April 26, 2024, 10:44:21 PM

Author Topic: Hazardous duty- Life of a Track meet photographer (viewer discretion)  (Read 3045 times)

Nothing too graphic but still...

Photographer speared by javelin at meet

Associated Press
Updated: May 19, 2008, 5:36 PM EST

A newspaper photographer got a little too close to the action at the state high school track championships — and was speared through the leg by a javelin.

Ryan McGeeney of the Standard-Examiner was spared serious injury Saturday, and even managed to snap a photo of his speared leg while others tended to him.

"If I didn't, it would probably be my editor's first question when I got back," McGeeney said.

The 33-year-old McGeeney, an ex-Marine who spent six months in Afghanistan, was taking pictures of the discus event and apparently wandered into off-limits area set aside for the javelin.

Striking just below the knee, the javelin tip went through the skin and emerged on the other side of his leg.

"It wasn't real painful. ... I was very lucky in that it didn't hit any blood vessels, nerves, ligaments or tendons," McGeeney said.

Much of the javelin was cut off at the scene. The piece in McGeeney's leg was removed at a hospital, and he received 13 stitches.

The javelin was thrown by Anthony Miles, a Provo High School student who said his "heart just stopped" when he saw what happened.

"One of the first things that came to my mind was, 'Good thing we brought a second javelin,"' Miles' coach, Richard Vance, said Monday. He said Miles was "in a little bit of shock," but he assured the athlete it was not his fault.

With a subsequent throw, Miles went on to win the state title in javelin for teams in Provo High's size classification, 4-A.

Source

aye Bakes, you don't think this should be in the Track and Field thread :D

spare everybody and stick to the issue.

That is a sharp and well pointed criticism you threw out there.

Bravo :applause: :applause:
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

It more on point with 'general' interest...

well i suppose you should stick to your initial thrust

I think at this point it's lost it's edge.

Hold on! Stick a pin! Ah guess you all saying it cuts both ways?

yes .. look at these

Yuh not exactly being penetratingly clear here enuh.

What's your point?  Yuh not yuh usual sharp-witted self today...humour a bit blunted lately.

yes .. look at these

It's painstakingly clear that they didn't plan on being this much a part of the action.

you could have a point but ya know, it need sharpening,
allya now off track and hitting de wrong target.
one is a step ahead and de next one is be-Side de point.
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Yuh not exactly being penetratingly clear here enuh.

What's your point?  Yuh not yuh usual sharp-witted self today...humour a bit blunted lately.

point taken!? :rotfl:

not me nah, i always use to keep watching for dem throwers believe me, it very easy to lose your awareness when u walking and talking on that feild. Javelin is not the only threat threat it doh forget hammer throw, that will do some damage lol