April 25, 2024, 02:24:03 AM

Author Topic: Young sprinters put Trinidad and Tobago on the map again  (Read 5855 times)

Offline jw107

Young sprinters put Trinidad and Tobago on the map again
« on: April 24, 2008, 07:59:07 PM »
Check this link for a nice article on Richard Thompson and Kelly- Ann Baptiste. Ato also shares his views.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/feedarticle/7484098

Offline Aviator

Re: Young sprinters put Trinidad and Tobago on the map again
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2008, 08:56:05 PM »
Nice piece. Like Ato said barring poor rounds management, I don't see why they both can't make to 100m final and make some serious noise. I see Shaver(their coach) is racing them very sparingly, which should bode well for fresh legs come August. They only have 3 meets left to run for the college season and don't have to worry about peaking again like their US and JA counterparts, 2 weeks after the NCAA champs. Well maybe not in the case of Richard because yuh never know what shape Marc and Darrell might show up in, but Kelly-Ann could well afford to take it easy.
Psalm 14:1
The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God.

« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2008, 05:16:06 AM »
darrell may beat him not sure about marc ... bledman may upset .......however we have a good realy team......

« Reply #3 on: April 27, 2008, 06:17:49 PM »
darrell may beat him not sure about marc ... bledman may upset .......however we have a good realy team......
bledman have ways to go..he is not in the picture for 2008.  On paper we have a decent team but the 4x100 relay is one race that paper has no effect on.

« Reply #4 on: April 27, 2008, 10:56:57 PM »
Really nice article and exposure to a pair of high character athletes.  Keep your heads low guys.  The vultures will try to eat alive any competitors to the dream.  God will take care of you.

« Reply #5 on: April 28, 2008, 09:30:11 AM »
Special big up to the youths from QRC

« Reply #6 on: April 28, 2008, 06:23:49 PM »
Asylum, which of those sprinters from QRC?

« Reply #7 on: April 28, 2008, 06:52:15 PM »
you from QRC?
steuuuuuuuups

Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #8 on: April 28, 2008, 11:03:38 PM »
AFAIK a QRC quartet won gold @ the Penn Relays in the small highschools 4x100m over the weekend.

Good to see Trini schools attending. 
« Last Edit: April 28, 2008, 11:06:19 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #9 on: April 29, 2008, 04:29:09 PM »
WestCoast,
                Wha right with that? I am proud one at that too. But I did not know they sent a team to the Penn relays this year.

« Reply #10 on: April 29, 2008, 04:30:04 PM »
Anyhow, Go QRC!!!!!!

« Reply #11 on: April 29, 2008, 05:19:30 PM »
you from QRC?
steuuuuuuuups

Yeah, a lil tip of the hat to them ...  ;) ... Ah doh have no setta issues with them fellas from round de Savannah ... plenty plenty good soldiers among them ... even in this Naipaul-bashing time ah could say that and hold meh ground firm :devil:

When I use to run de only Penn ah seeing was a pen set ... so ah hadda tip de hat lil bit.

« Reply #12 on: April 29, 2008, 08:15:55 PM »
This is from Penn relys website.

http://pennrelaysonline.com/Results/224.html

« Reply #13 on: April 29, 2008, 08:36:42 PM »
Is not the first time QRC win this.They won a year with Marc Burns also!

Offline Aviator

« Reply #14 on: April 29, 2008, 09:06:55 PM »

That was in 2001 I believe. They had set a then penn relays HSB record of 40.11, which wasn't broken until last year my St.Jago from Jamaica lead by their young star Yohan Blake.

Offline Aviator

« Reply #17 on: May 01, 2008, 09:05:08 PM »
Maxg,
            That relay bring back memories. The Oval 1969, Secondary school sports. QRC won almost all the events. Mike grayson, Hamilton, Jeff Jones, Ken Jones, guy Beckles, Larry and Jimmy Springer, Bertie Seales, John Borel(I think that might be Cleopatra's dad or uncle), Rudy Ried, Tyson, Don Cudjoe, Mike Andrews and a lot more I can't remember.

« Reply #18 on: May 02, 2008, 02:27:17 PM »
Maxg, you is a ex-QRC man. Yuh wasn't dey in dem times?

« Reply #19 on: May 02, 2008, 03:52:33 PM »
Maxg should remmember some of them guys. Maxg and I played 2nd Eleven.

« Reply #20 on: May 02, 2008, 06:41:56 PM »
Maxg, you is a ex-QRC man. Yuh wasn't dey in dem times?
doh mind Deeks, ah used to beat half dem fellas name he call...longst ah din party the night before, unfortunately that was every  meet lasting more than 1 day...Mr. Springer well buff meh for dat, then he eventually give up on meh, especially when Larry and David (Mottley) didn't get thru, I had to go in every event in meh final year to beat Big Mike for VL..ah come second to everybody and still win the damn ting...no shame  8)

ps: Our last Year(70) we were the only High school team (4x1)in the solo games (or was it Northern) as special invitees and we won - Fantastic run by Andrews, Henderson, maxg and especially Jeff(Jones)..I did like to run buh dem fellas was beast....with training and sense of QRC relay tradition etc...I had other issues...mostly Bishops, St Francois, Providence etc..etc ::)
1 of the highlights of my track career, funny tho, the greatest highlight was also the end...
« Last Edit: May 02, 2008, 06:50:03 PM by maxg »

« Reply #21 on: May 11, 2008, 04:57:52 AM »

That was in 2001 I believe. They had set a then penn relays HSB record of 40.11, which wasn't broken until last year my St.Jago from Jamaica lead by their young star Yohan Blake.

didn't El Dorad win the Penn.

Burns, Brown, Rodgriguez and ?????

« Reply #22 on: May 11, 2008, 12:44:46 PM »

didn't El Dorad win the Penn.

Burns, Brown, Rodgriguez and ?????

Yeh VB yuh correct, but I seem to remember Burns in QRC , maybe he did A's in El Do