May 19, 2024, 01:41:16 PM

Author Topic: Sunderland vs Everton 09/03  (Read 5828 times)

Sunderland vs Everton 09/03
« on: March 09, 2008, 07:46:42 AM »
Sunderland v Everton

Stadium of Light
Sunday, 9 March
Kick-off: 1500 GMT
BBC coverage: Live on the BBC Sport website, BBC Radio Five Live & highlights on Match of the Day.

Sunderland welcome back defender Danny Collins from suspension for Sunday's Premier League clash with Everton.

Liam Miller could miss out after being transfer-listed for poor time-keeping, while winger Carlos Edwards is close to making a comeback from a broken leg.

Everton manager David Moyes is likely to change his side after fielding the same team for the previous four games.

Leon Osman limped out of the Uefa Cup defeat by Fiorentina yesterday with a groin injury and could be rested.

#
Sunderland manager Roy Keane:
"It's a tough game against Everton. We got a good hiding there earlier in the season.
"But this is a game we're looking forward to. We've got one or two lads coming back looking sharp.
"Hopefully it will not be the same scoreline on Sunday."

#
Everton manager David Moyes on Mikel Arteta's return:
"Mikel had 35 minutes of the game against Fiorentina so hopefully that will help him.
"But what he's missed is that he's had no training for two weeks, so we had to take a bit of a risk, but we thought it was the right risk to take at the time.
"Hopefully we can get him back fit and get him up and running again."

Sunderland (from): Gordon, Fulop, Bardsley, Collins, McShane, Evans, Higginbotham, Harte, Whitehead, Etuhu, Reid, Leadbitter, Miller, Richardson, O'Donovan, Jones, Waghorn, Murphy, Stokes, Chopra, Prica.

Everton (from): Howard, Neville, Hibbert, Yobo, Lescott, Jagielka, Baines, Cahill, Arteta, Osman, Pienaar, Gravesen, Yakubu, Johnson, Anichebe, Gosling, Wessels.

BIG-MATCH FACTS
Everton put their unbeaten league run of eight matches in 2008 on the line against a Sunderland side enjoying a renaissance as far as their home form is concerned.
Roy Keane's Blacks Cats have won the last four home Premier League fixtures, which has lifted them out of the bottom three to two points above the relegation zone.
Sunderland have never won five successive home Premier League matches, but the last time they managed four, seven seasons ago, Everton were the first to be beaten in the sequence.

The Merseysiders, who lost 2-0 away to Fiorentina in the Uefa Cup on Thursday, go into the weekend with the joint best current winning touch in the highest league, and cross the Pennines in search of a fourth straight victory. Liverpool have also won the last three.

Sunderland have won seven Premier League games at home this season and Everton have won seven on the road. The Toffees also recorded their biggest win of the campaign when thrashing the Wearsiders 7-1 at Goodison Park on 24 November.
Victory would give Everton their fifth double of the season, and match Manchester United's unequalled total.

KEY PLAYER NOTES

SUNDERLAND
Kenwyne JONES is Sunderland's top scorer with five Premier League goals.
Michael CHOPRA is a double shy of 50 career league goals (Newcastle, Watford, Barnsley, Cardiff and Sunderland).
Last season's top scorer David CONNOLLY needs one goal to total 100 in his league career (Watford, Wolves, Wimbledon, West Ham, Leicester, Wigan and Sunderland).

If selected:-
Dwight YORKE will be making his 450th English league appearance (Aston Villa, Manchester United, Blackburn, Birmingham and Sunderland).
YORKE will also be making his 50th league appearance for the Black Cats.

Danny COLLINS and Nyron NOSWORHY will be making their 50th career Premier League appearances - all for Sunderland in both cases.

If on the field from the outset:-
Grant LEADBITTER will be making his 50th league start.

THIS SEASON'S REVERSE FIXTURE
Everton 7-1 Sunderland
24 November 2007 - Ref: Phil Dowd
Everton scorers: Yakubu 12, Cahill 17, Pienaar 43, Cahill 62, Yakubu 73, Johnson 80, Osman 85
Sunderland scorer: Yorke 45

Re: Sunderland vs Everton 09/03
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2008, 07:59:01 AM »

Everton 7-1 Sunderland
Everton scorers: Yakubu 12, Cahill 17, Pienaar 43, Cahill 62, Yakubu 73, Johnson 80, Osman 85

I had forgot about that reverse fixture scoreline........

« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2008, 08:13:39 AM »

Everton 7-1 Sunderland

I had forgot about that reverse fixture scoreline........

Doh study it. Keane done say it was a case of naivety on his part - thinking he coulda win a game 6-5 instead of locking up for a 3-1 defeat. These things rarely happen twice in a row.

Offline john_public

« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2008, 08:20:11 AM »
is it on sky?   :beermug:

Offline kev

• Lifes a bitch, then you marry one

« Reply #5 on: March 09, 2008, 08:31:00 AM »
Come orn Fishs
bring allya best eh  :challenge: :challenge: :challenge: :challenge:
I feel we go lorse 2 - 1 ;)

what time is the game starting?
thanks
« Last Edit: March 09, 2008, 08:36:45 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #6 on: March 09, 2008, 08:40:53 AM »
Come orn Fishs
bring allya best eh  :challenge: :challenge: :challenge: :challenge:
I feel we go lorse 2 - 1 ;)

what time is the game starting?
thanks

in 15 minutes or so
Bearing in mind Everton current form, I will gladly take a draw...
« Last Edit: March 09, 2008, 08:42:54 AM by Midknight »

« Reply #7 on: March 09, 2008, 08:42:49 AM »
cool
thanks
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #8 on: March 09, 2008, 08:43:17 AM »
Line-up

Sunderland
01 Gordon, 26 Bardsley, 44 Evans, 05 Nosworthy, 15 Collins, 10 Richardson, 18 Leadbitter, 08 Whitehead, 09 Stokes, 11 Murphy,
17 Jones

Substitutes
32 Fulop, 06 McShane, 16 Chopra, 20 Reid, 45 Prica

Everton
24 Howard, 02 Hibbert, 16 Jagielka, 04 Yobo, 05 Lescott, 06 Arteta, 18 Neville, 17 Cahill, 20 Pienaar, 08 Johnson, 22 Yakubu

Substitutes
12 Turner, 03 Baines, 10 Gravesen, 28 Anichebe, 37 Rodwell

Keane eh playing no defensive mids....like Etuhu or Yorke. It go be rel pressure on de backline. Jones, Richardson and Murphy ah hope all yuh wearing all yuh scoring boots today! This could be a highscoring game....hope it eh one sided.

« Reply #9 on: March 09, 2008, 09:24:35 AM »
this is far from being good but its the best out there
http://www.justin.tv/blackburnman04

anyone have anything that is better
thanks
« Last Edit: March 09, 2008, 09:36:56 AM by WestCoast »

Offline kingdavid

« Reply #11 on: March 09, 2008, 09:57:58 AM »
http://myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=7647&part=sports
thanks
which choice works the best...
i just found that site and cant get anything to work

« Reply #12 on: March 09, 2008, 10:05:48 AM »
thanks
which choice works the best...
i just found that site and cant get anything to work

your link isn't too bad if you bring the quality down tot he lowest. A bit choppy, but the buffering stops.

Sunderland not doing too badly even if they did have a close shave with that header off the post just before halftime. Richardson needs to get more in the game though...

« Reply #13 on: March 09, 2008, 10:07:36 AM »
Everton really putting pressure on KJ man , they not even giving him a mille second on the ball. poor jonesy.

« Reply #14 on: March 09, 2008, 10:15:37 AM »
OK FINALLY got it to buffer
looks good thanks

shit shit shit..........

SUNDERLAND we want a goal
« Last Edit: March 09, 2008, 10:17:44 AM by WestCoast »

Offline kingdavid

« Reply #15 on: March 09, 2008, 10:20:17 AM »
Sunderland 0 Everton 1 Johnson

« Reply #16 on: March 09, 2008, 10:23:47 AM »

*steups* from the time i see johnson start this game, I get frighten...

Tough. Time to show some spine and bloody attack...

« Reply #17 on: March 09, 2008, 10:24:17 AM »
balds heads eh ;D ;D

« Reply #18 on: March 09, 2008, 10:26:08 AM »
allyuh sure is Johnson score and not Cahill?

Live text says Cahill..

I ask this solely for fantasy league purposes..

« Reply #19 on: March 09, 2008, 10:27:36 AM »
allyuh sure is Johnson score and not Cahill?

Live text says Cahill..

I ask this solely for fantasy league purposes..
Omar, check here
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/s/sunderland/live_text/default.stm

Offline #4

• #YGBfiles: The Young, Gifted, and Black Files
« Reply #20 on: March 09, 2008, 10:38:19 AM »
for anyone who is still trying to connect, sopcast channel 6134 works the best out of all the links that were posted... and its still 0-1 in the 73".

damn, just as i typed this, the link went dead :) ...murphy's law
« Last Edit: March 09, 2008, 10:43:00 AM by #4 »

« Reply #21 on: March 09, 2008, 10:43:35 AM »
ok these post saying posed 1 hour ago is that rite ,cause my clock moved forward one hour last nite ,so this game still orn  ???

« Reply #24 on: March 09, 2008, 10:51:19 AM »
how many points would Cahill have given you ;)

« Reply #25 on: March 09, 2008, 10:51:30 AM »
85'Jones fires a long-range effort five yards wide of Howard's right post. It would have taken something special for the Trinidadian to score from there, but in the context of this match that counts as a chance.

« Reply #26 on: March 09, 2008, 10:57:14 AM »
Tough. Sounds like they were just better. As I said, I would've liked a draw, but it was always going to be hard.

West Ham real disappoint me too... is 3 straight games one of mih starting defenders ending up with 0 points
« Last Edit: March 09, 2008, 10:59:32 AM by Midknight »

« Reply #27 on: March 09, 2008, 10:59:01 AM »
sunderland does rel frustrate me yuh kno

« Reply #28 on: March 09, 2008, 11:04:19 AM »
I tired backing ded horse oui dread , i can't bare to watch this kind of nonsensical irish football no more. no skills no finese no pricision, just boom kick and waste ah dribble, chopra , leadbitter , whitehead ,stolkes ,  and murphy, even kenwyne not getting into better positions to score. ah hope they stay in the prem , but by the looks of it they might be going down. mayday mayday!!!

ps : i'm sorry for them defenders boy, them men does play their hearts out for nowt.
« Last Edit: March 09, 2008, 11:06:56 AM by just cool »

« Reply #29 on: March 09, 2008, 11:08:51 AM »
I tired backing ded horse oui dread , i can't bare to watch this kind of nonsensical irish football no more. no skills no finese no pricision, just boom kick and waste ah dribble, chopra , leadbitter , whitehead ,stolkes ,  and murphy, even kenwyne not getting into better positions to score. ah hope they stay in the prem , but by the looks of it they might be going down. mayday mayday!!!

ps : i'm sorry for them defenders boy, them men does play their hearts out for nowt.
If they stay up, they need to spend heavily on a midfield. They competent everywhere else.