May 17, 2024, 08:06:34 AM

Author Topic: Daniel: It's like a free hit.  (Read 4128 times)

Daniel: It's like a free hit.
« on: March 21, 2008, 05:17:09 PM »
Daniel: It's like a free hit.
By: Shaun Fuentes (TTFF Media).

Trinidad and Tobago’s winning goalscorer against El Salvador Keon Daniel says taking free kicks from around the box for him is almost “like taking a penalty”.

Daniel, formerly of Signal Hill Senior Comprehensive was reflecting on his performance in Wednesday’s 1-0 win over El Salvador after Friday morning’s training session at the Ato Boldon Stadium.

Goal threatening left footed kicks has become somewhat of a trademark for the Tobago-born United Petrotrin midfielder. He scores almost at will in practice and has done it a few times for his club. But none so far has had as much significance as the one which went in on Wednesday.

“It’s a trademark thing. Since I was about 10 I’ve always tried the free kicks so it comes like a penalty to me now… like a free hit from anywhere around the box. It’s an important part of modern football now. I try to keep working on them all the time,” the 21-year-old Daniel told TTFF Media.

“I always say once I have my wall. I like my players to block the goalkeeper from seeing much  so once I put it in the right spot it’s going to be difficult for him to get it.

“Over the months I have worked really hard with Petrotrin and trainer Wayne Lawson and as a young player it is paying off. This is a very important year for me. It’s a World Cup campaign year.” he added.

“It’s good to know that Dwight Yorke is the biggest player to come from the island and to wear the number 19 is a big weight to carry but it feels good and hopefully I can deliver.”

Daniel credited former national coach Bertille St Clair for taking an interest in him at a young age. He also felt his training stint at Manchester United in 2005 helped in his development.

“I think he (St Clair) saw potential in me as a youngster. He constantly kept pushing me and I am glad for that. The trip to Manchester was really an eye opener for me. That was a chance to break out… to see the world of football and to see the commitment players have for the game.”

Daniel will travel with the National Team on Monday for Kingston where it plays Jamaica on Wednesday at the National Stadium there at 8pm T&T time. There have been two changes to the squad (which was announced on Thursday) with Belgium-based goalie Jan Michael Williams replacing youngster Glenroy Samuel and Aklie Edwards coming in for Keston Williams.

Videos

Highlights.

Akeem Adams and Silas Spann talk.

18-year-old striker Jamal Gay.
« Last Edit: March 21, 2008, 06:36:46 PM by Flex »

Re: Daniel: It's like a free hit
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2008, 05:59:16 PM »
we have a free kick specialist

« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2008, 06:17:56 PM »
We also have Spann from long range.

« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2008, 06:21:57 PM »
Spann eh go get d chance 2 take no free kick after he stellar performance on Ash Wed

Re: Daniel: It's like a free hit.
« Reply #4 on: March 21, 2008, 07:48:41 PM »
Nice kick ,it fell rite at the base of the post ,and according to him he did that on purpose .

« Reply #5 on: March 21, 2008, 08:52:57 PM »
Is not now he doin dat.

De first time I ever see he was in a schoolboy game between Signal Hill and St Anthony's.

In actual fact, it was really Keon Daniel vs St Anthony's.  And St Anthony's had men like Julius James and Kevon Neaves in dey squad too.

Well Signal Hill win de game on a free kick special from "Schilacci".  Left foot pile driver...no chance fuh de keeper.

I was fortunate to go dat game wit SH and both a we say dem 3 players...but Keon and Kevon especially would go on to be national players soon.

SH was particularly impressed with Neaves' off the ball running.  Said that was something you could try to teach young players but some jes have it instinctively and from the runs Neaves was makin...he feel dat was de case with him.  He simply said Keon Daniel was special.

Keon went thru a time where it looked as if he wasn't that commited to the game and he also broke his leg.  To his immense credit, he's come back from that and looks to be fulfilling the tremendous potential he has.  That says a lot about his character and I'm silently hoping that he does fulfill that potential, because if he does....he could go on to be spoken of in a similar breath to the Yorke's and Latapy's.....he's that good.

« Reply #6 on: March 22, 2008, 12:36:09 PM »
good palos....but he eh like dat wide left position at all...

« Reply #7 on: March 22, 2008, 12:40:08 PM »
 This youth man is one for the future...glad to see a man working on freekicks and talking so confident

« Reply #8 on: March 22, 2008, 02:32:36 PM »
he scored an even better one than vs el salvador earlier this year when we played the guyana national team in a training game at the ato boldon stadium>
definiite free kick specialist

« Reply #9 on: March 22, 2008, 02:52:05 PM »
good palos....but he eh like dat wide left position at all...

As a modern footballer, he have to be able to play pretty much anywhere his coach NEEDS him to play (except goalie of course) for the TEAM

However, as a coach, you also put players in positions that will maximise their ability and give them the greatest opportunity to succeed.

Is a 2 way street.

Keon doh like that wide left position is true....he doh play there for his club and much happier in the middle of the park.  But if dat is where de coach NEED him to play...he have to suck it up and do his best.  It will be to his benefit in the long run.

« Reply #10 on: March 23, 2008, 04:22:09 PM »
of course....i agree

« Reply #11 on: March 23, 2008, 05:30:59 PM »
Keon doh like that wide left position is true....he doh play there for his club and much happier in the middle of the park.  But if dat is where de coach NEED him to play...he have to suck it up and do his best.  It will be to his benefit in the long run.

At least it's better than playing Theobald, Whitley or some other slow right footed central midfielder on the left side like we did several times in the last WCQ campaign...

« Reply #12 on: March 23, 2008, 05:33:41 PM »
This youth man is one for the future...glad to see a man working on freekicks and talking so confident

Agree with your sentiments. I also admire his intelligence when it comes to his perception of the modern game. He is being very intentional in his approach to success. To be developing that particular skill from age 10 shows wisdom. It will be hadr for coaches to leave him off the team. It wins games. Talk bout potential.

Offline Eldo man

« Reply #13 on: March 23, 2008, 05:42:15 PM »
Sound like Becks eh want nothing with Mr Keon.... Kepp scoring de free kick, then we'll put yuh up dey with them fellers... All de best

« Reply #14 on: March 24, 2008, 06:58:11 PM »
OH GADDO DEM YARDIES BETTER DOH GIVE THIS FELLA A FREE HIT!..de man sounding confident about what he can do..

« Reply #15 on: March 24, 2008, 07:24:17 PM »
OH GADDO DEM YARDIES BETTER DOH GIVE THIS FELLA A FREE HIT!..de man sounding confident about what he can do..
He really is that good. I doh think he will miss in front of goal. The keeper at least have to pull off  a save.