May 10, 2024, 08:35:23 PM

Author Topic: Celebrating 100 years of T&T football.  (Read 4506 times)

Celebrating 100 years of T&T football.
« on: March 22, 2008, 10:40:43 AM »
Celebrating 100 years of T&T football.

“One People, One Passion, One Game!”

That’s the theme for the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation’s Year of Centennial Celebrations which was unveiled at the official launch at a reception hosted by the Honourable President George Maxwell Richards at his official residence on Saturday morning.

The occasion marked the launched the start of a series of events to take place in 2008 to celebrate the centennial.

Present were President Richards and Mrs Richards, Chief Justice Ivor Archie along with other prominent members from the football fraternity – Senior Team head coach Francisco Maturana, technical director Lincoln Phillips, director of youth development and assistant coach Anton Corneal, TTFF General Secretary Richard Groden, past football greats Everald Cummings, Sedley Joseph and Bobby Sookram. There was no representative of the Ministry of Sport.

The members of the Centennial Committee were also introduced on Saturday morning. This committee is chaired by Kenny De Silva and includes several independent members of the TTFF -  Deputy Chairman Ainsley Mark, Patt Christopher, Roslyn Dasent, Dr. Rohit Doon, David Hackett, Felix Hernandez, Sigler Jack, Eudine Job Davis, Louis Lee Singh, Gillian Lucky, Narrisa Mandol, Peter O'Connor and Carol Wolfe.

“Giving James and Jack his jacket…Say “a century” and no sports fan thinks football. But in July coming, one century is precisely what football in Trinidad, well, institutional football in Trinidad will be celebrating. That means of course that the first body to administer the sport in the country was set up almost exactly a hundred years ago in 1908. And the list of its administrators is very long. But say “football in Trinidad” to the man in the stadium and ask for a name and it is a safe bet that, you will get one of two answers, Jack Warner or Eric James. Say “football in Trinidad” and ask for a date and it is a safe bet that, you will get one of two answers. There are those who – the pessimists, who see only the empty half of the glass – Point instinctively to November 1989. But these are counterbalanced by the optimists – half-full, they insist, half full! - For whom the significant date is November 2005.,”  a statement from the TTFF read from a  press presented  to the media.

The statement went on to give valuable historical details of local football and closed with the following: “And so after one hundred years in football, the TTFF is justifiably in celebratory mood, confident that whatever the obstacles that may be raised in our path, we shall overcome.”   

Among the list of activities revealed at the launch included a Centennial Dinner on September 5 at which FIFA President Sepp Blatter will be the feature guest.

An essay competition for Schools, the hosting of the CONCACAF Under 17 Women’s Finals in July, an Administration Workshop and Women’s Development course to be hosted by the English FA are also among the list of events.

On the playing field, two friendly internationals involving the T&T Senior Team against Puerto Rico on April 27 and against Panama on July 27 and other related international games and South Africa 2010 World Cup qualifiers are also on the cards.

FIFA Vice President Jack Warner hinted of a friendly international against England of which further will be revealed at a Press Conference on Tuesday. TTFF President Oliver Camps also addressed the gathering.

Warner revealed he will be commissioning the launch of two books. The first one to be in the bookstores on September 5 -  One hundred years of Association Football on September 5 and the second -  “From Eric to Eric”

“Those were only two persons in some ways who gave some tangible evidence of the kind of positive changes they wish to make in the lives of our people and this country. I am talking about Eric James and Eric Williams, One man took education, the other took football both of  them with the same objective, for the same people and the same nation and that was to achieve positive e change in the lives of our people and in many ways they have done so,” Warner stated.

“Trinidad and Tobago has found itself in an elite group and this has not been easy,” Warner said, adding that less than ten other countries had an association in existence of 100 years and more.

For a population of 1.5 million, Warner said” We have done well. We have been able to host the best ever held FIFA Under 17 World Championship. We have participated in every FIFA event, we came close in 1974 and then 1990 and we achieved in 2006  then who would argue that we will perform well in Germany 2006 and even against England, the oldest country in England which we should have won and which we shall win later this year,” Warner said.

He spoke of the several top figures who have made a significant contribution to the development of the game here from including “From Lincoln Phillips and Gally Cummings, Russell Latapy and Dwight Yorke, Kenwyne Jones and Carlos Edwards”

“You can however predict what the critics would say but keep the vision and stay focused,” Warner added as he pointed his words in the direction of TTFF President Oliver Camps.

“I have learnt that in this country - either to do and be criticize or to do nothing and I die. I choose the former and I will die like many of you but I will die full with the belief that we gave it our best shot,” Warner added, also complimenting the list of match officials who have passed through local football.

“We have a lot to be proud of. From Eric to Eric!”.

He mentioned that the script for 2010 is being written as he addressed the audience – “The lack of assistance, lack of funding, criticism, no help. But qualify and then all the money flows. But that will not deter us and the most fitting way to crown these celebrations will be by qualifying for South African 2010 and we shall do that.”

TTFF Centennial events calendar

Event  Date

School's Essay Competition
 May 1-31

T&T Senior Team vs Puerto Rico friendly international
 April 27

Veterans' Over 50 5 -A Side Tournament
 May 17

Opening South Africa 2010 World Cup Qualifier         
 June 15

Coaching at the Grassroots Level
 July 15-18

Coaching at the Grassroots Level   
 July 22-25

CONCACAF Women's Under- 17 Final tournament
 July 15-26

T&T Senior Team vs Panama friendly international
 July 27

FA Administration Workshop
 August 12-14

Arrival of FIFA President Sepp Blatter
 September 4

TTFF Centennial Dinner
 September 5

South Africa 20 10 World Cup Qualifier
 September 6

Departure of FIFA President Sepp Blatter
 September 7

* T & T Under- 17 vs. USA Under-17 Girls   
 October 5

*T & T Under- 17 vs. Brazil Under-17 Boys   
 October 5

FA Women's Football Development Course
 October 14-17

South Africa 2010 World Cup Qualifier
 October 15

Digicel Caribbean Cup - Group Stage 2
 November 1-7

South Africa 2010 World Cup Qualifier           
 November 19

FA Cup Centennial Final
 December 7
« Last Edit: March 22, 2008, 05:21:48 PM by Flex »

Re: T&TFF Centennial celebrations launch today
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2008, 10:59:01 AM »
I just read that and say ummmmmmmmmm. We go hear bour d England game

« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2008, 11:26:29 AM »
it was on channel 4 live ncc

« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2008, 11:28:35 AM »
Really so whah dey say Die Hard tell oui nah oh u was watchin cricket

Offline royalian

« Reply #4 on: March 22, 2008, 01:27:03 PM »
Press conference on Tuesday at the Hilton 2:00pm about the details of England game.

« Reply #5 on: March 22, 2008, 01:45:40 PM »
So we have time 2 pawn oui jewellry to b able 2 go d game

« Reply #6 on: March 22, 2008, 01:52:08 PM »
T&TFF Centennial celebrations launch today
Express

At today's launch, the main event will be the unveiling of the Centennial Logo and Theme, which will be carried out by President Richards, Warner and T&TFF president Oliver Camps.

Anyone have a pik?

« Reply #7 on: March 22, 2008, 05:50:11 PM »
Express

At today's launch, the main event will be the unveiling of the Centennial Logo and Theme, which will be carried out by President Richards, Warner and T&TFF president Oliver Camps.

Anyone have a pik?

is like two stick men holding hand over a ball, red, white and black, with a slogan and d bottom, nothing fancy
« Last Edit: March 22, 2008, 06:38:22 PM by Die.Hard.Warrior »

« Reply #8 on: March 22, 2008, 05:51:51 PM »
Really so whah dey say Die Hard tell oui nah oh u was watchin cricket

nah i watch d whole thing, jack sound like a rel good boy saying d u17 tournament was d best fifa tornament in d history of fifa, and how we accomplish so much as a small country, shit talk as usual to make the people feel good lol. A little pan play on d side, and a set a fake smile lol. nothing special happen Jack do most of the talking.

« Reply #9 on: March 22, 2008, 05:52:55 PM »
Express

Anyone have a pik?

http://ttffonline.com/cms/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=338&Itemid=1
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #10 on: March 22, 2008, 06:37:04 PM »
Express

Anyone have a pik?

http://ttffonline.com/cms/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=338&Itemid=1

see i tell alyuh is two stick men  :D

Re: Celebrating 100 years of T&T football.
« Reply #11 on: March 22, 2008, 06:41:21 PM »
Kind of a retro looking thing.

BTW I found a match report from over 100 years ago.

It was reprinted in the Gleaner from a Demerara (Guyana) paper:

20 June 1905 - George Town Football Club 1:2 Trinidad
21 June 1905 - British Guiana 1:4 Trinidad

"The Trinidadian footballers played
their return match against the George-
Town football Club (Demerara) on the
20th ult. and secured a victory by no
means represented by the score of 2
goals to 1.
The display of the home team was poor
and but for the fine play of Sharkey at
back and Crossley in goal, the defeat of
the G. F. C. would have been ignominious.
On the 21 ult. the Trinidad team play-
ed the combined British Guiana team.
The Trinidad men won by four goals to
one. They returned to Trinidad on the
23rd ult."

- The Gleaner, Saturday, July 8, 1905, Page 11
« Last Edit: March 22, 2008, 07:04:02 PM by E-man »

« Reply #12 on: March 22, 2008, 06:49:15 PM »
E-Man, the Jamaica newspapers seem to have much better archives?
Online anyway
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #13 on: March 22, 2008, 06:53:05 PM »
Online anyway

Yeah the Gleaner has an online archive back to when it started in 1834. Too bad T&T doesn't have that yet.

« Reply #14 on: March 22, 2008, 07:02:30 PM »
Online anyway
Yeah the Gleaner has an online archive back to when it started in 1834. Too bad T&T doesn't have that yet.
and it sounds like they have taken articles from other publications in other countries.
Nice very nice Gleaner :applause: :applause:
« Last Edit: March 22, 2008, 07:04:19 PM by WestCoast »

« Reply #15 on: March 22, 2008, 07:04:52 PM »
*T & T Under- 17 vs. Brazil Under-17 Boys   
 October 5

This game should take palce before the CFU qualifiers

« Reply #16 on: March 22, 2008, 07:06:42 PM »
Online anyway
and it sounds like they have taken articles from other publications in other countries.
Nice very nice Gleaner :applause: :applause:

yeah a few of the ones I have in the '35 thread are from the Guardian and the "Port of Spain Gazette"

« Reply #17 on: March 22, 2008, 07:07:10 PM »
ah jez notice that there is no mention of the June 1st matchup ???

« Reply #18 on: March 22, 2008, 08:33:43 PM »
D England game should b discussed tue at d Hilton it was said. I eh see d return WCG game 4 June 15. 

« Reply #19 on: March 23, 2008, 07:18:45 PM »
Online anyway

Guardian lost all their archives before 1993 in some fire. It woulda be too early back then to hope somebody scan it.
I ent know what Express excuse is...