.
"While in Jamaica, I saw a Federation that was miles and miles behind Trinidad and Tobago in terms of organisation and on the pitch, and now I see them way ahead," Warner told TTFF Media on Tuesday.
"Their awards ceremony to honour past greats was of course a function of an extremely high standard. I sat their and wondered if the TTFF can do something like that at this point in time. I saw the ground breaking ceremony for their training facility and a government giving the Jamaican Federation 26 acres of land for a goal project which their government gave them in less than six months and I realise that it took the TTFF more than two years to have not received a similar grant from the government of Trinidad and Tobago for a piece of land that is lying idle in Forest Reserve."
Warner even added that he felt the Jamaica Olympic team were capable of getting the better of T&T's Senior team, not because of a lack of talented players or the ability to succeed, but due to the fact that their teams has been engaged in a proper development programme.
"I have seen a Federation here playing two matches in one day both of which were properly organised and the quality of the football were absolutely super. Jamaica's Under 23 team is about two goals ahead of our senior team and Jamaica's senior team is an orbit where the T&T senior team will not be in some time to come."
Warner ventured a reason for his assessment: " This has come about because of the collective efforts of the Jamaican Government which continues to pump US$100,000 a month into the football, has given them land and understands the value of sport and more so football. It has come about because of the efforts of businesses like Wray and Nephew (sponsors of the national league). The fact that their players are willing to also go the extra mile."
"All of this puts Jamaica way ahead of the rest of the Caribbean and I as President of CONCACAF and more so as a Trinidadian, I am extremely concerned about what direction Trinidad and Tobago is going in and I am extremely pleased about what Jamaica is doing."
The Jamaicans are currently 47th on the world rankings.
"We must realise that sport is now a professional institution that must be nurtured over a period of time," Warner added.
"As far as sport is concerned, we in Trinidad are still living in the Stone Age and the others are obviously living in the 21st century or aspiring to do so," said Warner.
The CONCACAF president warned further that if the country believes that help will come from "heaven" then " I have more news for you. We shall continue to go lower and lower until the country wakes up. They have waken up to kidnapping, they have waken up to crime and corruption and now I hope that soon they will awake to sport."
Warner leaves here on Saturday for Abu Dhabi before traveling on to Frankfurt on December 1 for the 2006 World Cup qualification draw and a series of FIFA meetings.

sound familiar?

Well at least in jamaica they know where the money going ......

Re: Warner critical of the low standard of T&T football.
« Reply #24 on: March 04, 2008, 11:19:39 AM »
Coop you hit the nail on the head....i don't know man....i just don't know...i keep saying to myself why wast the citizens of T&T and oversea there time watching T&T play...it's not enjoyable..yes we make the world cup but i think it was a fluke..some may disagree but look at the standard of Trini football its below standard.... i think its like TTFF and local coaches don't have a clue of what going on we keep try to catch our own tail...and the thing that hurt me so much is the quality of football years back to it now...and the funny thing about it some people want Latas and York to come back even if they backing 50..and that tell ya..its like the well run dry...

Offline vale

« Reply #25 on: March 04, 2008, 09:13:59 PM »
Good Night everyone,

I am new to the site so I will like to start off by saying hello to everyone.

I don't think the standard of football is all that bad. I mean we have facillities, coaches, some organisational structure. We have also been priveleged to produce alot of footballing talent like Stern John, Dwight Yorke, Russel Latapy and so on.

I think one of the major problems we have is with our administrators. Imagine we just did well with the World Cup and then we best international players get blacklisted. Also, Wim was doing a good job with the local players and all of sudden, he lost his job.

This is nonsense.

However, I still say we making 2010 World Cup somehow.

« Reply #26 on: March 04, 2008, 10:07:35 PM »
may I add that countries like Jamaica made it to the "Big Fete" way before we did and
Coincidence?.............. :thinking:............I leave that for you to decide... ;) ;)

When we were robbed by Haiti how come FIFA did nothing more than ban the refs?

Any way our football players cannot be that bad because as far as I know the numberof players  being exported has  not diminished. I would venture to say we have a full 11 in Europe and a few in the US at the collegiate level. Every day you hearing about young men going on trials. What is lacking is the administration of the football program.  Jack and them need to start paying people proper and find funds for international games and camps.When Leo came nuff men was crying down Lawrence and the other defenders thinking we was getting half a dozen at the WC. Look what proper coaching and some international games did.

I know a couple of players who when they realize what going with TTFF hang up they boots after college because they figured they safer with a 9 to 5. Who in they right mind with options would want to depend on football for a means of living?

« Reply #27 on: March 04, 2008, 10:40:25 PM »
When we were robbed by Haiti how come FIFA did nothing more than ban the refs?
The reason I made that comment is because of those who believe that the sky will fall eeenn when Jackula is not involved with our football and what I am saying is that many other countries have a Sound Football System without the "Special Advice" of a FIFA VP, CONCACAF and CFU Pres.  ;)

« Reply #28 on: March 04, 2008, 10:52:59 PM »
the truth is jamaica has someone like warner...not as powerful, but bad jes like warner..he is called "de captain!"

The USA has Chuck Blazer..doh get tie up.

« Reply #29 on: March 05, 2008, 08:20:30 AM »
Also, Wim was doing a good job with the local players and all of sudden, he lost his job.

This is nonsense.

Ahem.....uuummm...welcome Vale, you will fit in nicely round here..... :devil: ;D :beermug: