April 17, 2024, 10:07:12 PM

Author Topic: Celtic dismiss Jabloteh claims as ‘totally mistaken.  (Read 11667 times)

Celtic dismiss Jabloteh claims as ‘totally mistaken.
« on: March 28, 2008, 07:39:59 PM »
Jabloteh's Celtic deal in balance.
By: Lasana Liburd (Express).

The celebrated three-year deal between Scotland Premier League champions, Celtic, and Trinidad and Tobago Pro League conquerors, CL Financial San Juan Jabloteh, is in trouble after barely two months.

Jabloteh travelled to Scotland, two weeks ago, for a tour that should have included an exhibition match against Celtic and use of their training facilities. The "San Juan Kings" played friendly games against Dunfermline and Falkirk but, crucially, they were never invited inside Celtic Park.

Falkirk, who employ Trinidad and Tobago icon Russell Latapy as a player-coach and once signed ex-Jabloteh player Collin Samuel, hosted the east Trinidad club instead.

"We were pretty badly let down by Celtic," Fenwick told the Sunday Express. "It was not until we arrived at Celtic that we realised there was a change of direction.

"They let us down badly as far as training facilities and our programme, but it was still a fantastic time for our squad."

Fenwick declined to comment further until the matter is formally discussed with the Jabloteh board. A Celtic release insisted that the Scottish giants were not at fault.

"There is no tie-up between San Juan Jabloteh and Celtic FC," stated a club spokesman. "A Celtic representative quite simply visited Trinidad at their request earlier in the year. Mr Fenwick is totally mistaken in this regard, but we are pleased to have cleared this up."

Celtic's current position seemed at odds with a statement from Celtic Business Development manager, Kenny MacLeod, two months ago.

"This is the start of something very special," MacLeod told Scottish paper, the Daily Record, on January 30. "Celtic are very excited about this. Jabloteh are the champions of Trinidad and Tobago and we are the champions of Scotland. I think it will be a great partnership on and off the pitch.

"Fenwick and the team are coming across in March to train and use our new training facility. They will play matches and watch us in action against Dundee United."

The arrangement between the two clubs also included United States-based Christian sports consultancy organisation, Global Events Group (GEG), whose official, Peter Miller, played a key role in the merger.

Miller is a former CEO of the now defunct Football Company of Trinidad and Tobago (FcoTT), which was the financial arm of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (T&TFF) but went bankrupt during his tenure.

Fenwick insisted that the apparent cooling of relations between the clubs would not harm the social aspect of the three-way agreement.

On January 22, the Celtic and Jabloteh Soccer Development programme was launched at Port of Spain City Hall, with Mayor Murchison Brown and Sport Minister Gary Hunt present to offer their blessings and tangible support, along with officials from the Police and Fire services.

The programme is meant to empower local children between the ages of six and 14 by introducing them to "21st century technology" and sport.

CL Financial chairman Lawrence Duprey promised to bankroll the project at an annual cost of $1 million over the three years. The local business magnate might have some questions for his English coach.

Jabloteh may be reasonably satisfied on the field, though, as Antiguan striker Peter Byers scored in a 2-1 loss to Dunfermline in their first tour match, while the "Soca Warriors" duo of Trent Noel and Jason Marcano were on target as they held Falkirk 2-2 in their second outing. Jabloteh returned to Trinidad on the weekend after problems at London's Heathrow Airport delayed their departure by two days.
Celtic dismiss Trinidadian claims as ‘totally mistaken.
By: Iain Collin (The Herald)

San Juan Jabloteh, the Trinidad and Tobago champions who have just finished a two-week tour of Scotland, yesterday expressed their anger at Celtic for allegedly reneging on a three-year partnership deal.

Terry Fenwick, the former England and Tottenham Hotspur defender who is the manager of San Juan, claimed the tie-up was an extension of Celtic's educational programme in North America, with it expected to develop commercial value, and incorporate youth initiatives and the transfer of players.

But the Parkhead club last night dismissed the claim, saying that Fenwick was "totally mistaken" in his belief that any deal had been agreed.

"There is no tie-up between San Juan Jabloteh and Celtic FC," read a statement from the Scottish champions. "A Celtic representative quite simply visited Trinidad at their request earlier in the year. Mr Fenwick is totally mistaken in this regard, but we are pleased to have cleared this up."

As he prepared to fly home with his squad yesterday, Fenwick said: "We are not just disappointed with Celtic, we feel we have been let down very badly. As well as the educational programme with Celtic, the partnership allowed us to come to Scotland to use their new Lennoxtown facility.

"It's been shocking really, we've not had any contact. Having arrived, we were left with no programme at all really and had to scramble to put games and training facilities together. For an institution like Celtic to pull out like they have, we're very disgruntled.

"We're disappointed they have gone public with this tie-up in Trinidad and across the world and not followed it up. We have the best youth policy in the Caribbean but it looks like the Celtic tie-up is falling through."
They felt that they had a deal with the Scottish Champions to share training techniques and youth development tips and turned up at Lennoxtown to use the facilities, only to be turned away.
http://www.celtic-mad.co.uk/news/loadnews.asp?cid=TMNW&id=384935
« Last Edit: March 30, 2008, 02:42:22 PM by Flex »

Re: Celtic dismiss Jabloteh claims as ‘totally mistaken
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2008, 07:49:19 PM »
Oh boy

« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2008, 07:51:51 PM »
Damn.

That is embarrassing...and I must say I believe Fenwick on this one.

Offline CK1

• Man of Faith and Integrity
« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2008, 07:54:48 PM »
Oh boy
Professional people sign contratual agreements when they venture into arrangements with other parties. Thus it cannot be said that one is mistaken, nor would there be any likelyhoos for disappointments or last minute scrambling.
Jesus Christ...King of Kings and Lord of Lords!

Offline Diambars

« Reply #4 on: March 28, 2008, 08:03:17 PM »
Damn.

This more than embarrasing, I am sure Celtic did nothing wrong here.

« Reply #5 on: March 28, 2008, 08:17:31 PM »
I don't get it. There was nothing on paper and they just flew the whole squad over and showed up at the front door? Did they even call ahead to arrange anything?

« Reply #6 on: March 28, 2008, 08:19:15 PM »
Damn.

Damn right it's embarassing.

Can anyone provide links to prior stories on this "tie up" (don't even know what that is)?
It sounds like Fenwick is the one get tie up though. A big club like Celtic doesn't operate on word of mouth. Where is the paper trail of this agreement?

« Reply #7 on: March 28, 2008, 08:20:24 PM »
I don't get it. There was nothing on paper and they just flew the whole squad over and showed up at the front door? Did they even call ahead to arrange anything?
sounds very strange indeed
nothing in writing?
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #8 on: March 28, 2008, 08:24:16 PM »

Same thing i was thinking

« Reply #9 on: March 28, 2008, 08:28:11 PM »
what is a 'tie up'  ???

« Reply #10 on: March 28, 2008, 08:31:34 PM »
what is a 'tie up'  ???
must be like a partnership?
just guessing
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #11 on: March 28, 2008, 08:31:49 PM »
Can anyone provide links to prior stories on this "tie up" (don't even know what that is)?
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=33427.0

« Reply #12 on: March 28, 2008, 08:34:18 PM »
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football-news/scottish-football/spl-football/celtic-fc/2008/01/30/celtic-s-alliance-with-tobago-champions-86908-20302978/
Celtic's Alliance With Tobago Champions
Jan 30 2008 By Alan Marshall

CELTIC have reached a deal with San Juan Jabloteh that will allow them to sign the best players from Trinidad and Tobago.

The Pro League champions last night revealed the tie-up with Gordon Strachan's side and hailed the three-year contract as a huge lift for football in the Caribbean.

Under the agreement Celtic, who welcomed three San Juan players to Glasgow for training last year, will have first pick of the finest talent at a club managed by former Tottenham player Terry Fenwick.

The SPL champions will also offer help to San Juan on the commercial side as well as youth and first-team coaching.

Trinidad and Tobago stars Russell Latapy and Marvin Andrews have enjoyed success in Scotland while Kelvin Jack and Brent Sancho were on the books of Dundee.

Jabloteh officials celebrated the move with a civic reception in their city hall and Celtic spokesman Kenny MacLeod said: "This is the start of something very special. Celtic are very excited about this.

"Jabloteh are the champions of Trinidad and Tobago and we are the champions of Scotland. I think it will be a great partnership on and off the pitch.

"We already had three Jabloteh players, midfielders Khaleem Hyland, Lester Peltier and Atullah Guerra, across in March last year and were impressed with their natural ability.

"Fenwick and the team are coming across in March to train and use our new training facility. They will play matches and watch us in action against Dundee United.

"It will see some of our youth team going across there for tournaments."

Fenwick also hailed the deal and revealed the club have already lined up several friendly games for their visit to Scotland.

He said: "Celtic are an institution and it is a wonderful opportunity for the guys in Trinidad and Tobago.

"It is a great chance for the kids and gives them something to aspire to.

"We had three players who went to Celtic - and all three were offered contracts.

"But because of circumstances beyond our control the deals fell through.

"Celtic are delighted with what they have seen at this club. We would hope to furnish them with some players.

"We would love some of our players to be starring in the starting line-up for Celtic."

« Reply #13 on: March 28, 2008, 08:35:17 PM »
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=33427.0

So Macleod come to TnT
Talk all kinds ah talk
then they just abandon San Juan just so

VERY weird
somebody have a BAD case of Alziehmers ::)

looks like they renege and Fenwick hang their jack oui
« Last Edit: March 28, 2008, 08:39:08 PM by WestCoast »

« Reply #14 on: March 28, 2008, 08:39:06 PM »
I am not surprised. T Fenwick might been a decent coach, but he is quite character himself. They should forget Celtic and try to win the CFU club championship and then Concacaf. If they feel because they tie with a scotish club, they ready for Concacaf, then let's see what they really have. Lets 's see them against, Chivas, DC United, America, Houston etc. All this partnerships with English clubs is only to sell them players to the lower division EPL.

« Reply #15 on: March 28, 2008, 08:43:10 PM »
Sue them lol ,

« Reply #16 on: March 28, 2008, 08:51:54 PM »
Oh boy
Professional people sign contratual agreements when they venture into arrangements with other parties. Thus it cannot be said that one is mistaken, nor would there be any likelyhoos for disappointments or last minute scrambling.
ah tink de socawarriors did sign a contract and look what that got them. A donation to their favorite charity. What good warriors we have. Always helping those in need. Add that to all de fair-play trophies we have and TnT sets the standard on model football.

Offline CK1

• Man of Faith and Integrity
« Reply #17 on: March 28, 2008, 09:24:25 PM »
Oh boy
ah tink de socawarriors did sign a contract and look what that got them. A donation to their favorite charity. What good warriors we have. Always helping those in need. Add that to all de fair-play trophies we have and TnT sets the standard on model football.
\
True, and they also got a promise contract from :devil: that they took to court :o
Jesus Christ...King of Kings and Lord of Lords!

« Reply #18 on: March 28, 2008, 09:37:44 PM »
Sniff Sniff....do I detect a whiff of vampire scent in de air somewhere?

So yuh does hold back players from representin de national team eh Terry?  Team goin on big tour and ting eh?

Like yuh feel is a mere mortal yuh dealin wit or wha? 

Is a shape shifter par excellence yuh tanglin wit yuh know sah.  De Prince a fleckin Darkness self!!  ;D ;D ;D

« Reply #19 on: March 28, 2008, 09:44:54 PM »
Is a rurm shop everybody runnin. I eh understand how dis could happen. I sure dey have dey TSTT phone. Dey coulda call 1st

« Reply #20 on: March 28, 2008, 09:49:23 PM »
Doh forget about Jack coach macomeh ,Palos.

« Reply #21 on: March 28, 2008, 10:01:04 PM »
Damn.

Damn right it's embarassing.

It sounds like Fenwick is the one get tie up though. A big club like Celtic doesn't operate on word of mouth. Where is the paper trail of this agreement?

It is entirely possible that an arrangement was made with the rep who visited Jabloteh.  It is also entirely possible that said person lacked the authority to sign off on any 'tie-up'.  Paper trail matters not because any document signed would not have been a contract, this was a simple agreement (to hear Fenwick tell it) to colloborate on ideas...even had Fenwick showed up in Glasgow document in hand Rangers could just have easily turned them away.

I just think that a low-level Celtic rep talking bigger than his britches is a far likelier scenario than Fenwick ketching ah vaps and flying out de whole team at considerable expense (say nothing of embarrassment) only to show up on Strachan and Reid doorstep and get blank.

« Reply #22 on: March 28, 2008, 10:05:24 PM »
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football-news/scottish-football/spl-football/celtic-fc/2008/01/30/celtic-s-alliance-with-tobago-champions-86908-20302978/
Celtic's Alliance With Tobago Champions
Jan 30 2008 By Alan Marshall

CELTIC have reached a deal with San Juan Jabloteh that will allow them to sign the best players from Trinidad and Tobago.

The Pro League champions last night revealed the tie-up with Gordon Strachan's side and hailed the three-year contract as a huge lift for football in the Caribbean.

Under the agreement Celtic, who welcomed three San Juan players to Glasgow for training last year, will have first pick of the finest talent at a club managed by former Tottenham player Terry Fenwick.

The SPL champions will also offer help to San Juan on the commercial side as well as youth and first-team coaching.

Trinidad and Tobago stars Russell Latapy and Marvin Andrews have enjoyed success in Scotland while Kelvin Jack and Brent Sancho were on the books of Dundee.

Jabloteh officials celebrated the move with a civic reception in their city hall and Celtic spokesman Kenny MacLeod said: "This is the start of something very special. Celtic are very excited about this.

"Jabloteh are the champions of Trinidad and Tobago and we are the champions of Scotland. I think it will be a great partnership on and off the pitch.

"We already had three Jabloteh players, midfielders Khaleem Hyland, Lester Peltier and Atullah Guerra, across in March last year and were impressed with their natural ability.

"Fenwick and the team are coming across in March to train and use our new training facility. They will play matches and watch us in action against Dundee United.

"It will see some of our youth team going across there for tournaments."

Fenwick also hailed the deal and revealed the club have already lined up several friendly games for their visit to Scotland.

He said: "Celtic are an institution and it is a wonderful opportunity for the guys in Trinidad and Tobago.

"It is a great chance for the kids and gives them something to aspire to.

"We had three players who went to Celtic - and all three were offered contracts.

"But because of circumstances beyond our control the deals fell through.

"Celtic are delighted with what they have seen at this club. We would hope to furnish them with some players.

"We would love some of our players to be starring in the starting line-up for Celtic."

See de same damn thing ah saying....ah di'n even scroll down this far to read this.  I know nobody in dey right mind go just pick up and fly ah whole team tuh facking Scotland in de middle ah winter without some kinda arrangement in place.

« Reply #23 on: March 28, 2008, 10:06:34 PM »

Yuh 'tink' wrong.

« Reply #24 on: March 29, 2008, 02:54:28 AM »
A mistake is all well and good. But Fenwick seems to make these mistakes a habit. The talk of 450,000 pounds for Hyland, Peltier to Portsmouth, continual run-ins with national coaches, now this. I feel he blessed with the gifts of an active imagination, a little naiveity and a flair for exaggeration.

But for all the talk about foreign contract this and that for Peltier, Guerra and Hyland Jabloteh eh really doing much trading of players.  Connection managed to trade off Bartholemew, Downing, Spann, Toussaint, Oliviera, Goulart and Jan Michael Williams. But all the gun talk coming from Jablo...hmmmmm

« Reply #25 on: March 29, 2008, 07:35:26 AM »
Is a rurm shop everybody runnin. I eh understand how dis could happen. I sure dey have dey TSTT phone. Dey coulda call 1st

THANK YOU!

« Reply #26 on: March 29, 2008, 12:35:14 PM »
A mistake is all well and good. But Fenwick seems to make these mistakes a habit. The talk of 450,000 pounds for Hyland, Peltier to Portsmouth, continual run-ins with national coaches, now this. I feel he blessed with the gifts of an active imagination, a little naiveity and a flair for exaggeration.

But for all the talk about foreign contract this and that for Peltier, Guerra and Hyland Jabloteh eh really doing much trading of players.  Connection managed to trade off Bartholemew, Downing, Spann, Toussaint, Oliviera, Goulart and Jan Michael Williams. But all the gun talk coming from Jablo...hmmmmm

What all ah dat have to do with anything doh?  Yuh eh read where de fella from Celtic self talk about de contract and about the March visit?  He was imagining too or what?

Re: Celtic dismiss Jabloteh claims as ‘totally mistaken.
« Reply #27 on: March 29, 2008, 12:44:45 PM »
this twilight zone shit

« Reply #28 on: March 29, 2008, 01:19:56 PM »

Fenwick looking like a joker now.

Wonder why Celtic change their mind...or if he just talk to some pleb and get chain up (what is the man official title).

Imagine how those players must have been feeling when they realise everything gone through and is just to scramble games together.

« Reply #29 on: March 29, 2008, 02:16:06 PM »
1 back....Rangers cut dey arse today...1-0....take dat Celtic and smoke it...... :devil:

we doe need allyuh.....

we trinis have we shares in rangers anyway...ask duprey